More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.17

Awesome53.19%
Worth A Look: 23.4%
Average: 14.89%
Pretty Bad: 4.26%
Total Crap: 4.26%

6 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


House of Sand and Fog
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Mushy and damp."
3 stars

Tug-of-war between an estranged alcoholic (Jennifer Connelly) and an immigrant Iranian and his family, over a seconds-away-from-the-shore house that was lost by the former when she didnít pay a property tax, and was bought by the latter at an auction from the city, before their mistake of the non-existent tax is erased, and after the damsel-in-distress recruits the help of an overly sympathetic, married cop, whoís quick to get her back on the bottle and into the bed.

And so forth. Civility is never really considered an option insofar as over the course of events, that would wrap up this open-and-shut case too fast. For a brief while, the dramatic content has the heels of both parties dug deeply into the dirt, and there is an initial interest of ďand now what do you plan to do?Ē that predictably becomes more obscured and overblown as time ranges on, turning all this back-and-forth tugging into second-degree rope-burn. As the true drama subsidizes, the fight, or rooting-in-favor of, becomes more and more one-sided. Connelly, while she doesnít embarrass herself, is far from her top form, while Ben Kingsley and Shohreh Aghdashloo do manage to evoke a sense of sympathy within their plight. And as for Roger Deakinsí photography, itís strictly for show purposes only, glassy, but with the sole intention of selling this House. Directed by Vadim Perelman; with Jonathan Ahdout, Ron Eldard, Kim Dickens, and Frances Fisher.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8407&reviewer=172
originally posted: 05/16/04 07:45:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/14/09 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
10/24/07 R.W. Welch Sort of a neo-Shakespearean tragedy with upper case acting and cinematography. 4 stars
4/09/07 Adam J.Connelly walking around in a T-shirt alone is worth the rental! 5 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
9/16/06 Brian O'Neill Watched the DVD then curled up and cried for 30 minutes. It's amazing, but hard to watch. 5 stars
8/19/06 Zaw Good but Extremely Slow! 5 stars
5/31/06 stephanie willis Ben Kingsley, at his finest 4 stars
4/03/06 Jamie Jennifer Connelly is the epitome of lust....good movie, but weird esp the ending 4 stars
11/27/05 cr a wonderful story of a family, a girl, and a house, it scenes just pull you in, sad 4 stars
10/19/05 Douglas Reese 2003's Best Film! An absolute triumph in every which way! Extraordinary movie! 5 stars
8/17/05 John greek tragedis deal in archtypes - this pretends to have real charcacters - 1 stars
8/02/05 Indrid Cold Yeah it's just like a Greek tragedy, but Greek tragedies are overblown and stilted. 3 stars
6/27/05 dan pretty deppressing but connelly is so hot 4 stars
6/20/05 Bob Johnson Great! 5 stars
6/13/05 lindy03 Excellent! Well-played Greek tragedy. 5 stars
6/03/05 Simon ONe of the most well-done, no-nonsense pure dramas to come out in a long time. 4 stars
3/25/05 Paul Jennifer Connelly is perfect. Great movie. 5 stars
3/12/05 jeff darryl u r just too dumb to understand this movie. 5 stars
2/21/05 Darryl Boring. Didn't pick up until then kid got shot and I found myself cheering! 2 stars
1/10/05 chris. my god. don't let your depressed teen see this-i'd have killed myself 4 stars
1/07/05 temy Like an ancient Greek tragedy 5 stars
12/09/04 Landshark obscure, opaque, brooding...never gets candyassed. bonus for Iran immersion---Secret Ballot 5 stars
12/08/04 Shanelle it was sooooo good i felt i was watching real life instead of a movie 5 stars
11/16/04 Raymond Shaw Jennifer Connoly's standard one note performance can't ruin this Ben Kingsley masterpiece. 5 stars
11/03/04 Stevo Well acted. Well told story. Just depressing. Gotta be in the mood. 4 stars
10/26/04 Mahsa great film 5 stars
7/26/04 Brian Murray Just a series of depressing events. By the time the kid dies it was funny. 1 stars
7/23/04 Karen McAninley the movie succeeding in making me feel hopeless, full of despair and depressed. 1 stars
7/19/04 Marco Zierl completely boring and over-dramatized 2 stars
7/08/04 Phil M. Aficionado The plot takes some ill-conceived twists toward the end, but very strong cast & film anyway 4 stars
6/21/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Beatiful and delicate, these actors deliver with the most heartbreaking finesse 5 stars
5/23/04 Butterbean Kingsly was fantastic as usual. I really hated that ending. 4 stars
4/07/04 Jenny Tullwartz Intresting start but all characters but colonel's son make you care less and less bout them 2 stars
4/01/04 jj a tragedy,full of emotion with superb acting! 5 stars
4/01/04 Albie The best film I saw at the theater in 2003 5 stars
3/20/04 kari dennis great movie 5 stars
3/14/04 ownerofdajoint kinksley is incredible.....don't miss this movie... 5 stars
3/05/04 Raymund One of the Best Drama I've Ever Watched! 5 stars
3/02/04 Chloe Brody How amazing... 5 stars
2/28/04 john enjoyed 4 stars
2/26/04 Troy Butler 4.5 stars, ... beautiful performances all round, ... extremely powerful!!! 5 stars
2/15/04 john bale Heartwrenching performance by Kingsley in this finely crafted and powerful movie 5 stars
2/06/04 Jenny Tullwartz Intresting start but all characters but colonel's son make you care less and less bout them 2 stars
1/30/04 Nancy An amazing film that left me stunned 5 stars
1/29/04 Marce unexpected in its originality and power. Really cool, dude ;) 4 stars
1/21/04 smartmusician Incredible. Excellent interpretation of Andre Dubus III's book. Incredible acting!! 5 stars
1/21/04 Contracts Wonk It was the FATHER who wrote the novel on which In the Bedroom is based. 4 stars
1/21/04 Steve Thought provoking... Your emotions change throughout 5 stars
1/19/04 p alexander terrible and racially offensive 1 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Powerhouse performances all-around and top-notch production values. 5 stars
1/12/04 Happy Hour Like a damp, foggy day, this movie gets beneth your skin and chills you. 5 stars
1/12/04 Farhad Milani very deep subject, worthy of hours of discussion 5 stars
1/04/04 breadman Ben Kingsley on the floor pleading to God, tough to watch...as I've been there. 4 stars
1/03/04 Sara Finally, a movie showing the truth. 5 stars
1/02/04 Billy Jennifer Connely is a dipiction of brilliance. This Film belongs to her. 5 stars
12/31/03 Mo O'Toole excellent 5 stars
12/30/03 Phil Taylor Powerful performances by Kingsley and Connelly, somewhat overbearing emotional tone 4 stars
12/28/03 Earl Kanter Very Disturbing to see the woman and sheriff involved in a situation that mature individual 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Dec-2003 (R)
  DVD: 30-Mar-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Feb-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast