More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.21

Awesome: 14.95%
Worth A Look: 25.23%
Average34.58%
Pretty Bad: 16.82%
Total Crap: 8.41%

6 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Something's Gotta Give
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"What's the 'something'? A hip? A knee?"
2 stars

Perhaps its biggest claim-to-fame can be that it brought together the geriatric nudity of Jack Nicholson (giving a display last year, as well, with About Schmidt) and Diane Keaton, though not at the same point in time.

Otherwise, the formula of boy hates girl, girl hates boy, girl and boy are forced to spend time together, reevaluate their position on each other, hook up, break apart, and spend the majority of the rest of the movie pining after one another, is only slightly amended by the replacement of “old man” and “middle-aged woman” for boy and girl, respectively. For what it was, Nancy Meyers’ comedy felt more than complete, if not already over-stretched, by the time that Jack and Diane have gotten past their disdain for each other. (Nicholson is a womanizer who is introduced as dating Keaton’s daughter, while she, a chilly, loner playwright, is pursued by a young doctor played by Keanu Reeves — haha!) Meyers, always disingenuous in the approach of her movies, could honestly care less about the evolution and prospect of the older-aged romance, than she is content to rub the most into the small distinction that makes this about the characters as who they are. Apart from the pair’s affable chemistry (and the point at which both of them realize they may be wrong about each other), and a handful of minor funny moments, no less calculated, there is no fun in arriving at the predictable end destination long before the movie itself does, causing one to wonder, for all of the combined years behind these characters — how didn’t they see it coming? With Amanda Peet and Frances McDormand.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8384&reviewer=172
originally posted: 05/14/04 09:35:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/23/17 KarmaBitch Absolutely detest the enligt. 1 stars
9/01/14 Drinking Lemonade One my favorite movies! So nice to see two older actors with such natural chemistry. :) 5 stars
12/06/10 Yvonne I loved this movie, all but the ending. She should have chosen the young doc! 5 stars
11/28/10 Cat The first half was interesting, but the second was boring and the ending-cringe inducing. 3 stars
11/09/10 the dork knight Dreadful second act. The ending made me puke. 3 stars
8/02/10 Cat There were good moments but I can't get the creepy ending out of my mind. 2 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT SMARTLY FUNNY ROMANTIC COMEDY WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. ehh it was ok. 3 stars
11/05/07 Quigley Worth watching just for Keaton and Nicholson's chemistry. Very charming movie 4 stars
8/05/07 ravenmad the banter was very witty, think~Dawson's Creek grows up. I liked it! 4 stars
8/01/07 johnnyfog Performances elevate the first half, but the ending's awful 4 stars
11/11/06 Bill Hi all 2 stars
6/22/06 TB I like Nicholson better 5 stars
4/24/06 R.W.Welch The two leads are just enough to keep it rolling. C+ 3 stars
3/09/06 Dk Nicholsen deserves better 2 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Can-be-funny comedy with two great stars. Both give worthy performances. 3 stars
3/26/05 Jack Sommersby Take it or leave it. 3 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig Sophiscated and very well written, but seemed like other Nickolson flicks. 4 stars
9/04/04 T.B. The Cast is all right, but the story is mass up 3 stars
7/08/04 Denise great cast 4 stars
7/01/04 Piz same ol romantic comedy, except a lot longer...After an hour I was out like a light 2 stars
6/27/04 Nancy Lapidus Improbable subplot - young doctor hunks don't pine after 55-year-old women. 3 stars
6/19/04 KENT No chemistry, predictable, and it was L O N G , , , 1 stars
5/16/04 Idiot's Mouth OK, again: old people are NOT funny! Old, naked people are an affront to humanity! Die! Die 1 stars
5/13/04 Pinkline Jones Kitsch amateurish script - would help if Keaton could ACT 3 stars
5/07/04 Ross I laughed so hard, excellent movie. This one's going on my to buy list 5 stars
4/23/04 Elena Nicholson and Keaton at their very best. Movie was clever and deftly witty. 4 stars
4/13/04 PinkiePie Great movie! SO worth watching! 5 stars
4/13/04 Madeline Too long, hated the contrived plot and gross love scenes. 1 stars
4/11/04 felicity reli cool movie 5 stars
4/08/04 Mary Boule A very witty, overdue reaction to the "old guy with babe" Hollywood cliche. Wonderful film. 4 stars
3/23/04 marie-anne Totally refreshing and so much fun 5 stars
3/15/04 Monday Morning Absolutely wonderful 5 stars
3/14/04 E-Rock Pretty good, actually. Nicholson is awesome, and Keaton earns her Oscar nod well. 4 stars
3/08/04 S.F. God Awful !! 2 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser A nice, laugh-out-loud, warm and satyrical film! Nicholson at his synic best! 5 stars
3/05/04 Felix Buchmann Jack Nickolson at his worst! 1 stars
2/16/04 My Two Cents Pretty corny, comedy comes from middle-aged romance, e.g. the glasses scene. Jack's good. 4 stars
2/15/04 Pete It's extremely formulatic - yes. But Keaton and Nicholson make you think 'who cares?!'. 5 stars
2/15/04 Samantha Keaton and Nicholson make this film a pure joy. 5 stars
2/15/04 Russell Forget the script - just sit back and enjoy watching two legends at work. 5 stars
2/15/04 stevejones I'm 50 and it gave me the creeps 1 stars
2/12/04 Priscilla Postlethwaite Keanu Reeves plays most likeable character & one left a loose end. Guess it figures. 4 stars
2/12/04 So Erica say's she's not regular & men like regular Erica, ever consider waiting longer in a relationship to discuss your constipation? 4 stars
2/07/04 WILL ACTING MADE THE FILM WORK EXCEPT FOR kEANU................HE STUDIEDAT THESAME ACTING SCHOO 4 stars
2/07/04 Suzz very enjoyable frippery; keaton is a gem 4 stars
2/04/04 Chris It was fine but long and the nude scene was nasty. 3 stars
1/26/04 Paul Frassinelli Fairly funny, with rare strong laughs 4 stars
1/22/04 bribear acting-great; plot-average 3 stars
1/19/04 sillyjillyh Excellent; several great laughs;great acting 5 stars
1/16/04 Lizzie It was fun. 4 stars
1/15/04 Kate Simply dreadful. Ray-Bans only take you so far and Jack has employed them once too often. 2 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Keaton & Nicholson are wonderful in this pleasant comedy. 4 stars
1/15/04 BigNate thouroughly enjoyable 4 stars
1/13/04 Suresh Long, same old same old, but worth a look for acting 3 stars
1/11/04 dave heavily dressed up crap 1 stars
1/10/04 kaz morrison what a starfest!!Loved Diane,although no woman with a brain would choose Jack over Keanu 4 stars
1/09/04 Helen Bradley Keaton great, film should be cut by 25% 3 stars
1/08/04 john wonderful, uplifting...jack and diane 5 stars
1/06/04 Chris Nobody wants to see Keaton naked but everyone should see her preformence. Sweet but long. 3 stars
1/02/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. The ending is typical but at least the formula is new 4 stars
12/25/03 breadman Keaton & Jack do well and she is amazing 4 stars
12/25/03 Lindsey One of the best movies i've ever seen! 5 stars
12/24/03 Judy One of my favorite films of all time 5 stars
12/23/03 I liked it Keaton gets naked 3 stars
12/22/03 Sarah They could have cut 15% of the movie. One dimensional and boring. 1 stars
12/22/03 sethandbeth A movie for everyone's ..MOM. So unrealistic!!! 1 stars
12/19/03 Mashawnda Dowell Great Film 4 stars
12/17/03 Flick Chick tv movie of the week type schmaltz - disappointing. 3 stars
12/17/03 Ray It was good, but not too much 3 stars
12/16/03 nick2k good story......but i felt uneady with the transition of a pivitol event. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Dec-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Mar-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jan-2004


Directed by
  Nancy Meyers

Written by
  Nancy Meyers

Cast
  Jack Nicholson
  Diane Keaton
  Amanda Peet
  Keanu Reeves
  Jon Favreau
  Frances McDormand



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast