More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.88

Awesome: 5.8%
Worth A Look: 8.7%
Average: 10.14%
Pretty Bad: 18.84%
Total Crap56.52%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

Me and You by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Cool World
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"As bad as you've heard, only worse."
1 stars

If a certain filmmaker is just plain old BAD, and consistently so, it's easy to dismiss their movies as the product of a clueless mind. But when you see three or four atrocious films that come from someone who's clearly a talented guy, things start to get a lot more interesting. One such case in point would be the filmography of Mr. Ralph Bakshi.

Longtime animator and no stranger to truly bizarre movies, Mr. Bakshi has indeed presented several fascinating flicks over the years (like Fritz the Cat, Heavy Traffic, Wizards and American Pop) yet is also known for being behind the ill-fated Lord of the Rings cartoon, the amazingly bad (live action) cable flick Cool and the Crazy, and this one: Cool World, easily one of the most unreleasable movies ever released.

Much has been written on the overwhelming stench surrounding Cool World's production and release, but 14 years after the fact the movie remains. And it's recently been released on DVD. Consider yourself warned.

Critics often use the word 'incomprehensible' when referring to a poorly constructed movie, but nowhere is such an assessment more accurate than in the case of Cool World. Try watching the movie with your DVD player's "chapter shuffle" capability, and then go back and watch it straight through. I challenge you to describe which version makes more sense.

Allegedly the plot is about a cartoonist (Gabriel Byrne, looking lost and entirely humiliated) who gets pulled into the universe of his own comic book and pines for sex with animated lass Holli Would (Kim Basinger). Human detective Frank Harris (as played by the overwhelmed Brad Pitt, whom I expect would pay 5 million bucks for this movie to vanish off the face of the earth) has something to do with this nonsense; he's there to stop humans and cartoon characters from having sexual intercourse, or something equally unseemly.

Coming along not too far removed from the brilliant Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Cool World works desperately hard to be mentioned in the same breath as Zemeckis' groundbreaking feature...but only five minutes worth of Cool World is enough to eliminate any comparisons between the two.

The animation is woefully poor (Bakshi's always been known for his enjoyably 'rustic' animation, but this flick feels like it needed about six more months worth of post-production work), the narrative is completely fractured and irretrievable, the acting ranges from hilariously bad to sadly inept, the production design looks like something from Tim Burton's worst pepperoni-induced nightmares, the overall tone is that of smugness and overt ugliness...

The whole sorry thing feels like it was a poor idea from the beginning (at best) or a resoundingly shoddy attempt to ride the back of Roger Rabbit in the name of Gimmick Filmmaking. Either way, Cool World still represents a true curiosity to any intrepid movie fan. It's one of those movies you know is horrible going in, but it's also one you simply have to experience for yourself.

But by no means should you consider that any sort of legitimate recommendation.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=840&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/30/04 00:41:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/09/14 PAUL SHORTT DREARY AND REPELLENT 1 stars
10/05/13 Dane Youssef Who Ripped Off Roger Rabbit... pathetically? 1 stars
3/13/12 May Q. Horney Neither Cool nor a World. Nothing memorable but my thinking "Will this emptyness ever end?" 1 stars
7/04/11 lindsay i loved cool world as a kid and i love it now. roger rabbit is obviously a better movie, bu 5 stars
2/20/11 Ark All the dudes were there to see the chick, that was b4 anime' hit! 2 stars
9/02/09 Dane Youssef Even with really low expectations, this is still a disapointment. Not worthy of Bakshi. 1 stars
4/29/09 SM Completely irredemable garbage; how did it ever escape the studio? Don't waste your time. 1 stars
12/22/07 Isaac Baranoff Ralph Bakshi is a great filmmaker, but the producer messed this one up. 2 stars
12/02/07 Charles Tatum Bakshi proves he can't direct animation or live action 1 stars
4/11/07 David Cohen I know Ralph Bakshi is famous for something, but I don't know what, certainly not this! 2 stars
9/15/06 pppppppp brad pitt owns, movie sucks 4 stars
8/19/05 ES See Fire & Ice, much better Bakshi, this one not so good 1 stars
8/05/05 Dan so many minutes of suffering 1 stars
7/07/05 Isaac Baranoff Uneven, the animation's cool. 3 stars
3/08/05 Jess Can anyone tell me the name of song playing after Holli has sex with the noid? 5 stars
2/16/05 Wilt Chamberlin Why, Ralph, why? 2 stars
1/30/05 Dom DeWilde Yes -- this film was bad, but it wasn't Bakshi's fault -- Paramount stole his picture! 2 stars
12/14/04 Yvette Johnson A waste of Bakshi's talents. Too bad Paramount screwed him over and re-wrote his script. 3 stars
10/23/04 Heidi Lice Best part is where Kim Basinger shits in her pants. 1 stars
10/22/04 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident Evidence that movie watching could be dangerous, if you consider death by boredom. 1 stars
9/08/04 Bob The script was terrible, but the animation, acting, and directing was fantastic. 4 stars
5/01/04 susan lee interesting mix of animated and real world, didn't come off too well though 3 stars
5/01/04 y2mckay Deep symbolic significance? It's humans and cartoons trying to fuck! Simply wretched. 1 stars
7/19/03 Case Campbell l've seen cool world its KICK ASS, Ralph Bakshi is GOD, STOP HATING you lifeless critic !!! 5 stars
6/09/03 Jack Sommersby A guilty pleasure. 3 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Holy Holli's tits did this blow. 1 stars
2/16/03 yeami I think that most criticss misunderstood the deep symbolic significance 4 stars
7/05/02 pedant The book was _Who Killed Roger Rabbit_, so chill 2 stars
3/12/02 Monster W. Kung Good if you wanna masturbate to cartoons. 4 stars
2/13/02 y This was an OK movie 4 stars
12/12/01 The Gimp It's Who FRAMED Roger Rabbit you dumb bitch spork-girl. Get it right you tart!!!! 1 stars
11/30/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Only and only the concept is good. The writing, the animation, the acting are really bad. 3 stars
9/06/01 Butterbean Stupid shit! Why the fuck did Basinger agreed to be in this? 2 stars
5/25/01 Holiday coming from a cartoon fanatic, i both loved the animation and humor of the story line! 4 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden The whole point is that this is one messy movie. 2 stars
2/13/01 Spagno Worth some attention, not a lot. It's funny, but it's just to badly acted and written.... 3 stars
2/06/01 Turtle Pretty good animation/live-action combination comedy. 3 stars
11/18/00 Croweater A very bad Roger Rabbit rip off, dont waste your money. 1 stars
6/26/00 John Shaft The Best Movie EVER ! 5 stars
6/23/00 Leon Trotsky This here is a shitburger. I can't believe I watched it all. 1 stars
5/03/00 PJ What the hell is going on in this go awful trash crap factory, I mean really! 1 stars
4/17/00 BB-15 Who Framed Roger Rabbit is a lot better than this schlock! 1 stars
3/12/00 Richard Wright An insult to the memory of Roger Rabbit. I'd like to forget this travesty was ever made. 1 stars
11/02/99 Steve S Adequate idea turned into incomprehensibly bad movie. How low can Bakshi go? 1 stars
9/30/99 the Grinch Ralph Bakshi has lost his way... 2 stars
3/18/99 Madcap it had its occasional moment of neatness... 2 stars
12/11/98 Scion of Graveheart Saw it three times, it sucked. Who Killed Roger Rabbit started it all. 1 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce Mostly crap, though it was good to see the old cartoons all together. 2 stars
9/08/98 MikeF I was a little kid when I saw this. and it didn't hold me. rows is so right on this one. 2 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee Dude, it's Pitt and Basinger. A star for each and nothing else. Badly executed good idea. 2 stars
9/05/98 Badass #@$%@%@%@^&$^@$^@$#^&%^$ 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Jul-1992 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast