More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome: 31.3%
Worth A Look38.26%
Average: 13.91%
Pretty Bad: 6.96%
Total Crap: 9.57%

4 reviews, 91 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

Dark Phoenix by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Wild Things
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by desdemona

"There is no such thing as too many twists."
4 stars

How many twists can a movie take before it crosses the line from bizarre coincidence into excessive turns of events? In my opinion, it's not possible.

Wild Things begins simply enough. Kelly VanRyan (Denise Richards), bratty, horny daughter of the infamously wealthy nymphomaniac Sandra VanRyan (Theresa Russell), accuses her high school counselor Sam Lombardo (Matt Dillon) of rape in the high-class Florida town of Blue Bay. Sam of course claims innocence, but then the sleezy swamp trash Suzy (Neve Campbell) joins in Kelly's cries of wolf, and Mr. Lombardo has to find himself a good lawyer quick or else his life is over. But don't worry; the girls were just lieing about the entire ordeal because they both were mad at Mr. Lombardo and wanted revenge. That is just the first of a series of head-spinning plot twists that make this movie more than just Denise Richards naked.

Then a paranoid detective (Kevin Bacon) starts to get a little suspicious of the girls and of Mr. Lombardo, and decides to do a little extra-curicular activity and spy on them. This is where everything just goes completely crazy, right up until the climatic, entirely unpredictable ending. Have fun trying to mentally sort it all out afterwards; I still am.

The thing is, so many movies now have cool little twists that the "twist" is becoming overdone and redundant. The unpredictablity sought by the "twist" is almost slipping into the realm of predictability simply because the "twist" has become expected. So, what made Wild Things different? A continuous bombardment of twists from beginning to end--hell, I couldn't even establish plot without giving away the first few twists. Sure, you might be able to see a few of the twists coming, but because of the sheer QUANTITY of twists, the ending is something even the most seasoned guesser cannot forsee.

And let's not forget that the ending was cool in and of itself.

The acting ranged from piss-poor to not-too-bad. At times Denise Richards (you'll remember her as that smiley chick from Starship Troopers) was laughably bad, others times she played her role sufficiently. Neve Campbell was decent throughout the movie; who knew she could play drug-peddling swamp trash so well? Bill Murray was an excellent neck-brace-wearing sleezey lawyer. Matt Dillon and Kevin Bacon were, well, trying to act. Perhaps I just missed the subtlety of their acting, I don't know. Needless to say, I was not impressed. But despite less than perfect performances, the story held its own and the movie was still good, thanks be to the director.

No life-enhancing meaning behind it but hey, it's entertainment. Definately worth a watch.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=84&reviewer=86
originally posted: 06/11/99 06:21:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/17/12 PAUL SHORTT MODERATELY ENTERTAINING TRASH 3 stars
3/13/12 May Q. Horney No doubt the film that started downward spirals of Kevin Bacon and Denise Richards. 1 stars
3/03/10 art NO I TAKE IT BACK,THIS IS AN EXCELLENT THRILLER! 5 stars
8/24/09 art SOFT CORE PORNOGRAPHY! 3 stars
10/26/08 Shaun Wallner My kind of film. 4 stars
2/14/07 fadi nice movie 5 stars
10/07/06 Allan simply awesome 5 stars
12/05/05 cody a cool movie with interesting plot with twist and turns, very entertaining, go neve 4 stars
7/17/05 Indrid Cold Possibly the best "neo noir" of the 90s. Perfect mix of drama, humor, sex and plot twists. 5 stars
2/01/05 Jeff Anderson A TWISTY & PERFECTLY ACTED GREAT TIME! George S. Clinton's music deserves special mention!! 5 stars
11/22/04 James VanZandt I think it was one of the best movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
7/13/04 Jason Turney I've seen this movie twice and taped parts of it. On plot, characterization, theme, it was 4 stars
5/05/04 Vince I LOVED THAT SHIT AND IF YOU DIDN'T THEN DIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIE 5 stars
5/01/04 John ineptly done 1 stars
12/25/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Decidedly sucks even if you want to see Kevin Bacon's pecker; enormously if you don't. 1 stars
12/15/03 Zargo decent fun 4 stars
10/20/03 Samuel Justus great twist and defintely worth watching, especilly Denise and Neve kissing! 4 stars
8/04/03 Kevin Damn Kevin Bacons Tiny Doodle! 1 stars
7/25/03 3man The troi scene is the greatest in non-adult movie history. The rest of it is average though 4 stars
4/15/03 me A GREAT FILM 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Spying Bacon's dick ain't my idea of a good time. Besides, the story twists are easy tospot 2 stars
9/02/02 Phil M. Aficionado About 75% too confusing and 60% too preposterous. A soap opera in a swamp. 2 stars
8/29/02 Miss. c. Sugden Thoroughly enjoyable film, understandable with just enough sex to tie it all together! 5 stars
8/16/02 scott greay 5 stars
8/05/02 Grinder Twisty plot, over the top is a GOOD way. 4 stars
8/05/02 KMG You've seen one make out scene involving two women you've seen them all 3 stars
8/02/02 Marianne Blackwelder Whole cast sucks their own turds! 1 stars
7/29/02 The Bomb 69 fun movie, could see what was happening a mile away but i was still entertained 4 stars
6/03/02 qtpie SEXY 4 stars
3/31/02 kevin fryne none 5 stars
3/08/02 RAGU Not bad for a sexy heart pumping erotic thriller, the ending seemed to be dragged. 3 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Clever, twisted and very sexy. Too bad Neve didn't do any nudity though....... 4 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Sexy and twisty fun 4 stars
2/12/02 Marianne Blackwelder Whole cast sucks their own turds! 1 stars
9/27/01 Butterbean A suspense flick odviously aimed for horny dorks. It's cool,but the ending was overdone. 3 stars
8/23/01 mitoban denise,nice tits 4 stars
7/29/01 JesseL Neve and Denise - GREAT! Only massively gay males don't like this one. 5 stars
7/27/01 WeirdArchives Wished Neve was naked in this one. Pehaps the remake will be more tasty someday. 4 stars
7/16/01 bobbuttons the ending takes so many turns i end up not caring 4 stars
7/16/01 Roy Smith Campy, sexy, goofy - loved it! 5 stars
7/14/01 TLsmooth Denise's boobies are the only good thing. Dillon is cardboard. 2 stars
7/11/01 Boomshanka Tons of fun. Never takes itself at all seriously, just go with it. 4 stars
6/29/01 dung vu i like this film 5 stars
6/16/01 MARK the lesbian scene? to overdone... we need two guys goin at it now!! 1 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe The stupidest piece of shite to come down the pike in a long time, thank God 1 stars
6/09/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Very unbalanced, and though it is VERY surprising after a while... by the end, who cares? 2 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan Bill Murray is God. Oh, Jesus, am I seeing things or was that Kev Bacon's dick? Ugh. 5 stars
5/05/01 The Moorhen Bill Murray = Good. Denise Richards topless = Excellent. Hooters Hooters Yum Yum Yum. 5 stars
4/14/01 LiL Wow! 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Great movie. Just kept getting better and better. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy High camp neo-noir. 4 stars
2/11/01 abc only the naked part is good 5 stars
2/08/01 Sully cool flick....tossed my junk during the champange pouring scene........ 4 stars
1/31/01 Big Isil Nothing to do, rent it. Too unrealistic, but neve and denise are to hot to pass by. 2 stars
8/26/00 NoRefill An entertaining film. Don't think any high than your groin. 4 stars
7/04/00 Stephen Anderson A lot of plot twists, but still a great movie 4 stars
5/10/00 Steve Layne Sexy and entertaining but it goes too far. 4 stars
5/08/00 The Bomb 69 i spooged three times!!!! Neve and Denise were HOT!!! 5 stars
4/24/00 Ryan It was aweful... except for kevin bacon's cock! yum yum 2 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski If kink must be done, then this is how to do it. 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Really good , has some great plot twists and good cast could have done without Kevins dick 5 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Black comedy? Film Noir? Guilty pleasure. So camp it's got poison ivy. A hoot. 5 stars
9/14/99 Ramsay film noir 101 3 stars
7/17/99 hum oh come on, this is bad! maybe its bad comedy? still pretty terrable. 2 stars
6/28/99 Paul Nice tits!! << Play << Play << Play 5 stars
5/24/99 Allie Denise Richards and Neve Campbell make this movie a hit 4 stars
5/23/99 GothamDK Don't care much for NC, but...Man alive, Denise Richards is just awsome. Decent plot. 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Great fucking entertainment! I love you Bill!(well, in a not gay sort of way) 4 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo Denise Richards=very yummy. Good acting, too many plot twists though...... 5 stars
3/13/99 eric fuller Crazy, sexy, cool! Every website in the world will download the threeway scene. 5 stars
3/07/99 KK Dusenbury Denise is the show. After she dies.. stop the movie. That was the gayest thing I've ever.. 4 stars
3/01/99 Spankey Great plot....not much for porns though 3 stars
2/12/99 Raheem Destiny Yall it's all white ugly bitches in it yo! What the fucks up wit' dat ho! 1 stars
1/07/99 Jo Mama richards = hottie. nuff said. 4 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink Enjoyable tongue-in-cheek thriller 4 stars
11/20/98 bitch slap 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Not as great as it thinks it is, it is a good 'noir-ish' mystery. 4 stars
10/26/98 Johny McNaughton has come down from HENRY: PoaSK, only one good trick (watch the end credits) 3 stars
10/18/98 katherine totally sick. it should be in the porno section. bnlaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah 2 stars
10/01/98 Nate Dogg Sweet fuckin' Christ this is a good flick..and I say that cause you get to see Bacon's dick 5 stars
9/25/98 Foxgirl Even my dad liked it. AWSOME all the way. Really cool plot. 5 stars
9/22/98 Anna Karenina Sweet. Not as in "sweet", but as in "sweeeeeeeet". 4 stars
9/18/98 cheryl_ann it was a plot within a plot within a plot...neve was a bitch, her usual self. 3 stars
9/17/98 Ben Affleck Very entertaining movie.. Richards is HOT!! Lots of twists.. 4 stars
9/16/98 J-Guy what a trendy load of dung. I hate how the MTV'ers take over. fuck this movie. 1 stars
9/16/98 f*r*o*s*t*y The only thing I felt thrilling about this movie was Neve's hair. Bah. 1 stars
9/04/98 Badass Denise's tits where only on screen for like 2 seconds. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Loved every minute. Perfectly trashy. 4 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Apart from Bacon's bacon, this was preety good trashy fun. Denise boobs! Yay! 4 stars
8/15/98 Schmeekins Dude, it's all about the breasts 3 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} I went to a strip bar with Denise Richards. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Apr-1998 (R)
  DVD: 20-Apr-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Aug-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast