More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.21

Awesome: 14.95%
Worth A Look: 25.23%
Average34.58%
Pretty Bad: 16.82%
Total Crap: 8.41%

6 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Something's Gotta Give
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Natasha Theobald

"Writer-director, edit thyself!"
3 stars

This movie is much like its middle to late life characters; it starts to lose steam and focus halfway through the job at hand. It could have been sharper and fresher with a couple of scenes cut out here and there. As it is, the story begins to wander off into selective senility, forgetting the point of the whole affair. At more than two hours, this romantic comedy limps rather than banging it home.

Diane Keaton stars as Erica, a playwright and mother to Amanda Peet's Marin. When Marin chooses to spend the weekend at mom's house in the Hamptons with her mature boyfriend and bonafide bachelor, Harry (Jack Nicholson) as do mom and her sister, Zoe (a criminally underused Frances McDormand), chaos ensues. Erica is a bit of a prickly pear post her divorce as it is, and Harry seems to push all of the wrong buttons, making snide remarks about women her age, etc. When Harry has a pre-coital heart attack, the dinner party group moves to the hospital, where we meet Harry's doctor, Julian (Keanu Reeves), a younger man love interest for Erica. It turns out that Harry must stay on at the house with Erica until he is well enough to travel back to the city. This gives them the opportunity to get to know one another a little better and gives excuses for house calls from sexy doctor Keanu.

The set up is pretty good and often funny, though with scenes you would have seen while they were selling the movie. Much of the humor is at the expense of the aged, which seems okay since the middle aged actors are the ones responsible for delivering it. There also are some barbs aimed at the myth of Jack Nicholson himself - clever the first time, less so as the joke wears on. All of the actors do a good job, notably Diane Keaton, who takes a cynical, obsessive woman and makes believable an opening of her heart to love. I also enjoyed Keanu Reeves in his part, though some of it, for the sake of the picture, could have hit the cutting room floor. I imagine more than one fifty something woman swooned at the thought of his sexy doctor saying the things to her that he says to Erica. I would have seen a film about that relationship front and center, for sure.

The romance is good at points and a little sticky at points. We spend a lot of time walking along beaches and talking about our feelings. Funny, I don't much like to "talk about the relationship" at home, so why would I want to hear other people complain and cajole onscreen? There are some genuinely tender moments, though, some touching times hard won. Some of the romantic stuff, however, devolves into silliness and predictability. The path becomes pretty clear, surprises are undermined by earlier, unnecessary scenes, and too much time is taken getting from point A to denouement. The winning aspects of the characters and great performances are undermined somewhat by the administration, writer-director Nancy Meyers. While I liked this better than her last effort, "What Women Want," I still see some lack of directorial focus in making the finished product fit. Things seem to go better when she writes, but writing and directing leaves too much opportunity to keep beloved scenes that should really go.

All in all, the characters and actors save the hiccups in the story points from being too much of a problem. While I got frustrated with the meandering plotline, I continued to enjoy the performances and found myself mostly happy to have seen the best parts of the film.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8384&reviewer=317
originally posted: 06/08/04 09:47:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/23/17 KarmaBitch Absolutely detest the enligt. 1 stars
9/01/14 Drinking Lemonade One my favorite movies! So nice to see two older actors with such natural chemistry. :) 5 stars
12/06/10 Yvonne I loved this movie, all but the ending. She should have chosen the young doc! 5 stars
11/28/10 Cat The first half was interesting, but the second was boring and the ending-cringe inducing. 3 stars
11/09/10 the dork knight Dreadful second act. The ending made me puke. 3 stars
8/02/10 Cat There were good moments but I can't get the creepy ending out of my mind. 2 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT SMARTLY FUNNY ROMANTIC COMEDY WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. ehh it was ok. 3 stars
11/05/07 Quigley Worth watching just for Keaton and Nicholson's chemistry. Very charming movie 4 stars
8/05/07 ravenmad the banter was very witty, think~Dawson's Creek grows up. I liked it! 4 stars
8/01/07 johnnyfog Performances elevate the first half, but the ending's awful 4 stars
11/11/06 Bill Hi all 2 stars
6/22/06 TB I like Nicholson better 5 stars
4/24/06 R.W.Welch The two leads are just enough to keep it rolling. C+ 3 stars
3/09/06 Dk Nicholsen deserves better 2 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Can-be-funny comedy with two great stars. Both give worthy performances. 3 stars
3/26/05 Jack Sommersby Take it or leave it. 3 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig Sophiscated and very well written, but seemed like other Nickolson flicks. 4 stars
9/04/04 T.B. The Cast is all right, but the story is mass up 3 stars
7/08/04 Denise great cast 4 stars
7/01/04 Piz same ol romantic comedy, except a lot longer...After an hour I was out like a light 2 stars
6/27/04 Nancy Lapidus Improbable subplot - young doctor hunks don't pine after 55-year-old women. 3 stars
6/19/04 KENT No chemistry, predictable, and it was L O N G , , , 1 stars
5/16/04 Idiot's Mouth OK, again: old people are NOT funny! Old, naked people are an affront to humanity! Die! Die 1 stars
5/13/04 Pinkline Jones Kitsch amateurish script - would help if Keaton could ACT 3 stars
5/07/04 Ross I laughed so hard, excellent movie. This one's going on my to buy list 5 stars
4/23/04 Elena Nicholson and Keaton at their very best. Movie was clever and deftly witty. 4 stars
4/13/04 PinkiePie Great movie! SO worth watching! 5 stars
4/13/04 Madeline Too long, hated the contrived plot and gross love scenes. 1 stars
4/11/04 felicity reli cool movie 5 stars
4/08/04 Mary Boule A very witty, overdue reaction to the "old guy with babe" Hollywood cliche. Wonderful film. 4 stars
3/23/04 marie-anne Totally refreshing and so much fun 5 stars
3/15/04 Monday Morning Absolutely wonderful 5 stars
3/14/04 E-Rock Pretty good, actually. Nicholson is awesome, and Keaton earns her Oscar nod well. 4 stars
3/08/04 S.F. God Awful !! 2 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser A nice, laugh-out-loud, warm and satyrical film! Nicholson at his synic best! 5 stars
3/05/04 Felix Buchmann Jack Nickolson at his worst! 1 stars
2/16/04 My Two Cents Pretty corny, comedy comes from middle-aged romance, e.g. the glasses scene. Jack's good. 4 stars
2/15/04 Pete It's extremely formulatic - yes. But Keaton and Nicholson make you think 'who cares?!'. 5 stars
2/15/04 Samantha Keaton and Nicholson make this film a pure joy. 5 stars
2/15/04 Russell Forget the script - just sit back and enjoy watching two legends at work. 5 stars
2/15/04 stevejones I'm 50 and it gave me the creeps 1 stars
2/12/04 Priscilla Postlethwaite Keanu Reeves plays most likeable character & one left a loose end. Guess it figures. 4 stars
2/12/04 So Erica say's she's not regular & men like regular Erica, ever consider waiting longer in a relationship to discuss your constipation? 4 stars
2/07/04 WILL ACTING MADE THE FILM WORK EXCEPT FOR kEANU................HE STUDIEDAT THESAME ACTING SCHOO 4 stars
2/07/04 Suzz very enjoyable frippery; keaton is a gem 4 stars
2/04/04 Chris It was fine but long and the nude scene was nasty. 3 stars
1/26/04 Paul Frassinelli Fairly funny, with rare strong laughs 4 stars
1/22/04 bribear acting-great; plot-average 3 stars
1/19/04 sillyjillyh Excellent; several great laughs;great acting 5 stars
1/16/04 Lizzie It was fun. 4 stars
1/15/04 Kate Simply dreadful. Ray-Bans only take you so far and Jack has employed them once too often. 2 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Keaton & Nicholson are wonderful in this pleasant comedy. 4 stars
1/15/04 BigNate thouroughly enjoyable 4 stars
1/13/04 Suresh Long, same old same old, but worth a look for acting 3 stars
1/11/04 dave heavily dressed up crap 1 stars
1/10/04 kaz morrison what a starfest!!Loved Diane,although no woman with a brain would choose Jack over Keanu 4 stars
1/09/04 Helen Bradley Keaton great, film should be cut by 25% 3 stars
1/08/04 john wonderful, uplifting...jack and diane 5 stars
1/06/04 Chris Nobody wants to see Keaton naked but everyone should see her preformence. Sweet but long. 3 stars
1/02/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. The ending is typical but at least the formula is new 4 stars
12/25/03 breadman Keaton & Jack do well and she is amazing 4 stars
12/25/03 Lindsey One of the best movies i've ever seen! 5 stars
12/24/03 Judy One of my favorite films of all time 5 stars
12/23/03 I liked it Keaton gets naked 3 stars
12/22/03 Sarah They could have cut 15% of the movie. One dimensional and boring. 1 stars
12/22/03 sethandbeth A movie for everyone's ..MOM. So unrealistic!!! 1 stars
12/19/03 Mashawnda Dowell Great Film 4 stars
12/17/03 Flick Chick tv movie of the week type schmaltz - disappointing. 3 stars
12/17/03 Ray It was good, but not too much 3 stars
12/16/03 nick2k good story......but i felt uneady with the transition of a pivitol event. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Dec-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Mar-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jan-2004


Directed by
  Nancy Meyers

Written by
  Nancy Meyers

Cast
  Jack Nicholson
  Diane Keaton
  Amanda Peet
  Keanu Reeves
  Jon Favreau
  Frances McDormand



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast