More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.58

Awesome45.76%
Worth A Look: 16.38%
Average: 5.65%
Pretty Bad: 14.69%
Total Crap: 17.51%

5 reviews, 147 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Gone Girl by Daniel Kelly

My Old Lady by Jay Seaver

Boxer's Omen, The by Jay Seaver

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Grease
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"I'd rather Grease up my ass for some prison sex than sit through this again"
2 stars

Well, okay. Maybe it wasn't THAT bad. I feel like I should have enjoyed this movie more, because I love that whole 1950's nostalgia thing. It was a simpler, magical time. A time of Drive-In movies, of big, fast American cars and plenty of cheap gas to drive them, and of course, the birth of Rock n' Roll. But I didn't know that in the 1950's, high schools were populated by 30 year olds who constantly broke into nails-on-a-blackboard musical numbers and acted like complete fuckin' idiots.

I'm not kidding about the 30 year olds thing. Jesus Christ, Stockard Channing was 34 when she made this. Olivia Newton John? 30. Jeff Conaway? 28 John Travolta was the young 'un of the principal cast, at a mere 25.

Now, unless things were different in the 50's, the average age of a high school senior is 17, not 27. Would it have killed them to find some kids who actually looked the part? It's a little hard for me to look at a 34 year old woman and believe she's still in high school. The short lived but hilarious "Strangers with Candy" series on Comedy Central was more believable (about a 42 year old former high-school dropout who decides to go back to finish school after 20 years of prostitution and drug abuse). I mean, I really doubt that they would hold anyone back for that long, no matter how bad their grades were.

Now that we've gotten over that hurdle, let's move on to the next one. Except for the professional musicians who starred in this thing (Newton-John and a brief appearance by Frankie Avalon), nobody can fucking sing! Travolta is the worst offender here, but even Stockard Channing, who supposedly has some chops, isn't very good. The dance routines are sometimes amusing or catchy, but the music is so lackluster and the performances so wretched that it kills most of the fun. A few of the songs have some funny or clever lines, but for the most part it's the typical sappy crooning that you would expect in a musical like this. When the actors are acting instead of singing, it's not too bad. There are some funny moments and some amusing sexual innuendo. On the flipside, the one star who can actually carry half a note, Olivia Newton-John, can't act worth a damn. Every time she opens her mouth and isn't singing, you want to roll your eyes.

I suppose it's not completely unwatchable. There are times when it manages to capture that whole nostalgia thing and can actually be fun. But the decrepit cast (by high school standards, anyway) and their mostly lackluster musical ability really take their toll. Plus the film often goes way too far beyond silly-yet-cute, into the range of just being over-the- top retarded.

I'm sure "Grease" the film is not nearly as good as seeing it on Broadway. But then, it's probably a hell of a lot better than "Grease 2". It's okay if you love this movie. It's a movie that you feel like you should love, despite it's glaring setbacks. But just be honest with yourself, and file it under "guilty pleasure".

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=85&reviewer=258
originally posted: 07/06/02 07:59:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/11/12 Andrea Best musical ever. 5 stars
7/20/12 keith miron A good cheesy musical 3 stars
5/08/12 Jimmy Web The Clowns who gave this 1 star are Truly Idiots!! 5 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Best musical ever. Better than Mamma Mia! 5 stars
1/29/10 PAUL SHORTT A MUSICAL LACKING GRACE 2 stars
1/03/10 ACTION MOVIE FAN THIS IS NOT WHAT GNAGS ARE ABOUT 1958 NAKED CITY EPISODE NO MORE RUMBLES IS 1 stars
11/01/09 art ONLY FOR DUMMIE"S! 1 stars
6/24/09 art OVERRATED CRAP! 1 stars
5/30/09 art GREASE IS GREASY! 1 stars
1/13/09 Dark This movie was a real disaster.. al quaida used it to brainwash childrens 1 stars
10/26/08 tel You don't laugh at the jokes, but at the lack of common sense. 2 stars
5/27/08 Rune This movie sucks. Maybe the songs are well-made, but I shure don't like them. It's a B-movi 1 stars
4/12/08 casey oneill loved grease it was so cool 5 stars
4/03/08 Janice Keymer Fuck off you idiots who call it crap. Wankers. Grease rocks! 5 stars
3/23/08 mike crap crap crap 1 stars
1/27/08 ARJIE B.VARGAS I LOVE THE FILM TH GREASE ESPECIALLY THE MOVES OF JOHN TRAVOLTA 5 stars
1/12/08 Terri loved it.. gave a speech over it!!!! 500 stars!!!! 5 stars
11/07/07 mc nogin crap 1 stars
10/25/07 Pink Ladie who dosnt like this movie i mean common if you dont li this movie something worong with you 5 stars
10/20/07 Jordyn Ross BEST MOVIE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/07 klove I loved it. 5 stars
7/18/07 ~chu chu~ Omg! i loved every minute of it da best movie ever! im goin 2 get da pink ladies jacket!!! 5 stars
7/10/07 Bitchflaps Nauseating and half-arsed. Still, it's not as bad as anything by Andrew Lloyd Webber. 2 stars
3/22/07 anggggg i liked it.. the people ARE kind of old though 4 stars
2/22/07 Beau ovverated and very cliched!!! great performances but dirty dancing id better 2 stars
2/21/07 action movie fan this is not the 1950,s it,s a joke 3 stars
2/17/07 RAQUEL CANO IT IS A WONDERFUL MOVIE!!! 5 stars
2/15/07 Sharon L I loved the movie it was cool . 5 stars
11/28/06 vince The movie will outlive this review.. 5 stars
10/04/06 kim its the best movie 5 stars
10/02/06 paul kretchmer they have altered and wreaked the soundtrack 1 stars
9/27/06 MeEeE THIS IS THE WORLDS BEST MUSICAL 5 stars
9/15/06 harry yeah its good 5 stars
9/15/06 Lisa BEST musical of all times LUV IT!!! 5 stars
8/14/06 Sharon this movie is brilliant and J.T. is sexy in this movie I want him 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena Fun to sing along too...a must see 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky What can I say... I love musicals. Stockard Channing is great. 5 stars
10/31/05 Wisamane This movie is better that now day musicals like chicago or Moulon rouge 5 stars
9/30/05 ed rubbbish 1 stars
8/16/05 ES Musicals + JT= boring, snooze ride for all 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris Overrated crap 1 stars
6/22/05 erin this movie will always be a classic in my eyes! 5 stars
6/21/05 Amanda Roberts I love this movie,I have been stuck watching it for about eleven years now ,good girliemovi 5 stars
5/28/05 jan martin I love this movie im actually doing a play on it at my high school!!!! 5 stars
5/24/05 jenn pretty good for its time. comedic and fun. 4 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers Classic! It does'nt get any better than this! Never gets old!! 5 stars
3/10/05 joan claudette its cute...and sandra has a very very good voice... as well as the others 4 stars
2/23/05 jj it was good 5 stars
2/19/05 Jeff Anderson THE PERFECT FILM FOR WHEN YOU'RE IN A BAD MOOD! LONG LIVE THE CLASSICS, SUCH AS THIS!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/05 Daveman All the quality of this film is on the surface, never to be taken too seriously. 4 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams stupid beyond belief 1 stars
9/01/04 samma GREASE IS THE WORD! 5 stars
8/19/04 Charles Pruitt WHO THE HELL ARE YOU TO SAY THAT STOCKARD CHANNING HAS NO TALENT, PULL YOUR HEAD OUT OF YOU 5 stars
8/16/04 PERLA E 2 stars
8/06/04 DM Fun but it's hard to believe someone like Rizzo would have existed in the 1950's 4 stars
8/02/04 Erin Best movie ever made 5 stars
7/25/04 Albert Fish all i can say is: cheesy cheesy movie...... 2 stars
5/05/04 Denise Duspiva Great cast 5 stars
5/04/04 Joseph Cicala nostalgia rules!!! 4 stars
5/02/04 Jack Sommersby Call me insane: I dig the sequel but have no love for the original. 2 stars
4/19/04 Newbia They can't sing, dance, or act. My school play was done better than this. 2 stars
4/14/04 Katie Townsend I loved it. how could anybody hate it? 5 stars
4/07/04 Ashley how could u dis this movie? 5 stars
2/29/04 Marilyn Wanamaker Whoever doesnt enjoy this movie has no imagination. The music and actors were great. 5 stars
2/26/04 manuel Wonderful movie on the youngs of working class in the US. The 50s are just an excuse, 4 stars
2/22/04 me a great film 5 stars
1/27/04 Carl Henry I think the movie was & still is awsome. 5 stars
12/19/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. I seen this movie 100 times! The last best musical of the 20th century. 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Why in the HELL did i watch this ?!? 1 stars
12/07/03 john charming and fun - a well done musical 5 stars
10/25/03 Megan Incredible 5 stars
9/12/03 kori this movie has an awful message, i think all copies should be burned 2 stars
9/08/03 Sugarfoot Twas okay... 2 stars
8/07/03 P.Rodriguez I really dislike this movie!!!!!! 1 stars
7/03/03 Lush It's not up there with West Side Story or Singin' In The Rain, but still very entertaining. 4 stars
6/07/03 emma kay r........ it was a good movie so every 1 stop knocking it,,,, for cryin out loud 5 stars
5/27/03 defranco71 Not just one of the best musicals, but one of the best movies ever. 5 stars
5/27/03 shelby mcelrath i think this movie was great. one of the best. 5 stars
3/19/03 mellor wicked 5 stars
3/18/03 Redbeard Good cinematography, good (not great) soundtrack, but pathetic characters and crap story. 2 stars
3/17/03 G-man great musical and film 5 stars
1/12/03 Dave Go and watch a true musical like the Wizard Of Oz or West Side Story, not this crap! 1 stars
1/07/03 John Aster Habig how does a punks attempt to devirgin a nice lady seem like a good idea for a musical 1 stars
11/25/02 BAM A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Nostalgia tops! 5 stars
9/04/02 Chris Wright Silly, but a lot of fun. A great feel good movie. 4 stars
9/03/02 Ramblin Wreck The Last of the Great Hollywood Musicals...........Grease is still the Word!! 5 stars
7/06/02 Roy Smith ONJ was tasty, tasty, but I'd rather not see it again either. 3 stars
6/15/02 PRiNCeSs Best by far!!!!!!!! Go the Pink Ladies 5 stars
6/11/02 qtpie Great musical and movie. 5 stars
4/03/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Youth seem obsessed with this drivel. No wonder our youth are in trouble. 1 stars
3/20/02 Kandlle Great musical at a time when musicals weren't the "in thing." 4 stars
1/06/02 Lainey Johnny baby makes me cream 5 stars
11/20/01 amy taylor totally wicked it is the best film and will be remembered for many many many years to cum, 5 stars
11/16/01 Marie delCastillo great for the early 80's 3 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean My favorite musical! Channing will always be "Rizzo" to me! 5 stars
9/14/01 Kafrin & Stena I loved this movie! 5 stars
6/29/01 Mister Robinson better than the second 5 stars
6/21/01 dale hardiman australia 4 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe I never miss a movie where high school kids are played by 30 year olds 4 stars
6/14/01 Gary Junk, but highly enjoyable junk. Fuck John and Olivia, Channing is the star. 4 stars
6/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Definitely dated, but strangely charming. 4 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Very good movie. 5 stars
5/25/01 louis cunningham OLivia in tight pants -what more can i say Awesome 5 stars
5/23/01 Tim Maness Olivia rocks! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is the best musical ever. I love Newton-John and Travolta! 5 stars
3/12/01 Danny It was good. 1 stars
2/19/01 shelie it rocks 5 stars
2/17/01 patrickernspiker@hotmail.com this is the most successful hollywood musical EVER,in terms of money makers 5 stars
1/03/01 R.W. Welch Believe it or not, there once was a world pretty much like this. 4 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Great fun and great music! 4 stars
12/13/00 mankind BEST MOVIR OF ALL TIME! 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla it was a great musical, i liked it 5 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin kinda good, but preeeeetty boring 3 stars
10/05/00 Jed Sorry Oz I have to go against you. Flawed but overall great movie. 4 stars
10/05/00 lainey louise johnny baby rules 5 stars
7/31/00 Elijah Kick-ass soundtrack Livvy/Travolta exc.support cast-brilliant 5 stars
2/27/00 Richard Wright The songs are brilliant obviously, but am I the only one who thinks the scripts good too? 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Kinda hackneyed, kinda just-there, but enough oomph and gusto to keept it afloat. 4 stars
2/03/00 joe this movie sucks 1 stars
12/13/99 Brian Jacobson I give it 5 stars! grease is the word!! 5 stars
11/22/99 Linsey N. Maricle Grease is the best musical of all time. 5 stars
11/11/99 Rachael John Travolta is HOTT!!! Great Musical and A Great Movie. 5 stars
10/18/99 Larissa One of the best movies of all time! - a genuine classic 5 stars
10/12/99 natalie & amber this film is the best film we have ever seen and we love the music 5 stars
9/20/99 the Grinch Fuck this movie and fuck all you drama people who continually recite it!! 1 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy American pop culture at its most vapid. 1 stars
6/25/99 David Keech The sound editing is lousy, and the script is terrible. Still, the songs are cool. 3 stars
6/22/99 Elizaveta One viewing and you are permanently scarred... 2 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 one fine creation! 4 stars
3/18/99 AMANDA I LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
3/04/99 Rachel Hey, it's kitsch, but it's still cool. 5 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Before my time. Nevertheless, pretty damn cool. 4 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie overly dramatic, cheesy musical...FABULOUS!!!! 5 stars
11/01/98 Bad Kosh This movie will haunt you forever and ever. Permanently. 1 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob How can such a crappy film be sooo much fun...? 3 stars
9/29/98 katherine okay, so its a bit cheesy. but my friends and i have SO much fun singing and dancin goofily 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Born to hand jive, oh yeah! 4 stars
9/27/98 Maegs This movie always has and always will PISS ME OFF. 1 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha i can sing that chang chang changaty chang shi bob thing you know? 5 stars
9/06/98 Helle Marie Please don`t shoot me for it- this is fuckin` great! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Summer days. Drifting away. Because I watched this movie. Damn women. 1 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Livvie's hair lookks stupid ass nowadays. Rizzo ruled. 3 stars
8/17/98 Miss Stress DANNY! that's about the only line i remember, and that's sad 3 stars
8/16/98 Johny God am I glad Travolta doesn't do this anymore 2 stars
8/15/98 Senor Frog It deserves a big poo on the head 3 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} I never understood all the fuss. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-1978 (PG)
  DVD: 19-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast