More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.61

Awesome83.55%
Worth A Look: 6.02%
Average: 2.94%
Pretty Bad: 3.08%
Total Crap: 4.41%

15 reviews, 591 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

Crimes Against Humanity by Jay Seaver

Murder at 1600 by Charles Tatum

Mr. Bean's Holiday by Charles Tatum

subscribe to this feed


Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Praise THE LORD, pass the Oscar, fetch me a cigarette and a Ham sandwich"
5 stars

It’s a rare thing for a film to set such high expectations, and an even rarer thing for it to actually meet them. After sitting through three hours and twenty minutes of epic filmmaking, I felt the same way I do after a good, long shag: knees locked up, back sore, physically exhausted, emotionally spent ... yet content and ready for another go at the earliest opportunity.

I’m not going to waste time with a plot synopsis here, and I’m not going to say that it’s a “perfect” film, either. The beginning is a tad slow, the ending could have used a bit of streamlining, a few moments here and there are redundant and over-expository (I mean, how many “Do you remember the Shire, Master Frodo?” speeches do we really need?), and some moments that are meant to be poignant are just a tad overdone, provoking the occasional inappropriate chuckle. And, inevitably, some of the favorite supporting characters, like Faramir, get short-changed a bit (until the super-long extended director’s cut, that is).

And yet, set all these minor quibbles aside, and only the most cynical rotten bastard (more cynical and rotten than even yours truly) can resist being caught up in the sheer grandeur and majesty of this film. Return of the King is visually astounding, emotionally stirring, with the greatest epic battle scenes ever put on film. If you thought the battle against the Imperial walkers in The Empire Strikes Back was amazing, wait until you check out the Riders of Rohan as they take on a herd of armored mammoths. Swords clash, bodies are tossed to and fro, and catapults launch debris into siege towers, which shatter and spill their contents like giant Orc piñatas. And although Aragorn’s (Viggo Mortensen) rally-the-troops speech doesn’t quite top Kenneth Branagh’s “Band of Brothers” monologue in Henry V, it certainly made me want to pick up a broadsword and throw down on some Uruk-Hai ass. Good, really good, fucking fantastic stuff.

Although the final twenty minutes of the film seem to go on a bit long, with a number of false endings, it doesn’t feel tacked on like the last 20 minutes of A.I. did. The final 100 pages of the novel dragged on a bit as well, and in Peter Jackson’s defense, he did a remarkable job of remaining as faithful to the source material as possible while making the tough narrative and editing decisions needed to make the film, and the entire trilogy, a flowing, cohesive whole. For three years he’s straddled the razor’s edge between living up to the expectations of rabid Tolkein fans, making the story accessible to newcomers, and delivering a quality product to the the profit-hungry studio suit monkeys on time and within budget. Give that man an Oscar, a brandy, and a cigar and allow him to bask in his well-deserved glory.

And speaking of Oscars, if this film is denied Best Picture over some stuffy, pretentious piece of art-house crap like last years The Hours, it would be an act of criminal negligence on the Academy’s part. If they can give Russell Crowe “Best Actor” for Gladiator (a good performance and a good film, but neither particularly Oscar-worthy), then a film like Return of the King, which required the skill, talent, love, and obsessively hard work of thousands of people, must be given its just reward.

There’s a scene in the third act where the four hobbits sit down in a pub to indulge in a pint together. They all share a look between them that seems to say “After all we’ve been through, how can we ever go back to our quiet, normal lives again?” In a way, seeing this film, and the conclusion of this truly epic trilogy, begs the same question. How can any other film compare after this? I suppose it can’t, at least for a while. There may come a day when another grandiose film supplants the greatness of RETURN OF THE KING –- but it is not this day. This day, THE KING reigns supreme.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8404&reviewer=258
originally posted: 12/19/03 05:03:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/08/14 Fdtijvmk USA 4 stars
4/08/14 ybskysyvtt USA 5 stars
3/30/14 Armvphqw USA 4 stars
3/23/14 Ipptflpy USA 5 stars
3/21/14 Yjrudslm USA 2 stars
3/21/14 Uljunafe USA 4 stars
2/15/14 Mliqrbso USA 2 stars
10/29/13 Ja Nevertheless Just great 5 stars
8/17/13 austin one of the best films ever 5 stars
6/19/13 Mikey J How can anybody say this film is rubbish? Have they been watching something else? 5 stars
5/16/13 Baylee Nelson What more to say than: AMAZING. I love the trilogy, please read first. 5 stars
4/02/13 Julie Link One word - Aragorn 5 stars
3/27/13 Liz Even better than the other two, if possible. 5 stars
8/29/12 Alanna the absolute best of the trilogy and my favourite. incredibly well done! 5 stars
1/27/12 C.M. Chan Great, but read the book 5 stars
9/08/11 Todd Teghtmeyer Love this movie !!! 5 stars
8/16/11 Machine Gun Tom Absolute piece of shit! Fucking LotR geeks = gaylords! 1 stars
7/12/11 Joey Rating this movie 1 star shows your ignorance. Plain and simple. 5 stars
4/18/11 Tom D Another great way to spend 3+ hours in front of the tv. 5 stars
9/09/10 Andy Only the Stupid and Soulless could fail to enjoy this movie. 5 stars
6/19/10 Heather annoying all of them makes grown adults act like children 1 stars
2/06/10 Jessica A good adaption of Tolkiens novels! 5 stars
1/26/10 polar opposite mindblowingly awesome, now this is epic cinema, not that bullshit AVATAR 5 stars
1/13/10 Quirinius Snobb Too long, should have put more into TT. Having said that, still a 5. Yeah, it's good. 5 stars
12/16/09 chief wiggum 1 star what the fuck is wrong with you wankers 5 stars
11/16/09 Josh Great ending to one of the greatest trilogies ever 5 stars
10/28/09 Cody Dramatically speaking major turdo. 1 stars
9/05/09 rob take away the cgi and you have the biggest load of shit ever 1 stars
8/05/09 Steve Hock Mainly for hard core Lotr geeks. Liked the first two though. 2 stars
7/03/09 Jonathan Birch A must see movie. Gollums death was amazing, don't know how anyone could 'chuckle'. 5 stars
3/10/09 Arianne Entertaining, yet shallow and overrated. Not the best epic ever made. 4 stars
10/09/08 tom The Greatest movie EVER!!!! 5 stars
9/04/08 Alexandru Totir Outstanding trilogy. I'll watch it every year at least once. Looking forward to The Hobbit. 5 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner The Action was Amazing! 5 stars
6/22/08 Dbertok Loved it!! Bring on The Hobbit 5 stars
6/17/08 mithrandir Let the unprecedented number of 'Oscars' speak for the rating here. 5 stars
6/15/08 Retsnom Five stars is not enough - it deserves to be a classic, just like the book 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT IMBUES ITS CENTRAL CONFLICTS WITH MYTHIC TIMELESSNESS 5 stars
5/14/08 CD thundering and epic 5 stars
2/03/08 matthew The most powerful film and trilogy I've ever witnessed, simply astonishing 5 stars
11/11/07 tammie Loved it, why can't more movies be as good? 5 stars
10/29/07 DaLinda M Spectacular!!!!!!!! I loved all three! 5 stars
10/02/07 abdullah mohammed very nice 4 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Extended version worth the time. We loved it. Get all 3. 5 stars
9/04/07 Sam I've seen this film...10 times now. It's only starting to dawn on me how incredible it is. 5 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger fuck hollywood. i can honestly say i respect PJ for his adaptation of LOTR. its awesome 5 stars
5/18/07 Felix what a pile of crap!!! Completely agree with Hollands review 1 stars
5/12/07 Vijju I was in Middle-Earth!!! 5 stars
5/10/07 Dave too long and really boring 1 stars
4/29/07 Double M Great movie? sure. 11 Oscars?! hahaha. Best movie ever?!! if Bloom is the best actor ever. 4 stars
4/27/07 Sharlatan Gives hollywood a big-phat-flying kick to the fukin face! 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Let the freaks enjoy their witches and wizards, and go watch something else. 2 stars
4/18/07 Tracey Chambers just when you think its over. not. still good though 4 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold bunch o wars here, Frodo prdctbly turns there, demoralizes prfct book, yakkityyak 4 stars
3/21/07 dude King Kong was better 4 stars
2/21/07 tabatha burns it's the best movie ever 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Absolutely fantastic conclusion to a spectacular series. 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega One of the best films of the year!! 5 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone Great film - awesome battles...the ending was a bit long/overdone perhaps, but no matter... 4 stars
1/31/07 action movie fan stunning battles scenes-best of the three, great film!!! a classic!!! 5 stars
1/10/07 Bitchflaps same strengths and weaknesses as the first two, the end product is mediocre. 2 stars
12/06/06 Sharon Definitely a must see! Super! 5 stars
11/30/06 David Cohen Reviewer Hollands should get medication for his poor atention span and see this movie again 5 stars
11/23/06 duane its good the return of the kings best charecter aragon 5 stars
11/12/06 Hotapplepie This is THE best movie out there. Nothing comes close to the splendor of the film. 5 stars
10/30/06 heath thats ryt go nz!!!! 5 stars
10/22/06 basher haha starwars fool!all brain washed by lucas bullshit jelous noob 5 stars
10/19/06 Darth Vader Cinematic equivalent of toxic waste 1 stars
10/17/06 AJ Muller bottom line: these 3 are all ONE movie. and it's the greatest in the history of the medium. 5 stars
10/12/06 mubeen the best film ever 5 stars
10/06/06 luxor Everything cinema should be! 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Incredible! The best in the trilogy 5 stars
9/05/06 The Maz Best movie since Pulp Fiction. 5 stars
8/23/06 omnipotent lol popcorn film!have u seen the extended cuts!vanhelsins a popcorn flick not this 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist All 3 had excellent FX, creatures, etc. Still all 3 R popcorn flicks, just above medieocre. 4 stars
6/05/06 drydock54321 wonderful. Too bad ,no more sequels? 5 stars
5/02/06 Rexy I Love This Film!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/25/06 elliot the bridge between geeks and regular people is crossed through this movie 5 stars
4/20/06 Becky A staple in films. First time I saw it I cried at least 5 times. Powerful. 5 stars
4/13/06 C Vega great way to finish the saga.....amazing 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE i expected this to be so much better. it's still alright but it's overrated 4 stars
3/31/06 kerry Extremely overrated.Don't confuse good filmmaking with expensive filmmaking 1 stars
3/10/06 Dk Maybe the best movie ever? 5 stars
1/08/06 Quigley this is hands down the most powerful, most incredible, most emotional movie I will ever see 5 stars
1/04/06 cody a great finish to triology, action unrentless and visual effects were stunning, peter best 5 stars
12/31/05 Muglet I'll watch this movie everyday for the rest of my life! 5 stars
12/30/05 haha i am smoking someing and i love this film!!:D 5 stars
12/24/05 S Gray Excellent movie in every respect. If you don't like this one you're smoking something. 5 stars
12/17/05 Veronica There's nothing better in the history of movies. Simply WONDERFUL!!!! 5 stars
12/16/05 ........... This is the best movie ever!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/06/05 cooler Oh my god,epic,beautiful,jeez films like these you only dream about 5 stars
11/29/05 Daniel the most satisfying conclusion in the best trilogy ever made!!!! 5 stars
11/19/05 dobo fuks potter dunno tho something about fellowship that makes me think the 1st movie is the best 5 stars
11/19/05 keerthi sexy 5 stars
11/16/05 Quigley what an incredible film! the most powerful movie I've seen; it really strikes close to home 5 stars
11/03/05 dobo fuks potter this still rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/27/05 chris the best in the trilogy this is truly a work of art well done to peter jackson 5 stars
10/03/05 sheela it is a great movie,non-pareil and sustains interest till the end 5 stars
9/25/05 Indrid Cold The trilogy is fantastic yes, but lacks the dazzling innovation of say, Lucas at his best. 5 stars
9/24/05 Anthony G Best movie of the trilogy, I was sad when it ended ='( 5 stars
9/23/05 Philip Funaki The Moviie was awsome, but the it lacks all of the what the other movies contains 5 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes this is why we go to the movies in the first place 5 stars
9/17/05 Eric Baker Faithful to the spirit of the book, brilliantly executed as a movie. 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Ok, awesome...but also damned tiresome. Loved Gollum though. 5 stars
9/05/05 Daryl Walker An emotional, breathtaking, visually stunning masterpiece. 5 stars
8/27/05 Tom Burns Best of the trilogy. 5 stars
8/21/05 WATCH BAKSKHI VERSION=BELLEND yeah sure trolls and troy was good right? anus rox 5 stars
8/19/05 Anus NAYSAYERS ARE J.E.W.S 5 stars
8/16/05 Quigley you people are piss-poor critics. the ending was moving and the CG incredible. best film. 5 stars
8/12/05 ES good,despite i never once felt the good guys were in danger and the ending was way too easy 4 stars
8/12/05 Kelly the ending killed me i mean end it already!the 2 before it are far better 3 stars
8/12/05 gray ...and at the end of the road we feel honored and grateful to be apart of this experience 5 stars
8/07/05 van zwaar fkin jelous potter/matrix/starwars/wank etc fans/fukin ungrateful 5 stars
8/06/05 .... ur obviously blind and foolish ALDO MOUth OF SAURON=phattest lookin character ever 5 stars
8/02/05 ALDO CGI DOES NOT LOOK REAL, IT LOOKS FUCKING STUPID. JIM HENSON IS WATCHING, AND HE'S PISSED 2 stars
7/23/05 .... the ending was kinda fag nvm still fukin awesome/these are the REAL DUNGEONS N DRAGONSfilms 5 stars
7/18/05 nixon what a fucking gay ending (literally) homo-hobbitry = not cool 3 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington 11 OSCARS? Give me a fuckin' break, Mystic River was much better. 3 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma The best of the trilogy, but not the best film ever made, you fucking geeks! 4 stars
7/08/05 FD Why would you not see a film an then give us a n opinion of it?Sheesh. Its just unexplainab 5 stars
7/07/05 J R Mitchell I quite agree 5 stars
6/29/05 .... fuk yeah 5 stars
6/28/05 J R Mitchell ROTK has just moved Casablanca down to 2nd place 5 stars
6/20/05 darick This one was actually riveting... 5 stars
6/19/05 .... a wicked movie glorified for being a wicked movie...fu potter 5 stars
6/14/05 Anthony G Awesome 5 stars
5/29/05 Jake Incredible! Epic Filmmaking at it's best! 5 stars
5/27/05 Quigley for once we get a film with a moving ending. so wanted it NOT to end. an amazing experience 5 stars
5/27/05 tony it sucks because the trilogy has ended. But still the BEST dame movie to end a trilogy! 5 stars
5/22/05 jim i love it 5 stars
5/19/05 Gothmog A true masterpiece for the ages. 5 stars
5/03/05 NYCLaura Killed me when the movie ended. The entire series is a masterwork. 5 stars
5/02/05 Littlepurch Won't deny it, i hated the first two. But this one is bloody fantastic. 5 stars
5/01/05 reuben rupp freakin sweet. can't wait for them to do "the hobbit." 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley not only is it the film of all films, but it is the most powerful film i've ever seen. 5 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 Excellent Movie!!! I loved it!!! 5 stars
4/20/05 Gray Classic even before it was made into a movie 5 stars
4/20/05 jellosheriff Is already a cinematic classic 5 stars
4/18/05 Rhianna Correa It's all coming together......great movies 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce I enjoyed 4 stars
3/24/05 Holly Dawson breathtaking 5 stars
3/15/05 David Hollands Sorry for my stupidity my daddy loves me too often. I couldn't sit comfortably. Sorry 5 stars
3/09/05 pepperann224 you will love this movie 5 stars
3/04/05 Jess * Dies * How can anyone rate this below a 5? 5 stars
3/04/05 REVIEWER DAVID HOLLANDS SORRY FOR GIVING THIS 1/5 RATING BUT I HAVNT A FKIN CLUE 5 stars
3/01/05 Dr. Lecter The epic of all epics 5 stars
2/26/05 george yup 1 of the best movies 5 stars
2/21/05 namhg2605@yahoo.com I want to see that fiml 3 stars
2/20/05 Alice Colwell great 5 stars
2/18/05 .... YOU KNOW THE BIG DOLLOPS RIGHT..... 5 stars
2/17/05 Lou & Chaz It explains way more about the film not perfect but a great film in general 5 stars
2/15/05 Tim Brilliant filmmaking 5 stars
2/11/05 bob thedwarf indeed ppl who say this fimls shite havnt a fkin clue 5 stars
2/07/05 Jim Amazing. The extended edition is even better than the theatrical, esp. w/Saruman's cameo. 5 stars
2/07/05 Ronald real overrated pile of donkey shit.Fuck this movie 1 stars
2/01/05 JJ ripoff NJR!! u mean harry potter 5 stars
2/01/05 Angela Very good! Come on, Monaghan and Bloom? cant go wrong! 5 stars
1/30/05 Bob Barton one of the all-time best movies ever made. 5 stars
1/17/05 JJ i got me the extended version!!!!precious 5 stars
1/16/05 amin zainali fantastic 5 stars
1/14/05 Turtle A rewarding conclusion to an excellent trilogy. The end drags, but it's entertaining fun. 4 stars
1/14/05 Anus Godfather is for faggots. Evil Dead sucks Jew balls 5 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton Near cinematic brilliance ... without a doubt a top contender for best film ever made. 5 stars
1/09/05 JJ indeed 5 stars
1/08/05 Jacko Best film I have seen...ever!! 5 stars
1/07/05 Benjamin Spicher A Masterwork 5 stars
1/03/05 t-1000 the extended edition is really good! 5 stars
12/27/04 roy yeah sure godfather is good,but not as good as this shit 5 stars
12/25/04 RebeccaBelcher the greatest film trilogy in history 5 stars
12/23/04 roy are we jelous today...starwars/harrypotter fans?? and the marix=ummmhmmm *cough* 5 stars
12/22/04 Michael OConnor The Final Piece of Crap! 1 stars
12/22/04 Jackson unimpressive 2 stars
12/19/04 roy yo aweome film...wig u little potter troll..wat a noob 5 stars
12/04/04 jonny boy without a dougt best film ever made imo i refer to EE 5 stars
12/01/04 aaaaaaaaaassssssssssssdaaakkkk all sucks ratings=same person 5 stars
12/01/04 umer fantastic end to a fantastic adventure 5 stars
12/01/04 Witch-King The Matrix fans trolling here can't handle LOTR 3 being vastly superior to Matrix 3... 5 stars
11/27/04 Matt F. Wow this place is Troll central... ROTK is good though 5 stars
11/25/04 Wolf001 If you dont like this movie your the fucking antichrist or a moron and cant comprehend such 5 stars
11/19/04 Critic the worst in the series, but still brings enough to the table 4 stars
11/07/04 John The worst of the three, but even that's a compliment 5 stars
11/06/04 TCIC Its above 5 stars, the greatest movie of all time. The conclusion couldn't have been better 5 stars
11/04/04 Skylar I've seen better 1 stars
10/27/04 Crazy About It By far the best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/25/04 el burro Fantastic filmaking. 5 stars
10/24/04 Doc Shock Nice, but was expecting better. Too cliched. 4 stars
10/24/04 daman dvdripwigwig98752etc=stupidharrypotterfans,uhavntaclue,rotkEEDVDISCOMINANDITOWNSYOUANdurdum 5 stars
10/20/04 arwen Olena wonderful!!!!!! 5 stars
10/15/04 Vince Deserves more than 5 Stars. DVDRip, may you die in pain. 5 stars
10/15/04 Pete Gotta love the undead army... 3 stars
10/13/04 Laura Simply the BEST!!!! 5 stars
9/22/04 Shinealight Forgettable movie 2 stars
9/20/04 James O'Brien 'Simply the Best of films for 10000000000 years to come 5 stars
9/13/04 The Talking Elbow Yeah, this movie sucked. "The Mummy Returns" was WAY better. 5 stars
9/02/04 Vince Total crap raters MUST be losers who are jealous of P. Jackson's talent. Fuck off, losers 5 stars
8/26/04 ELI WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE?!??!!?!!!?! 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James Visually one of the best movies of all time 5 stars
8/01/04 Vince I don't think anyone could have made it better than that. Save for Spielberg maybe. 5 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz Very interesting .You will want to buy the dvd. 5 stars
7/20/04 CORPSEGRINDER MORE WOUNDS AND PAIN PLZ 4 stars
7/18/04 Sarah C. This whole triolgy is the best movie(s) of all time. 5 stars
7/17/04 legend An amazing finale for the trilogy. Only thing I dislike was the ghost army at the end. 5 stars
7/17/04 Raymond Lee very,very good 5 stars
7/15/04 John McIntyre By far the best out of the three, but oh soo long 5 stars
7/12/04 SF the ordeal is over ...finally! 2 stars
7/11/04 Holli What a waste of time, money and resources - and it could have been so good too. 1 stars
7/10/04 Bobbo Visually amazing, but a lot missing from the book 4 stars
7/07/04 Keith Ho hum. Very weak as a stand-alone movie. 3 stars
7/06/04 Wildcarde1 the reason we see movies, epic and everlasting, like a star wars for this generation 5 stars
6/30/04 Spinz How many ending were there? I swear i got up like 5 times thinking the movie was done, but 3 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva i never knew what i terrific movie was before i saw these movies 5 stars
6/13/04 Aragate A gloriously magnificant achievement with such high emotional crescendos to make u weep! 5 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee The best movie period 5 stars
6/08/04 Ron Miller This movie Rocks and inspired me to give up these last 2 weeks to the video game. 5 stars
6/08/04 James Kustes I like the extended cuts better. 4 stars
6/07/04 Daveman A gripping finale to a fantastic series. Bring on King Kong. 5 stars
6/03/04 Angel It's very difficult to laugh and cry at the same instant, but I did. Powerful stuff. 5 stars
6/02/04 T-Shirt Guy FUCK THIS OVERRATED BULLSHIT 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody The best movie I have ever seen period 5 stars
5/31/04 The Champ The Muhammad Ali of Movies it can safely say "I'am the Greatest" 5 stars
5/31/04 Monster W. Kung An excellent film that more than makes up for the decent albeit disappointing second part. 5 stars
5/24/04 DM darkofnight is such a cocksucker 5 stars
5/23/04 M Great movie, bit too harry pottery! 4 stars
5/23/04 Cpt.Winters comparable to band of brothers 5 stars
5/21/04 Butt Kicker Shyam, Zimmerman & darkofnight all suck each others cocks but even then can't cum 5 stars
5/20/04 Sergeant Hartman Be grateful that you lived to see the greatest movie ever when it first came out. I am. 5 stars
5/16/04 Lesterwink23 Stunning, powerful, and unforgettable. One of the all-time best. 5 stars
5/09/04 Sean Scanlan I liked it much when I saw it 5 stars
5/08/04 Chuppa A worthful end to the series. 5 stars
5/08/04 Mark Fulwiler A great ending to a great trilogy 5 stars
5/06/04 Alien fan Just teh Best movie. 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot how can you not be woowed by a film that pushes the boundaries of film-makin.great stuff. 5 stars
5/05/04 C.J. Mackenzie All of the Lord Of The Rings movies rock but the Return Of The King Is The Best 5 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Fine finale to the trilogy 5 stars
4/21/04 TonyMontana Come on dammit! If this is boring what isn't? 5 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 Just unbelievable, proof that hollywodd still can make movies, thank you 5 stars
4/11/04 Alan Liddle The best I have seen 5 stars
4/11/04 mike overrated to the nth degee; not bad, but not god's gift to cinema like its treated either 3 stars
4/10/04 Bridget .............. 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley great movie but the worst sequel of the three 5 stars
4/08/04 TheTalkingElbow Hey person with same I.P address repeatedly bashing movie, having fun? 5 stars
4/07/04 re a great film 5 stars
4/04/04 jess Bloody Fantastic!! 5 stars
4/03/04 Shitaki Mushrooms Wow! It was better than both the first ones, put together! 5 stars
3/31/04 Raven The midgets finally put the ring in the volcano and everyone is happy and crown a new king 1 stars
3/31/04 Alex The best movie out of the trilogy. Totally awesome. 5 stars
3/28/04 Ike Hishikawa Thank you Peter Jackson for everything ... including the ending worthy of the trilogy. 5 stars
3/27/04 God Hooray 5 stars
3/25/04 tatum Griffith, Ford, Lean, Kubrick, Spielberg, and now Jackson 5 stars
3/23/04 Bikramjit Amazing, but not as good as the fellowship 5 stars
3/23/04 LauraTolkienGeek This is what happens when you get enough people together who care about what they're doing. 5 stars
3/21/04 Peter A perfect ending of the trilogy 5 stars
3/20/04 Marcia Scurfield An excellent story--wonderfully told. 5 stars
3/19/04 Shameer The worst of the 3. Fist one was excellent, 2nd one ok, 3rd boring and annoying 2 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Better than the 1st two... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 Holly Beeman My fave of the trilogy. I cried like a little baby! <3 hobbits. 5 stars
3/17/04 Chris A good movie but what's all the fuss about. The movies looked great but always depressing. 4 stars
3/17/04 Spiderfan729 Better than the other 2. Up there in my top 5 ever! 5 stars
3/16/04 alex i agree with zimmerman.. in addition the graphics awesome, but movie is boring 3 stars
3/12/04 James Cameron I am the king of the world 2 stars
3/11/04 Pinkline Jones This is a cartoon not a FILM 2 stars
3/09/04 Tolkien Paul Zimmerman is a retarded fuck 5 stars
3/07/04 Goofy Maxwell overblown finale, the 1st LOTR remains my fave. 3 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Splendifierous! Showing friendship as it is! 5 stars
3/06/04 Look at DoN picture!! lmao! What a faggoty loser u are...www.epinions.com/user-darkofnight 5 stars
3/05/04 max extravagant! though it did drag on & on & on & on & on & on & on 4 stars
3/05/04 becky williams amazing 5 stars
3/04/04 Maurice The Predator In 1 word? Breathtaking 5 stars
3/02/04 Peter Jackson Oh Shit! I'm so drunk from all the partying I got my vote wrong. DoN can still kiss my arse 5 stars
3/02/04 Peter Jackson I have the Oscars! DoN can kiss my fat arse while I fart in his face! Thanks to you others 1 stars
3/02/04 Michael Mungin Would have been the perfectest movie in a long time if liv tyler had been excluded. 5 stars
3/02/04 Wendranh it could have been 10 hours long, I still would have been glued to my seat 5 stars
3/02/04 Evenstar It was the best movie ever, and if someone says the opposite then that someone is an idiot 5 stars
3/02/04 Margie A masterpiece. For those who thought it was too long, I can't wait for the extended edition 5 stars
3/01/04 CrowEater An 11 oscar sweep! Fuck you DoN, Zimmerman and all you other whiney morons. 5 stars
2/29/04 Smitty If Jackson's going to leave it that long then he should have included the shire cleansing 5 stars
2/27/04 Greg du Pille The best movie ever 5 stars
2/25/04 Tobes Lord of the Rings is Timeless! 5 stars
2/24/04 Russ Honestly, by far, Clay Rain is the shittiest person since DoN was born 5 stars
2/23/04 The Dude Zimmerman is a douche. 5 stars
2/22/04 Clay Rains HONESTLY, BY FAR, THE SHITTIEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN MY LIFE!! 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Great 5 stars
2/21/04 Gordon Epic, satisfying, beautiful 5 stars
2/21/04 michael kirk four golden globes,five baftas,eleven oscar nominations,directors guild award, what do know 5 stars
2/19/04 collin garrido very nice movie of the year 5 stars
2/19/04 CrowEater 2 PZim Merry didnt get married you dickhead, it was Sam; and your review sucked dog balls 5 stars
2/17/04 Sergeant Hartman best movie 5 stars
2/17/04 Simon Cowell Jackson is brilliant! Zimmerman is about the worst thing to ever happen to journalism. 5 stars
2/16/04 too-much-coffee-man very good movie, the gourd's intellectual masturbation notwithstanding 5 stars
2/16/04 RiRi Fucking awesome. I am speechless. 5 stars
2/16/04 Bonnie The most emotionally moving film I've ever seen 5 stars
2/16/04 sampah film sampah 1 stars
2/16/04 Smitty Best of the three - except what was he thinking with that last half hour?? 5 stars
2/16/04 Marcus Darkness of Night is "Truly the largest disappointment of the..." century! 5 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Cinematic genius for people too stupid to watch or understand Akira Kurosawa films. 1 stars
2/14/04 coladdict Excellent! Justifiably over-long. (After 3 huge films we want to know what happens afterwar 5 stars
2/12/04 Michael I totally agree with darkofnight's review and added the link to my page with honours! 1 stars
2/11/04 Scarface BRILLIANT! 5 stars
2/09/04 The Anti-Darkness of Night Travis sucks Cali's Pipkin 5 stars
2/08/04 Travis Yo pimp start pimpin... 1 stars
2/06/04 Noodle's Pimp You should know all about sucking bitch, as both Moses & DoN know all about you $1 whore 5 stars
2/06/04 Stacey The best ever made story from book to film! 5 stars
2/06/04 Tim Rogers Awe inspiring cinematic genius. Greatest film I have ever seen 5 stars
2/03/04 Fleet Jeebles This movie rules 5 stars
2/03/04 hopo bob great 5 stars
2/03/04 Eloise toooooooo looooooooooooonnnnnnggggg 1 stars
2/02/04 Inga I almost forgot to breathe for three hours 5 stars
2/02/04 SherKhan This is more then just a big budget film - its an event. 5 stars
2/01/04 Just Me Hey DoN, considerng you're such a cunt, is there any chance that U can fuck off into nothin 5 stars
2/01/04 Scarface no need to listen to Pupkin he is know for being a dumbass and degrading good movies 5 stars
2/01/04 STUFU Bad ending. I'm sorry, but the last half hour is terrible. 4 stars
1/31/04 Travis Watson After some contemplation, I realize the movie is better than I could have expected. 5 stars
1/30/04 Kyle Evans Boom! That is the sound of a succesful trilogy. 5 stars
1/30/04 A non sucker To all you who say this film Sucks, I say that you all suck in more ways than one. Suck Off 5 stars
1/30/04 Minty Excellent film to watch. 5 stars
1/30/04 Tony montana Clitoris theres no need for you to talk just stfu 5 stars
1/30/04 ChuDogg Awesome. I wish the actors got noms. 5 stars
1/29/04 Flounder If this movie doesn't get you choked up then nothing will. 5 stars
1/29/04 Desperado DoN is a dipshit, great movie, one of the best in history, trilogy may be best of all time 5 stars
1/28/04 Travis great ,stong,intense, action packed movie 5 stars
1/27/04 Ian McKellen Of all the words, which one can command in English, only 2 come to mind for DoN - Fuck Off! 5 stars
1/27/04 Film Critter U gotta luv the country 5 stars
1/27/04 The Talking Elbow You either really hate this movie or really love it. Odd. 5 stars
1/27/04 God Will DoN and her bitches please SHUT THE FUCK UP? 5 stars
1/27/04 Ultron A fine finish to a great series. 4 stars
1/27/04 Tessa Thomas Damn good show...wish it didn't have to be the end 5 stars
1/26/04 Lord of the Critics DoN Review - Sucks; DoN friends - Sucks; jerkoffs who give LOTR a low score - Sucks; ROTK - 5 stars
1/25/04 Sean Astin DoN & company - you make me laugh so much I've lost all bladder & bowel control 5 stars
1/25/04 ezio boring poor camera work. 2 stars
1/24/04 Steve Not a Lord of the Rings devotee 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena Simply put, a stunning and breathtaking conclusion to a brilliant trilogy. 5 stars
1/22/04 vivian very good job! very good movie! 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess Brilliant third entry in this now classic trilogy. 5 stars
1/22/04 Mike in the words of that comic book guy on the simpsons..."best...movie...EVER!" 5 stars
1/21/04 Joseph Guillermo The battle scenes are great! But the story is somehow change 5 stars
1/21/04 holly redknap exhilirating mind-blowing epic adventure 5 stars
1/20/04 Russell Crowe DoN you shithead. How fucking dare you insult a movie from my homeland you fucker. Cuntface 5 stars
1/19/04 This girl Darkof, can you be MORE of a petulant teen armchair critic? Clue phone.... its for you.... 5 stars
1/19/04 MelissaNYC Just saw it. Hollywood has must now be held to a higher standard. 5 stars
1/19/04 Stevie Peaches my expectations were really high from what people said and it still blew me away 5 stars
1/19/04 Chrys I actually know someone who thinks it sucks. 5 stars
1/18/04 Deanna If you don't worship Peter Jackson, SOMETHING is wrong with you. 5 stars
1/18/04 Battousai DoN gave Halloween 3 Five Stars...Loses all credibility 5 stars
1/18/04 DarkSister DoN lost his Aragorn action figure & mom won't buy him another so he's got the shits 5 stars
1/17/04 faker DarkofNight you gave Darkness Falls a higher rating than this, yeah right, dumbass 5 stars
1/17/04 Idiot DarkOfNight is a cynical greasy goth. Look at his other reviews... complete dumbass. 5 stars
1/17/04 CrowEater DarkOfNight you are a try hard troll! Fuck off. 5 stars
1/17/04 Gercouk Jesus, don't you ever stop moaning 4 stars
1/16/04 Petra Koponen It`s fantastic!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/04 Min Ji Kim Don't even get me STARTED on the superlatives!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/04 Dean Unsurpassed 5 stars
1/16/04 yeahboy hey moses, its tym 2 pull ur head out of ur ass & face reality!! 5 stars
1/15/04 DarkShadows Hey DoN - how much to you charge to get your butt fucked? 5 stars
1/15/04 Valerie Grew up with LOTR & never thought I'd see it brought to life. Now I can die happy. Amazing. 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Overbaked, but still amazingly directed and acted. 4 stars
1/15/04 Matt Seen it for the 3rd time and it just gets better, DoN, you're just too funny...ish 5 stars
1/14/04 MetallicA Reese and DoN WHY CANT YOU SHUT THE FUCK UP AND NOT WATCH MOVIES 5 stars
1/14/04 Marcus DoN is clearly tripping on the smell of his own shit 5 stars
1/14/04 logo1366 Its seems that much of DoN's criticism is really of Tolkien and not Jackson 5 stars
1/14/04 Fred G Perfect Movie!! darkofknight loved Ben and Jen in GIgli 5 stars
1/14/04 lianne richards A work of genious 5 stars
1/14/04 Paul W. I'd prefer taking the high ground ... but I'm with yeahboy on this one 5 stars
1/14/04 Beth This was by far the greatest movie of the trilogy and should be the Best Picture winner 5 stars
1/14/04 banzai47 inconsistencies in darkofknight's review vastly outnumber those in this stunning film 5 stars
1/13/04 Graham Why does darkofnight have a problem with Jackson adding "emotional baggage"? 5 stars
1/13/04 BrianWilly Stupid people annoy me, especially when they try to sound smart. AWESOME MOVIE. 5 stars
1/13/04 Wendy Darkofknight, you're a candyass faggot fucking bitch. Fuck you and your whole family. Cunt. 5 stars
1/13/04 MetallicA Darkofknight watch again, there's nothing wrong with it there is somethiing wrong with you 5 stars
1/13/04 interupt A fine ending to an awesome trilogy, except for 15yr old reviewers 5 stars
1/13/04 yeahboy "Now, the film Blade 2 features my absolute favourite effects" what an idiot!!! 5 stars
1/13/04 MelissaNYC Haven't seen it, but just want to spite darkofnight. 5 stars
1/13/04 Luke Slacker what you can do is shut the fuck up! and wait for the extended version 5 stars
1/13/04 Jon ROTK was great, Two Towers was superb, but Fellowship is still the best of the three. 4 stars
1/13/04 Worthy Slacker Very cheesy and oversentimental. Cliche' dialouge. Dumbed down adaptation of the book. 2 stars
1/13/04 Ioreth Read the book. you'll change your minds. 3 stars
1/13/04 Alex Easily the best movie in 20 years. 5 stars
1/12/04 christian harding so frekin' awsome 5 stars
1/12/04 DeadManWalking The best of the 3...and that says a lot!!! a true epic 5 stars
1/11/04 Atanu Near perfect (perfect being miller's crossing :) 5 stars
1/11/04 LR Trilogy is a masterwork, and ROTK is the final beautiful piece. 5 stars
1/11/04 effingbored The best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
1/11/04 jen This was the best movie ever made, by far,only a crazy wouldnt give this best picture 5 stars
1/11/04 Todd One of the best movies I've ever seen 5 stars
1/10/04 Rod Johnston This reminds us why we love movies in the first place. 5 stars
1/10/04 Charla Atkinson I cried because it was over it ended to soon. 5 stars
1/10/04 the lol man theres just no disputing it 5 stars
1/09/04 Shams Huque Absolutely incredible movie! 5 stars
1/09/04 Nikolai Upcoming Star Wars 3 will be a joke with wooden acting, muppet CGI and superstretched story 5 stars
1/08/04 Mark F. Great filmmaking! I've seen it 3 times already! 5 stars
1/08/04 Stephen Speilborg I'm now going to shoot myself. I've never made anything half as good as this, and I never 5 stars
1/08/04 jada amazing!!but could have shortened the end 5 stars
1/07/04 Edler Ohhhhh yeahhh!!! Oooooooooooo Weeeeeeeeeeee!!!! It an awesome movie!!! Yes'm. Wooooooo!!!! 5 stars
1/06/04 Nick perfect ! 5 stars
1/06/04 Kayla S. I've seen it twice and it's worth seeing again! 5 stars
1/06/04 Morally Sound Amazing. 5 stars
1/06/04 John Fenderson It's a good flick. Not great. Whatever happened to the fine custom of intermissions??? 4 stars
1/06/04 Ace Trojan Greatest film of our time- regardless of Oscars 5 stars
1/05/04 Andy Bronson 2nd best film ever 5 stars
1/05/04 HÜLYACENK this story has become lives whose most people 5 stars
1/05/04 Caiphn Amazing film, incredible battles. 5 stars
1/05/04 Katrina BRILLIANT MOVIE!!LEGOLAS AS CUTE AS EVER!! 5 stars
1/05/04 Gareth Wilkie 5 stars doesn`t cut it how about 10? 5 stars
1/04/04 Mellie Sheer brilliance. After 3 viewings I am STILL amazed by Sean Astin's portrayal as well. 5 stars
1/04/04 escher Perfect. 5 stars
1/04/04 Movie Expert One of the best films of all time 5 stars
1/03/04 Ian Henderson The best of the best trilogy ever created. 5 stars
1/02/04 HÜLYA CENK IT'S TERRIFIC FILM I EVER SEEN.ALSO THE BOOKS ARE WONDERFUL TOO 5 stars
1/02/04 Pseudonym "Slow ending" due to abscence of hobbits' character resolution (Read the book, Lazies!!!!!) 5 stars
1/02/04 Philip Better than broadway, a trology that reminds you that some things are worth fighting for. 5 stars
1/02/04 B. Fresh IT was awesome..only problem is that the battles were PG-13 eddited (unlike Last Samurai) 5 stars
1/02/04 OnlyChild Truly a masterpiece, I loved every minute of it. 5 stars
1/02/04 Robert S Loved it, but was almost as sad as the actors to see this fine trilogy come to an end. 5 stars
1/01/04 David Walters This movie tops the original Star Wars! Maybe the greastest film work of all time. 5 stars
1/01/04 Simon Rahtz shows us how to properly end a trilogy after unlike many other failed sequels 5 stars
1/01/04 Mattie G It's good. Jackson butchered the battle editing-wise though in my opinion... 4 stars
1/01/04 Punk_Ass Great movie, the Battle scenes were the best I have seen. Can't wait to see it again. 5 stars
1/01/04 Obi Wan Great Film . . .the ending was a little too long, otherwise Brillant!! 5 stars
1/01/04 Ethan Simply incredible storytelling... quite an achievement 5 stars
12/31/03 hacim25 the story survived jackson's horrid editing 4 stars
12/31/03 Rich Wow. 5 stars
12/31/03 devilgoblin never saw something better 5 stars
12/31/03 Rod Johnston This is better than my favorite porn movie "Anal Heat!" 5 stars
12/30/03 Chlo Gyllenhaal Breathtaking 5 stars
12/30/03 CML Unmistakably the best movie ever made 5 stars
12/30/03 Luke if you dont like it watch it again 5 stars
12/30/03 Quality Despite niggles, this is cinematic bliss 5 stars
12/30/03 Mulder There's not enough words to describe it! 5 stars
12/29/03 Asli Definitely the BEST MOVIE! 5 stars
12/29/03 jack looking forward to the ee 4 stars
12/29/03 hülya one word"breathtaking" 5 stars
12/29/03 marc this movie is a piece of technologically-astounding corn. 2 stars
12/29/03 Hooters Gurl A great movie with an approproate ending. I liked Two Towers better though. 5 stars
12/29/03 Patrick Purvis 3 words..."Oh my God!!" 5 stars
12/29/03 laura jane mindblowing. perfect. true beauty. i cried for 2+ hours.. good tears. 5 stars
12/29/03 Vince One of the best movies ever made. Incredible. 5 stars
12/29/03 Debbie Mitchell Absolutely one of the best movies of all time - INCREDIBLE!! 5 stars
12/29/03 Littlepurch AMAZING. 10 times better than the other two put together and added to every other film ever 5 stars
12/28/03 Barubal only orcs would hate this film 5 stars
12/28/03 "The Dude" is a Cocksucker Anyone with the nickname "Dude" must be gay...KING is an amazing film! 5 stars
12/28/03 Babbette Llora It was heart wrentching!!!! 5 stars
12/28/03 Caitlin An amazing film. I LOVED it! 5 stars
12/27/03 theSlimebag Abso-fuc-ing-lootely fantastic. I'm simply speachless! Long live the King 5 stars
12/27/03 Mopsa I'm speechless. Now I want all the Hollywood bigwigs to bow to the King 5 stars
12/27/03 Alien assasin The fantasy film of the decade !!!!! 5 stars
12/27/03 Ry A winner! 5 stars
12/27/03 MF I got dizzy trying to decypher the battle scenes, until I realized I wasn't supposed to 5 stars
12/27/03 Koitus "No my friends; do not bow to me .. you bow to no one!" - Incredible flick! 5 stars
12/27/03 The Dude Aragorn and Arwen's love story makes me want to puke. Jackson raped the books. 1 stars
12/27/03 ezio boring dissappointment 1 stars
12/27/03 Zargo Not bad. Not bad at all. 5 stars
12/26/03 Dominic A Fantastic End 5 stars
12/26/03 Carla Ciurlizza Incredible film, great ending to a superb trilogy. 5 stars
12/26/03 Gray needed beter editing and battle tactics 5 stars
12/26/03 t the best 5 stars
12/26/03 Matthew Smith a wonderful conclusion, a masterpiece 5 stars
12/26/03 Luke HOw-can-you-not-like-this!!!!111111111 5 stars
12/25/03 Fahad shizzle the best movie ever made and ever will be made sad its over!! 5 stars
12/25/03 Elizaveta I cried...lovely 5 stars
12/25/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. WOW! WHAT A WAY TO END THE TRILOGY! THIS IS "AWESOME" 10 x's 5 stars
12/25/03 Rod Johnston This was more exciting then the last time that I was in Fan Mania! 5 stars
12/25/03 smartx my goodness gracious ! it's a treasure pirates would kill each other twice for 5 stars
12/25/03 Vince see it. 5 stars
12/25/03 JJ From da Block I felt something too, the chick's boobs in the next seat over :) 5 stars
12/25/03 HITMAN GODLIKE!!! THERE NO OTHER WORD FOR IT. 5 stars
12/24/03 EMILY IT'S THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE!!! 5 stars
12/24/03 Desyra It's the best movie I've ever seen and I will ever seen 5 stars
12/24/03 Anonymous Best of The Three Better Than I expected 5 stars
12/24/03 grandma dynamite Cyclopean Hit- Masterful Craftsmanship 5 stars
12/24/03 Ossian Exceeded my (high) expectations. 5 stars
12/24/03 Michael Truly a spectacular climax of filmmaking glory. Could we ask for more? No. No we could not 5 stars
12/24/03 gman the best of the three..i felt something i didn't feel watching the Matrix movies...heart. 5 stars
12/24/03 Elladan Holy shit. 5 stars
12/24/03 Sammy It is my favorite movie of the year and maybe my favorite of all time!!! BUWAHAHAHA! 5 stars
12/24/03 osama predictible , it sucks 1 stars
12/23/03 Marcia Lartz Riproaring conclusion to highly successful trilogy. 5 stars
12/23/03 Titus Wow. Just wow. Perfection. 5 stars
12/23/03 Luke Yes Zefram! Witch King owns! I want one too! 5 stars
12/23/03 Zefram Mann I want an action figure of the Witch King on his fell beast! 5 stars
12/23/03 Rokiah Adam Awesome, Inspiring, touching, simply brilliant 5 stars
12/23/03 Jiz Great movie, but someone should have said "creative liberty" and cut the ending short 5 stars
12/23/03 MOHD SYAFIQ verry good film 5 stars
12/23/03 smartmusician Simply Amazing. It's AWESOME 5 stars
12/23/03 sheila fernandez Incredible, One of the best movies I've seen, The best trilogy ever made! 5 stars
12/23/03 SD So...I guess this reviewer like the movie 5 stars
12/23/03 sdfr Ironically, long film feels a bit rushed. Still, a magnificent sit! 5 stars
12/23/03 Large Farve Simply awesome. Destined to be remembered for greatness, as a movie and as a trilogy. 5 stars
12/23/03 HorrorScribbler Amazing work 5 stars
12/22/03 God WOWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/22/03 djacosta absolutely amazing 5 stars
12/22/03 Morally Sound The best of the best! 5 stars
12/22/03 Eric K I believe that this is the greatest film ever made. It is flawless and spectacular. 5 stars
12/22/03 M Part II was better then part I, part III is better then part II, incredible!! 5 stars
12/22/03 I Would Like Mad Max II. It's flawed, if a little dumb but nevertheless mindblowing. 5 stars
12/21/03 Desperado Awe-inspiring. I just finished my Top 10 Movies list, I am adding this one to the list 5 stars
12/21/03 Jack the Dagger best movie ever made this movei is better than sex 5 stars
12/21/03 Octavia The ending was a little drawn out, they could have ended it a little sooner. Overall, A++++ 5 stars
12/21/03 jawsboy Quite good! Not as great as I had heard, but it is one of the year's best! *** 1/2 4 stars
12/21/03 Bulahaw fucking awesome!! WHAT SAY YOU??? 5 stars
12/21/03 matt A reminder of why we go and see films. Simply stunning 5 stars
12/21/03 Lord Jiggy Excellent, amibtious, moving. 5 stars
12/21/03 Littlepurch FANTASTIC!!! Can't recommend it highly enough. 5 stars
12/21/03 igor great 5 stars
12/21/03 Nikolai 2001, StarWars, Scarface and now LoTR3 5 stars
12/21/03 Nicole Great, emotional conclusion to the trilogy from beginning to end 5 stars
12/21/03 Pooman69 des sa good movie en excilenty acting 5 stars
12/21/03 DM I totally agree with Anus 5 stars
12/21/03 Ultron A triumphant conclusion to a great series 5 stars
12/20/03 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. I want to cry because it happened and cry even harder now thats it over. PJ= Oscar 5 stars
12/20/03 S. Fraser Absolutely mind-blowing, staggering, still in shock: so beautiful, cried my heart out 5 stars
12/20/03 Bryan Coon I have to agree this film is the years best. Its the best movie i've seen all year. 5 stars
12/20/03 john ground and breathtaking technical acievement but a bit clumsy at times - too "digital" 3 stars
12/20/03 Bulahaw nuff said...this film will bow to no one!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/20/03 George Jung Perfect 5 stars
12/20/03 michaelb14 Holy Shit,This is what Movies are Supposed to be like,I'd give a higher rating if possible 5 stars
12/20/03 AARON A PERFECT MOVIE!! 5 stars
12/20/03 snowconehead Masterful. Amazing. 5 stars
12/20/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) its average 3 stars
12/20/03 Flounder One of the most breathtaking cinematic achievements of our time. 5 stars
12/20/03 Ed Rowett I don't ever ask to see a better film than this 5 stars
12/20/03 your worst goddamn nightmare Sets a new benchmark standard for Hollywood; which it could not possibly hope to attain 5 stars
12/20/03 Paul The best movie ever made. EVER. 5 stars
12/20/03 Dana Rotegard Too good tyo believe 5 stars
12/20/03 Christiana von Hippel This is the best set of movies of all time. It left me breathless. 5 stars
12/20/03 Sue Barner Simply the best there is. 5 stars
12/20/03 Tall Jack This movie is simply awesome 5 stars
12/20/03 Darren Shea The best movie of a superb trilogy - just amazing. 5 stars
12/20/03 Duckman This is more than any Tolkien fan could have hoped for. 5 stars
12/20/03 nick2k wow...definately earns multiple viewings. wow. 5 stars
12/19/03 ajay W-O-W! 5 stars
12/19/03 Jess 6 stars. 5 stars
12/19/03 me its great!!! 5 stars
12/19/03 Jack the Dagger Best damn trilogy ever made. best movie ever anyone who disagrees can suck my dick! 5 stars
12/19/03 Ben Saikin everything a movie should be 5 stars
12/19/03 Had To Say Impressive 5 stars
12/19/03 Frank Why not just say it?? This is the best movie ever made!! 5 stars
12/19/03 CuteAlien The best movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
12/19/03 The Talking Elbow Deserves all the praise for its grandeur and hard-work, but it's far from a perfect film. 5 stars
12/19/03 Vicious Greatest story ever told. Fuck the bible. 5 stars
12/19/03 Nick Best movie, EVER! 5 stars
12/19/03 :| Movie of the year. 5 stars
12/19/03 Wyvern OMG! Best of the trilogy, best of all fantasy films! 5 stars
12/19/03 Nathan Stunning achievement by Peter Jackson and company 5 stars
12/19/03 Derek Iversen If it doesn't get Best Picture, the Academy should Close. 5 stars
12/19/03 Samy Needs an Education How to Define the battle sequence? Part Empire Strikes Back - Hoth and part oh my god! 5 stars
12/19/03 Samy is an asshole You can stop making movies with battle scenes now...you can't top KING! 5 stars
12/19/03 ROTK=2004 Oscar I've never cried so damn hard in my LIFE 5 stars
12/19/03 Samy The end sucks, but... 4 stars
12/19/03 t great 5 stars
12/19/03 Vlad M. Completely badass. Best trilogy ever! 5 stars
12/19/03 Human Shield "My friends, you bow to no one." - damned line still gets me all teary-eyed. 5 stars
12/19/03 Nikhil Melnechuk perfect. 5 stars
12/19/03 escher Flat out incredible. 5 stars
12/19/03 nGn Still numb from last night's viewing. Easily the best I have ever seen in my 46 years. 5 stars
12/19/03 Matthew Hetzler If I were a film critic, I'd have written the same review! 5 stars
12/18/03 Curious George great flick 5 stars
12/18/03 Simon Over long, good action, not as good as the others 3 stars
12/18/03 Pin "Bad Taste"/John Merrick Orc was delicious 5 stars
12/18/03 gromm to use a net phrase: OMFG!!!!!!11 5 stars
12/18/03 too-much-coffee-man What can I add! Breathtaking film 5 stars
12/18/03 ed still crying the next day. can't describe how much this film meant to me. need to invent a 5 stars
12/18/03 bullit16 Everything everyone has said ... and so much more. Amazing filmmaking 5 stars
12/18/03 Tony T Great, Glorious, and Epic Filmaking! 5 stars
12/18/03 Dax It was the best of the three, totally amazing!! 5 stars
12/18/03 Chango Like Erik said, "one too many endings." But overall, a great movie. 5 stars
12/18/03 ayk Exceptional end to an excellent movie trilogy. Can't wait for the extended DVD. 5 stars
12/18/03 veddermatic If God made a movie, it would look like this 5 stars
12/18/03 Kathy From a book-lover point of view, slightly disappointing. From a moviegoer pov, amazing 5 stars
12/18/03 Old Gaffer Words fail me . . . 5 stars
12/18/03 Jen Absolutely breathtaking! Deserves all available Oscars. 5 stars
12/18/03 Doug Beachy The best movie of all time, bar none! 5 stars
12/18/03 Eric S. Expectations-met. Mind-blown. Pants-pissed in. Awesome. 5 stars
12/18/03 Jon Lyrik Brilliant, a crowning acheivement in cinema. 5 stars
12/18/03 luke nobody,nobody will give this less than Awesome!(How-can-you-not)!! 5 stars
12/18/03 Yngve Absolutely awesome! 5 stars
12/18/03 Slappy Absolutely remarkable, spellbinding 5 stars
12/18/03 Smith The Best Movie I have Ever Seen 5 stars
12/18/03 Cole Best ****ing movie I've ever seen in my life. 5 stars
12/18/03 Flounder I am blown away. One of the greatest things I have ever seen on film. Period. 5 stars
12/18/03 malcolm to Wachowski Bros: take a lesson on saving the best for last 5 stars
12/18/03 Christian Vazquez The BEST movie. period. 5 stars
12/18/03 Melina everything I hoped for and more! 5 stars
12/18/03 Iaheto Ah Hi Absolutely stunning 5 stars
12/18/03 Brian Perfection 5 stars
12/18/03 Obi Wan The 3rd times the Charm...this should wrap up the Oscar for best picture!! 5 stars
12/18/03 Josh Words fail me. Well, one word I can muster: STAGGERING. 5 stars
12/18/03 E-Rock The era of the Academy not honoring Fantasy films with Best Picture is over. Astounding! 5 stars
12/18/03 Mike Greatest movie of all time! 5 stars
12/18/03 Bill OH. MY. GOD. 5 stars
12/17/03 Will sweet jebus, it was fantastic 5 stars
12/17/03 Lord Chu Simply the phattiest thing I've ever seen, EVER, in my life. 5 stars
12/17/03 God PERFECT!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Dec-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Aug-2006

UK
  17-Dec-2003 (12)

Australia
  26-Dec-2003 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast