More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.69

Awesome87.02%
Worth A Look: 4.76%
Average: 2.38%
Pretty Bad: 2.26%
Total Crap: 3.57%

15 reviews, 750 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Inuyashiki by Jay Seaver

Glass (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Destroyer by Jay Seaver

Replicas by Jay Seaver

Modest Heroes by Jay Seaver

House That Jack Built, The (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Rider, The by Jay Seaver

Witch in the Window, The by Jay Seaver

Dark Money by Jay Seaver

Bird Box by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Hollands

"Return of the empty epic, part 3."
1 stars

Peter Jackson's film trilogy finally reaches an end, and I can only breath another huge sigh of disappointment. Not one to express my sadness over the fact that the trilogy has come to an end, but one to express my sadness at just how poorly these films were done.

To be fair, the first Lord of the Rings film was exciting, and yet too quickly paced and featuring tons of stiff, uncomfortable dialogue. The Two Towers only went further downhill, feeling rushed and lazy, and looking as if it had been cut and pasted together with sticky tape. Epic shots were inserted haphazardly into the narrative throughout, some of the worst performances ever witnessed were featured, and the CGI kept getting more cringe-inducing and lifeless. Return of the King is a step-up from The Two Towers, though it is an incredibly small one. Even with its flaws, the first film had an energy to it and a passion that one could see oozing through every frame. That sense of energy is sadly missing from both The Two Towers and Return of the King, even though it takes the word "epic" to the extreme.

In Return of the King, Sam and Frodo are still on their way to Mordor to throw the One Ring into the fires of Mount Doom, the one place where it can be destroyed. Along with them is Gollum, who has become treacherous and plans to feed Frodo and Sam to a giant spider, thus taking the One Ring for himself. Meanwhile, Aragorn, Gimly, and Legolas attempt to form an army that can stand up to the might of Sauron's forces. It will be an all out battle as the forces of good attempt to beat the forces of evil for the final time. After sitting in a cinema for three and a half hours watching the plot, it became evident early on that the producers must have fired the editor somewhere during the middle of filming. At three and a half hours, this film is simply too long, plodding along in many areas. These areas mostly involve pointless exchanges between a few main characters where dialogue such as "the enemy is near" is spoken often. Since we already know the enemy is near based on what we've been watching in the first two films, and since the exchanges add absolutely nothing to the film in terms of important information, they need only be jettisoned because they slow the film down.

What also could have been cut is Jackson's strange flashbacks to moments seen in the last two films. Those scenes are constructed so a character says something or sees something and then another character realises something else, and thus begins a flashback. The flashbacks themselves sometimes even head back to moments we'd just seen a few minutes ago in this film, which makes the filmmakers appear as if they don't trust their audience. I don't know about some people, but I certainly don't need a flashback going back to something that just happened about five minutes before, because I have something called “memory”. For crying out loud, Jackson even flashes back to the first scene in Fellowship of the Ring in which Isildor slices off Sauron's hand when Isildor’s sword is displayed onscreen. What Jackson may not realise is that people do remember those moments, so their inclusions here turn this into a film that feels repetitive.

The one thing I dislike the most about these Lord of the Rings films is the Arwen character. The she-Elf was hardly a part of Tolkien's original novel, but that's not the reason I don't like the inclusion of her character. It's more the fact that her character is nothing but an excuse to add poor emotional baggage to the narrative. She was a very strong character in The Fellowship of the Ring, and yet in The Two Towers and Return of the King she became dead weight. She offers nothing to this film and shows up a whopping three times. Each appearance becomes shorter than the previous one. While she actually did stuff in the first film, all she does here is stand around pouting all the time. Oh yeah, and she's going to die all of a sudden, supposedly because of the evil in the area. So why is it that the darkness doesn't affect either her father or any other elves that appear to still be hanging around? A friend informed me it was because she had given up her immortal life. Unfortunately, this seems to be something from the novel that was not included in this adaptation. The burden then is not on the viewer but on the filmmaker to present this fact as clearly as possible so it does not seem like it is appearing completely out of nowhere. Jackson, even in the Extended Edition of the film, fails in this regard. Plus, when you have a character who's suddenly going to die just to add suspense to the film and then you don't even show that character again once this has been established to attempt to sustain that suspense, the whole subplot and the character becomes pointless.

Perhaps more frustrating than what has been included is what hasn't, and I don't necessarily mean from the Tolkien novel. Peter Jackson completely removed Saruman from the film, something that seems incredibly bizarre. The opening moments of the film has Gandalf and company arrive at Isenguard, and then decide that Saruman isn't a threat anymore. There's no conclusion to the character and the fact that Gandalf and the rest simply ride off without doing anything seems unbelievably stupid. Here's a character who's been a source of evil and menace for the first two films and who suddenly just vanishes off the face of the Earth. He's locked away in a tower and has conveniently lost his powers, but the scene is so anti-climactic that it makes the film worse even with the knowledge that said climactic scene will appear in the Extended Edition. The whole thing reeks of being promised a whole cake and then only being given a sliver. Frankly, Jackson could have included the final moments of Saruman's character and gotten rid of all the flashbacks and needless exposition, or he could have at least covered up the omission in a realistic manner. Unfortunately, he doesn't do this, so the error remains. It would still be a long movie should the scene be included, but it would also be one that would have a better sense of conclusion from a character standpoint.

Just like The Two Towers, this film has a problem with crosscutting. There are different storylines going on here, and Jackson and his editor just don’t know how to juggle them. Just when one scene appears to be getting intrusting, Jackson quickly cuts away to something else. In that other scene, the interest level builds again, and then Jackson cuts to something else. This is constantly happening throughout the narrative, and it is annoying. I'm not saying that it's just because there's crosscutting in the film that it is bad, but that the crosscutting here could definitely be better. Plus, sometimes Jackson cuts away from another situation for too long, so when he cuts back to it some twenty minutes later, the effect is extremely jarring. And occasionally the cutting occurs so haphazardly that often a moment is required to remember where one is. Even the most attentive viewer will be thrown off by this, and it is nothing but asinine.

Part of what made Fellowship of the Ring fun at times was how Jackson and company unrelentingly portrayed evil. Evil was thankfully never cartoon-type evil. Tension was never spared and I was actually scared of the antagonists inFellowship. However, things quickly began to disintegrate when The Two Towers appeared. Evil was still pretty scary, but the more cartoon-like aspects began to seep through. In this film however, evil is an absolute joke. I swear that the evil minions are so laughably overdone that you'll be in heaps of laughter. Take the ones that always sneer into the camera lens as if they were in a comic book and speak in extremely gnarly and overdone voices. Plus, notice that what they say is extremely laughable. Stuff like individual Orcs having their moment to say something supposedly evil along the lines of "there time will be up" or basically just describing what they are about to do with freakishly funny "evil grandeur". I'm truly not making it up when I type that one of the head Oruci sounds like Dr. Claw from Inspector Gadget. Embarrassingly enough, the filmmakers feel he is actually menacing enough to justify giving him moments in which he actually speaks.

Much of this film revolves around concepts of friendship, good versus evil, etc., and there are moments that attempt to show us said concepts. Sadly, many of these moments just dissolve into extreme stupidity. Take the moment when Sam carries Frodo up to Mount Doom when Frodo is too tired to go on. I realise friendship in this film is strong, but seeing Sam who was tired and weak just moments before carrying Frodo up a mountain like Arnold Schwarzenegger is just too funny and unbelievable for words. Also ridiculous are the extreme moments of contrivance that run rampant throughout this picture. The film naturally features more than a few of the type of moments in which a protagonist is threatened and right before the blow comes, another protagonist kills the antagonist. These moments are of course done as if they represent huge concepts of loyalty and friendship. Can we all say "safeguard"? The message these moments are supposed to convey is washed away by all the contrivance. Sometimes characters literally pop into the screen. Take a moment when Gollum falls off a cliff and then conveniently shows up later to intercept Sam and Frodo as they near Mount Doom. This also occurs when a pack of giant eagles inexplicably show up out of nowhere to fight against dangerous flying monsters. There isn’t even a scene in which they are summoned, so them simply materializing into the narrative is lazy at best and utterly idiotic at worst.

Speaking of stupidity, there are some completely horrendous mental gaffes going on in this film, the biggest one concerning what's been happening in The Two Towers as well. The evil is constantly being portrayed as strong and terrifying. Hell, whole armies of good guys are crushed and slaughtered...so why do these characters let Sam and Frodo go off alone to throw the ring into the fires of Mount Doom anyway? Surely they would try to give them more protection? I mean, the two little Hobbits are heading onto enemy land armed only with small swords while the other good guys could hardly win with huge numbers and large weapons. Mount Doom is in Mordor, where the entire enemy army is located. Not one protagonist realised this when they sent Frodo and Sam off to destroy the ring? Sure, the good guys may have been a little pressed for time at the end of Fellowship of the Ring, but surely they would send someone with more fighting experience along with Frodo and Sam. But that's not the only thing. There's the moment in which the Eye of Sauron sees Frodo blatantly and than focuses its attention on the army, and completely looses attention with Frodo. That's EXACTLY what I would do if I just saw the one with my One Ring heading towards the one place in which my One Ring could be destroyed.

While The Fellowship of the Ring was flawed, you couldn't deny that Peter Jackson did a pretty good job. Despite some very poor close-ups, things were sound. Here however, direction has been thrown right out the window. As in The Two Towers, Jackson feels the need to cut to panoramic extreme long shots as if he wants it to go out of style. Every two minutes there's an extreme long shot, usually coming at moments that separate the audience from the characters. Often, we are caught marvelling at the shot rather than what's happening in the shot, because these wide shots are mostly filled with poorly animated CGI characters. Take the moment in which Gandalf and Merry ride into Minas Terith. Epic shots are inserted haphazardly to the extreme, and most of the time they even have severe continuity problems like movements not matching or characters suddenly disappearing from shot to shot. Then there are the moments during the battle scenes in which Jackson cuts from close-ups of characters in battle (obviously in front of blue screens) to huge shots of lazily animated CGI armies. The cuts unfortunately betray the special effects for what they are.

Jackson's direction is equally catastrophic during even quiet moments. The camera usually cuts from angle to angle, focusing on characters for no reason or cutting wide when there are many other things that could have been done. Plus, when Jackson wants an emotional moment, he usually sticks a camera right up the actors' nose in an oppressive close-up that looks just plain ridiculous. Close-ups are such a cheap way to get reactions, and they also show that a director doesn't trust his actors to be able to actually perform. Jackson appears to be one of these directors, as he constantly tries to manipulate the performances with the camera when the wise choice would be to simply let the set of talented performers breath. Also overdone is the extreme number of slow motion shots here. Seriously, slow motion is also a very cheap thing to do (most of the time - when done properly, it can be awesome) and Jackson just milks the slow motion for all it's worth. If I remember correctly, the entire final twenty minutes of the film were in slow motion. This comes off as extremely silly and obvious.

Then there's the botched battle scene filming. Sure, big battles are exciting although it really would be nice if I could actually see what was going on. Jackson hardly makes any use of his 2.35:1 widescreen compositions (well, except for the excessive panoramic shots of course) during the battle scenes, instead putting his camera in tight on the battles, possibly to achieve a "you are there" feeling. This backfires though, because not seeing what the Hell is going on more than separates the audience from the onscreen action. Then, there are the moments that Jackson treats as being utterly serious when they actually look quite stupid onscreen. Orcs leering into the lens at random intervals is stupid. Merry swinging a glowing ball around and screaming while sound effects go wild is stupid. Many more moments like this are stupid. And there are many more moments like that.

The performances are very good this time around, a real change from the incredibly forced stuff in The Two Towers. Elijah Wood finds his bearings playing Frodo. He brings a real sadness to the role this time around and is actually compelling during many scenes. He reacts with the special effects here extraordinarily well, as witnessed by the moments when he must share the screen with the completely animated character Gollum. Sean Astin, always excellent, is fantastic as Sam. He plays the loyal friend role very well, and the scenes in which he breaks down and cries are emotionally draining. Viggo Mortensen does a great job as Aragorn, with expressive facial movements and much depth behind his eyes. Of course, John Rhys-Davies and Orlando Bloom are good in their roles and the rest of the cast does a good job. And as usual, Ian McKellen is awesome as Gandalf the Wizard. If he doesn't win an Oscar for his work, something is seriously wrong with the Academy.

The special effects unfortunately have some problems. They look obvious, although not because of the effects creators. Really, they do their all to make the effects look spectacular. It’s just that the special effects are betrayed by director Peter Jackson's tendencies to make them look as obvious as possible. Now, the film Blade 2 feature my one of favourite uses of CGI special effects. They're great because director Guillermo del Toro had live footage blending into CGI in the same shot, thus making it appear more seamless than is typically the case in effects-heavy films. Jackson even did a bit of that in Fellowship of the Ring, but here he doesn't even try. He simply cuts to an effects shot from a close-up of real people and vice versa. That unfortunately draws extra attention to the effects which just look completely vacant all of a sudden. When soldiers are shot down or carried away by mutant birds, one just doesn't care because they know that effects are in front of his or her eyes.

Of course, no special effect has been praised more than Gollum. Hailed as a landmark of animation, Gollum has been praised the world over...and I just don't buy it. Gollum is not a well designed creation. It could be good, but I can always just tell that it is actually digital. Gollum's skin never looks exactly right. It appears too smooth and the ripped portions of cloth hanging off Gollum never swing around properly. Plus, there's just something odd about the way Gollum moves around, almost as if he's floating slightly. Those are all signs of a totally digital creation, and Gollum has officially become my personal example of way CGI should never be used in favour of the moments when a latex creation would have functioned better. What pains me the most about the CGI Gollum is that during the prologue to this film there is a special effects prosthetic appliance on Andy Serkis (the actor who plays Gollum) during an intermediate stage of Gollum’s transformation that looks amazing. It is EVERYTHING Gollum could have been, and it pains me all the more to realize that that’s exactly what it was not.

The music is again provided by Howard Shore, and it is hardly at the same quality level as his work on The Fellowship of the Ring. Many moments come off sounding kind of lazy, with Shore often using the same musical shtick he's used on every Lord of the Rings picture. I do believe in keeping musical similarity to have a sense of continuity between films in a trilogy, yet I did expect something more than what is presented here. Shore is unfortunately limp here with his music, scoring scenes without much true emotion. As a result, many of the supposed emotional moments are rendered mute and there are even moments when the music completely smothers the performances in total schmaltz. Whenever something sad happens, you can count on a typical sad score coming into the mix unoriginally and hardly letting up to allow the audience to experience the sadness themselves. Instead, we are just smacked with intense music that eventually hurts the ears. In a pivotal scene in which Sam discovers Gollum's plan to betray both him and Frodo, the music isn't exactly menacing or subtle. It simply roars at us without mercy, forcing us to block our ears and being absolutely "shocked" by the scene. Unfortunately, an audience member is not so much shocked by the events in story but by the horrible music attempting to support it.

Peter Jackson had a monumental task helming the Lord of the Rings films, something I just don't believe he was up to. Sure, the first film has a special energy to it, but it is an energy that quickly dissipates as the films go on. It's as if Jackson just lost energy all throughout this trilogy (which is really strange given that all three films were shot at the same time), and it's a loss of energy that unfortunately translates to the screen as well. With the trilogy at a close, I can safely say that it was a noble task but ultimately a futile one.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8404&reviewer=355
originally posted: 01/13/04 08:46:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/17/18 Ajpwales Bought dvds 15 years ago watched once. Watched another once in full on tv. It says it all. 4 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell the best one in the series IMHO 5 stars
5/20/16 Evanorva This is a great movie with great action sequence 5 stars
8/16/15 google movie LOTR completely snubbed in oscar for best cinematography. 5 stars
7/14/15 TdW Not as good as the first, but still very good 4 stars
5/07/15 randall grave most okay trilogy of all time 5 stars
5/03/15 john carpenter completely agree with all positive reviews for LOTR 5 stars
4/19/15 wesker2012 Some of the best battles in the series....this movie is epic. 5 stars
4/19/15 jessie for all people your must vote for all 3 amazing movies. not just return of the king 5 stars
4/18/15 lotr lover hollands you are idiot this is the best movie ever made. 5 stars
4/17/15 lotr lover woow LOTR number one on this site 5 stars
4/17/15 Potter17 Lord of the Rings movie is a worthy and respectable end for the best trilogy that ever exis 5 stars
4/16/15 ina greatest fantasy film ever made in history 5 stars
4/15/15 oscarlover i'm oscar lover and love all best picture winner. 5 stars
4/15/15 Hadrianus This movie and the last two movies are fantastic,but,this movie close the trilogy succesful 5 stars
4/14/15 bosnian guy truly deserve top spot on this site 5 stars
4/14/15 reveiwmanmyster Every time i see it, it still tears me up after watching it at least 9 times. 5 stars
4/14/15 RyMintz the Return of the King is a testament to both the genius of the filmmakers and the original 5 stars
4/13/15 maestraretirada This film clearly is the best triology made of our time and we are so lucky to have live 5 stars
4/13/15 brasd The lord of the Rings Return of the king is a must see before you kick the bucket. 5 stars
4/13/15 Trev29 You must see and feel this movie to understand the absolute perfection it portrays. 5 stars
4/13/15 dibbhansen I really enjoyed the epic and emotional complexity of the entire film. 5 stars
4/13/15 jokerass in fact, one big story 5 stars
4/13/15 the artist bigger battle, more acting, smart story, cool cinematography, beautiful score, epic !!!!! 5 stars
4/12/15 lordlocker when the cold to winter come starless night will cover dayyyyyyyyyyyyy 5 stars
4/12/15 sjskskdk sjhjsjjskskkakakksjkj 5 stars
4/12/15 sjskskdk jjsjjs 5 stars
4/12/15 ufjujfkjfkj hdhjdjdjjs 5 stars
4/12/15 vena my favorite movie 5 stars
4/12/15 nameless paladin epic succes 5 stars
4/11/15 vorley why this movie not 2 hours? i'm sure if LOTR 2 hours it will won cannes palme d'or 5 stars
4/11/15 brad7991 Lotr deserved all 17 of its Oscars and probably more. this will remain my top 3 movies eve 5 stars
4/11/15 robby putra new zealand is so epic 5 stars
4/11/15 barosso okay movie 5 stars
4/09/15 forles in my opinion definetely the best picture winner 5 stars
4/08/15 pedro this movie should have number one in this site 5 stars
4/07/15 birdman fans this movie is incredible 5 stars
4/05/15 lordargo ................... 5 stars
4/05/15 lordargo not the best film ever but i was really good and very entertaining 5 stars
4/05/15 rawi love peter jackson executed or adapted from book 5 stars
4/04/15 miglior best movie i love 5 stars
4/04/15 miglior el senor de los annilos 5 stars
4/04/15 jack ford best film of 00' 5 stars
4/03/15 randall there's only one return this ain't the king it's of jedi sorry, kevin smith paid me 5 stars
4/03/15 daraz return of the war!!!!! 5 stars
4/02/15 jemdm new zealand 5 stars
4/02/15 what! miglior film! 5 stars
4/01/15 my review keren maksimal 5 stars
3/31/15 fian aduh ini film so sweet deh terutama kareba ada si legolasnya, akusuka 5 stars
3/31/15 abagus ini juga bagus 5 stars
3/29/15 film keren keren banget ini film. 5 stars
3/29/15 film keren keren 5 stars
3/26/15 boresta the most ambitious and biggest movie project in 21st century 5 stars
3/25/15 juanda three things why this so amazing: effects, cinematography and music score 5 stars
3/24/15 arek arek kerinci honestly bay far the best film of all time. 5 stars
3/24/15 arek arek kerinci do i have explain why????? 5 stars
3/23/15 karisma the best film of our generation so far yes i am female 16 years old. 5 stars
3/23/15 hunger do you know LOTR won 17 oscar, 13 BAFTA and 4 golden globe. thatsna record. 5 stars
3/23/15 hobbit fan i love all peter jackson movies 5 stars
3/22/15 johan fuck your review hollands and zimmerman. you really have no idea about it. fuck off 5 stars
3/22/15 peter this movie are pretty good but my ass hurt. 5 stars
3/22/15 HunterB unforgettable movies because they were good 5 stars
3/22/15 frodo baggins it's so well deserved oscar best picture. great film 5 stars
3/22/15 greg davidson the best movie of all time 5 stars
3/22/15 art licious this movie must WON oscar for best cinematography 5 stars
3/19/15 lucas very good ending 5 stars
3/18/15 katniss everdeen who the fuck don't love this movie they are star wars and harry potter fan= FAGGOT. 5 stars
3/17/15 this is a great film great 5 stars
3/17/15 simanjuntak i was so wrong, this is the best epic movie series i have ever seen in entire my life. 5 stars
3/16/15 daniel predictable, it was so genius, not dumb like star wars movies 5 stars
3/16/15 great MASTERPIECE 5 stars
3/15/15 paul johnson there is nothing that i can say in praise of this film that hasnot already been said 5 stars
3/15/15 tomymg you will never see trilogy like this one, essential for your cinematic culture 5 stars
3/15/15 cool guy perfect film from masterpiece book 5 stars
3/15/15 putraandre my top 3 films: 1. the two towers, 2. return of the king, 3. fellowship of the ring 5 stars
3/14/15 julio one of the greatest movie of all time 5 stars
3/14/15 homer4president what wrong with this universe, LOTR not in the top 10 on this site? why? 5 stars
3/14/15 crovielicious return of the king is the big climatic and achievement in film making 5 stars
3/14/15 brendon4466 this movie is truly my precious. great ending for best trilogy of all tiime 5 stars
3/13/15 yona LOTR by far the best movie series and biggest trilogy of all time. no movie can beat this 5 stars
3/12/15 monica srydamayanti it was great and so epic 5 stars
3/11/15 luke lazter it just captured the whole LOTR trilogy feeling so well and the movie is done ingeniously 5 stars
3/10/15 lordsauron one film to rule them all 5 stars
3/10/15 fogleG best movie ever incredible acting and non stop action 5 stars
3/10/15 veronica lessy the godfather in fantasy genre 5 stars
3/09/15 movielover i love all films i have watch 5 stars
3/09/15 sakura petrescu amazing 5 stars
3/08/15 JawsPapi87 It's a perfect epic. There's not one false step. The battles are incredible, the characters 5 stars
3/08/15 Ix-sosna Twelve years later still the greatest movie of all time 5 stars
3/08/15 tuti 123 love it. perfect film 5 stars
3/07/15 Wick3rMan The perfect example why should a trilogy filmed all together 5 stars
3/07/15 thomasljogues best movie of the last decade 5 stars
3/07/15 rahul Best movie of the last 50 years, enough said. It was long, but the ending was amazing. 5 stars
3/06/15 abhi the first movie: good. the second movie: good. the third movie: superb! 5 stars
3/06/15 Maravilhoso!!! Resumindo a trilogia é perfeita 5 stars
3/05/15 rushmore probably the best cult movie ever made 5 stars
3/03/15 t-011 best film ever 5 stars
3/02/15 john lasseter PERFECT FILM 5 stars
3/02/15 james hictchock The first great cinematic masterpiece of the twenty-first century. 5 stars
3/01/15 manalone923 Wonderful finale, sweeping emotions and action 5 stars
3/01/15 dan longino Not only the best of the "Lord of the Rings" series, but sets a new standard of epic filmma 5 stars
2/28/15 d'tolfree An outstanding example of portrayal of a classic book 5 stars
2/28/15 soyguapYrico rohirrim charge GOOSEBUMPS 5 stars
2/28/15 harry potter by far the best middle-earth series 5 stars
2/27/15 ewoks i really didn't care people saying this boring but for me isn't boring. JUST WATCH IT! 5 stars
2/27/15 michael one of the most powerful film 5 stars
2/26/15 jacarish noric if you are not fan just watch this film 5 stars
2/26/15 dylan gordon i love this film so much 5 stars
2/26/15 deajeng probably the best movie i've ever seen in my life 5 stars
2/25/15 crovie 1234 just briliant movie 5 stars
2/22/15 joker this movie should've in competition of cannes film festival 5 stars
2/21/15 anonimo el senor de los anillos es el boss 5 stars
2/20/15 SilentDawn The Return of the King is literally the most overindulgent and grandiose piece of cinema 5 stars
2/20/15 DrRyAn its that simple you will never experiense any better movie in your whole life 5 stars
2/20/15 Chris Jarmick lived up to expectations, best of trilogy 5 stars
2/19/15 juno bastian rating ***** out of ***** = excellent 5 stars
2/19/15 master yoda i'm star wars big fanboy but i admit the lord of the rings movies are better 5 stars
2/19/15 hhshjjsjj great conclusion to the epic series 5 stars
2/19/15 lordofthejimmy I watch this film 20 times 5 stars
2/19/15 tiara indriana i guess people dislike this are star wars fan or potterhead 5 stars
2/18/15 vijay i have no idea about this 5 stars
2/17/15 songsta 41 best movie ever, the fighting sequels were great and the action was great better than harry 5 stars
2/17/15 roxelena fantastic cgi effects 5 stars
2/16/15 eywa epic conclusion but pretty damn long ending 5 stars
2/15/15 filmiw23 truly cinematic masterpiece 5 stars
2/15/15 no_o who deosn't love this trilogy they are dont know what's the meaning of art 5 stars
2/14/15 juan bastian best american film of all time. lucas will jealous with jackson 5 stars
2/14/15 movie mania boring, but great :) 5 stars
2/14/15 ryry indah maybe the last blockbuster to win best picture 5 stars
2/13/15 potter fan king is master of ring trilogy 5 stars
2/12/15 lucas poll all three the lord of the rings films in my top 10 of all time 5 stars
2/11/15 kenika this fucking always make me goosebumps 5 stars
2/10/15 joanna cancio return of the king us far better than any star wars films 5 stars
2/09/15 martin alexander the third film of LOTR trilogy was very FANTASTIC 5 stars
2/09/15 isabella i found the extended edition isn't boring 5 stars
2/08/15 russel peple gave this movie just 1 star are pretty ridicoulus 5 stars
2/08/15 anonymous it deserves 11 oscars 5 stars
2/06/15 yanti the greatest achievement in film making 5 stars
2/03/15 marissa along with citizen kane best movie of all time 5 stars
1/28/15 fitri top ten my favourite fantasy movie 5 stars
1/26/15 riska amalia this is not a movie 5 stars
1/25/15 edward who the fuck gave this movie 1 star??? 5 stars
1/25/15 joanna best movie of all time PERIOD 5 stars
1/25/15 titising best epic movie of all time 5 stars
1/24/15 ali akbar i gave the two towers 5 stars so 5 stars
1/24/15 elsa agastya best movie of the decade 5 stars
1/24/15 julian the final of epic high fantasy trilogy! 5 stars
1/22/15 scott better tittle THE LORD OF THE OSCARS 5 stars
1/20/15 susan spectaculer! thank you jackson 5 stars
1/19/15 felipe delano all part in this movie is the best scene 5 stars
1/19/15 orlando stevan star wars and harry potter just shit if comparing with LOTR 5 stars
1/18/15 evans most epic movie ! 5 stars
1/13/15 tony better tahn the two towers 5 stars
1/12/15 jack ford best fantasy movie of all time. totally kick harry potter 5 stars
1/11/15 wayne twilight shit, harry potter shit, star wars shit, LOTR gold 5 stars
1/11/15 john my favourite movie of all time 5 stars
1/10/15 mister empire awesome 5 stars
1/09/15 armour i love this movie 5 stars
1/09/15 michelle best movie of all time 5 stars
1/08/15 vendoza this movie is FUCKING awesome 5 stars
1/07/15 vanessa greatest movie of all time! 5 stars
1/06/15 brando great conclusion to a great trilogy!!! 5 stars
1/06/15 thomas best movie and trilogy of all time!!! 5 stars
1/05/15 ble ble EPIC!!! 5 stars
7/18/14 Marlon The Best film to the Greatest Trilogy of all TIME!!!!!! 5 stars
6/16/14 Eric Plant This movie is a great end to the trilogy and every moment is pleasing to your eyes ! 5 stars
10/29/13 Ja Nevertheless Just great 5 stars
8/17/13 austin one of the best films ever 5 stars
6/19/13 Mikey J How can anybody say this film is rubbish? Have they been watching something else? 5 stars
5/16/13 Baylee Nelson What more to say than: AMAZING. I love the trilogy, please read first. 5 stars
4/02/13 Julie Link One word - Aragorn 5 stars
3/27/13 Liz Even better than the other two, if possible. 5 stars
8/29/12 Alanna the absolute best of the trilogy and my favourite. incredibly well done! 5 stars
1/27/12 C.M. Chan Great, but read the book 5 stars
9/08/11 Todd Teghtmeyer Love this movie !!! 5 stars
8/16/11 Machine Gun Tom Absolute piece of shit! Fucking LotR geeks = gaylords! 1 stars
7/12/11 Joey Rating this movie 1 star shows your ignorance. Plain and simple. 5 stars
4/18/11 Tom D Another great way to spend 3+ hours in front of the tv. 5 stars
9/09/10 Andy Only the Stupid and Soulless could fail to enjoy this movie. 5 stars
6/19/10 Heather annoying all of them makes grown adults act like children 1 stars
2/06/10 Jessica A good adaption of Tolkiens novels! 5 stars
1/26/10 polar opposite mindblowingly awesome, now this is epic cinema, not that bullshit AVATAR 5 stars
1/13/10 Quirinius Snobb Too long, should have put more into TT. Having said that, still a 5. Yeah, it's good. 5 stars
12/16/09 chief wiggum 1 star what the fuck is wrong with you wankers 5 stars
11/16/09 Josh Great ending to one of the greatest trilogies ever 5 stars
10/28/09 Cody Dramatically speaking major turdo. 1 stars
9/05/09 rob take away the cgi and you have the biggest load of shit ever 1 stars
8/05/09 Steve Hock Mainly for hard core Lotr geeks. Liked the first two though. 2 stars
7/03/09 Jonathan Birch A must see movie. Gollums death was amazing, don't know how anyone could 'chuckle'. 5 stars
3/10/09 Arianne Entertaining, yet shallow and overrated. Not the best epic ever made. 4 stars
10/09/08 tom The Greatest movie EVER!!!! 5 stars
9/04/08 Alexandru Totir Outstanding trilogy. I'll watch it every year at least once. Looking forward to The Hobbit. 5 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner The Action was Amazing! 5 stars
6/22/08 Dbertok Loved it!! Bring on The Hobbit 5 stars
6/17/08 mithrandir Let the unprecedented number of 'Oscars' speak for the rating here. 5 stars
6/15/08 Retsnom Five stars is not enough - it deserves to be a classic, just like the book 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT IMBUES ITS CENTRAL CONFLICTS WITH MYTHIC TIMELESSNESS 5 stars
5/14/08 CD thundering and epic 5 stars
2/03/08 matthew The most powerful film and trilogy I've ever witnessed, simply astonishing 5 stars
11/11/07 tammie Loved it, why can't more movies be as good? 5 stars
10/29/07 DaLinda M Spectacular!!!!!!!! I loved all three! 5 stars
10/02/07 abdullah mohammed very nice 4 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Extended version worth the time. We loved it. Get all 3. 5 stars
9/04/07 Sam I've seen this film...10 times now. It's only starting to dawn on me how incredible it is. 5 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger fuck hollywood. i can honestly say i respect PJ for his adaptation of LOTR. its awesome 5 stars
5/18/07 Felix what a pile of crap!!! Completely agree with Hollands review 1 stars
5/12/07 Vijju I was in Middle-Earth!!! 5 stars
5/10/07 Dave too long and really boring 1 stars
4/29/07 Double M Great movie? sure. 11 Oscars?! hahaha. Best movie ever?!! if Bloom is the best actor ever. 4 stars
4/27/07 Sharlatan Gives hollywood a big-phat-flying kick to the fukin face! 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Let the freaks enjoy their witches and wizards, and go watch something else. 2 stars
4/18/07 Tracey Chambers just when you think its over. not. still good though 4 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold bunch o wars here, Frodo prdctbly turns there, demoralizes prfct book, yakkityyak 4 stars
3/21/07 dude King Kong was better 4 stars
2/21/07 tabatha burns it's the best movie ever 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Absolutely fantastic conclusion to a spectacular series. 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega One of the best films of the year!! 5 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone Great film - awesome battles...the ending was a bit long/overdone perhaps, but no matter... 4 stars
1/31/07 action movie fan stunning battles scenes-best of the three, great film!!! a classic!!! 5 stars
1/10/07 Bitchflaps same strengths and weaknesses as the first two, the end product is mediocre. 2 stars
12/06/06 Sharon Definitely a must see! Super! 5 stars
11/30/06 David Cohen Reviewer Hollands should get medication for his poor atention span and see this movie again 5 stars
11/23/06 duane its good the return of the kings best charecter aragon 5 stars
11/12/06 Hotapplepie This is THE best movie out there. Nothing comes close to the splendor of the film. 5 stars
10/30/06 heath thats ryt go nz!!!! 5 stars
10/22/06 basher haha starwars fool!all brain washed by lucas bullshit jelous noob 5 stars
10/19/06 Darth Vader Cinematic equivalent of toxic waste 1 stars
10/17/06 AJ Muller bottom line: these 3 are all ONE movie. and it's the greatest in the history of the medium. 5 stars
10/12/06 mubeen the best film ever 5 stars
10/06/06 luxor Everything cinema should be! 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Incredible! The best in the trilogy 5 stars
9/05/06 The Maz Best movie since Pulp Fiction. 5 stars
8/23/06 omnipotent lol popcorn film!have u seen the extended cuts!vanhelsins a popcorn flick not this 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist All 3 had excellent FX, creatures, etc. Still all 3 R popcorn flicks, just above medieocre. 4 stars
6/05/06 drydock54321 wonderful. Too bad ,no more sequels? 5 stars
5/02/06 Rexy I Love This Film!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/25/06 elliot the bridge between geeks and regular people is crossed through this movie 5 stars
4/20/06 Becky A staple in films. First time I saw it I cried at least 5 times. Powerful. 5 stars
4/13/06 C Vega great way to finish the saga.....amazing 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE i expected this to be so much better. it's still alright but it's overrated 4 stars
3/31/06 kerry Extremely overrated.Don't confuse good filmmaking with expensive filmmaking 1 stars
3/10/06 Dk Maybe the best movie ever? 5 stars
1/08/06 Quigley this is hands down the most powerful, most incredible, most emotional movie I will ever see 5 stars
1/04/06 cody a great finish to triology, action unrentless and visual effects were stunning, peter best 5 stars
12/31/05 Muglet I'll watch this movie everyday for the rest of my life! 5 stars
12/30/05 haha i am smoking someing and i love this film!!:D 5 stars
12/24/05 S Gray Excellent movie in every respect. If you don't like this one you're smoking something. 5 stars
12/17/05 Veronica There's nothing better in the history of movies. Simply WONDERFUL!!!! 5 stars
12/16/05 ........... This is the best movie ever!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/06/05 cooler Oh my god,epic,beautiful,jeez films like these you only dream about 5 stars
11/29/05 Daniel the most satisfying conclusion in the best trilogy ever made!!!! 5 stars
11/19/05 dobo fuks potter dunno tho something about fellowship that makes me think the 1st movie is the best 5 stars
11/19/05 keerthi sexy 5 stars
11/16/05 Quigley what an incredible film! the most powerful movie I've seen; it really strikes close to home 5 stars
11/03/05 dobo fuks potter this still rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/27/05 chris the best in the trilogy this is truly a work of art well done to peter jackson 5 stars
10/03/05 sheela it is a great movie,non-pareil and sustains interest till the end 5 stars
9/25/05 Indrid Cold The trilogy is fantastic yes, but lacks the dazzling innovation of say, Lucas at his best. 5 stars
9/24/05 Anthony G Best movie of the trilogy, I was sad when it ended ='( 5 stars
9/23/05 Philip Funaki The Moviie was awsome, but the it lacks all of the what the other movies contains 5 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes this is why we go to the movies in the first place 5 stars
9/17/05 Eric Baker Faithful to the spirit of the book, brilliantly executed as a movie. 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Ok, awesome...but also damned tiresome. Loved Gollum though. 5 stars
9/05/05 Daryl Walker An emotional, breathtaking, visually stunning masterpiece. 5 stars
8/27/05 Tom Burns Best of the trilogy. 5 stars
8/21/05 WATCH BAKSKHI VERSION=BELLEND yeah sure trolls and troy was good right? anus rox 5 stars
8/19/05 Anus NAYSAYERS ARE J.E.W.S 5 stars
8/16/05 Quigley you people are piss-poor critics. the ending was moving and the CG incredible. best film. 5 stars
8/12/05 ES good,despite i never once felt the good guys were in danger and the ending was way too easy 4 stars
8/12/05 Kelly the ending killed me i mean end it already!the 2 before it are far better 3 stars
8/12/05 gray ...and at the end of the road we feel honored and grateful to be apart of this experience 5 stars
8/07/05 van zwaar fkin jelous potter/matrix/starwars/wank etc fans/fukin ungrateful 5 stars
8/06/05 .... ur obviously blind and foolish ALDO MOUth OF SAURON=phattest lookin character ever 5 stars
8/02/05 ALDO CGI DOES NOT LOOK REAL, IT LOOKS FUCKING STUPID. JIM HENSON IS WATCHING, AND HE'S PISSED 2 stars
7/23/05 .... the ending was kinda fag nvm still fukin awesome/these are the REAL DUNGEONS N DRAGONSfilms 5 stars
7/18/05 nixon what a fucking gay ending (literally) homo-hobbitry = not cool 3 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington 11 OSCARS? Give me a fuckin' break, Mystic River was much better. 3 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma The best of the trilogy, but not the best film ever made, you fucking geeks! 4 stars
7/08/05 FD Why would you not see a film an then give us a n opinion of it?Sheesh. Its just unexplainab 5 stars
7/07/05 J R Mitchell I quite agree 5 stars
6/29/05 .... fuk yeah 5 stars
6/28/05 J R Mitchell ROTK has just moved Casablanca down to 2nd place 5 stars
6/20/05 darick This one was actually riveting... 5 stars
6/19/05 .... a wicked movie glorified for being a wicked movie...fu potter 5 stars
6/14/05 Anthony G Awesome 5 stars
5/29/05 Jake Incredible! Epic Filmmaking at it's best! 5 stars
5/27/05 Quigley for once we get a film with a moving ending. so wanted it NOT to end. an amazing experience 5 stars
5/27/05 tony it sucks because the trilogy has ended. But still the BEST dame movie to end a trilogy! 5 stars
5/22/05 jim i love it 5 stars
5/19/05 Gothmog A true masterpiece for the ages. 5 stars
5/03/05 NYCLaura Killed me when the movie ended. The entire series is a masterwork. 5 stars
5/02/05 Littlepurch Won't deny it, i hated the first two. But this one is bloody fantastic. 5 stars
5/01/05 reuben rupp freakin sweet. can't wait for them to do "the hobbit." 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley not only is it the film of all films, but it is the most powerful film i've ever seen. 5 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 Excellent Movie!!! I loved it!!! 5 stars
4/20/05 Gray Classic even before it was made into a movie 5 stars
4/20/05 jellosheriff Is already a cinematic classic 5 stars
4/18/05 Rhianna Correa It's all coming together......great movies 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce I enjoyed 4 stars
3/24/05 Holly Dawson breathtaking 5 stars
3/15/05 David Hollands Sorry for my stupidity my daddy loves me too often. I couldn't sit comfortably. Sorry 5 stars
3/09/05 pepperann224 you will love this movie 5 stars
3/04/05 Jess * Dies * How can anyone rate this below a 5? 5 stars
3/04/05 REVIEWER DAVID HOLLANDS SORRY FOR GIVING THIS 1/5 RATING BUT I HAVNT A FKIN CLUE 5 stars
3/01/05 Dr. Lecter The epic of all epics 5 stars
2/26/05 george yup 1 of the best movies 5 stars
2/21/05 namhg2605@yahoo.com I want to see that fiml 3 stars
2/20/05 Alice Colwell great 5 stars
2/18/05 .... YOU KNOW THE BIG DOLLOPS RIGHT..... 5 stars
2/17/05 Lou & Chaz It explains way more about the film not perfect but a great film in general 5 stars
2/15/05 Tim Brilliant filmmaking 5 stars
2/11/05 bob thedwarf indeed ppl who say this fimls shite havnt a fkin clue 5 stars
2/07/05 Jim Amazing. The extended edition is even better than the theatrical, esp. w/Saruman's cameo. 5 stars
2/07/05 Ronald real overrated pile of donkey shit.Fuck this movie 1 stars
2/01/05 JJ ripoff NJR!! u mean harry potter 5 stars
2/01/05 Angela Very good! Come on, Monaghan and Bloom? cant go wrong! 5 stars
1/30/05 Bob Barton one of the all-time best movies ever made. 5 stars
1/17/05 JJ i got me the extended version!!!!precious 5 stars
1/16/05 amin zainali fantastic 5 stars
1/14/05 Turtle A rewarding conclusion to an excellent trilogy. The end drags, but it's entertaining fun. 4 stars
1/14/05 Anus Godfather is for faggots. Evil Dead sucks Jew balls 5 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton Near cinematic brilliance ... without a doubt a top contender for best film ever made. 5 stars
1/09/05 JJ indeed 5 stars
1/08/05 Jacko Best film I have seen...ever!! 5 stars
1/07/05 Benjamin Spicher A Masterwork 5 stars
1/03/05 t-1000 the extended edition is really good! 5 stars
12/27/04 roy yeah sure godfather is good,but not as good as this shit 5 stars
12/25/04 RebeccaBelcher the greatest film trilogy in history 5 stars
12/23/04 roy are we jelous today...starwars/harrypotter fans?? and the marix=ummmhmmm *cough* 5 stars
12/22/04 Michael OConnor The Final Piece of Crap! 1 stars
12/22/04 Jackson unimpressive 2 stars
12/19/04 roy yo aweome film...wig u little potter troll..wat a noob 5 stars
12/04/04 jonny boy without a dougt best film ever made imo i refer to EE 5 stars
12/01/04 aaaaaaaaaassssssssssssdaaakkkk all sucks ratings=same person 5 stars
12/01/04 umer fantastic end to a fantastic adventure 5 stars
12/01/04 Witch-King The Matrix fans trolling here can't handle LOTR 3 being vastly superior to Matrix 3... 5 stars
11/27/04 Matt F. Wow this place is Troll central... ROTK is good though 5 stars
11/25/04 Wolf001 If you dont like this movie your the fucking antichrist or a moron and cant comprehend such 5 stars
11/19/04 Critic the worst in the series, but still brings enough to the table 4 stars
11/07/04 John The worst of the three, but even that's a compliment 5 stars
11/06/04 TCIC Its above 5 stars, the greatest movie of all time. The conclusion couldn't have been better 5 stars
11/04/04 Skylar I've seen better 1 stars
10/27/04 Crazy About It By far the best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/25/04 el burro Fantastic filmaking. 5 stars
10/24/04 Doc Shock Nice, but was expecting better. Too cliched. 4 stars
10/24/04 daman dvdripwigwig98752etc=stupidharrypotterfans,uhavntaclue,rotkEEDVDISCOMINANDITOWNSYOUANdurdum 5 stars
10/20/04 arwen Olena wonderful!!!!!! 5 stars
10/15/04 Vince Deserves more than 5 Stars. DVDRip, may you die in pain. 5 stars
10/15/04 Pete Gotta love the undead army... 3 stars
10/13/04 Laura Simply the BEST!!!! 5 stars
9/22/04 Shinealight Forgettable movie 2 stars
9/20/04 James O'Brien 'Simply the Best of films for 10000000000 years to come 5 stars
9/13/04 The Talking Elbow Yeah, this movie sucked. "The Mummy Returns" was WAY better. 5 stars
9/02/04 Vince Total crap raters MUST be losers who are jealous of P. Jackson's talent. Fuck off, losers 5 stars
8/26/04 ELI WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE?!??!!?!!!?! 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James Visually one of the best movies of all time 5 stars
8/01/04 Vince I don't think anyone could have made it better than that. Save for Spielberg maybe. 5 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz Very interesting .You will want to buy the dvd. 5 stars
7/20/04 CORPSEGRINDER MORE WOUNDS AND PAIN PLZ 4 stars
7/18/04 Sarah C. This whole triolgy is the best movie(s) of all time. 5 stars
7/17/04 legend An amazing finale for the trilogy. Only thing I dislike was the ghost army at the end. 5 stars
7/17/04 Raymond Lee very,very good 5 stars
7/15/04 John McIntyre By far the best out of the three, but oh soo long 5 stars
7/12/04 SF the ordeal is over ...finally! 2 stars
7/11/04 Holli What a waste of time, money and resources - and it could have been so good too. 1 stars
7/10/04 Bobbo Visually amazing, but a lot missing from the book 4 stars
7/07/04 Keith Ho hum. Very weak as a stand-alone movie. 3 stars
7/06/04 Wildcarde1 the reason we see movies, epic and everlasting, like a star wars for this generation 5 stars
6/30/04 Spinz How many ending were there? I swear i got up like 5 times thinking the movie was done, but 3 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva i never knew what i terrific movie was before i saw these movies 5 stars
6/13/04 Aragate A gloriously magnificant achievement with such high emotional crescendos to make u weep! 5 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee The best movie period 5 stars
6/08/04 Ron Miller This movie Rocks and inspired me to give up these last 2 weeks to the video game. 5 stars
6/08/04 James Kustes I like the extended cuts better. 4 stars
6/07/04 Daveman A gripping finale to a fantastic series. Bring on King Kong. 5 stars
6/03/04 Angel It's very difficult to laugh and cry at the same instant, but I did. Powerful stuff. 5 stars
6/02/04 T-Shirt Guy FUCK THIS OVERRATED BULLSHIT 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody The best movie I have ever seen period 5 stars
5/31/04 The Champ The Muhammad Ali of Movies it can safely say "I'am the Greatest" 5 stars
5/31/04 Monster W. Kung An excellent film that more than makes up for the decent albeit disappointing second part. 5 stars
5/24/04 DM darkofnight is such a cocksucker 5 stars
5/23/04 M Great movie, bit too harry pottery! 4 stars
5/23/04 Cpt.Winters comparable to band of brothers 5 stars
5/21/04 Butt Kicker Shyam, Zimmerman & darkofnight all suck each others cocks but even then can't cum 5 stars
5/20/04 Sergeant Hartman Be grateful that you lived to see the greatest movie ever when it first came out. I am. 5 stars
5/16/04 Lesterwink23 Stunning, powerful, and unforgettable. One of the all-time best. 5 stars
5/09/04 Sean Scanlan I liked it much when I saw it 5 stars
5/08/04 Chuppa A worthful end to the series. 5 stars
5/08/04 Mark Fulwiler A great ending to a great trilogy 5 stars
5/06/04 Alien fan Just teh Best movie. 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot how can you not be woowed by a film that pushes the boundaries of film-makin.great stuff. 5 stars
5/05/04 C.J. Mackenzie All of the Lord Of The Rings movies rock but the Return Of The King Is The Best 5 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Fine finale to the trilogy 5 stars
4/21/04 TonyMontana Come on dammit! If this is boring what isn't? 5 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 Just unbelievable, proof that hollywodd still can make movies, thank you 5 stars
4/11/04 Alan Liddle The best I have seen 5 stars
4/11/04 mike overrated to the nth degee; not bad, but not god's gift to cinema like its treated either 3 stars
4/10/04 Bridget .............. 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley great movie but the worst sequel of the three 5 stars
4/08/04 TheTalkingElbow Hey person with same I.P address repeatedly bashing movie, having fun? 5 stars
4/07/04 re a great film 5 stars
4/04/04 jess Bloody Fantastic!! 5 stars
4/03/04 Shitaki Mushrooms Wow! It was better than both the first ones, put together! 5 stars
3/31/04 Raven The midgets finally put the ring in the volcano and everyone is happy and crown a new king 1 stars
3/31/04 Alex The best movie out of the trilogy. Totally awesome. 5 stars
3/28/04 Ike Hishikawa Thank you Peter Jackson for everything ... including the ending worthy of the trilogy. 5 stars
3/27/04 God Hooray 5 stars
3/25/04 tatum Griffith, Ford, Lean, Kubrick, Spielberg, and now Jackson 5 stars
3/23/04 Bikramjit Amazing, but not as good as the fellowship 5 stars
3/23/04 LauraTolkienGeek This is what happens when you get enough people together who care about what they're doing. 5 stars
3/21/04 Peter A perfect ending of the trilogy 5 stars
3/20/04 Marcia Scurfield An excellent story--wonderfully told. 5 stars
3/19/04 Shameer The worst of the 3. Fist one was excellent, 2nd one ok, 3rd boring and annoying 2 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Better than the 1st two... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 Holly Beeman My fave of the trilogy. I cried like a little baby! <3 hobbits. 5 stars
3/17/04 Chris A good movie but what's all the fuss about. The movies looked great but always depressing. 4 stars
3/17/04 Spiderfan729 Better than the other 2. Up there in my top 5 ever! 5 stars
3/16/04 alex i agree with zimmerman.. in addition the graphics awesome, but movie is boring 3 stars
3/12/04 James Cameron I am the king of the world 2 stars
3/11/04 Pinkline Jones This is a cartoon not a FILM 2 stars
3/09/04 Tolkien Paul Zimmerman is a retarded fuck 5 stars
3/07/04 Goofy Maxwell overblown finale, the 1st LOTR remains my fave. 3 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Splendifierous! Showing friendship as it is! 5 stars
3/06/04 Look at DoN picture!! lmao! What a faggoty loser u are...www.epinions.com/user-darkofnight 5 stars
3/05/04 max extravagant! though it did drag on & on & on & on & on & on & on 4 stars
3/05/04 becky williams amazing 5 stars
3/04/04 Maurice The Predator In 1 word? Breathtaking 5 stars
3/02/04 Peter Jackson Oh Shit! I'm so drunk from all the partying I got my vote wrong. DoN can still kiss my arse 5 stars
3/02/04 Peter Jackson I have the Oscars! DoN can kiss my fat arse while I fart in his face! Thanks to you others 1 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Would have been the perfectest movie in a long time if liv tyler had been excluded. 5 stars
3/02/04 Wendranh it could have been 10 hours long, I still would have been glued to my seat 5 stars
3/02/04 Evenstar It was the best movie ever, and if someone says the opposite then that someone is an idiot 5 stars
3/02/04 Margie A masterpiece. For those who thought it was too long, I can't wait for the extended edition 5 stars
3/01/04 CrowEater An 11 oscar sweep! Fuck you DoN, Zimmerman and all you other whiney morons. 5 stars
2/29/04 Smitty If Jackson's going to leave it that long then he should have included the shire cleansing 5 stars
2/27/04 Greg du Pille The best movie ever 5 stars
2/25/04 Tobes Lord of the Rings is Timeless! 5 stars
2/24/04 Russ Honestly, by far, Clay Rain is the shittiest person since DoN was born 5 stars
2/23/04 The Dude Zimmerman is a douche. 5 stars
2/22/04 Clay Rains HONESTLY, BY FAR, THE SHITTIEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN MY LIFE!! 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Great 5 stars
2/21/04 Gordon Epic, satisfying, beautiful 5 stars
2/21/04 michael kirk four golden globes,five baftas,eleven oscar nominations,directors guild award, what do know 5 stars
2/19/04 collin garrido very nice movie of the year 5 stars
2/19/04 CrowEater 2 PZim Merry didnt get married you dickhead, it was Sam; and your review sucked dog balls 5 stars
2/17/04 Sergeant Hartman best movie 5 stars
2/17/04 Simon Cowell Jackson is brilliant! Zimmerman is about the worst thing to ever happen to journalism. 5 stars
2/16/04 too-much-coffee-man very good movie, the gourd's intellectual masturbation notwithstanding 5 stars
2/16/04 RiRi Fucking awesome. I am speechless. 5 stars
2/16/04 Bonnie The most emotionally moving film I've ever seen 5 stars
2/16/04 sampah film sampah 1 stars
2/16/04 Smitty Best of the three - except what was he thinking with that last half hour?? 5 stars
2/16/04 Marcus Darkness of Night is "Truly the largest disappointment of the..." century! 5 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Cinematic genius for people too stupid to watch or understand Akira Kurosawa films. 1 stars
2/14/04 coladdict Excellent! Justifiably over-long. (After 3 huge films we want to know what happens afterwar 5 stars
2/12/04 Michael I totally agree with darkofnight's review and added the link to my page with honours! 1 stars
2/11/04 Scarface BRILLIANT! 5 stars
2/09/04 The Anti-Darkness of Night Travis sucks Cali's Pipkin 5 stars
2/08/04 Travis Yo pimp start pimpin... 1 stars
2/06/04 Noodle's Pimp You should know all about sucking bitch, as both Moses & DoN know all about you $1 whore 5 stars
2/06/04 Stacey The best ever made story from book to film! 5 stars
2/06/04 Tim Rogers Awe inspiring cinematic genius. Greatest film I have ever seen 5 stars
2/03/04 Fleet Jeebles This movie rules 5 stars
2/03/04 hopo bob great 5 stars
2/03/04 Eloise toooooooo looooooooooooonnnnnnggggg 1 stars
2/02/04 Inga I almost forgot to breathe for three hours 5 stars
2/02/04 SherKhan This is more then just a big budget film - its an event. 5 stars
2/01/04 Just Me Hey DoN, considerng you're such a cunt, is there any chance that U can fuck off into nothin 5 stars
2/01/04 Scarface no need to listen to Pupkin he is know for being a dumbass and degrading good movies 5 stars
2/01/04 STUFU Bad ending. I'm sorry, but the last half hour is terrible. 4 stars
1/31/04 Travis Watson After some contemplation, I realize the movie is better than I could have expected. 5 stars
1/30/04 Kyle Evans Boom! That is the sound of a succesful trilogy. 5 stars
1/30/04 A non sucker To all you who say this film Sucks, I say that you all suck in more ways than one. Suck Off 5 stars
1/30/04 Minty Excellent film to watch. 5 stars
1/30/04 Tony montana Clitoris theres no need for you to talk just stfu 5 stars
1/30/04 ChuDogg Awesome. I wish the actors got noms. 5 stars
1/29/04 Flounder If this movie doesn't get you choked up then nothing will. 5 stars
1/29/04 Desperado DoN is a dipshit, great movie, one of the best in history, trilogy may be best of all time 5 stars
1/28/04 Travis great ,stong,intense, action packed movie 5 stars
1/27/04 Ian McKellen Of all the words, which one can command in English, only 2 come to mind for DoN - Fuck Off! 5 stars
1/27/04 Film Critter U gotta luv the country 5 stars
1/27/04 The Talking Elbow You either really hate this movie or really love it. Odd. 5 stars
1/27/04 God Will DoN and her bitches please SHUT THE FUCK UP? 5 stars
1/27/04 Ultron A fine finish to a great series. 4 stars
1/27/04 Tessa Thomas Damn good show...wish it didn't have to be the end 5 stars
1/26/04 Lord of the Critics DoN Review - Sucks; DoN friends - Sucks; jerkoffs who give LOTR a low score - Sucks; ROTK - 5 stars
1/25/04 Sean Astin DoN & company - you make me laugh so much I've lost all bladder & bowel control 5 stars
1/25/04 ezio boring poor camera work. 2 stars
1/24/04 Steve Not a Lord of the Rings devotee 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena Simply put, a stunning and breathtaking conclusion to a brilliant trilogy. 5 stars
1/22/04 vivian very good job! very good movie! 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess Brilliant third entry in this now classic trilogy. 5 stars
1/22/04 Mike in the words of that comic book guy on the simpsons..."best...movie...EVER!" 5 stars
1/21/04 Joseph Guillermo The battle scenes are great! But the story is somehow change 5 stars
1/21/04 holly redknap exhilirating mind-blowing epic adventure 5 stars
1/20/04 Russell Crowe DoN you shithead. How fucking dare you insult a movie from my homeland you fucker. Cuntface 5 stars
1/19/04 This girl Darkof, can you be MORE of a petulant teen armchair critic? Clue phone.... its for you.... 5 stars
1/19/04 MelissaNYC Just saw it. Hollywood has must now be held to a higher standard. 5 stars
1/19/04 Stevie Peaches my expectations were really high from what people said and it still blew me away 5 stars
1/19/04 Chrys I actually know someone who thinks it sucks. 5 stars
1/18/04 Deanna If you don't worship Peter Jackson, SOMETHING is wrong with you. 5 stars
1/18/04 Battousai DoN gave Halloween 3 Five Stars...Loses all credibility 5 stars
1/18/04 DarkSister DoN lost his Aragorn action figure & mom won't buy him another so he's got the shits 5 stars
1/17/04 faker DarkofNight you gave Darkness Falls a higher rating than this, yeah right, dumbass 5 stars
1/17/04 Idiot DarkOfNight is a cynical greasy goth. Look at his other reviews... complete dumbass. 5 stars
1/17/04 CrowEater DarkOfNight you are a try hard troll! Fuck off. 5 stars
1/17/04 Gercouk Jesus, don't you ever stop moaning 4 stars
1/16/04 Petra Koponen It`s fantastic!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/04 Min Ji Kim Don't even get me STARTED on the superlatives!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/04 Dean Unsurpassed 5 stars
1/16/04 yeahboy hey moses, its tym 2 pull ur head out of ur ass & face reality!! 5 stars
1/15/04 DarkShadows Hey DoN - how much to you charge to get your butt fucked? 5 stars
1/15/04 Valerie Grew up with LOTR & never thought I'd see it brought to life. Now I can die happy. Amazing. 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Overbaked, but still amazingly directed and acted. 4 stars
1/15/04 Matt Seen it for the 3rd time and it just gets better, DoN, you're just too funny...ish 5 stars
1/14/04 MetallicA Reese and DoN WHY CANT YOU SHUT THE FUCK UP AND NOT WATCH MOVIES 5 stars
1/14/04 Marcus DoN is clearly tripping on the smell of his own shit 5 stars
1/14/04 logo1366 Its seems that much of DoN's criticism is really of Tolkien and not Jackson 5 stars
1/14/04 Fred G Perfect Movie!! darkofknight loved Ben and Jen in GIgli 5 stars
1/14/04 lianne richards A work of genious 5 stars
1/14/04 Paul W. I'd prefer taking the high ground ... but I'm with yeahboy on this one 5 stars
1/14/04 Beth This was by far the greatest movie of the trilogy and should be the Best Picture winner 5 stars
1/14/04 banzai47 inconsistencies in darkofknight's review vastly outnumber those in this stunning film 5 stars
1/13/04 Graham Why does darkofnight have a problem with Jackson adding "emotional baggage"? 5 stars
1/13/04 BrianWilly Stupid people annoy me, especially when they try to sound smart. AWESOME MOVIE. 5 stars
1/13/04 Wendy Darkofknight, you're a candyass faggot fucking bitch. Fuck you and your whole family. Cunt. 5 stars
1/13/04 MetallicA Darkofknight watch again, there's nothing wrong with it there is somethiing wrong with you 5 stars
1/13/04 interupt A fine ending to an awesome trilogy, except for 15yr old reviewers 5 stars
1/13/04 yeahboy "Now, the film Blade 2 features my absolute favourite effects" what an idiot!!! 5 stars
1/13/04 MelissaNYC Haven't seen it, but just want to spite darkofnight. 5 stars
1/13/04 Luke Slacker what you can do is shut the fuck up! and wait for the extended version 5 stars
1/13/04 Jon ROTK was great, Two Towers was superb, but Fellowship is still the best of the three. 4 stars
1/13/04 Worthy Slacker Very cheesy and oversentimental. Cliche' dialouge. Dumbed down adaptation of the book. 2 stars
1/13/04 Ioreth Read the book. you'll change your minds. 3 stars
1/13/04 Alex Easily the best movie in 20 years. 5 stars
1/12/04 christian harding so frekin' awsome 5 stars
1/12/04 DeadManWalking The best of the 3...and that says a lot!!! a true epic 5 stars
1/11/04 Atanu Near perfect (perfect being miller's crossing :) 5 stars
1/11/04 LR Trilogy is a masterwork, and ROTK is the final beautiful piece. 5 stars
1/11/04 effingbored The best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
1/11/04 jen This was the best movie ever made, by far,only a crazy wouldnt give this best picture 5 stars
1/11/04 Todd One of the best movies I've ever seen 5 stars
1/10/04 Rod Johnston This reminds us why we love movies in the first place. 5 stars
1/10/04 Charla Atkinson I cried because it was over it ended to soon. 5 stars
1/10/04 the lol man theres just no disputing it 5 stars
1/09/04 Shams Huque Absolutely incredible movie! 5 stars
1/09/04 Nikolai Upcoming Star Wars 3 will be a joke with wooden acting, muppet CGI and superstretched story 5 stars
1/08/04 Mark F. Great filmmaking! I've seen it 3 times already! 5 stars
1/08/04 Stephen Speilborg I'm now going to shoot myself. I've never made anything half as good as this, and I never 5 stars
1/08/04 jada amazing!!but could have shortened the end 5 stars
1/07/04 Edler Ohhhhh yeahhh!!! Oooooooooooo Weeeeeeeeeeee!!!! It an awesome movie!!! Yes'm. Wooooooo!!!! 5 stars
1/06/04 Nick perfect ! 5 stars
1/06/04 Kayla S. I've seen it twice and it's worth seeing again! 5 stars
1/06/04 Morally Sound Amazing. 5 stars
1/06/04 John Fenderson It's a good flick. Not great. Whatever happened to the fine custom of intermissions??? 4 stars
1/06/04 Ace Trojan Greatest film of our time- regardless of Oscars 5 stars
1/05/04 Andy Bronson 2nd best film ever 5 stars
1/05/04 HÜLYACENK this story has become lives whose most people 5 stars
1/05/04 Caiphn Amazing film, incredible battles. 5 stars
1/05/04 Katrina BRILLIANT MOVIE!!LEGOLAS AS CUTE AS EVER!! 5 stars
1/05/04 Gareth Wilkie 5 stars doesn`t cut it how about 10? 5 stars
1/04/04 Mellie Sheer brilliance. After 3 viewings I am STILL amazed by Sean Astin's portrayal as well. 5 stars
1/04/04 escher Perfect. 5 stars
1/04/04 Movie Expert One of the best films of all time 5 stars
1/03/04 Ian Henderson The best of the best trilogy ever created. 5 stars
1/02/04 HÜLYA CENK IT'S TERRIFIC FILM I EVER SEEN.ALSO THE BOOKS ARE WONDERFUL TOO 5 stars
1/02/04 Pseudonym "Slow ending" due to abscence of hobbits' character resolution (Read the book, Lazies!!!!!) 5 stars
1/02/04 Philip Better than broadway, a trology that reminds you that some things are worth fighting for. 5 stars
1/02/04 B. Fresh IT was awesome..only problem is that the battles were PG-13 eddited (unlike Last Samurai) 5 stars
1/02/04 OnlyChild Truly a masterpiece, I loved every minute of it. 5 stars
1/02/04 Robert S Loved it, but was almost as sad as the actors to see this fine trilogy come to an end. 5 stars
1/01/04 David Walters This movie tops the original Star Wars! Maybe the greastest film work of all time. 5 stars
1/01/04 Simon Rahtz shows us how to properly end a trilogy after unlike many other failed sequels 5 stars
1/01/04 Mattie G It's good. Jackson butchered the battle editing-wise though in my opinion... 4 stars
1/01/04 Punk_Ass Great movie, the Battle scenes were the best I have seen. Can't wait to see it again. 5 stars
1/01/04 Obi Wan Great Film . . .the ending was a little too long, otherwise Brillant!! 5 stars
1/01/04 Ethan Simply incredible storytelling... quite an achievement 5 stars
12/31/03 hacim25 the story survived jackson's horrid editing 4 stars
12/31/03 Rich Wow. 5 stars
12/31/03 devilgoblin never saw something better 5 stars
12/31/03 Rod Johnston This is better than my favorite porn movie "Anal Heat!" 5 stars
12/30/03 Chlo Gyllenhaal Breathtaking 5 stars
12/30/03 CML Unmistakably the best movie ever made 5 stars
12/30/03 Luke if you dont like it watch it again 5 stars
12/30/03 Quality Despite niggles, this is cinematic bliss 5 stars
12/30/03 Mulder There's not enough words to describe it! 5 stars
12/29/03 Asli Definitely the BEST MOVIE! 5 stars
12/29/03 jack looking forward to the ee 4 stars
12/29/03 hülya one word"breathtaking" 5 stars
12/29/03 marc this movie is a piece of technologically-astounding corn. 2 stars
12/29/03 Hooters Gurl A great movie with an approproate ending. I liked Two Towers better though. 5 stars
12/29/03 Patrick Purvis 3 words..."Oh my God!!" 5 stars
12/29/03 laura jane mindblowing. perfect. true beauty. i cried for 2+ hours.. good tears. 5 stars
12/29/03 Vince One of the best movies ever made. Incredible. 5 stars
12/29/03 Debbie Mitchell Absolutely one of the best movies of all time - INCREDIBLE!! 5 stars
12/29/03 Littlepurch AMAZING. 10 times better than the other two put together and added to every other film ever 5 stars
12/28/03 Barubal only orcs would hate this film 5 stars
12/28/03 "The Dude" is a Cocksucker Anyone with the nickname "Dude" must be gay...KING is an amazing film! 5 stars
12/28/03 Babbette Llora It was heart wrentching!!!! 5 stars
12/28/03 Caitlin An amazing film. I LOVED it! 5 stars
12/27/03 theSlimebag Abso-fuc-ing-lootely fantastic. I'm simply speachless! Long live the King 5 stars
12/27/03 Mopsa I'm speechless. Now I want all the Hollywood bigwigs to bow to the King 5 stars
12/27/03 Alien assasin The fantasy film of the decade !!!!! 5 stars
12/27/03 Ry A winner! 5 stars
12/27/03 MF I got dizzy trying to decypher the battle scenes, until I realized I wasn't supposed to 5 stars
12/27/03 Koitus "No my friends; do not bow to me .. you bow to no one!" - Incredible flick! 5 stars
12/27/03 The Dude Aragorn and Arwen's love story makes me want to puke. Jackson raped the books. 1 stars
12/27/03 ezio boring dissappointment 1 stars
12/27/03 Zargo Not bad. Not bad at all. 5 stars
12/26/03 Dominic A Fantastic End 5 stars
12/26/03 Carla Ciurlizza Incredible film, great ending to a superb trilogy. 5 stars
12/26/03 Gray needed beter editing and battle tactics 5 stars
12/26/03 t the best 5 stars
12/26/03 Matthew Smith a wonderful conclusion, a masterpiece 5 stars
12/26/03 Luke HOw-can-you-not-like-this!!!!111111111 5 stars
12/25/03 Fahad shizzle the best movie ever made and ever will be made sad its over!! 5 stars
12/25/03 Elizaveta I cried...lovely 5 stars
12/25/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. WOW! WHAT A WAY TO END THE TRILOGY! THIS IS "AWESOME" 10 x's 5 stars
12/25/03 Rod Johnston This was more exciting then the last time that I was in Fan Mania! 5 stars
12/25/03 smartx my goodness gracious ! it's a treasure pirates would kill each other twice for 5 stars
12/25/03 Vince see it. 5 stars
12/25/03 JJ From da Block I felt something too, the chick's boobs in the next seat over :) 5 stars
12/25/03 HITMAN GODLIKE!!! THERE NO OTHER WORD FOR IT. 5 stars
12/24/03 EMILY IT'S THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!! 5 stars
12/24/03 Desyra It's the best movie I've ever seen and I will ever seen 5 stars
12/24/03 Anonymous Best of The Three Better Than I expected 5 stars
12/24/03 grandma dynamite Cyclopean Hit- Masterful Craftsmanship 5 stars
12/24/03 Ossian Exceeded my (high) expectations. 5 stars
12/24/03 Michael Truly a spectacular climax of filmmaking glory. Could we ask for more? No. No we could not 5 stars
12/24/03 gman the best of the three..i felt something i didn't feel watching the Matrix movies...heart. 5 stars
12/24/03 Elladan Holy shit. 5 stars
12/24/03 Sammy It is my favorite movie of the year and maybe my favorite of all time!!! BUWAHAHAHA! 5 stars
12/24/03 osama predictible , it sucks 1 stars
12/23/03 Marcia Lartz Riproaring conclusion to highly successful trilogy. 5 stars
12/23/03 Titus Wow. Just wow. Perfection. 5 stars
12/23/03 Luke Yes Zefram! Witch King owns! I want one too! 5 stars
12/23/03 Zefram Mann I want an action figure of the Witch King on his fell beast! 5 stars
12/23/03 Rokiah Adam Awesome, Inspiring, touching, simply brilliant 5 stars
12/23/03 Jiz Great movie, but someone should have said "creative liberty" and cut the ending short 5 stars
12/23/03 MOHD SYAFIQ verry good film 5 stars
12/23/03 smartmusician Simply Amazing. It's AWESOME 5 stars
12/23/03 sheila fernandez Incredible, One of the best movies I've seen, The best trilogy ever made! 5 stars
12/23/03 SD So...I guess this reviewer like the movie 5 stars
12/23/03 sdfr Ironically, long film feels a bit rushed. Still, a magnificent sit! 5 stars
12/23/03 Large Farve Simply awesome. Destined to be remembered for greatness, as a movie and as a trilogy. 5 stars
12/23/03 HorrorScribbler Amazing work 5 stars
12/22/03 God WOWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/22/03 djacosta absolutely amazing 5 stars
12/22/03 Morally Sound The best of the best! 5 stars
12/22/03 Eric K I believe that this is the greatest film ever made. It is flawless and spectacular. 5 stars
12/22/03 M Part II was better then part I, part III is better then part II, incredible!! 5 stars
12/22/03 I Would Like Mad Max II. It's flawed, if a little dumb but nevertheless mindblowing. 5 stars
12/21/03 Desperado Awe-inspiring. I just finished my Top 10 Movies list, I am adding this one to the list 5 stars
12/21/03 Jack the Dagger best movie ever made this movei is better than sex 5 stars
12/21/03 Octavia The ending was a little drawn out, they could have ended it a little sooner. Overall, A++++ 5 stars
12/21/03 jawsboy Quite good! Not as great as I had heard, but it is one of the year's best! *** 1/2 4 stars
12/21/03 Bulahaw fucking awesome!! WHAT SAY YOU??? 5 stars
12/21/03 matt A reminder of why we go and see films. Simply stunning 5 stars
12/21/03 Lord Jiggy Excellent, amibtious, moving. 5 stars
12/21/03 Littlepurch FANTASTIC!!! Can't recommend it highly enough. 5 stars
12/21/03 igor great 5 stars
12/21/03 Nikolai 2001, StarWars, Scarface and now LoTR3 5 stars
12/21/03 Nicole Great, emotional conclusion to the trilogy from beginning to end 5 stars
12/21/03 Pooman69 des sa good movie en excilenty acting 5 stars
12/21/03 DM I totally agree with Anus 5 stars
12/21/03 Ultron A triumphant conclusion to a great series 5 stars
12/20/03 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. I want to cry because it happened and cry even harder now thats it over. PJ= Oscar 5 stars
12/20/03 S. Fraser Absolutely mind-blowing, staggering, still in shock: so beautiful, cried my heart out 5 stars
12/20/03 Bryan Coon I have to agree this film is the years best. Its the best movie i've seen all year. 5 stars
12/20/03 john ground and breathtaking technical acievement but a bit clumsy at times - too "digital" 3 stars
12/20/03 Bulahaw nuff said...this film will bow to no one!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/20/03 George Jung Perfect 5 stars
12/20/03 michaelb14 Holy Shit,This is what Movies are Supposed to be like,I'd give a higher rating if possible 5 stars
12/20/03 AARON A PERFECT MOVIE!! 5 stars
12/20/03 snowconehead Masterful. Amazing. 5 stars
12/20/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) its average 3 stars
12/20/03 Flounder One of the most breathtaking cinematic achievements of our time. 5 stars
12/20/03 Ed Rowett I don't ever ask to see a better film than this 5 stars
12/20/03 your worst goddamn nightmare Sets a new benchmark standard for Hollywood; which it could not possibly hope to attain 5 stars
12/20/03 Paul The best movie ever made. EVER. 5 stars
12/20/03 Dana Rotegard Too good tyo believe 5 stars
12/20/03 Christiana von Hippel This is the best set of movies of all time. It left me breathless. 5 stars
12/20/03 Sue Barner Simply the best there is. 5 stars
12/20/03 Tall Jack This movie is simply awesome 5 stars
12/20/03 Darren Shea The best movie of a superb trilogy - just amazing. 5 stars
12/20/03 Duckman This is more than any Tolkien fan could have hoped for. 5 stars
12/20/03 nick2k wow...definately earns multiple viewings. wow. 5 stars
12/19/03 ajay W-O-W! 5 stars
12/19/03 Jess 6 stars. 5 stars
12/19/03 me its great!!! 5 stars
12/19/03 Jack the Dagger Best damn trilogy ever made. best movie ever anyone who disagrees can suck my dick! 5 stars
12/19/03 Ben Saikin everything a movie should be 5 stars
12/19/03 Had To Say Impressive 5 stars
12/19/03 Frank Why not just say it?? This is the best movie ever made!! 5 stars
12/19/03 CuteAlien The best movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
12/19/03 The Talking Elbow Deserves all the praise for its grandeur and hard-work, but it's far from a perfect film. 5 stars
12/19/03 Vicious Greatest story ever told. Fuck the bible. 5 stars
12/19/03 Nick Best movie, EVER! 5 stars
12/19/03 :| Movie of the year. 5 stars
12/19/03 Wyvern OMG! Best of the trilogy, best of all fantasy films! 5 stars
12/19/03 Nathan Stunning achievement by Peter Jackson and company 5 stars
12/19/03 Derek Iversen If it doesn't get Best Picture, the Academy should Close. 5 stars
12/19/03 Samy Needs an Education How to Define the battle sequence? Part Empire Strikes Back - Hoth and part oh my god! 5 stars
12/19/03 Samy is an asshole You can stop making movies with battle scenes now...you can't top KING! 5 stars
12/19/03 ROTK=2004 Oscar I've never cried so damn hard in my LIFE 5 stars
12/19/03 Samy The end sucks, but... 4 stars
12/19/03 t great 5 stars
12/19/03 Vlad M. Completely badass. Best trilogy ever! 5 stars
12/19/03 Human Shield "My friends, you bow to no one." - damned line still gets me all teary-eyed. 5 stars
12/19/03 Nikhil Melnechuk perfect. 5 stars
12/19/03 escher Flat out incredible. 5 stars
12/19/03 nGn Still numb from last night's viewing. Easily the best I have ever seen in my 46 years. 5 stars
12/19/03 Matthew Hetzler If I were a film critic, I'd have written the same review! 5 stars
12/18/03 Curious George great flick 5 stars
12/18/03 Simon Over long, good action, not as good as the others 3 stars
12/18/03 Pin "Bad Taste"/John Merrick Orc was delicious 5 stars
12/18/03 gromm to use a net phrase: OMFG!!!!!!11 5 stars
12/18/03 too-much-coffee-man What can I add! Breathtaking film 5 stars
12/18/03 ed still crying the next day. can't describe how much this film meant to me. need to invent a 5 stars
12/18/03 bullit16 Everything everyone has said ... and so much more. Amazing filmmaking 5 stars
12/18/03 Tony T Great, Glorious, and Epic Filmaking! 5 stars
12/18/03 Dax It was the best of the three, totally amazing!! 5 stars
12/18/03 Chango Like Erik said, "one too many endings." But overall, a great movie. 5 stars
12/18/03 ayk Exceptional end to an excellent movie trilogy. Can't wait for the extended DVD. 5 stars
12/18/03 veddermatic If God made a movie, it would look like this 5 stars
12/18/03 Kathy From a book-lover point of view, slightly disappointing. From a moviegoer pov, amazing 5 stars
12/18/03 Old Gaffer Words fail me . . . 5 stars
12/18/03 Jen Absolutely breathtaking! Deserves all available Oscars. 5 stars
12/18/03 Doug Beachy The best movie of all time, bar none! 5 stars
12/18/03 Eric S. Expectations-met. Mind-blown. Pants-pissed in. Awesome. 5 stars
12/18/03 Jon Lyrik Brilliant, a crowning acheivement in cinema. 5 stars
12/18/03 luke nobody,nobody will give this less than Awesome!(How-can-you-not)!! 5 stars
12/18/03 Yngve Absolutely awesome! 5 stars
12/18/03 Slappy Absolutely remarkable, spellbinding 5 stars
12/18/03 Smith The Best Movie I have Ever Seen 5 stars
12/18/03 Cole Best ****ing movie I've ever seen in my life. 5 stars
12/18/03 Flounder I am blown away. One of the greatest things I have ever seen on film. Period. 5 stars
12/18/03 malcolm to Wachowski Bros: take a lesson on saving the best for last 5 stars
12/18/03 Christian Vazquez The BEST movie. period. 5 stars
12/18/03 Melina everything I hoped for and more! 5 stars
12/18/03 Iaheto Ah Hi Absolutely stunning 5 stars
12/18/03 Brian Perfection 5 stars
12/18/03 Obi Wan The 3rd times the Charm...this should wrap up the Oscar for best picture!! 5 stars
12/18/03 Josh Words fail me. Well, one word I can muster: STAGGERING. 5 stars
12/18/03 E-Rock The era of the Academy not honoring Fantasy films with Best Picture is over. Astounding! 5 stars
12/18/03 Mike Greatest movie of all time! 5 stars
12/18/03 Bill OH. MY. GOD. 5 stars
12/17/03 Will sweet jebus, it was fantastic 5 stars
12/17/03 Lord Chu Simply the phattiest thing I've ever seen, EVER, in my life. 5 stars
12/17/03 God PERFECT!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Dec-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Aug-2006

UK
  17-Dec-2003 (12)

Australia
  26-Dec-2003 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast