More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.58

Awesome45.76%
Worth A Look: 16.38%
Average: 5.65%
Pretty Bad: 14.69%
Total Crap: 17.51%

5 reviews, 147 user ratings


Latest Reviews

No Tears for the Dead by Jay Seaver

In Order of Disappearance by Jay Seaver

Cheatin' by Jay Seaver

White Bird in a Blizzard by Jay Seaver

Hwayi: A Monster Boy by Jay Seaver

Butter on the Latch by Jay Seaver

Thou Wast Mild and Lovely by Jay Seaver

Boyhood by Brett Gallman

Suspect, The by Jay Seaver

Reconstruction of William Zero, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Grease
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Grease is the word. Disappointing is the DVD."
4 stars

Here’s what I don’t get: Paramount owns one of the most popular and beloved musicals of all time, "Grease". Fans have been eagerly anticipating the DVD for years. The studio even went to the trouble of throwing a massive party to celebrate the disc’s release. So why then is the "Grease" DVD so damn disappointing? My guess is greed, but more on that in a minute.

As a movie, Grease is a colorful and giddy confection, one that pokes a little fun at the 1950’s while displaying an obvious affection for the era. The world-famous soundtrack is laden with toe-tapping favorites, the actors are strong across the board (though a bit long in the teeth to be portraying teenagers), and the overall tone of the movie is funny, sweet, and nostalgic.

Heck, you don’t need me offering a synopsis on this one; it’s GREASE for cryin’ out loud! Next to The Wizard of Oz, this could be the most watched movie ever! Danny Zuko (John Travolta), that mousy Sandy (Olivia Newton-John), brazen Rizzo (Stockard Channing), and pink-haired Frenchy (Didi Conn); Hopelessly Devoted to You, Summer Nights, Greased Lightning, We Go Together; Sid Caesar, Eve Arden, Eddie Deezen, Lorenzo Lamas, and Sha-Na-Na! Even if you’re now old enough to recognize how silly the whole movie is, that doesn’t matter. Grease is just good old-fashioned silly, musical fun.

So it’s a given that this DVD would sell like hotcakes at a marijuana farm. Unfortunately, the fiscally minded folks over at Paramount Home Entertainment saw fit to lowball the fans with a decidedly subpar release. Your first clue that you’re looking at old news is when you check out the Retrospective Interviews feature, which opens with a reference to “Grease’s 20th Anniversary”. Well, a quick trip to the calculator tells us that 1978 + 20 = 1998. Yep, the only special feature on this disc is a collection of interviews recorded 4 years ago - for the film’s 20-year VHS re-release. (Another tip is the participation of producer Allan Carr, since he unfortunately passed away in 1999.)

Other than the original theatrical trailer, there are no other features to speak of. Now this is just insane; we’re talking about freakin’ GREASE here! I wonder if the hardcore fans would be interested in a cast & crew commentary, or some sort of behind-the-scenes retrospective. Deleted scenes? Outtakes? Dance rehearsals? Anything? I’m not sure if this stuff even exists, but I’d be willing to bet that some of it does. The packaging is a shoddy little cardboard slipcase, yet another cost-cutting measure - though an entirely superfluous Sing-Along booklet is included…in case you couldn’t follow lyrics like “Chang chang changity-chang shoo bop” on your own.

Not content to rehash solely the special features, it seems that the video transfer is a few years old as well. Yes, it’s absolutely wonderful to finally see this lovable musical in glorious Widescreen, but what’s with the grainy and relatively unimpressive transfer? Surely a movie as universally beloved deserves some sort of restoration. I hate to gripe (since I’m definitely one of the fans who’s been waiting for this DVD for a long time), but I couldn’t shake the overwhelming sense of “eh” while taking a look at this disc.

Ah, but here’s the punchline: director Randal Kleiser recently let it slip in an interview that Paramount fully intends to revisit this title with a bona-fide Special Edition some time in 2004. As of this moment, Paramount hasn’t mentioned anything about a double-dip. I guess the plan is to sell a billion copies of this distressingly disappointing DVD, and then hit the fans up for another twenty bucks in a few years.

I’m not saying that Grease fans should avoid this DVD (as if I could even talk you out of it), but considering the stature and popularity of this adored movie - this release should be a hell of a lot better.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=85&reviewer=128
originally posted: 05/01/04 21:48:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/11/12 Andrea Best musical ever. 5 stars
7/20/12 keith miron A good cheesy musical 3 stars
5/08/12 Jimmy Web The Clowns who gave this 1 star are Truly Idiots!! 5 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Best musical ever. Better than Mamma Mia! 5 stars
1/29/10 PAUL SHORTT A MUSICAL LACKING GRACE 2 stars
1/03/10 ACTION MOVIE FAN THIS IS NOT WHAT GNAGS ARE ABOUT 1958 NAKED CITY EPISODE NO MORE RUMBLES IS 1 stars
11/01/09 art ONLY FOR DUMMIE"S! 1 stars
6/24/09 art OVERRATED CRAP! 1 stars
5/30/09 art GREASE IS GREASY! 1 stars
1/13/09 Dark This movie was a real disaster.. al quaida used it to brainwash childrens 1 stars
10/26/08 tel You don't laugh at the jokes, but at the lack of common sense. 2 stars
5/27/08 Rune This movie sucks. Maybe the songs are well-made, but I shure don't like them. It's a B-movi 1 stars
4/12/08 casey oneill loved grease it was so cool 5 stars
4/03/08 Janice Keymer Fuck off you idiots who call it crap. Wankers. Grease rocks! 5 stars
3/23/08 mike crap crap crap 1 stars
1/27/08 ARJIE B.VARGAS I LOVE THE FILM TH GREASE ESPECIALLY THE MOVES OF JOHN TRAVOLTA 5 stars
1/12/08 Terri loved it.. gave a speech over it!!!! 500 stars!!!! 5 stars
11/07/07 mc nogin crap 1 stars
10/25/07 Pink Ladie who dosnt like this movie i mean common if you dont li this movie something worong with you 5 stars
10/20/07 Jordyn Ross BEST MOVIE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/07 klove I loved it. 5 stars
7/18/07 ~chu chu~ Omg! i loved every minute of it da best movie ever! im goin 2 get da pink ladies jacket!!! 5 stars
7/10/07 Bitchflaps Nauseating and half-arsed. Still, it's not as bad as anything by Andrew Lloyd Webber. 2 stars
3/22/07 anggggg i liked it.. the people ARE kind of old though 4 stars
2/22/07 Beau ovverated and very cliched!!! great performances but dirty dancing id better 2 stars
2/21/07 action movie fan this is not the 1950,s it,s a joke 3 stars
2/17/07 RAQUEL CANO IT IS A WONDERFUL MOVIE!!! 5 stars
2/15/07 Sharon L I loved the movie it was cool . 5 stars
11/28/06 vince The movie will outlive this review.. 5 stars
10/04/06 kim its the best movie 5 stars
10/02/06 paul kretchmer they have altered and wreaked the soundtrack 1 stars
9/27/06 MeEeE THIS IS THE WORLDS BEST MUSICAL 5 stars
9/15/06 harry yeah its good 5 stars
9/15/06 Lisa BEST musical of all times LUV IT!!! 5 stars
8/14/06 Sharon this movie is brilliant and J.T. is sexy in this movie I want him 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena Fun to sing along too...a must see 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky What can I say... I love musicals. Stockard Channing is great. 5 stars
10/31/05 Wisamane This movie is better that now day musicals like chicago or Moulon rouge 5 stars
9/30/05 ed rubbbish 1 stars
8/16/05 ES Musicals + JT= boring, snooze ride for all 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris Overrated crap 1 stars
6/22/05 erin this movie will always be a classic in my eyes! 5 stars
6/21/05 Amanda Roberts I love this movie,I have been stuck watching it for about eleven years now ,good girliemovi 5 stars
5/28/05 jan martin I love this movie im actually doing a play on it at my high school!!!! 5 stars
5/24/05 jenn pretty good for its time. comedic and fun. 4 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers Classic! It does'nt get any better than this! Never gets old!! 5 stars
3/10/05 joan claudette its cute...and sandra has a very very good voice... as well as the others 4 stars
2/23/05 jj it was good 5 stars
2/19/05 Jeff Anderson THE PERFECT FILM FOR WHEN YOU'RE IN A BAD MOOD! LONG LIVE THE CLASSICS, SUCH AS THIS!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/05 Daveman All the quality of this film is on the surface, never to be taken too seriously. 4 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams stupid beyond belief 1 stars
9/01/04 samma GREASE IS THE WORD! 5 stars
8/19/04 Charles Pruitt WHO THE HELL ARE YOU TO SAY THAT STOCKARD CHANNING HAS NO TALENT, PULL YOUR HEAD OUT OF YOU 5 stars
8/16/04 PERLA E 2 stars
8/06/04 DM Fun but it's hard to believe someone like Rizzo would have existed in the 1950's 4 stars
8/02/04 Erin Best movie ever made 5 stars
7/25/04 Albert Fish all i can say is: cheesy cheesy movie...... 2 stars
5/05/04 Denise Duspiva Great cast 5 stars
5/04/04 Joseph Cicala nostalgia rules!!! 4 stars
5/02/04 Jack Sommersby Call me insane: I dig the sequel but have no love for the original. 2 stars
4/19/04 Newbia They can't sing, dance, or act. My school play was done better than this. 2 stars
4/14/04 Katie Townsend I loved it. how could anybody hate it? 5 stars
4/07/04 Ashley how could u dis this movie? 5 stars
2/29/04 Marilyn Wanamaker Whoever doesnt enjoy this movie has no imagination. The music and actors were great. 5 stars
2/26/04 manuel Wonderful movie on the youngs of working class in the US. The 50s are just an excuse, 4 stars
2/22/04 me a great film 5 stars
1/27/04 Carl Henry I think the movie was & still is awsome. 5 stars
12/19/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. I seen this movie 100 times! The last best musical of the 20th century. 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Why in the HELL did i watch this ?!? 1 stars
12/07/03 john charming and fun - a well done musical 5 stars
10/25/03 Megan Incredible 5 stars
9/12/03 kori this movie has an awful message, i think all copies should be burned 2 stars
9/08/03 Sugarfoot Twas okay... 2 stars
8/07/03 P.Rodriguez I really dislike this movie!!!!!! 1 stars
7/03/03 Lush It's not up there with West Side Story or Singin' In The Rain, but still very entertaining. 4 stars
6/07/03 emma kay r........ it was a good movie so every 1 stop knocking it,,,, for cryin out loud 5 stars
5/27/03 defranco71 Not just one of the best musicals, but one of the best movies ever. 5 stars
5/27/03 shelby mcelrath i think this movie was great. one of the best. 5 stars
3/19/03 mellor wicked 5 stars
3/18/03 Redbeard Good cinematography, good (not great) soundtrack, but pathetic characters and crap story. 2 stars
3/17/03 G-man great musical and film 5 stars
1/12/03 Dave Go and watch a true musical like the Wizard Of Oz or West Side Story, not this crap! 1 stars
1/07/03 John Aster Habig how does a punks attempt to devirgin a nice lady seem like a good idea for a musical 1 stars
11/25/02 BAM A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Nostalgia tops! 5 stars
9/04/02 Chris Wright Silly, but a lot of fun. A great feel good movie. 4 stars
9/03/02 Ramblin Wreck The Last of the Great Hollywood Musicals...........Grease is still the Word!! 5 stars
7/06/02 Roy Smith ONJ was tasty, tasty, but I'd rather not see it again either. 3 stars
6/15/02 PRiNCeSs Best by far!!!!!!!! Go the Pink Ladies 5 stars
6/11/02 qtpie Great musical and movie. 5 stars
4/03/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Youth seem obsessed with this drivel. No wonder our youth are in trouble. 1 stars
3/20/02 Kandlle Great musical at a time when musicals weren't the "in thing." 4 stars
1/06/02 Lainey Johnny baby makes me cream 5 stars
11/20/01 amy taylor totally wicked it is the best film and will be remembered for many many many years to cum, 5 stars
11/16/01 Marie delCastillo great for the early 80's 3 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean My favorite musical! Channing will always be "Rizzo" to me! 5 stars
9/14/01 Kafrin & Stena I loved this movie! 5 stars
6/29/01 Mister Robinson better than the second 5 stars
6/21/01 dale hardiman australia 4 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe I never miss a movie where high school kids are played by 30 year olds 4 stars
6/14/01 Gary Junk, but highly enjoyable junk. Fuck John and Olivia, Channing is the star. 4 stars
6/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Definitely dated, but strangely charming. 4 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Very good movie. 5 stars
5/25/01 louis cunningham OLivia in tight pants -what more can i say Awesome 5 stars
5/23/01 Tim Maness Olivia rocks! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is the best musical ever. I love Newton-John and Travolta! 5 stars
3/12/01 Danny It was good. 1 stars
2/19/01 shelie it rocks 5 stars
2/17/01 patrickernspiker@hotmail.com this is the most successful hollywood musical EVER,in terms of money makers 5 stars
1/03/01 R.W. Welch Believe it or not, there once was a world pretty much like this. 4 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Great fun and great music! 4 stars
12/13/00 mankind BEST MOVIR OF ALL TIME! 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla it was a great musical, i liked it 5 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin kinda good, but preeeeetty boring 3 stars
10/05/00 Jed Sorry Oz I have to go against you. Flawed but overall great movie. 4 stars
10/05/00 lainey louise johnny baby rules 5 stars
7/31/00 Elijah Kick-ass soundtrack Livvy/Travolta exc.support cast-brilliant 5 stars
2/27/00 Richard Wright The songs are brilliant obviously, but am I the only one who thinks the scripts good too? 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Kinda hackneyed, kinda just-there, but enough oomph and gusto to keept it afloat. 4 stars
2/03/00 joe this movie sucks 1 stars
12/13/99 Brian Jacobson I give it 5 stars! grease is the word!! 5 stars
11/22/99 Linsey N. Maricle Grease is the best musical of all time. 5 stars
11/11/99 Rachael John Travolta is HOTT!!! Great Musical and A Great Movie. 5 stars
10/18/99 Larissa One of the best movies of all time! - a genuine classic 5 stars
10/12/99 natalie & amber this film is the best film we have ever seen and we love the music 5 stars
9/20/99 the Grinch Fuck this movie and fuck all you drama people who continually recite it!! 1 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy American pop culture at its most vapid. 1 stars
6/25/99 David Keech The sound editing is lousy, and the script is terrible. Still, the songs are cool. 3 stars
6/22/99 Elizaveta One viewing and you are permanently scarred... 2 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 one fine creation! 4 stars
3/18/99 AMANDA I LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
3/04/99 Rachel Hey, it's kitsch, but it's still cool. 5 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Before my time. Nevertheless, pretty damn cool. 4 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie overly dramatic, cheesy musical...FABULOUS!!!! 5 stars
11/01/98 Bad Kosh This movie will haunt you forever and ever. Permanently. 1 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob How can such a crappy film be sooo much fun...? 3 stars
9/29/98 katherine okay, so its a bit cheesy. but my friends and i have SO much fun singing and dancin goofily 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Born to hand jive, oh yeah! 4 stars
9/27/98 Maegs This movie always has and always will PISS ME OFF. 1 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha i can sing that chang chang changaty chang shi bob thing you know? 5 stars
9/06/98 Helle Marie Please don`t shoot me for it- this is fuckin` great! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Summer days. Drifting away. Because I watched this movie. Damn women. 1 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Livvie's hair lookks stupid ass nowadays. Rizzo ruled. 3 stars
8/17/98 Miss Stress DANNY! that's about the only line i remember, and that's sad 3 stars
8/16/98 Johny God am I glad Travolta doesn't do this anymore 2 stars
8/15/98 Senor Frog It deserves a big poo on the head 3 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} I never understood all the fuss. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-1978 (PG)
  DVD: 19-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast