More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.45

Awesome74.44%
Worth A Look: 11.28%
Average: 5.26%
Pretty Bad: 3.01%
Total Crap: 6.02%

3 reviews, 115 user ratings



Last of the Mohicans
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Half naked guys with long hair and weapons!"
5 stars

Mmmmm half naked men with long hair and no women. Worth 7.50 to me! Especially if you make them run around in little buttflaps.

This is the very accurate adaption of the classic book that is about 3 miles long. This movie boils it down to the essence and cuts out what everyone pretty much agrees is boring and pointless. What it is is the timeless love story/adventure of Hawkeye and Ms. Munro with the help of Chingachook and Uncas, his adoptive brother and father (he's white.)

The historical accuracy is phenomenal. Well, I can say that because I know jack shit about American history. but it looked damned acurate to me. As were the gory effects. Mmmmm scalps.

The love story is wonderful. It's poor boy/rich girl from different backgrounds thrown in an unpleasant situation... paging Mr. Cameron, could you please take a look at this and LEARN A FUCKING THING OR TWO ABOUT WHAT A GOOD LOVE STORY IS?! before you subject us to any other overbudgeted effects movies you're marketing as love...

Now that I am done complaining, I highly reccomend this flick. 5 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=846&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 11:22:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/08/13 PAUL SHORTT MIDDLING ADVENTURE 3 stars
1/21/10 Dalena Magda Best Love Story Ever 5 stars
8/05/09 Stewie One of the best movies ever made, last 20 minutes alone are just pure brilliance. 5 stars
5/24/09 White Heat Beautiful, stunning film. Day-Lewis is flawless as usual. Fantastic soundtrack, photography 5 stars
12/01/08 killer really awesome movie 5 stars
8/31/08 mr. mike Excellent . No complaints. 5 stars
6/30/08 alik i wont see felm mohecans pleas 5 stars
4/30/08 dtcb worst DDLewis film for him. it felt like sandpaper plastic toilet paper. 1 stars
4/19/08 Karrie Millheim Daniel Day Lewis really played his part well, nice to see the indian side of life 5 stars
4/03/08 Rob Ogden Worst film i saw in a long time. Every aspect of it was irritating 1 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White stunning movie of honor and dishonor 5 stars
1/07/08 Abhishek Chakraborty By today's high movie standards, this is a boring film. it's average at best. 2 stars
10/08/07 angelo Top 20 movie of the last 20 years. Buy the directors cut on DVD. 5 stars
9/21/07 Goran Breathtaking scenery and music. I realy feel sorry for retards who didn't enjoy this movie. 5 stars
8/18/07 chienne Oh dear, Spork ThingO, thingy, it's true, you really don't have a clue, do u? 5 stars
6/19/07 Allie LOVE THIS MOVIE! Uncas is not given his due tho. Such an amazing character in the book. 5 stars
6/11/07 natalie this film is amazing in every aspect. anyone who does not enjoy it, is a fucking moron. 5 stars
6/03/07 @nik@ This movie is one hell of an obsession. Uncas is beautiful...what happened 5 stars
5/01/07 Matt Best sound (effects & music) in recent history. Anyone who appreciates cinema will love it 5 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Brits. Ether we're pure evil or we're good but weak. bollocks. 1 stars
3/10/07 P Amazing. Eric Schweig's beautiful liquid eyes make it all the better. 5 stars
2/10/07 louise This stunning movie will leave you breathless. Beautifully filmed, great music. 5 stars
1/10/07 MP Bartley A sweeping and epic feel, yet under 2 hours. Thunderous action to boot. 4 stars
12/30/06 ALEXANDRA THE MOVIE IS ONE OF THE BEST OF ALL TIMES, AS WELL AS THE BEST SOUNDTRACK 5 stars
12/24/06 Brad Bourland Rarely is a classic work of literature developed successfully into a film masterpiece, but 5 stars
12/21/06 action movie fan exciting battles realism and good performances a must see 5 stars
9/16/06 chienne Could someone PLEASE stop Mrs Maine from reviewing movies?? They're SO F*&#ing BORING!! 5 stars
8/07/06 Sepi53 Classic adventure, GREAT MUSIC 5 stars
7/22/06 Lee A great movie full of romance and adventure. Beautifully filmed. 5 stars
6/27/06 leslie weekes one of my alltime faves stunning film, action ,sceneryand a love story top quality! 5 stars
5/19/06 Simon Fluid and beautiful storytelling, smoothly unforced themes, yet still intense... great end 5 stars
5/16/06 Michelle I thought the movie was amazing! You should go check it out. 5 stars
5/07/06 chienne 1 o' the best pieces of cinematogrophy in this film, too may lingering gazes but brilliant 5 stars
10/15/05 Quigley the movie had so much potential to be awesome but it was jsut so boring! 3 stars
9/24/05 millersxing Quickly captures the imagination, and elevates the source material. 5 stars
9/23/05 Hotdog Chocolate for the ladies. Meat for the gentlemen : Joy for all. 5 stars
9/23/05 goatfarmer Woooooooooow! 5 stars
9/06/05 BenT This movie is an absolute classic that potrays a great view into American History 5 stars
8/25/05 ES Amazing combat scenes, a brutal yet beautiful story about love and family during war 5 stars
8/22/05 marc too violent, the pace is too fast,the plot is too hard, too much conflict,great music tho 2 stars
6/11/05 R J Yost one of the greats 5 stars
5/06/05 Zach Awesome movie. One of the best soundtracks in any movie ever. 5 stars
2/10/05 caroline ummm yuk it was okay for school but i would never watch it for fun :-/ 2 stars
1/15/05 chaz One of the best historical/action/adventure films ever made 5 stars
1/08/05 Chris If you think this movie is Crap, you are an idiot 5 stars
12/10/04 Alf Incredible Score! Great film! Mann is god. 5 stars
11/21/04 C. A. Shields One of the greats. 5 stars
11/18/04 Lisa Best movie ever to depict the French and Indian War! 5 stars
11/02/04 Julie SUCKS 1 stars
8/09/04 Trevor Melanson I like Mann, but this is garbage. Bad acting, bad dialogue, bad pacing, and very cheesy. 1 stars
6/21/04 bob chang Simply one of the all-time great films! 5 stars
4/28/04 Randa Curry This movie is the best movie ever made in all of the years! 5 stars
4/12/04 tara best movie ever 5 stars
3/23/04 john pretty good story but many plotholes -nice to look at but I found it ultimately forgettabl 3 stars
3/03/04 john johnson Magua is a very menacing villain. fantastic film 5 stars
2/28/04 Natalia EXCELLENT movie. The last 20 minutes were the best of the movie 5 stars
2/17/04 Samantha I think that it couls have been better, i didnt really like it all that much. 3 stars
1/29/04 Bear Indeed..scenes from the last 20 or so in this movie stays in my brain for a long time 5 stars
10/30/03 Sam Jorgen Chingachgook, Uncus, & Alice play big parts, yet have only 6 lines between them. Why? 3 stars
9/21/03 SHARON RITCHIE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS MOVIE IS BREATHTAKING! 5 stars
7/16/03 sandie just borrowed this from local library, and it is truly brilliant 5 stars
7/12/03 Greg the best 5 stars
6/09/03 R. M. Gera masterpiece in the purest sense of the word 5 stars
5/20/03 elizaveta breathtakingly beautiful, this film moves the soul and the soundtrack adds to the ambience 5 stars
4/14/03 Berawat an excellent movie. 5 stars
4/09/03 JL This movie has you hooked from the beginning! 5 stars
3/07/03 Glenn yup 5 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby A contrived romance is the only falw to this complex, moving, exciting epic. Bravo to Mann! 4 stars
2/14/03 vaughan musical score made the film with its weaving of the landscape and plotlines 5 stars
2/01/03 Morgan K. I just plainly love this movie.... Not to mention the wonderful music.. Celtic music !!! 5 stars
11/09/02 LIAM JACKSON this film is outstanding. the acting is excellent. a comlpletely unflawed masterpiece 5 stars
11/08/02 Monster W. Kung Mann's best, easily. 5 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum An action classic 5 stars
10/26/02 Pablo B. LOTM flounders as an epic/action piece, but the last 15 min are breathtaking magnificence. 4 stars
10/19/02 logan haney the best action packed movie with that slight touch of passion! 5 stars
9/09/02 jack hatcher jr. awesome& very moving. 5 stars
8/31/02 Eagle Dancer the best movie 5 stars
8/05/02 Rick it's CANADIAN soil they're fighting over...Wolfe & Montcalm 5 stars
8/02/02 Matt Some corny dialog, but the action, cinematography, and music make up for it. EXCELLENT! 5 stars
7/11/02 Guillermo Montiel the movie would be better if the love ones had sex and show it on camera 4 stars
7/02/02 chris bring a chick bring your best friend they will both love it!! 5 stars
7/02/02 KMG Whoa! How seXy is this movie? I was wet the whole time! 5 stars
7/01/02 Rob from Canuckistan Brilliant movie, last part would moisten the eyes of Genghis Khan 5 stars
6/29/02 gheorghe stefan-sorin igive my live for hear again the music.Question:how can i do to register the music ?Note 10 5 stars
4/28/02 Sam A movie I never seem to tire of seeing 5 stars
3/10/02 Vincent Kennedy Awesome movie. Wes Studi is amazing as Magua Watch him and be afraid, be very afraid. 5 stars
2/19/02 T Sullivant FYI the enya soundalike was Enya 5 stars
1/03/02 LIAM JACKSON THIS FILM IS DEFINITELY ONE THE MOST OUTSTANDING THINGS I' HAVE EVER SEEN!EXCELLENT! 5 stars
1/03/02 Andrew Carden The Movie Did Not Stay True To The Great Book. Boring and Unwatachable. 1 stars
11/09/01 Gracy Lionheart I fell in love with the costumes of the time, the ruthlessness, and sexy Hawkeye 5 stars
6/06/01 Kyle The Last 25 Minutes alone is worth watching a movie 4 times this long 5 stars
1/24/01 R.W. Welch As good as the 1936 version, maybe better; verges on awesome. 4 stars
12/12/00 elaine awesome movie and the guy was ....ooh i wont talk about it 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla good film, but not great, i can give you that! 4 stars
11/27/00 The Evil Penguin Stop sniffing crack, Nichole! This is a terrific movie. 5 stars
11/24/00 Nichole The movie was not realistic and it was dumb. 2 stars
11/10/00 Xena The best movie of all time!! 5 stars
11/03/00 Kevin Stites Cinematically grand film!! 5 stars
11/02/00 CANDEE IT WAS A GREAT ROMANTIC MOVIE 5 stars
10/03/00 Jed Because it is a "Saving private ryan" of its time. Overrated but still good. 3 stars
7/11/00 Eric The music, action, drama, and history creates a classic movie. 5 stars
4/13/00 JonnyAngel Mikey Mann is my homey. 5 stars
4/12/00 Jed Decent historical drama. 3 stars
4/11/00 Marcus West Go suck ya donald dick.eur Mr Pink - It's one fuckin' great movie!!! lol 5 stars
4/11/00 the Grinch Phenmomenal. Movies like this are a rarity. 5 stars
4/08/00 Arnaldo Cruz Very complete film, with agrast cinematografy, great direcction and a great story 5 stars
12/08/99 Crystal Carlson Sucked Shit! 1 stars
11/28/99 colby staley my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
11/18/99 Jen Pretty Intersting.. Hawkeye is hot. 4 stars
9/29/99 Lori Thompson very good action film, keeps you interested at all times 5 stars
9/26/99 Elizabeth Excellent movie 5 stars
8/19/99 veenz fanstastic!!!!! Day-Lewis and Stowe have the perfect chemistry! 5 stars
7/02/99 Matchboy Also highly recommended. Beautiful cinematogrophy, sound, and fair acting. Good movie! 4 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink The acting is crap, the pacing is non-existent. M.Mann's worst film without a doubt. 1 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Who'da thunk it, the Miami Vice guy doing a really good period piece. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Sep-1992 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast