More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.27

Awesome: 5.41%
Worth A Look48.65%
Average: 24.32%
Pretty Bad: 10.81%
Total Crap: 10.81%

5 reviews, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Stuck on You (2003)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jay Seaver

"Hearts are in the right place, but it's not next to the funnybone"
3 stars

It's hard to criticize the Farrelly brothers when they do a comedy like Stuck On You or Shallow Hal, because their hearts are so clearly in the right place. They've got a talent for seeing people Hollywood otherwise avoids - the mentally handicapped, the physically disabled, or, here, conjoined twins - as individuals

They are able to give the audience permission to laugh at their adventures because, amid all the stupidity of the world around them, these characters prove themselves worthy of your respect. They're not just hack artists making fun of those less fortunate than themselves, and they're not patronizing hero-worshippers, either. They're just capable of looking at characters like Bob and Walt Tenner and seeing them as more than walking punchlines.

But it's kind of a backhanded compliment here. Yeah, Bob (Matt Damon) and Walt (Greg Kinnear) are likable, but they're dropped into a thoroughly bland "trying to become a TV/movie star" situation. There's absolutely no bite to any of the Hollywood jokes, from the scheming star (and that Cher is playing herself isn't funny enough) to the oh-so-predictable "Tonight Show With Jay Leno" sequence. Outside of the two main characters, it's like the Farrellys aren't even trying.

I will give them a pass on probably one of the few actual funny "Bill Buckner" jokes this Red Sox fan has had to suffer through. I kind of have to wonder, though, whether it will play as well outside of New England (or would without the sort of meta-joke that Matt Damon is a noted Bostonian). And the Frankie Muniz appearance; that was funny.

But I was turned off by the latter third or so of the movie, where (SPOILERS THROUGH THE END OF THE REVIEW) the boys are on their own. It's really kind of depressing, when you think about it - they set up the operation to seperate them as potentially dangerous, but justify it emotionally because the two have their own seperate dreams. But the two are lost without each other, and don't grow to handle it. It's like they did something terribly risky for nothing.

The Farrellys' hearts are in the right place, but it's not next to their funnybone.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8388&reviewer=371
originally posted: 06/04/04 09:14:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

1/26/08 Pamela White sucks 2 stars
6/06/07 David Pollastrini pretty awful 2 stars
5/20/07 Jeff Anderson Barely funny & slack. The effortlessly sexy Eva Mendes is it's LONE & ONLY SAVING GRACE!!!! 2 stars
2/21/06 Quigley Why did I see this wretched movie before I saw "The Return of the King"!?! 2 stars
2/21/06 Agent Sands Possibly the Farrelly brothers' best movie, next to Me, Myself & Irene. 4 stars
11/30/05 CONSTANTINE MEh! - The LOVELY Eva Mendes Was The Only Saving Grace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
9/03/05 Rehan Saeed the movie is enjoyable, but the kind you only see once. 4 stars
8/12/05 ALDO Better than There's Something About Mary, that overrated d-bag favorite 4 stars
1/06/05 Archanist_101 Seems they've fallen into the PG-13 trap... Oh well, Eva Mendes was worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
11/25/04 Anita Bonghit Coupla laffs at the stupidity, couple genuine. Cher helps, Streep too 4 stars
6/21/04 Dick Logan Totally unfunny and painful to watch. Walked out of the theater. 1 stars
6/19/04 J A delightful comedy of brotherhood! *** out 4 4 stars
5/29/04 Suzette One of Greg Kinnear's worse movies! 1 stars
5/08/04 Christian enjoyed it's humor and cast up to the very final ! 5 stars
5/07/04 Ben Great A+++ 4 stars
5/07/04 Mickey With A C UNFUNNY 2 stars
5/03/04 J ROC This movie was painful to watch.....absolutely horrible. Possibly the worst movie ever. 1 stars
5/03/04 Caiphn Horrid. Absolutely awful. Not funny and completely boring. No idea how anyone enjoyed this. 1 stars
4/29/04 The Dude I'll take a Pile of Shit with a side order of retarded freaks. 2 stars
4/15/04 rojo Farrelly bros are bizarre and so is this movie. 4 stars
3/14/04 Jack It could have been better but still funny 1 stars
3/14/04 Sticky Numm it was a good movie 3 stars
3/14/04 FARNQWO Not exactly side-splitting but very entertainig nevertherless 4 stars
3/13/04 Cheryl Conway How many consecutive (but thoroughly dissimilar) bad hair days can Cher have? 3 stars
3/08/04 Goofy Maxwell Incredible! Smart, crude humor that seperates itself from it's gross imitators. 5 stars
3/08/04 Maureen I noticed a lot of intellectual humour that went right over the heads of the audience. 5 stars
2/27/04 Boris Funny in parts. Boring for the most part. 2 stars
2/22/04 Oh, yeah? (real conjoined twins are always identical, by the way) Separation could never've been so life-threatening as their bumping around in sports, etc. 3 stars
2/21/04 Ashley Corpening Overall entertaining; a bit too much bathos following separation. 4 stars
1/21/04 Betty White Nearly laughless bathroom comedy; what was Streep thinking!? 1 stars
1/04/04 Littlepurch Few good jokes from Meryl Streep and Cher but that's all. Me Myself & Irene much funnier. 2 stars
1/03/04 A F Should have been rated R. Farrelly movies need to be R. 4 stars
12/31/03 Rod Johnston Stuck on You sounds like my favorite porn movie to me! Get it? Stuck (or suck) on you! 5 stars
12/28/03 bender 200 times better than shallow hal, not the funniest FB'S, but...funny enough 4 stars
12/23/03 jada terrible, shallow hal was funnier 1 stars
12/22/03 Snickerdoodle Funny comedy with a heart. 4 stars
12/22/03 bob Funny! Not the FB's best movie ...but funny 4 stars
12/19/03 Richard Sterman Great funny film. Lots of cameo appearences 4 stars
12/19/03 Mr. W Surprisingly charming, worth the $9.50 4 stars
12/17/03 gunit this bitch sucked dick hole 1 stars
12/14/03 ajay much better then shallow hal. I laughed out loud a couple of times... good 'odd' fun. 4 stars
12/13/03 Noel R Good Review Erick, film had lot of potential 3 stars
12/12/03 Joanne O Thought it was hysterical. A comedy that actually made me laugh out loud many times! 4 stars
12/11/03 daniel blah 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Dec-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 27-Apr-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Feb-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast