More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.94

Awesome: 11.54%
Worth A Look: 19.23%
Average: 29.49%
Pretty Bad30.77%
Total Crap: 8.97%

5 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Along Came Polly
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Funny, forgettable stuff. But funny."
4 stars

"Along Came Polly" is much better than it sounds, because it sounds awfully generic. An overly cautious, buttoned-down, germphobic guy meets a carefree, spontaneous, flighty girl! Hilarity ensues!

But the guy is Ben Stiller and the girl is Jennifer Aniston, and they know what they're doing. Stiller excels at playing hapless guys for whom everything goes wrong -- he's very much in "Meet the Parents" territory here -- and Aniston's sweet, friendly demeanor is loved by 20 million "Friends" watchers a week (of which I am not one, but that's my own fault, not hers).

Stiller plays Reuben Feffer, a risk analyst for an insurance agency whose wife Lisa (Debra Messing) runs off with a nude Frenchman (Hank Azaria, unrecognizable) while on their honeymoon in the Caribbean. Reuben heads home to New York and, still reeling, bumps into Polly Prince (Aniston), an old schoolmate he hasn't seen since junior high. They hit it off, but her flakiness doesn't jibe with his system of carefully evaluating every potential risk before making a decision.

There's a curious lack of conflict in the film, until Lisa shows up again, but everyone knows Reuben isn't getting back together with HER. He and Polly get together fairly quickly; the question is whether they'll last, but even that issue is decidedly non-cloudy.

As such, the movie has a breezy, negligible feeling to it. It earns quite a few solid laughs -- including from Alec Baldwin as Reuben's crass Jewish boss and Philip Seymour Hoffman, doing an impression of Jack Black, as Reuben's useless best friend -- and will probably be a breakout hit. It's not worthy of tremendous success, but it warrants a look, if only to enjoy Hank Azaria's outrageous French accent.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8473&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/16/04 13:24:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/08/10 PAUL SHORTT CONTRIVED ROMANTIC COMEDY WITH DESPERATE PERFORMANCES 1 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef I'm getting really tired of these types of movies. This isn't worth the effort to see it. 1 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. not another stupid chick flick...! 2 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Flick!! 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I liked the pairing of Stiller and Aniston. 3 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Of the 100-odd movies Stiller made in 04, this was the worst. 2 stars
2/21/05 Dan Funny 4 stars
1/17/05 Landshark "potty polly loofah" is the newest endorsement by Bill O'Reilly, my sources tell me ;) 2 stars
11/10/04 Misti Bathroom humor has been done so many times it's not even close to funny anymore. 3 stars
10/07/04 Daveman Always fast and loud, never funny. 1 stars
9/10/04 Franco absolutely fantastic Hank Azaria. His french english became a legend among my friends. 5 stars
8/08/04 Kelly My cousin is the director/writer of this movie...its a great movie... 5 stars
7/23/04 Jannet Kwan Ben Stiller was more funnier in Meet The Parents. 3 stars
6/14/04 max this movie was a hit, it kept me laughing from the begining till the end of the movie. 5 stars
4/23/04 Iris Dementia Praecox Soo predictable! Better had Reuben fared fine at same resturant but Polly got the shits bad 3 stars
4/19/04 Roxanne (please delete previous if you delete one) Sharting IS funny, but couldn't've made this awesome unless title dingbat Polly had sharted 3 stars
4/17/04 Roxanne Sharting IS funny, but couldn't've made this awesome unless title dingbat Polly had sha 3 stars
4/17/04 Robyn Jamil-Walid Gee yosharto, really like sharting? Even so there ain't enough of it to make this awesome!. 3 stars
4/06/04 yosharto the sharting was the best part of this movie! 5 stars
4/04/04 Jacqui O'Day If Polly is really such a "free spirit", she should be the one most inclined to shart! 3 stars
4/03/04 Millie Maelstrom Too bad Philip Seymour Hoffman is becoming typecast for constipation, sharting, etc. 3 stars
4/03/04 Marilyn Westbury I couldn't find either Lisa or Polly very likeable. Could've had ~ as much fun sharting. 3 stars
3/26/04 rojo Couple of laughs. 3 stars
3/24/04 Ingo Nicely "farrellyish", but not convincing... 3 stars
3/19/04 Tam Pretty funny and a good first vehicle for two sitcom stars (Aniston & Messing). 4 stars
3/17/04 Chris I like it but wasn't thrill with it. Funny but not enough to shell out $8 but a good rental 3 stars
3/14/04 E-Rock Best Actor - Rudolpho the Ferret. Otherwise, another Stiller Stinker... 2 stars
3/08/04 S.F. Watchable. 3 stars
2/18/04 Bulwinkl Expected it to be funnier. 3 stars
2/18/04 Erika I did not like "Along Came Polly." It was cliche, obnoxious and boring. 1 stars
2/13/04 viewer B Charming and Funny beyond the farts 5 stars
2/12/04 Serena It was ok 3 stars
2/11/04 Kevin Le Bouthillier Jennifer Aniston need to break away from hey Rachel Green acting. Ben is good. 4 stars
2/09/04 Neal Robinson Along came Polly is a funny movie. Nice light-hearted comedy that I greatly enjoyed. 5 stars
2/04/04 Chad Foster Awesome 5 stars
1/28/04 Anna Cooper I like it 4 stars
1/28/04 Travis great cast,some funny humor, a movie young or old could find interesting 5 stars
1/26/04 moviedude disgusting and vomit-inducing, but good supporting cast 2 stars
1/26/04 payvand I saw it at an Mtv MovieHouse screening (thank god I didn't pay) I think I laughed twice? 2 stars
1/26/04 orpy if you like farts this is for you! 3 stars
1/25/04 Nikita This Film is bad,cliched,humour not that memorable 1 stars
1/24/04 bender It's not supposed to be groundbreaking or extremely innovative. It IS funny enough though. 4 stars
1/24/04 Dan I'd rather watch this than, say, Torque 4 stars
1/24/04 Elena Ben Stiller in the same role he always plays. An unfunny dork with an exciting girl. 1 stars
1/21/04 Betty White Silly, gross-out comedy w/ Aniston wasted in a rather frivilous role. 1 stars
1/20/04 Desperado Not bad, predictable, but nontheless made me laugh 4 stars
1/18/04 Jimmy Connors Worth A Look 4 stars
1/18/04 bullit16 Nothing that hasn't been done before. Still, I laughed a lot 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jan-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 08-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Jan-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast