More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.09

Awesome52.73%
Worth A Look: 23.83%
Average: 8.98%
Pretty Bad: 8.98%
Total Crap: 5.47%

11 reviews, 190 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Last Samurai, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by W. Scott Gordon

"This Flick has Cruise Control, but Watanabe's Horse Power Carries the Day"
4 stars

Samurai has been called everything from a flattering "grand epic" to a far more cynical "Dances with Samurai" that merely cookie-cutters Kevin Costner's earlier efforts. Epic or not, there was no doubt in my mind that it would be considered for more than a few awards in 2003--despite it's flaws, those it earned were well-deserved.

Aside from a bloated CGI rendering of Mount Fuji, the New Zealand/Kyoto-filmed Samurai looks cool and packs a wallop. As for the Dances with Wolves parallel, I can't say I entirely disagree, but this is a case where story originality does not concern me. As someone who speaks fluent Japanese and has lived in the country as a teacher and graduate student for almost ten years, I can't possibly evaluate this film with typical Western eyes. My concern is whether the source material, i.e., Japan, Japanese history, and the Japanese themselves, are treated with respect and care.

The story, as I have already alluded, is far from a mind-bending first. Nathan Algren (Tom Cruise) is a post-Civil War captain whose numberless days of slaughtering Native American enemies he couldn't hate have turned him into a washed-up alcoholic plagued by horrible memories of atrocities he helped to commit. These days he makes a living telling his trumped-up war stories as a Winchester salesman; he is a ruined soul.

Just when it seems his life will end in a drunken haze, Algren is given a chance to salvage his career. A Japanese bureaucrat, one Mr. Omura (a smallish man with one of those twirly moustaches that just screams, "Villain!"), offers to pay him handsomely if he will train Japan's modernizing army in the ways of Western gun fighting and soldiering. The plan is to quell a rebellion being led by the legendary Katsumoto (Ken Watanabe, also of Batman Begins, Memoirs of a Geisha, and Letters from Iwo Jima fame) and his samurai army. Although the samurai originally existed to protect the Emperor, the sweep of Meiji-era Western influence has rendered them obsolete. The ultimate goal: Crush them, remove the last barrier between Japan and the West, and join the modern world.

To say that Algren arrives, trains the Emperor's army, fights, is captured by the samurai, and through them begins to redeem not his career, but himself, goes without saying. If you think I'm giving away plot points here, then you haven't seen the aforementioned Dances with Wolves or Little Big Man or the handful of other pictures where the "Western"(white) male meets "Native" (non-white) tribe/army and begins to rethink his position in the world. But it is not the originality of the material, but the treatment of it, that I am focusing on. And this where things become interesting.

For example, even as Algren is gaining the trust of his captors (particularly Katsumoto and his lovely sister Taka, played with quiet grace by actress/model Koyuki), he confesses in his diary something to the effect of, "They (the samurai) are an intriguing people. Although I'm sure I'lll never fully understand their ways, I can certainly feel the power of this place." Algren is a man unsure of himself, who wonders at the well of complicated emotions hidden behind every polite bow and smile. Among the many mistakes made during his capture is an incident where Algren neglects to remove his muddy boots before stepping on tatami mats. This foreign faux pas has been raked over the coals so many times that almost everyone in our globalized world knows not to do it today, but thankfully it never becomes a cliche--it happens only once, and it feels strained and sloppy rather than amusing. The expression, "Dosoku no mama de hairu," literally, "To enter with one's shoes on," also means, "To make things worse by bursting in unwanted." Algren is less than a guest and worse than a hostage, a bothersome gaijin in over his head.

Director Edward Zwick illustrates the uneasy truce developing between Algren and the village through his gradual foray into sword-fighting, which any frequent movie-goer knows will lead to a spectacular (if not ridiculous) future dual with some baddies. He fails a great many more times than he triumphs, gradually creating a visceral bond with his captors. Writer John Logan creates in Algren a character who, in striving to better himself, at once admires the samurai while also realizing his inability to become "one of them." Thus, absent is the insulting, silly presumption that one can become more native than the natives themselves. Also absent is the Hollywood folly known as perfect linguistic fluency in exotic foreign language in 6 months; Algren learns basic Japanese conversation, but nothing that would knock your socks off. As someone who still struggles with the finer nuances of Japanese, I respected Logan's honesty and restraint here. All told, Tom Cruise does a solid job. If ever there was a model situation for the old Japanese proverb, "shimpai wa seiko no moto" ("Failure is the root of success"), Algren's exemplifies it. I've never had to don sweaty armor and charge into battle, but I've often felt as Algren did. Recent Scientology-related tripe aside, I enjoy watching Cruise on film.

You might conclude that I have positioned Cruise as the star of this epic, but you would be entirely wrong. The honor this time goes to a man who has been a staple of samurai jidai gekki (period dramas, the equivalent of our Westerns) for years: The incomparable Ken Watanabe. As I have already mentioned, he plays "the last samurai" for whom the film is named. His Katsumoto is a calm pool underneath whose surface lie complex waves of emotion and paradox. His rebellion is meant not to topple, but in fact, to serve the Emperor (samurai in fact literally means, "to serve") and protect Japan from the onslaught of harmful outside influence. To do this he must, ironically, learn everything about the West in general and wartime strategy in particular. This is ultimately the reason for Algren's capture.

But what could be a standard story of capture and interrogation is made sweet by the gradual development of a brotherly bond between Algren and Katsumoto, driven primarily by Katsumoto's sometimes cryptic, often amusing remarks. Welling with frustration at his own capture, Algren shouts at Katsumoto, "What the HELL do you want with me?!" Katsumoto replies levelly, "I'm just trying to have a conversation. Maybe I want to practice my English with you. Don't your people enjoy having conversations?" Whether he is kneeling quietly in a garden, lecturing about Bushido ("The Way of the Samurai"), or roaring into the heat of battle, Watanabe is totally convincing. Even his too-perfect English is explained away by context--language is yet another tool one can use to understand the enemy.Watanabe overshadows Cruise with his presence.

Algren and Katsumoto's friendship forms the basis for mutual redemption, Algren for himself and Katsumoto for his way of life. There are other, smaller relationships along the way, most notably that between Allgeren and Katsumoto's sister Taka. The circumstances of their meeting would make any real-life love story absurd and dishonorable in this context, so what evolves instead is a kind of cautious, understated affection. Hats off to Zwick for staging a scene where the sexual tension actually radiates from clothes being put on rather than taken off! Almost everything about this relationship, with one exception, seemed to me reminiscent of a Japanese director's more subtle approach. Many other characters are lovingly-crafted stereotypes; an epic picture requires that the main characters be well-lit at center stage, the others dimly visible in the wings.

The battle scenes also bear mentioning. Neither as up-close-and-bloody as Braveheart nor as fast or empty as Gladiator, Samurai's climactic clash is made all the more harrowing due to how much you have grown to care about the small samurai village and how little of a chance you know they have of winning against gun-toting legions. As the new Japanese Army and the samurai gear up for battle, the East vs. West, tradition vs. technology idea is unmistakable and poignant. The scene is inspired by the final battle of Takamori Saigo, the actual samurai upon whom Watanabe's character is based; no costume or weapon detail was spared. Painstaking choreography and cinematography make every moment both visually and emotionally satisfying. Algren and the samurai fight with honor; as the pink sakura blossoms shimmer in the sun, their spirit lives on.

After viewing the film, you'll know which line I would edit out of the final battle scene, and why I would cut the last fifteen minutes entirely. These final moments are what lead me to finally characterize The Last Samurai as a good film rather than a great one, a Hollywood picture rather than a thinking one. Driven in Cruise control by its main producer and star, it attempts to paint an allegory for the present state of US-Japan relations, never mind that French and German influence was much more prominent then. Also, the film needlessly glorifies Algren at the expense of the Bushido honor code it seeks first to impart. Nonetheless, all the primary actors with the exception of Cruise were Japanese, Japan advisors were utilized on the film, and Watanabe himself pointed out various historical inaccuracies in the script. All told, I felt they got it right.

If The Last Samurai can inspire a few souls to take even a passing interest in Japan, then Tom Cruise and Edward Zwick have succeeded beyond their roles as Hollywood bigwigs.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8374&reviewer=406
originally posted: 08/23/08 12:14:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell boring imho 1 stars
2/18/16 Richard Pierro Outstanding 5 stars
11/17/15 A Korean Ridiculous. The Imperial troopers had a year to train, but can'take hit a guy with a bow an 2 stars
12/30/11 Jeff Wilder Formulaic in spots. But still worthy. Better than Dances With Wolves. 4 stars
6/02/11 Bethany Pairitz Great great great movie 5 stars
1/24/11 Ziman One of the best reviews I have read. Thank you very much; I do share your thoughts about it 1 stars
1/11/11 DanRiaz Fantastic film, very moving in parts - highly recommended - ignore any bad reviews! 5 stars
5/14/10 Mamady Nice movie mayng 4 stars
4/10/10 David Very Moving, A Fantastic movie. 5 stars
3/16/10 PAUL SHORTT SPECTACULAR, SATISFYING EPIC 3 stars
6/08/09 the dork knight Liked it better when it was Dances With Wolves. 4 stars
3/11/09 Jimmy Awesome! Action scenes were right on-point, too. Check it out! 5 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Awesome. Worthy of a repeat. 5 stars
1/27/09 LYNDON DOWLING KEN WANNABE AND HIS SAMURI, AWSOME ACTING , AWSOME FILM. KEN AND TOM DID THEAR OWN STUNTS. 5 stars
10/25/08 Gloria D. Great scenes, I really liked this film 4 stars
10/08/08 Shaun Wallner I really enjoyed this film. 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Better than expected, but still do not buy Tommy Cruise as a Samurai warrior. 4 stars
8/28/08 michael thomas excellent movie loved it enough to see it 2 times in the theater and even bought the dvd 5 stars
7/04/08 Alex Thorne A Tom Cruise film i actually like!. a wonderful, soulful film 5 stars
5/14/08 daveyt despite my better judgement on what's 'good' I love it...! 5 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White Wonderful redeeming of a person in spite of himself 5 stars
6/12/07 al smith a true epic in every sense of the word should have won loads of oscars 5 stars
2/07/07 AJ Muller Spectacular. Thrilling action and honest emotion make for a true epic. 5 stars
12/13/06 MP Bartley An ego trip for Cruise, and too self-important, but still packs an epic zing and punch. 4 stars
6/18/06 R.W.Welch Oriental actioner has fine camera work tho ending is too Hollywood. 4 stars
5/12/06 ES I wish I lived in that time and in that place 5 stars
3/27/06 Monster W. Kung A piece of crap! 2 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands Beautiful. 5 stars
12/15/05 Rey Emmanuel "Paloy" A. Dabatian It Is soooooooooo GOOd 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Epic albeit contrived. Swept me away. Just don't think too hard. 4 stars
11/16/05 cooler I loved it.Epic music and a backdrop to some of the most spectacular battles ever filmed. 5 stars
11/15/05 Quigley a very violent movie, but well acted & well made. Cruise wasn't all bad; fighting was cool 5 stars
10/07/05 Wisamane wow this movie was incredible, Very Creative Story it will blow your mind to shit!!! 5 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes the best film of 2003 5 stars
9/08/05 Ric A few over-the-top moments ring false, but it's an otherwise rousing battle epic. 5 stars
8/23/05 loscemo I liked it but didn't love it. The buddy-buddy ending felt too hollywood to me. 3 stars
8/21/05 chris hagopian It was emotional, with excellent acting 4 stars
8/20/05 Carolyn Rathburn It was a good movie, not really what I had expected 4 stars
8/20/05 Monster W. Kung An awful story, full of cliches, with decent cinematography. 2 stars
8/19/05 Honor above Lies A fine film with some worthwhile themes and thoughts, America being it's usual stupid self 4 stars
8/18/05 ES Ken Watanabe rules, this movie was definately better than I would have thought 5 stars
8/03/05 ALDO Cruise sucks in this one. Overdone. 2 stars
7/29/05 love very american ending.The only surviving samurai is not Japanese but American!Hello!!! 4 stars
7/26/05 Edward Aizen As always, Tom Cruise prevails...honor in death, enough said 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma A great one 5 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Spoilt by Shinkansen in background 3 stars
6/08/05 JD awesome movie, very enjoyable. 5 stars
5/11/05 Simon Beautifully representative of much of what I've come to believe. 5 stars
4/28/05 Quigley a very good story that has many thoughtful elements to it. Cruise does surprisingly good 4 stars
4/12/05 Ronin Tom using katanas with skill, not very realistic. Fortunately there is more than that. 4 stars
3/26/05 Denise very good 5 stars
3/02/05 simon buxton breathtaking. ken wantanabe made it a great epic 5 stars
2/24/05 Dusty Johnson I liked the action but not as good as the miniseries. 4 stars
2/12/05 Aimee Shelton The acting was really good in this film. Which is saying a lot for most Cruise movies! 4 stars
2/12/05 J. Elaine Greenup Very interesting 4 stars
2/11/05 Sharon Davis Pretty good 4 stars
2/09/05 Lisa Jochelson It was better than I thought it would be. I enjoyed it. 4 stars
2/08/05 Richard Linxwiler One of the best movies Tom Cruise has made. 5 stars
2/04/05 Tanya Grays it was an okay movie but not realistic about the Japanese 3 stars
2/03/05 Kent B. On the fence. I am not sure if I liked it or not. 3 stars
2/02/05 Joe Kolarz Great movie, Tom Cruise is awesome 5 stars
2/02/05 Alice Colwell I don't like Tom Cruise, but have to admit I rerally liked this movie 5 stars
2/01/05 Danita Berg Freaking hated this movie. Boooooring. 2 stars
2/01/05 Christy Harris 2 Thumbs up! 4 stars
2/01/05 bongeezer One white guy proves to be a better samurai than all Japanese? 2 stars
2/01/05 Lynda Eby Cruise was more than just a pretty face in this one. 4 stars
2/01/05 Andrea Haresign YAAAWWWN 2 stars
1/30/05 Charlene Javier Except for Tom, the movie's fine... 4 stars
1/30/05 Frank Tells good movie 4 stars
1/30/05 Caroline The relationship was stagnant... maybe it was a cultural leap, but I didn't get it. 3 stars
1/30/05 Christine Fidance Excellent movie and Tom Cruise was exceptional in it 5 stars
1/29/05 DONNA LONGWORTH I REALLY LIKED THIS MOVIE! 4 stars
1/29/05 Carolyn Rathburn While this film lost my attention somewhere in the middle, the ending brought you back. 4 stars
1/13/05 Aaron Brown One of the best movies I have ever seen because of its emotion, screenplay, and dialogue. 5 stars
12/21/04 Ryan Impressive movie 5 stars
12/05/04 Last samarai owns But dont thinks it owns rotk EE that is better,but LS STILL OWNAGE 5 stars
11/11/04 Hilary Adamson C'mon Scott Weinberg. DANCES WITH WOLVES is a plea for peace. This celebrates a bloodbath! 2 stars
8/21/04 Daveman Watchable but very silly and not particularly interesting. 3 stars
8/10/04 Jeff Needed a little more graphic realism, but for a period piece, nicely done. 5 stars
8/07/04 ALDO Great FILM...GO WATCH IT....What more can i say 5 stars
7/29/04 Dylan Smith The Last Samurai was the best movie. 5 stars
7/14/04 Graham Shallow, uninteresting, mediocre action, no period detail, well-acted. 2 stars
7/07/04 Shams Huque Superb film! 5 stars
7/04/04 Kai Well told story merged with powerfull music !! 5 stars
7/01/04 Piz A modern day Dances With Wolves. Well-shot, can get slow at times. 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva cruise is great 5 stars
6/17/04 P toya Political correctness kissing a brutal feudal miltary culture. Nice sword play. 1 stars
6/08/04 Ron Miller Cruise was great; fantastic ending, great fight scenes! 4 stars
6/06/04 Monster W. Kung Really not that great; aims high, but fails. 3 stars
5/30/04 Frazier A well told story about a disappearing culture, a powerful epict. 5 stars
5/26/04 Mitch A bit cliched and overwrought, but not bad all in all. 4 stars
5/22/04 DWIKA MAHENDRA THIS FILM IS THE MOST GREATFULL THAN THE OTHER TOMS FILM 5 stars
5/16/04 Peter Williams Great movie, if not for Return of the King this was the best movie in 2003. 5 stars
5/06/04 Diane Watson Apart from Tom Cruise who appeared in almost every scene, and somehow manages to survive wh 5 stars
5/03/04 breremarer Great movie! Tome Cruise+Japan=epic 5 stars
5/01/04 Marisa Monroe One of the worst films I've seen in sometime. Cruise makes a laughable samurai. Skip it. 2 stars
4/23/04 Elena The film was well done, not inaccurate, but just WHY Tom Cruise??? 4 stars
4/06/04 Agent Sands Fuck the Cruise-haters. This flick could've starred Jim Breuer & still kicked major ass. 5 stars
3/27/04 qemm Perfect acting and scenes. Everything seems very authentic. Superb movie. 5 stars
3/23/04 Bikramjit Certainly one of the best movies in recent times 5 stars
3/18/04 Quienietra Dumantravska Those Samurai forces charge forth on pink horses! 2 stars
3/13/04 atreida beautiful movie with great cast 5 stars
3/09/04 Blaine Holloway best film of 2003, yes, better than return of the king 5 stars
2/26/04 Troy Butler Not quite five stars, ... but very impressive nonetheless!!! 4 stars
2/25/04 Soulis profound, well acted, amazing scenes 5 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Great 5 stars
2/18/04 Caiphn I don't understand what movie an individual could ever enjoy to think that this 'sucked'. 5 stars
2/12/04 Obi Wan Great movie...quickly became one of my favorites...four trips to the theatre & waitin 4 DVD 5 stars
2/08/04 Gretchen Seitz Insists on having bloodbath kill thousands when title character kills self either way. Why? 2 stars
2/08/04 ladeela definitely better than expected, its great, EVEN tom cruis was good 5 stars
2/03/04 Psycho_Gunman History aside. It's about Samurais and Bushido simplified. 5 stars
2/02/04 rron its very good film 5 stars
1/31/04 Gookkuu I think if you have some knowledge about Japan's history ,you will enjoy with it more!!! 5 stars
1/30/04 Jonathan Clark This is the best movie i have ever seen. It has become my favorite movie of all time. 5 stars
1/29/04 sumixam Great except when TC spoke some very corny lines 4 stars
1/28/04 Mark Parlato Trigona Speechless - This is an awe inspiring movie 5 stars
1/23/04 Paul It is ther best goddamn movie i have ever seen...i think. 5 stars
1/23/04 JamesVG Seven Samurai is better, but this was still great. 5 stars
1/20/04 Af Harrison sucks BIG time 1 stars
1/19/04 C P Hung I enjoyed it and both Tom Cruise & Watanable are excellent. 5 stars
1/19/04 Tini Superb 5 stars
1/18/04 Flip I loved this movie! Even though it is not historicacly acurate. I as a person strive to liv 5 stars
1/16/04 gloria great movie, intriguing, great actors. 5 stars
1/16/04 Chance Great epic type movie 5 stars
1/15/04 malcolm a little melodramatic but gorgeous overall 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Overblown, overplotted action flick with Cruise giving a phone-in performance. 1 stars
1/14/04 Horacio Offensive Like saying a foreigner was responsible for Brazil wining the 1970 world cup. 1 stars
1/13/04 Steve Great 5 stars
1/12/04 (none) A wonderful and film. Great performance by Watanabe. 5 stars
1/11/04 Chopper3 Just another 'join-the-dots' hollywood number, completely predictable and forgetable. 1 stars
1/10/04 John Sellin How much longer will we have to endure this continual re-discovery of Americanism. 1 stars
1/10/04 Shadaan Felfeli I loved the film. Its very Zen and Very Beautiful. 5 stars
1/10/04 Daniel Barf! American saves Samourai tradition?Ha ha. Effects? Hey I saw dinosaurs on screen once. 3 stars
1/08/04 KICK ASS OR DONT COME HOME! looks like tom is goin home then ;) 5 stars
1/07/04 Chance Excellent. 5 stars
1/05/04 jason moving 5 stars
1/05/04 Patrick with a Brain Name this movie something else, so people won't confuse it with history. It didn't happen. 2 stars
1/03/04 A F Why Cruise? It would have been nice to see him decapitated. 4 stars
1/01/04 Mattie G Cruise pulls it off. Great film. Has a bit of everything. 5 stars
1/01/04 Obi Wan Watching it a 3rd time has reaffirmed that this is a 5 Star movie still!!! 5 stars
12/31/03 Maureen Flipping Great 5 stars
12/30/03 Angolmois Contrives plot. If Cruise was so honorable, why didn't he commit suicide too? Good visuals. 4 stars
12/30/03 JC Beautiful portrayal of Japanese culture.This film has touched me in a personal level.A++++ 5 stars
12/29/03 Agent Sands As well as giving us usual war film goods, it's a beautiful portrayal of Japanese culture. 5 stars
12/28/03 Jim Incredible movie 5 stars
12/27/03 Marvin P. top movie contender of the year 5 stars
12/26/03 ajay painfully boring. didn't enjoy it at all and wish I saw LOTR again... 2 stars
12/23/03 Fastbug If you liked DWW, you'll love this. An Oscar contender for sure! 5 stars
12/22/03 Caiphn 'Glorifies the rise of militaristic Japan'? Are you friggin retarded?Did you even watch it? 5 stars
12/21/03 Bill Cawlfield Cruise at his best 5 stars
12/20/03 your worst goddamn nightmare the only movie i can think of where a woman dresses a man and makes it so sensual & subtle 5 stars
12/18/03 Peter Americanized and it glorifies the rise of a militaristic Japan. 1 stars
12/18/03 Cool Leather Jack buuutiful work, loved it 5 stars
12/17/03 Gematria Are you kidding? This cliched piece of drivel is an insult. 2 stars
12/16/03 Emmy the best movie ever!!!!!! 5 stars
12/15/03 Gil Carlson A moving story, magnificently filmed 5 stars
12/13/03 Eric Powerful and emotional with some of the best battle scenes ever put on film. 5 stars
12/12/03 Tom Cruise I am a daft cunt. I really suck. 1 stars
12/12/03 Sean Emrick Best Film Ever 5 stars
12/12/03 Koitus Great movie! I particularly liked the Ninja attack, in the village! 5 stars
12/11/03 Darkheart Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. 5 stars
12/11/03 Cypher Great, very accurate to the samurai way. definantly worth the 7$. one of the best movies 5 stars
12/11/03 Nick Althought it felt odd, the movie is Oscar/Grammy Bound. I hope the JP actors get credit too 5 stars
12/09/03 nick2k i want the fucking dvd NOW!!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Simon the Great dis movie was full of homos stuff sammurri stuff wuz sooo boring. no hot chikc. 1 stars
12/09/03 jay poor..Cruise hollywoody Samurai..lousy Oriental Braveheart, give me a break ! 2 stars
12/09/03 Obi Wan Great...maybe Crowe could have played Nathan, but still great!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Unanon Good, despite the Cruise factor. 4 stars
12/09/03 Peter Yet another Cruise career vehicle. The 'Dimpled One' miscasts himself in historical films. 3 stars
12/08/03 alex I was suprized by Cruise, he did good job, but Watanabe was the reason why I loved the film 5 stars
12/08/03 Wolf 1st half hour, Cruise is acting(poorly) - rest of film, he's LIVING the role. 5 stars
12/08/03 Gray one ethnic group being shown as better than another=shit 1 stars
12/08/03 tony El nino anyone tht says this movie is less than swesome can shove one, this is the best movie!! 5 stars
12/08/03 Ryan beginning too long, good overall 5 stars
12/08/03 ROTK=2004 Oscar!! Braveheart owns this piece of shit. 1 stars
12/08/03 joe slow, a yawner 2 stars
12/08/03 Fenian Absolutely masterful. Screenplay, cinematography, acting, all fantastic! 5 stars
12/07/03 Stacy It's the best cultural movie I have ever seen 5 stars
12/07/03 vp go see it for your self, its one of the best i've seen this year 5 stars
12/07/03 jawsboy One of the best films of the year. Great acting, battles, cinematography, story. Go Cruise! 4 stars
12/07/03 benice very boring. people actually left during the film 1 stars
12/07/03 Noel Great Movie But Makes Me Wonder if I could be a Samurai 5 stars
12/07/03 kentkid An amazing movie, best one i've seen all year. 5 stars
12/06/03 john so so, trite ... bland 3 stars
12/06/03 Pete Well, i actually think it was okay. 4 stars
12/06/03 rsanchez You know where this is going from the get go, but it still sucks you in and never lets up. 5 stars
12/05/03 Brian incredible film 5 stars
12/05/03 Ray I think its very good, but not Oscar-good 5 stars
12/03/03 aseelye Good movie, but felt slow at times. 4 stars
12/02/03 t-d One of the years best 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Dec-2003 (R)
  DVD: 04-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Jan-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast