More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.08

Awesome51.91%
Worth A Look: 24.05%
Average: 9.54%
Pretty Bad: 9.54%
Total Crap: 4.96%

11 reviews, 196 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Last Samurai, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Cruise is Pretty Fly, for a White Samurai Guy"
4 stars

The one aspect of this production I wasn't thrilled about from the very beginning is probably the most obvious one: Cruise. Bad enough they had to go make a Samurai movie with a white guy in the lead, but did they have to put such a mainstream camera-mugging pretty boy in the role? It's the kind of studio move that screams "star vehicle", and if there's one thing an epic film about the loss of thousand-year-old traditions to modernism and Westernization should NOT be, it's another goddamn star vehicle for the likes of Tom Cruise. And yet I must hand it to him, he rose to the occasion and eventually won me over -- or maybe the rest of the movie was good enough that I didn't mind he was in it.

We are introduced to Captain Nathan Algren (Cruise), a "hero" of the frontier wars who served under the infamous General Custer and witnessed a number of atrocities against innocent Native Americans. Now he's a spokesman for Winchester Arms in San Francisco circa 1876, putting on a gun and pony show for the crowds so that he can earn enough money to reach the bottom of a bottle every night. Whiskey is the only thing that can kill his pain, and amid several scenes of anguished grimacing mingled with flashbacks of wholesale Cheyenne slaughter, an old military comrade (Billy Connolly) shows up to offer Algren a job in Japan, teaching peasant conscripts how to wage war with American-made rifles.

Long before his troops are ready, they are sent against a group of renegade Samurai - the remnants of the warrior traditions that have been eschewed in the name of modern progress. After Algren's inexperienced troops are scattered by the formidable Samurai cavalry, their leader, Katusmoto (Ken Watanabe), spares Algren's life after witnessing the white man's ferociousness on the battlefield. Katsumoto and his men take the wounded Algren back to their village, and he burdens his sister, Taka (like the actress who plays her, Koyuki, she apparently only has the one name), with the task of nursing Algren's wounds. As he spends the winter amongst Katsumoto's people, learning their language and their combat techniques, he predictably enough goes native (and one couldn't pick a more fantastic spot to go native in -- the scenery in Last Samurai, as in Japan itself, is amazing).

Yes, the Dances With Wolves comparisons are painfully unavoidable, except that even Cruise is a much better actor than Costner ever was, and the epic scope of this film and its battle sequences are far more ambitious than anything seen in Costner's film. As I predicted, the Japanese cast members turn in the strongest performances. Ken Watanabe gives a moving portrait of Katsumoto, a warrior-philosopher in the truest sense whose martial prowess is tempered with compassion and wisdom. It's also refreshing to see that the relationship between Algren and Taka is subdued yet powerful. No rushing into each other's arms, no steamy sex scene, no vows of love or devotion -- and yet that passion is there beneath the surface, expressed with glances and body language. And for the record, Miss Koyuki is a prime example of why Japanese women are some of the most exquisitely beautiful and elegant on the planet.

But while the film certainly entertained and even moved me, The Last Samurai just doesn't stack up to the classics. Sure, you can dress Tom up in some lacquered armor and slap a Katana in his hand, and he looks cool. And there's no doubt that he handles himself quite well in the fight scenes. But there's just something missing, some leading-man quality that the Greats had. Toshiro Mifune, Wakayama Tomisaburo, Katsu Shintaro -- all of them radiated a sense of strength and an imposing presence that said "Whoa, look out - Bad Mothafucker in the house!" Tom looks cool, and it's nice to see that he put some heart and guts into this role and didn't just run through it on Cruise control (tip your waitress ... ), but he just doesn't quite convey the soul of a Samurai to me. If anyone is the true leading man of this piece, it's Ken Watanabe. But hey, he's not white, so very sorry -- no top billing for you!

Another problem I have is that the film is just too Americanized, and far too cleanly cut from the formulaic "Epic Blockbuster" cloth. All of the quirky cultural differences that make Japanese Samurai movies so much fun are missing -- it's a film about the Japanese, but with most of the Japanese flavor skimmed off the top. It's not fair to say that Americans can't make a good movie about Samurai -- but I don't think they'll ever make one that feels quite like the real deal (perhaps with Tarantino's Kill Bill being the exception)

These nitpicks aside, however, THE LAST SAMURAI is a fine film -- certainly better than one might expect. And all my bitching about having a white boy in the lead role aside, Cruise's character gives the audience a crucial conduit to see Japan through a Westerner's eyes. During one particular voice-over narration, he says (and I paraphrase): "Although I have always questioned the existence of God and his purposes, I cannot deny that there is deep sprituality in this place. And although I will never fully understand it, I am powerless to resist it." If there's a better line that sums up Japan, I would probably be incapable of writing it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8374&reviewer=258
originally posted: 12/08/03 15:58:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

4/18/14 juceyobmqu USA 4 stars
4/14/14 Lfdskrtd USA 2 stars
2/17/14 Plydjpmb USA 2 stars
2/16/14 Qykambsn USA 3 stars
2/14/14 Bnnendoq USA 2 stars
1/30/14 Firduiub USA 4 stars
1/28/14 Lcmlstpy USA 5 stars
1/26/14 Yxdwgexb USA 3 stars
1/22/14 Ylyfveqq USA 5 stars
12/30/11 Jeff Wilder Formulaic in spots. But still worthy. Better than Dances With Wolves. 4 stars
6/02/11 Bethany Pairitz Great great great movie 5 stars
1/24/11 Ziman One of the best reviews I have read. Thank you very much; I do share your thoughts about it 1 stars
1/11/11 DanRiaz Fantastic film, very moving in parts - highly recommended - ignore any bad reviews! 5 stars
5/14/10 Mamady Nice movie mayng 4 stars
4/10/10 David Very Moving, A Fantastic movie. 5 stars
3/16/10 PAUL SHORTT SPECTACULAR, SATISFYING EPIC 3 stars
6/08/09 the dork knight Liked it better when it was Dances With Wolves. 4 stars
3/11/09 Jimmy Awesome! Action scenes were right on-point, too. Check it out! 5 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Awesome. Worthy of a repeat. 5 stars
1/27/09 LYNDON DOWLING KEN WANNABE AND HIS SAMURI, AWSOME ACTING , AWSOME FILM. KEN AND TOM DID THEAR OWN STUNTS. 5 stars
10/25/08 Gloria D. Great scenes, I really liked this film 4 stars
10/08/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Better than expected, but still do not buy Tommy Cruise as a Samurai warrior. 4 stars
8/28/08 michael thomas excellent movie loved it enough to see it 2 times in the theater and even bought the dvd 5 stars
7/04/08 Alex Thorne A Tom Cruise film i actually like!. a wonderful, soulful film 5 stars
5/14/08 daveyt despite my better judgement on what's 'good' I love it...! 5 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White Wonderful redeeming of a person in spite of himself 5 stars
6/12/07 al smith a true epic in every sense of the word should have won loads of oscars 5 stars
2/07/07 AJ Muller Spectacular. Thrilling action and honest emotion make for a true epic. 5 stars
12/13/06 MP Bartley An ego trip for Cruise, and too self-important, but still packs an epic zing and punch. 4 stars
6/18/06 R.W.Welch Oriental actioner has fine camera work tho ending is too Hollywood. 4 stars
5/12/06 ES I wish I lived in that time and in that place 5 stars
3/27/06 Monster W. Kung A piece of crap! 2 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands Beautiful. 5 stars
12/15/05 Rey Emmanuel "Paloy" A. Dabatian It Is soooooooooo GOOd 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Epic albeit contrived. Swept me away. Just don't think too hard. 4 stars
11/16/05 cooler I loved it.Epic music and a backdrop to some of the most spectacular battles ever filmed. 5 stars
11/15/05 Quigley a very violent movie, but well acted & well made. Cruise wasn't all bad; fighting was cool 5 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane wow this movie was incredible, Very Creative Story it will blow your mind to shit!!! 5 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes the best film of 2003 5 stars
9/08/05 Ric A few over-the-top moments ring false, but it's an otherwise rousing battle epic. 5 stars
8/23/05 loscemo I liked it but didn't love it. The buddy-buddy ending felt too hollywood to me. 3 stars
8/21/05 chris hagopian It was emotional, with excellent acting 4 stars
8/20/05 Carolyn Rathburn It was a good movie, not really what I had expected 4 stars
8/20/05 Monster W. Kung An awful story, full of cliches, with decent cinematography. 2 stars
8/19/05 Honor above Lies A fine film with some worthwhile themes and thoughts, America being it's usual stupid self 4 stars
8/18/05 ES Ken Watanabe rules, this movie was definately better than I would have thought 5 stars
8/03/05 ALDO Cruise sucks in this one. Overdone. 2 stars
7/29/05 love very american ending.The only surviving samurai is not Japanese but American!Hello!!! 4 stars
7/26/05 Edward Aizen As always, Tom Cruise prevails...honor in death, enough said 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma A great one 5 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Spoilt by Shinkansen in background 3 stars
6/08/05 JD awesome movie, very enjoyable. 5 stars
5/11/05 Simon Beautifully representative of much of what I've come to believe. 5 stars
4/28/05 Quigley a very good story that has many thoughtful elements to it. Cruise does surprisingly good 4 stars
4/12/05 Ronin Tom using katanas with skill, not very realistic. Fortunately there is more than that. 4 stars
3/26/05 Denise very good 5 stars
3/02/05 simon buxton breathtaking. ken wantanabe made it a great epic 5 stars
2/24/05 Dusty Johnson I liked the action but not as good as the miniseries. 4 stars
2/12/05 Aimee Shelton The acting was really good in this film. Which is saying a lot for most Cruise movies! 4 stars
2/12/05 J. Elaine Greenup Very interesting 4 stars
2/11/05 Sharon Davis Pretty good 4 stars
2/09/05 Lisa Jochelson It was better than I thought it would be. I enjoyed it. 4 stars
2/08/05 Richard Linxwiler One of the best movies Tom Cruise has made. 5 stars
2/04/05 Tanya Grays it was an okay movie but not realistic about the Japanese 3 stars
2/03/05 Kent B. On the fence. I am not sure if I liked it or not. 3 stars
2/02/05 Joe Kolarz Great movie, Tom Cruise is awesome 5 stars
2/02/05 Alice Colwell I don't like Tom Cruise, but have to admit I rerally liked this movie 5 stars
2/01/05 Danita Berg Freaking hated this movie. Boooooring. 2 stars
2/01/05 Christy Harris 2 Thumbs up! 4 stars
2/01/05 bongeezer One white guy proves to be a better samurai than all Japanese? 2 stars
2/01/05 Lynda Eby Cruise was more than just a pretty face in this one. 4 stars
2/01/05 Andrea Haresign YAAAWWWN 2 stars
1/30/05 Charlene Javier Except for Tom, the movie's fine... 4 stars
1/30/05 Frank Tells good movie 4 stars
1/30/05 Caroline The relationship was stagnant... maybe it was a cultural leap, but I didn't get it. 3 stars
1/30/05 Christine Fidance Excellent movie and Tom Cruise was exceptional in it 5 stars
1/29/05 DONNA LONGWORTH I REALLY LIKED THIS MOVIE! 4 stars
1/29/05 Carolyn Rathburn While this film lost my attention somewhere in the middle, the ending brought you back. 4 stars
1/13/05 Aaron Brown One of the best movies I have ever seen because of its emotion, screenplay, and dialogue. 5 stars
12/21/04 Ryan Impressive movie 5 stars
12/05/04 Last samarai owns But dont thinks it owns rotk EE that is better,but LS STILL OWNAGE 5 stars
11/11/04 Hilary Adamson C'mon Scott Weinberg. DANCES WITH WOLVES is a plea for peace. This celebrates a bloodbath! 2 stars
8/21/04 Daveman Watchable but very silly and not particularly interesting. 3 stars
8/10/04 Jeff Needed a little more graphic realism, but for a period piece, nicely done. 5 stars
8/07/04 ALDO Great FILM...GO WATCH IT....What more can i say 5 stars
7/29/04 Dylan Smith The Last Samurai was the best movie. 5 stars
7/14/04 Graham Shallow, uninteresting, mediocre action, no period detail, well-acted. 2 stars
7/07/04 Shams Huque Superb film! 5 stars
7/04/04 Kai Well told story merged with powerfull music !! 5 stars
7/01/04 Piz A modern day Dances With Wolves. Well-shot, can get slow at times. 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva cruise is great 5 stars
6/17/04 P toya Political correctness kissing a brutal feudal miltary culture. Nice sword play. 1 stars
6/08/04 Ron Miller Cruise was great; fantastic ending, great fight scenes! 4 stars
6/06/04 Monster W. Kung Really not that great; aims high, but fails. 3 stars
5/30/04 Frazier A well told story about a disappearing culture, a powerful epict. 5 stars
5/26/04 Mitch A bit cliched and overwrought, but not bad all in all. 4 stars
5/22/04 DWIKA MAHENDRA THIS FILM IS THE MOST GREATFULL THAN THE OTHER TOMS FILM 5 stars
5/16/04 Peter Williams Great movie, if not for Return of the King this was the best movie in 2003. 5 stars
5/06/04 Diane Watson Apart from Tom Cruise who appeared in almost every scene, and somehow manages to survive wh 5 stars
5/03/04 breremarer Great movie! Tome Cruise+Japan=epic 5 stars
5/01/04 Marisa Monroe One of the worst films I've seen in sometime. Cruise makes a laughable samurai. Skip it. 2 stars
4/23/04 Elena The film was well done, not inaccurate, but just WHY Tom Cruise??? 4 stars
4/06/04 Agent Sands Fuck the Cruise-haters. This flick could've starred Jim Breuer & still kicked major ass. 5 stars
3/27/04 qemm Perfect acting and scenes. Everything seems very authentic. Superb movie. 5 stars
3/23/04 Bikramjit Certainly one of the best movies in recent times 5 stars
3/18/04 Quienietra Dumantravska Those Samurai forces charge forth on pink horses! 2 stars
3/13/04 atreida beautiful movie with great cast 5 stars
3/09/04 Blaine Holloway best film of 2003, yes, better than return of the king 5 stars
2/26/04 Troy Butler Not quite five stars, ... but very impressive nonetheless!!! 4 stars
2/25/04 Soulis profound, well acted, amazing scenes 5 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Great 5 stars
2/18/04 Caiphn I don't understand what movie an individual could ever enjoy to think that this 'sucked'. 5 stars
2/12/04 Obi Wan Great movie...quickly became one of my favorites...four trips to the theatre & waitin 4 DVD 5 stars
2/08/04 Gretchen Seitz Insists on having bloodbath kill thousands when title character kills self either way. Why? 2 stars
2/08/04 ladeela definitely better than expected, its great, EVEN tom cruis was good 5 stars
2/03/04 Psycho_Gunman History aside. It's about Samurais and Bushido simplified. 5 stars
2/02/04 rron its very good film 5 stars
1/31/04 Gookkuu I think if you have some knowledge about Japan's history ,you will enjoy with it more!!! 5 stars
1/30/04 Jonathan Clark This is the best movie i have ever seen. It has become my favorite movie of all time. 5 stars
1/29/04 sumixam Great except when TC spoke some very corny lines 4 stars
1/28/04 Mark Parlato Trigona Speechless - This is an awe inspiring movie 5 stars
1/23/04 Paul It is ther best goddamn movie i have ever seen...i think. 5 stars
1/23/04 JamesVG Seven Samurai is better, but this was still great. 5 stars
1/20/04 Af Harrison sucks BIG time 1 stars
1/19/04 C P Hung I enjoyed it and both Tom Cruise & Watanable are excellent. 5 stars
1/19/04 Tini Superb 5 stars
1/18/04 Flip I loved this movie! Even though it is not historicacly acurate. I as a person strive to liv 5 stars
1/16/04 gloria great movie, intriguing, great actors. 5 stars
1/16/04 Chance Great epic type movie 5 stars
1/15/04 malcolm a little melodramatic but gorgeous overall 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Overblown, overplotted action flick with Cruise giving a phone-in performance. 1 stars
1/14/04 Horacio Offensive Like saying a foreigner was responsible for Brazil wining the 1970 world cup. 1 stars
1/13/04 Steve Great 5 stars
1/12/04 (none) A wonderful and film. Great performance by Watanabe. 5 stars
1/11/04 Chopper3 Just another 'join-the-dots' hollywood number, completely predictable and forgetable. 1 stars
1/10/04 John Sellin How much longer will we have to endure this continual re-discovery of Americanism. 1 stars
1/10/04 Shadaan Felfeli I loved the film. Its very Zen and Very Beautiful. 5 stars
1/10/04 Daniel Barf! American saves Samourai tradition?Ha ha. Effects? Hey I saw dinosaurs on screen once. 3 stars
1/08/04 KICK ASS OR DONT COME HOME! looks like tom is goin home then ;) 5 stars
1/07/04 Chance Excellent. 5 stars
1/05/04 jason moving 5 stars
1/05/04 Patrick with a Brain Name this movie something else, so people won't confuse it with history. It didn't happen. 2 stars
1/03/04 A F Why Cruise? It would have been nice to see him decapitated. 4 stars
1/01/04 Mattie G Cruise pulls it off. Great film. Has a bit of everything. 5 stars
1/01/04 Obi Wan Watching it a 3rd time has reaffirmed that this is a 5 Star movie still!!! 5 stars
12/31/03 Maureen Flipping Great 5 stars
12/30/03 Angolmois Contrives plot. If Cruise was so honorable, why didn't he commit suicide too? Good visuals. 4 stars
12/30/03 JC Beautiful portrayal of Japanese culture.This film has touched me in a personal level.A++++ 5 stars
12/29/03 Agent Sands As well as giving us usual war film goods, it's a beautiful portrayal of Japanese culture. 5 stars
12/28/03 Jim Incredible movie 5 stars
12/27/03 Marvin P. top movie contender of the year 5 stars
12/26/03 ajay painfully boring. didn't enjoy it at all and wish I saw LOTR again... 2 stars
12/23/03 Fastbug If you liked DWW, you'll love this. An Oscar contender for sure! 5 stars
12/22/03 Caiphn 'Glorifies the rise of militaristic Japan'? Are you friggin retarded?Did you even watch it? 5 stars
12/21/03 Bill Cawlfield Cruise at his best 5 stars
12/20/03 your worst goddamn nightmare the only movie i can think of where a woman dresses a man and makes it so sensual & subtle 5 stars
12/18/03 Peter Americanized and it glorifies the rise of a militaristic Japan. 1 stars
12/18/03 Cool Leather Jack buuutiful work, loved it 5 stars
12/17/03 Gematria Are you kidding? This cliched piece of drivel is an insult. 2 stars
12/16/03 Emmy the best movie ever!!!!!! 5 stars
12/15/03 Gil Carlson A moving story, magnificently filmed 5 stars
12/13/03 Eric Powerful and emotional with some of the best battle scenes ever put on film. 5 stars
12/12/03 Tom Cruise I am a daft cunt. I really suck. 1 stars
12/12/03 Sean Emrick Best Film Ever 5 stars
12/12/03 Koitus Great movie! I particularly liked the Ninja attack, in the village! 5 stars
12/11/03 Darkheart Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. 5 stars
12/11/03 Cypher Great, very accurate to the samurai way. definantly worth the 7$. one of the best movies 5 stars
12/11/03 Nick Althought it felt odd, the movie is Oscar/Grammy Bound. I hope the JP actors get credit too 5 stars
12/09/03 nick2k i want the fucking dvd NOW!!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Simon the Great dis movie was full of homos stuff sammurri stuff wuz sooo boring. no hot chikc. 1 stars
12/09/03 jay poor..Cruise hollywoody Samurai..lousy Oriental Braveheart, give me a break ! 2 stars
12/09/03 Obi Wan Great...maybe Crowe could have played Nathan, but still great!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Unanon Good, despite the Cruise factor. 4 stars
12/09/03 Peter Yet another Cruise career vehicle. The 'Dimpled One' miscasts himself in historical films. 3 stars
12/08/03 alex I was suprized by Cruise, he did good job, but Watanabe was the reason why I loved the film 5 stars
12/08/03 Wolf 1st half hour, Cruise is acting(poorly) - rest of film, he's LIVING the role. 5 stars
12/08/03 Gray one ethnic group being shown as better than another=shit 1 stars
12/08/03 tony El nino anyone tht says this movie is less than swesome can shove one, this is the best movie!! 5 stars
12/08/03 Ryan beginning too long, good overall 5 stars
12/08/03 ROTK=2004 Oscar!! Braveheart owns this piece of shit. 1 stars
12/08/03 joe slow, a yawner 2 stars
12/08/03 Fenian Absolutely masterful. Screenplay, cinematography, acting, all fantastic! 5 stars
12/07/03 Stacy It's the best cultural movie I have ever seen 5 stars
12/07/03 vp go see it for your self, its one of the best i've seen this year 5 stars
12/07/03 jawsboy One of the best films of the year. Great acting, battles, cinematography, story. Go Cruise! 4 stars
12/07/03 benice very boring. people actually left during the film 1 stars
12/07/03 Noel Great Movie But Makes Me Wonder if I could be a Samurai 5 stars
12/07/03 kentkid An amazing movie, best one i've seen all year. 5 stars
12/06/03 john so so, trite ... bland 3 stars
12/06/03 Pete Well, i actually think it was okay. 4 stars
12/06/03 rsanchez You know where this is going from the get go, but it still sucks you in and never lets up. 5 stars
12/05/03 Brian incredible film 5 stars
12/05/03 Ray I think its very good, but not Oscar-good 5 stars
12/03/03 aseelye Good movie, but felt slow at times. 4 stars
12/02/03 t-d One of the years best 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Dec-2003 (R)
  DVD: 04-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Jan-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast