More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.48

Awesome: 12.99%
Worth A Look45.45%
Average: 25.97%
Pretty Bad: 7.79%
Total Crap: 7.79%

4 reviews, 53 user ratings



Under Siege
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"POPCORN!"
4 stars

You have to agree that Steven Seagal has to consider himself lucky after pulling this ďdie hard rip-offĒ and making big bucks in the process. But his 15 minutes of fame are well-deserved since itís so damn entertaining.

Thanks to inside man Commander Krill (Gary Busey), rogue CIA operative Bill Strannix (Tommy Lee Jones) takes control of the soon-to-be decommissioned battleship USS Missouri in order to steal itís nuclear arsenal while at the same time send a couple up Honoluluís ass to end the world. But they forgot one thing, the cook Casey Ryback (Steven Seagal) who will try and save the world and the shipís crew from these bastards.

Cheese and cheeso dominate this film, it has a nimble plot and is very predictable, but itís damn entertaining. Full of mind-blowing action sequences and intriguing suspense from director Andrew Davis who once again shows that he has the talent to construct a well-oiled action film as heís proved in the past with another Seagal vehicle Above the Law and the very entertaining Gene Hackman nail biter The Package. The sound and the FX are worthy of mention since they had to make this ship look like it were at sea and they sure accomplished the job, plus the use of the ships guns is also a real treat.

Seagal canít act worth a damn as everyone knows help is on the way in the acting department thanks to both Tommy Lee Jones in a riot of a performance as well as Gary Busey. Look out for Erika Eleniakís appearance as the damsel in distress with quite a nice rack.

Itís no Citizen Kane and itís certainly no Die Hard but itís a fun movie in its own terms and quite a ride from start to finish. If Seagal had brains he wouldíve stuck or try to vary a bit on this formula but instead went down to straight-to-video, where he is now. 3.5-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=848&reviewer=235
originally posted: 03/06/05 06:04:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/12/11 art segal was WOODEN,jones was HAMMY,eleniak was PATHETIC,need i say more? 2 stars
2/19/11 PAUL SHORTT SLICK BUT OFTEN RIDICULOUS AND PREDICTABLE 2 stars
11/14/10 Tweeter & the Monkeyman Worth watching just to see Seagal in a chef's hat 4 stars
4/10/10 Jeff Wilder Seagal's best. Good action and Jones and Busey are great villains. 4 stars
6/23/09 Aaron Smith Seagal's style of action is my personal favorite. Tommy Lee is hilarious. 4 stars
1/27/08 Pamela White Segal is his usual controlled fury but this one gets long 3 stars
7/09/07 Eddy I would've just shot that whiny blond bitch 4 stars
2/14/07 johnnyfog Jones and Busey are much cooler than Segal. I wanted them to win 3 stars
1/13/07 Phil M. Aficionado It's a fun fireworks packed ride, thanks largely to Jones, and also Busey. 3 stars
1/09/07 layton59 Great Summary and Review from JS. I agree with everything JS says here. Under Siege rocks 5 stars
12/09/06 cindy l truitt steven seagal is a very good actor and martial artist,i love him so much 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Segal may be typecast, but his Aikido style is #1!!!! 5 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor Steven Segal cant act whatsoever, but when he fights, now that grabed my attention 4 stars
9/26/05 tony Was not as good as i thought it would be! I was dissapointed, i hope #2 is better! 3 stars
9/17/05 Michael All The Right Stuff 4 stars
8/19/05 ES forty highly trained, armed men are no match for an unarmed cook, ah hollywood 1 stars
4/15/05 Raymond Montoya Great Seaqal over comes all odds theme. love em 4 stars
3/23/05 Cheryl Free I love anything with Seagal in it! 5 stars
3/16/05 Chris Stephens standard Segall crap 3 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson SEAGAL'S BEST OF ALL TIME, PERIOD! Jones & Busey ROCK! TAKE MY PIES OUTTA THE OVEN!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/22/05 Tjalda L. Schiel I love this movie even though I can't stand Steven Segal. Go Tommy, Go Gary, and Go Erika 5 stars
11/01/04 Charles S. Lewis spork-girl I suggest you go back to playing with your barbie dolls!! Both 1 & 2 are AWESOME 5 stars
5/16/04 John Segal is cheesy - movie is a pathetic DIE HARD rip off with none of its charm 1 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot i have never been keen on Steven 'straight to video' Segal 2 stars
5/03/04 Martin Segal is pathetic. 1 stars
2/02/04 Wendy Cool film, great action, great actors, even Steven Segal is ok in this! 4 stars
1/22/04 Jerome Under seige is my favorite move 5 stars
8/09/03 Pam Bereza Guess What....I don't have to see this film to know that Steven Segal Sucks!!!! 1 stars
8/06/03 P.Rodriguez Segal at his best,.........thats not saying much though 3 stars
7/26/03 3man Decent action movie on a unique enviroment. Jones was excellent. 4 stars
7/20/03 Leoperd if SNL says segal sucks, and spork-girl says segal sucks.. segal probably does really suck. 2 stars
7/12/03 Stefan Halka Seagal's only finest, quality film to date. 4 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby A great action pic. Performances, dialogue, fight scenes -- all wonderful. 4 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Got Steven Seagal, kick-ass fight scenes, and a famous U.S. battleship. What more is there? 5 stars
1/31/03 Sugarfoot Enjoyable, But Seagal is about as believeable as a cook as George W. Bush is as Einstein 3 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum The boat turns in a better performance than Seagal 3 stars
8/09/02 STEVE THIS MOVIE STINKS! the sequal is better and gets an awsome 1 stars
7/20/02 KMG ---THIS IS THE ONLY GOOD MOVIE SEAGAL HAS DONE---- 4 stars
3/07/02 Marcia Lartz Steven Seagal goes more mainstream in his first movie without a three-word title. 4 stars
2/17/02 R.W. Welch Not bad for a Seagal flick; Jones provides some interest. 3 stars
1/18/02 Andrew Carden It Was OK...but In Most Point Of View...It Was Very Bland. 3 stars
10/06/01 Jake Very impressive. Die Hard on a ship. Thats a compliment. 4 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat Pretty damn cool. 3 stars
12/25/00 Ro Only worth it for Tommy Lee Jones (who's a babe). 1 stars
12/02/00 Phil One of Tommy Lee Jones' greatest performances + Seagal breaking bones = AWESOME FLICK! 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla it all worked out for me, but, yeah, he's lucky of pulling this one out 4 stars
3/20/00 arnold best segal flick which is not saying much 3 stars
12/06/99 Bill Strannix Hey, man, I should have lived. Little Segal fucker's a wuss. 3 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **Ĺ (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
11/27/98 little jerry At least you'll never have to watch Seagal again 'cause this is as good as he'll get. 3 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob At least Willis and Arnie are fun to watch...... 2 stars
10/25/98 Johny Even if it was a ripoff of Die Hard it's enjoyable 4 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald Dude, this is worth two stars just for Erika Elaniak's perfect perfect perfect titties. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Oct-1992 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Andrew Davis

Written by
  J.F. Lawton

Cast
  Steven Seagal
  Tommy Lee Jones
  Erika Elaniak
  Lee Hinton
  Gary Busey
  Patrick O'Neal



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast