More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.11

Awesome24.24%
Worth A Look: 19.19%
Average: 17.17%
Pretty Bad: 22.22%
Total Crap: 17.17%

5 reviews, 69 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Cheaper by the Dozen (2003)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"Not worth buying the DVD."
2 stars

Steve Martin does his usual excellent job in the kind of role he is very gifted at. Bonnie Hunt is excellent as his wife and mother of all the children. The child actors are also very good at their individual roles. That is why it is odd that the film, in my opinion, is a bomb.

WARNING - In order to review this film and discuss its meaning, I have to reveal the ending. So . . . if you don't want to know what happens in the end, please don't read this until after you have seen the film.

To find out why this film is such a failure it is necessary to consider the script, not the acting.

The story is quite plausible, but it is the behavior of the children that spoils the film. I did not think their bad behavior was very realistic. I canít believe that the house would have really functioned if the kids had been as bad as they were for all the years before the time of the film.

Steve Martinís character is set up as kind of a fool. The way he handles the children when his wife is gone shows this. He allows the children to run all over him and behave in a very selfish manner. Bonnie Huntís character seems to be the real head of the house, but she does nothing to stop the childrenís obnoxious behavior. Which, to me, makes her kind of incompetent in disciplining the children.

The selfishness of the parents seems to be a theme of the film. However, I think this is wrong. The film shows the selfishness of the children. First, they were really naughty and undisciplined. They misbehaved so much the father couldnít do the job he wanted to do. Secondly, the children made the household total chaos. Finally, they should have let their parents follow their dreams. Why shouldnít the parents, for once, do something they wanted to do?

The film is unrealistic in that the parents did not enlist the help of the older children. The older ones were selfish in that they didnít help the parents do their thing.

This film does have one germ of exaggerated truth to it. That is, with the lack of discipline that so many kids have today, it seems logical that the naughty behavior of the kids in the movie is a possible consequence of the ďno-disciplineĒ practice of much child-rearing today.

I didnít like this film. I donít like to see children running the house, disrespecting the parents, and ruining the familyís happiness. If the parents could have found fulfillment in their dreams, and if the children could have shared in their parentsí dreams, then the family could have been a happier one. Surely, peace is better than chaos.

The movie, being a comedy, had to exaggerate behavior to some extent. But if the comedy had stemmed from realism, the movie would have been so much better.

The family films that Steve Martin has been in up to this point have been very good.
Unfortunately, due to my high expectations, the poor quality of this film left me very disappointed.

Sorry, but I can only give this film 2 stars.

A good comedy, but not worth paying a movie ticket for. Iím glad I only hired it on DVD.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8419&reviewer=228
originally posted: 09/28/06 19:01:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

12/05/11 Pamela White Remake not near as funny or endearing as the origional 3 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT GOOD NATURED AND NICELY SUITED FOR FAMILY VIEWING 4 stars
4/28/08 Totir Alexandru This was a very good comedy. I laughed a lot. 4 stars
12/30/06 Kati Truly one of the worst films ever concieved, enjoyed only by tweenies and idiots 1 stars
10/24/06 Drew G I could only hope the original was better 1 stars
10/17/06 Tiffany funny, loved this movie. Haven't seen the original. 5 stars
10/08/06 isis funny but kinda borin... 3 stars
10/03/06 Alfred Guy Well . . . my kids like it. I found it a bit lame. 3 stars
10/01/06 michael pretty fair 3 stars
9/29/06 David Pollastrini had nothing to do with the original 4 stars
8/23/06 Joe This, like "Are We There Yet?", makes me never want to have any kids, let alone 12 of 'em. 1 stars
4/29/06 sahm Terrible ending. Dad gives up dream for bratty kids. 2 stars
4/08/06 Frank Rountree A good film for watching with your family 3 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer The "too many kids" thing went out with "The Little Rascals". The T.V. Show. 1 stars
2/06/06 Anthony Feor A very good family film 4 stars
9/18/05 tony The Best film ever! 5 stars
8/18/05 ES Are we really supposed to believe that a set of parents with 12 kids looks that good? 2 stars
7/08/05 Katelyn it was a very good movie 4 stars
5/29/05 Jake Unrealistic garbage! All the kids are steryotypical Brats! Terrible! 1 stars
5/09/05 aery totally ausome 5 stars
4/28/05 Dan Pretty good 4 stars
2/21/05 xxplosive You know what your going to get with this movie, and it is good to watch with kids. 3 stars
1/30/05 gina Good family movie. Especially to teach a valuable point! 5 stars
12/16/04 Brent I will never watch another Steve Martin movie ever again 1 stars
11/02/04 NATASHA I thougth this film deserved 4 stras it was witty modern classsic comedy with quite a few b 5 stars
9/14/04 Cobretti A group of selfish, bratty kids combined with slapstick nonsense and zero laughs. AVOID!!! 1 stars
8/04/04 Katie This movie is good, and the cast is great! I love the little twins, they're SO cute! 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Does not deserve title;is nothing like book. Duff is evil. 2 stars
5/20/04 Jorge The family have 12 kid and just with dad,while the mother leave.Briliant! 2 stars
5/20/04 Samuel If your older than 10 you wont enjoy it. 1 stars
5/18/04 Idiot's Mouth Yet another movie that requires complete stupidity in order to work. Crap! 1 stars
5/15/04 Jenny Tullwartz C'mon, EricDSnider, gimme fart humor over dog-almost-bites-off-genitalia "humor" any day! 3 stars
5/13/04 David Very charming and heartwarming, and funny as well. 5 stars
5/05/04 Zonia Duenas This movie is the best I just love all the actors 5 stars
5/02/04 Natasha Caminero I loved it and I love you Jacob Smith 5 stars
4/30/04 jessica it's one of the best movies i've seen. my friends all love it too. 5 stars
4/25/04 Carla hilarious, few round characters, but how could you manage that with 12 main characters? 5 stars
4/19/04 Don't want fart humor, Eric? Gimme a break! It's got the fabulous Hilary Duff! 'Twould be awesome if she farted! 3 stars
4/18/04 Jake I Hate Hillary Duff so very much, and Steve Martin should be very ashmed of himeslf 1 stars
4/17/04 Gobsmack It's KA-RAZY! But it's not at all FUH-UNNY! Martin can do so much better. 1 stars
4/14/04 Chris I thought it was one of the best family films ever! Bonnie Hunt is so great, watch her show 5 stars
3/26/04 Alfred Guy OK. But isn't Steve Martin trying too hard? 3 stars
3/24/04 Harlan Since it is about the Baker family, shouldn't there be a Baker's dozen? 4 stars
3/23/04 So you didn't like Hilary Duff's performance, Eric? Even so, Hilary's such a sight for sore eyes, I'll forgive her for almost anything! 4 stars
3/22/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne C'mon, EricDSnider, give me fart humor over dog-almost-bites-off-genitalia humor any day! 3 stars
3/21/04 Jenny Tullwartz (I the F_CK write some of them) Can't decide between being comedy or morality play; comedy parts often good. 4 stars
3/11/04 thejames Who the F_CK writes these other comments?? 1 stars
3/08/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
1/27/04 emily it was way funnt and i would go and see it again anytime 5 stars
1/20/04 Brian Herrick this movie sucks if your not into the inmature slapstick type humor. Poor steve martin. 1 stars
1/20/04 Jordan Booth and kate Fox We think that the movie is really great! By the way where did Alyson get the frog hat? 5 stars
1/20/04 ayley Its cool 5 stars
1/19/04 Kitty B. i luv steve martin!!! 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Like an episode of "The Brady Bunch"....only worse. 1 stars
1/12/04 Ashley Crider It Was Asome I Like Hilary Duff 5 stars
1/11/04 Lauren Jake on the film is sooo darn cute! 5 stars
1/11/04 Natalie Salata It was great. But it could have been better. 4 stars
1/10/04 Mark H-V Hillary did so good as her character 5 stars
1/09/04 maniac magge that move was de bomb 5 stars
1/08/04 kick ass of dont come home hilary duff is britney spears lezbian lover 1 stars
1/06/04 monica a good film 4 stars
1/04/04 Aurelia this movie was really funny!! piper rocks!! www.piperabo.com 5 stars
1/02/04 Nick Perhaps the worst movie I had seen in a long time. Why did I HATE it? a dozon reasons 1 stars
12/31/03 movieboy Good Movie thought it was Funny wouldn't have been as good though without Bonnie Hunt 4 stars
12/29/03 I saw it Come on, buster! Why are you so uptight? What were you expecting, "King Lear?" Hysterical. 3 stars
12/28/03 robin sooooooo good!!! 5 stars
12/28/03 Boombah Baby Lame remake with nothing new on offer 1 stars
12/27/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) (1 G) Hillary make me horny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/25/03 Secondcousinofbonnie This is a well-acted and wittily written movie (but I am a tad biased) 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-2003 (PG)
  DVD: 06-Apr-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jan-2004


Directed by
  Shawn Levy

Written by
  Craig Titley
  Sam Harper

Cast
  Steve Martin
  Bonnie Hunt
  Ashton Kutcher
  Hilary Duff
  Piper Perabo
  Missy Elliott



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast