More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.28

Awesome32.39%
Worth A Look: 5.63%
Average: 26.76%
Pretty Bad: 28.17%
Total Crap: 7.04%

5 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Chasing Liberty
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Chasing banality."
2 stars

The 18-year-old First Daughter, pampered and cloistered, unknowingly takes off for the Love Parade in Berlin with an undercover agent, when her father betrays her trust and cramps her freedom.

(During an Air Force One round of Scrabble, the best that he, the president, can come up with is “h-a-t — hat, eight points.” Is Mark Harmon’s president portrayal to be deemed W. Bushian?) On the young pair’s trail are two incompatible agents, who, of course, are bound to fall for each other over the course of the movie, as are Mandy Moore and Matthew Goode (as the agent posing as a photographer), despite their predictable conflicts and the eventual revelation of his identity — another surefire hump to overcome. Chasing Liberty drones on for two-hours, loaded with pop songs (a desecrating use of Tom Petty’s “American Girl” at the opening, giving something for Moore to bop around to while she tries on outfit after outfit), superficial use of postcard locations, requisite cutsie-pootsie romantic nudges (watching the projection of a movie from a rooftop, brushing their teeth with their fingers on a train, bungee-jumping together from a bridge, kissing under false pretenses on a gondola, etc.), and two really lame non-nude nude scenes. (Speaking of which, how could one be at the Love Parade and not encounter one woman walking around topless?) And for a girl really looking to get laid, as it’s revealed more and more throughout, she sure gets hung up on that identity issue. Neither Moore (looking fleshier than ever) nor Goode are unappealing in their acting, though the same can’t be said for their characters, but little of what they have to offer is utilized. The rest is a contrived, two-faced, and confused attempt to flesh out another identity of which the filmmakers have no clue about. Directed by Andy Cadiff. With Jeremy Piven, Annabella Sciorra, Caroline Goodall, Beatrice Rosen, and Stark Sands.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8442&reviewer=172
originally posted: 01/09/04 21:45:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

11/16/06 David Pollastrini Mandy Moore looks very hot in this film. So does her butt double! 3 stars
6/21/06 Ezra resendiz I love it 5 stars
10/19/05 Valerie kind of slow... 3 stars
7/01/05 Laura Hot English guy...only reason to sit through this crap 1 stars
9/20/04 angel good subplot, forced chemistry between mandy and matthew, bad ending 2 stars
7/29/04 toonz extraordinary 5 stars
6/01/04 maggie subplot actors stronger than the plot 3 stars
5/24/04 Chase Movie you can watch 5 stars
4/23/04 cynthia anggiansah very,very romantic and fantastic and adventurous 5 stars
4/02/04 re a great film 5 stars
3/21/04 Jacquelyn Matthew Goode is really hott! 5 stars
3/14/04 francine it was great!i love mathew's acting!! he was reallly great and also mandy, i love her! 5 stars
3/09/04 Andie I saw this movie 4 times yesterday(quite embarassing to admit actually) but sweet. Hmmm?? 4 stars
3/09/04 Brandy WOW 5 stars
3/06/04 gere arigo lopez its terrific! 5 stars
2/28/04 mirage nothing 5 stars
2/17/04 Hilary i thought the movie was awsome... i saw it twice and i would love to see it again.... 5 stars
2/07/04 Tasha Awesome movie .. Mandy & matthew are perfect ! 5 stars
2/06/04 chanel wise i thought it was really good and mathew goode looked really sexy in the movie 5 stars
2/04/04 Rachel Murray Great!! I loved it. Made me smile from ear to ear. 5 stars
1/25/04 Jessy good movie , mathew goode is hot 5 stars
1/22/04 Savanna it was not really good i would have rather spent my money on something else 3 stars
1/22/04 Danielle It was ok...a little cheesy at times...I believe Mandy Moore has way more potential 3 stars
1/20/04 Lindsey hot 5 stars
1/20/04 Jessica i think its worth seeing again and Mathew is a hottie! 5 stars
1/19/04 Christina THis was a goode movie. Goode to see Matthew that is. He totally made this movie great. 5 stars
1/17/04 aubrey- ussweetcheeks@yahoo.com what is the name of the "sweet modern pop song". if you know please email me. 4 stars
1/17/04 Dildos Rule The World Utter shit...even for a date movie. 1 stars
1/16/04 caitlin i saw this movie twice, i didnt like it until after she dyed her hair, it was cool! 5 stars
1/15/04 Laura It inspired many awwws... It was cute 4 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Silly, contrived kiddie comedy; Harmon is horrendous as the president. 1 stars
1/13/04 amy a cute date movie 3 stars
1/13/04 Gray gor robbed in prauge 1 stars
1/13/04 he a great fillm 5 stars
1/12/04 candice i loved the move its worth the money 5 stars
1/12/04 Juss Me It was cute, but don't go for it if you're not a sappy love-story type =P 4 stars
1/12/04 katie i love it! 5 stars
1/12/04 Nicole It was pretty OKAY. just went by hella slow but good story. 3 stars
1/12/04 Hollywood Sucks Kinda like a train wreck; takes forever to end and when it does you're amazed how bad it is 1 stars
1/10/04 paul heslep Well, I've seen the trailer... and I've seen Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday... I wont go 2 stars
1/10/04 Chip If you ever wanted to be alone or ever are alone, this movie will touch your heart 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jan-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 04-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Apr-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast