More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.94

Awesome48.33%
Worth A Look: 22.92%
Average: 11.67%
Pretty Bad: 8.33%
Total Crap: 8.75%

8 reviews, 192 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Butterfly Effect, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"If only 'My Boss's Daughter' had been this funny...."
3 stars

[SCREENED AT THE 2004 SUNDANCE FILM FESTIVAL] The theory referenced in the title of "The Butterfly Effect" is the one that says even tiny events can have a profound impact on the course of humanity, like a butterfly flapping its wings in Japan causing Paris Hilton to contract a venereal disease in New York, or whatever.

One wonders about Ashton Kutcher, he of "Punk'd" and "That '70s Show" and Demi Moore's boudoir, and what event on the other side of the globe may have caused him to think he could do drama. I don't blame him for considering the idea, for surely he has seen the success other goofy actors have had when they got serious and started emoting. I mean, did you see the raves Adam Sandler got for "Punch Drunk Love"?!

It pains me to say it, but Sandler apparently has more talent for drama -- or was guided by a better director -- than Kutcher. For while "The Butterfly Effect" nimbly walks the line between absurdity and suspense for a while, it is Kutcher's hammy, amateurish (hammateurish?) performance that ultimately knocks it over the edge.

He plays Evan Treborn, a 20-year-old college student whose childhood was plagued with blackouts and strange occurrences. When he was 7, he drew a picture of himself killing people but didn't remember drawing it. When he was 13, he and his friends put a firecracker in a mailbox and did some substantial damage, but he doesn't remember that, either. The neighborhood psycho tried to set his dog on fire because he, Evan, had a crush on the psycho's sister; again, the memories are gone.

The psycho, Tommy (William Lee Scott), grew up violent, and his sister Kayleigh (Amy Smart) found an unhappy life, too. Their fourth friend, Lenny (Elden Henson), went all beebledy-beebledy after the mailbox incident and never recovered.

Evan kept journals, though, at the suggestion of a psychiatrist. Now, as an adult, he finds that when he reads of certain traumatic events, he is suddenly back in that time and place again, in his younger body, but with his 20-year-old knowledge. Maybe he can prevent some of the many, many tragedies of his childhood, and thus improve the future. If any four lives ever needed fixing, it's these ones.

You know where this is going, especially if you saw the Halloween episode of "The Simpsons" where Homer kept going back in time and screwing things up. Each time Evan uses his diary to relive the past, he creates a whole new reality in which some things are better and others are worse. (My friend Sean P. Means of the Salt Lake Tribune leaned over and whispered, "When do we get to the one where Ned Flanders rules the world?") The more intense it gets, the less believable Kutcher is. His demeanor remains laughable, even as he tries desperately to be serious.

He has help dragging the film down, I guess. The script, by co-directors J. Mackye Gruber and Eric Bress (the gentlemen who gave us "Final Destination 2"), is full of ridiculously simplified psychology and many flaws in the space-time continuum. (Why, if he prevented one early trauma, did the additional traumas still occur?) Watch for the delightful moment when a young child moves toward a lit stick of dynamite and says, "Ooh, a sparkler"; watch also for when a character wakes up in a new reality ... WITHOUT ARMS!!!! They're not playin' this for laughs, either, folks.

If I were Evan, I would be disheartened to realize that no matter what I did to change the past, my reality would always involve having a goatee and a fat roommate. Interesting how some things are inevitable, apparently.

I'll stop short of calling this a BAD movie, though I will also refrain from calling it a good one. It's never dull, and it has some legitimate moments of creepiness and suspense early on. The more frenzied things get, though, the more goofy they become. All the finesse goes out the window, never to return, unless someone should go back in time to recast and rewrite the movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8502&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/19/04 10:04:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell some good ideas but wallows in unpleasantness 3 stars
2/05/13 PAUL SHORTT OVERWROUGHT, UNPLEASANT SCI-FI THRILLER WITH DENSE DIALOGUE, CLICHES AND OVER-ACTING 1 stars
5/31/12 donald_j_axel Disturbing violence. Negation of existentialism. 3 stars
5/25/12 Dane Youssef Kutcher's first really worthwhile film (and to date, still only). Everything just works. 5 stars
2/19/12 cr a cool movie with awesome effects and a entertaining story. 4 stars
10/09/11 Sam watch the original ending, not the cinema one. 5 stars
9/25/11 Colton Highly Enjoyable 4 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef One of 2004's best. A phenomenal film. Warped, crazy. Worthy of Ray Bradbury. 5 stars
1/16/09 Becca Not perfect, but a whole lot more interesting and unique than most movies out there. 4 stars
11/01/08 Kent Original ending is truely sad 5 stars
10/13/08 Shaun Wallner One of my favorite all time films. 5 stars
9/14/08 Shaun This is one of my favourite films along with a garden state. A must watch 5 stars
2/11/08 Mark The best "time-travel" movie ever, great story, a lot of suspense... 5 stars
1/29/08 Bitchflaps Starts off watchable enough, but degenerates into pure hilarity. 3 stars
10/17/07 Beau Its very engaging, well thought out and terrific storyline! 4 stars
8/30/07 Andrew Fantastic film. Keeps you interested, but preferred directors cut ending. One of my Fave's 5 stars
8/11/07 iluvashton i love ashton! We're all so use to seeing him be funny.here he protrays a more serious side 5 stars
5/26/07 Katie This is my favorite movie of all time, who cares whether Kutcher stars? Its friggin great. 5 stars
5/24/07 Dave poorly done 1 stars
5/23/07 dude yawn 1 stars
1/17/07 David Pollastrini very well done 5 stars
12/28/06 William Goss Interesting enough premise, although sometimes executed to laughable lengths. 4 stars
10/29/06 jessica kazmierczak i thought that it was the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
10/15/06 Edward Wala Hey mother fucker, i thought this movie was pretty good, it keeps you thinking 5 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai An ingenious film with great performances by Kutcher and Smart. 4 stars
7/31/06 Marty keeps you thinking, kutcher's unimpressive. don't mind the plotholes. 4 stars
4/27/06 Farron Watson Mind warpingly convoluted. Brilliant and moving. I wept like a little schoolgirl. 5 stars
4/22/06 Becky People came in wanting to hate Kutcher, I think. Film had great acting, effects, plot 5 stars
12/09/05 RW Compared to "River's Edge" or "City of God" this is Hollywood trash at its most indulgent k 2 stars
11/27/05 Agent Sands 100% engrossing. Also, Amy Smart is way hotter in this than she usually is. 5 stars
11/24/05 Amanda It was the best movie i have ever seen. The directing and acting was incredible 5 stars
11/05/05 Steve Newman Great film. Definately recommend it. Held my interest the whole time 4 stars
11/01/05 aimee brilliant 5 stars
9/18/05 tony ashton kutcher sucks! 1 stars
9/15/05 Renee is Gabby A fine interesting film that has some guts, worth consideration 4 stars
9/09/05 matt kutcher sucks, the movie is overwrought and overhyped 2 stars
8/13/05 Andrew Excellent movie! Theatrical ending is lame vs great DVD ending. Ashton proves his talent. 5 stars
6/19/05 aldo the dvd has a different ending...which totally Sucks!!! cinema ending much better!!!! 5 stars
6/03/05 ATM Suprisingly good acting and so unique -- makes for an awesome movie! 5 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel Unfairly panned because of Kutcher; I hate him too, but this was good. 4 stars
4/29/05 reptilesni I saw the director's cut. I was surprised how good this film was! 5 stars
4/11/05 ama Although I didn't fall down from my chair it could be because I was sitting on the floor;) 4 stars
4/01/05 failingloser amazing 5 stars
4/01/05 Taylor Fladgate Almost a classic mind-bender a la Momento..but too many plot holes left open. 4 stars
3/18/05 Sheila holds your interest all the way through 5 stars
2/12/05 ALDO Great story.....watch it if you like .Time travel - destiny changing movies... 5 stars
1/15/05 Landshark some unintentional humor and poorly handled drama...shoulda been better 3 stars
12/07/04 kelsey.mckinnon i thought that thebutterfly efect was a great movie i can wach it over and over again 5 stars
11/27/04 Matt F. I absolutely DETESTED this movie... every scene the characters were different! *cringes* 2 stars
11/20/04 Andrew Bell directors cut is best move ever..ranks with The Crow..but otherwise..not worth watching 5 stars
11/15/04 ben !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!wow~~~~~~~~~~ 5 stars
10/24/04 Anonymus The movie was so good that I actually was modivated enough to go online and rate it five *s 5 stars
10/15/04 dave this goes out to Ry Its awesome, Ry your gay 5 stars
10/09/04 LilyM Like the dvd ending more than the theatrical. But it loses something halfway through. 3 stars
10/09/04 Denise I loved the original end. 5 stars
9/17/04 Roseanne Butler Excellent !!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/10/04 Stanley Dorvil Deeply Sad. A story about the life of a man who had no soul and could never be born. 5 stars
9/06/04 Samuel the movie was ok, but its like watching Donnie Darko with different actors. 3 stars
8/26/04 kayla this was an amazing movie w/ an awesome storyline!&john patrick amedori(evan 13)is so hot! 4 stars
8/08/04 Ry Magical powers to kill himself in the womb, WOW! 2 stars
8/04/04 Crono Trigger this movie rules it makes me think of the SNES game chrono trigger :D 5 stars
7/21/04 The Talking Elbow worth talking about, but I could have written it better. Leaves me feeling "Blah" 3 stars
7/21/04 Gray Donny Darko was better 3 stars
7/21/04 April Gupton a so sad ending, after all of that keeping up i had to do 3 stars
7/18/04 R.W. Welch Fresh take on the "what if" theme. If you can buy the premise, a good watch. 4 stars
7/18/04 Sarah C. very exciting and thrilling. 5 stars
7/17/04 legend Another tme travel flick. Nothing really new and fair acting. 3 stars
7/14/04 jared I had a lot of endings that would have worked so that they could have been together. 5 stars
7/13/04 Tracey Dorame Even Treborn: Event Reborn... ok... Basically "Flatliners" for the new milennium. 4 stars
7/13/04 Love Great movie! Our actions have consequences, try for the most positive one! Think b4 doing. 5 stars
7/09/04 J Cadiramen Well... this movie was a bit like 'The Mothman Prophesies' in that both are a bit weak. 3 stars
7/07/04 Harry Ending sucks 1 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose Not a fan of Ashton, but this movie surprised me, it was pretty good 4 stars
5/12/04 Sniff A good movie with some cool and original ideas, I only wish it had gotten better actors... 3 stars
4/27/04 sdvfds sdvsdvsdv 5 stars
4/24/04 Jenny Tullwartz Might wanna travel back in MY journal&prevent most of characters from being born! 2 stars
4/19/04 Daveman Some film critics you turned out to be! 1 stars
4/04/04 john bale Nightmarish thriller about Stephen King like characters in time travel. Good SFX. 4 stars
4/04/04 lindsey I luv this movie, i cant wait till it comes out to buy, 5 stars
4/02/04 Mike Morgan Pretty much Back To The Future gone mad!. Very dark, and very surreal 5 stars
3/29/04 Megan Casey Unconventional but predictable... if that's possible. 2 stars
3/27/04 God GREAT!!!!!! 5 stars
3/23/04 wog i seriously cant belive people think this is good!! ?? 1 stars
3/17/04 alex not bad movie. the prizon sceens were cool 4 stars
3/17/04 Holly Beeman I'm sorry, but the best part is when Ashton falls out of the chair. 3 stars
3/09/04 J This was the best movie of the year by far. Keeps you on the edge of your seat. FANTSTIC! 5 stars
3/08/04 Dean absolutely loved this movie 5 stars
2/28/04 Katie Omg this is like my favorite movie!! Ashton can really act and hes sooo hott:P 5 stars
2/19/04 Joeshmoe Awesome movie! Wonderfully made. Rocks your socks. 5 stars
2/18/04 Scott According to "Arrow in the Head" on joblo.com, the original, darker ending will be on DVD. 5 stars
2/15/04 Marcy Great concept, great presentation. One of the best movies out in years. 5 stars
2/14/04 Betsy There is a good movie in here someplace, but then they hired kiss-of-death Kutcher. 1 stars
2/12/04 Serena This movie was F**king awsome best movie this year and last year so far ! 5 stars
2/08/04 Tori Very Impressive movie!!!!! 5 stars
2/08/04 Erin Good movie! Not the all time best, but still good!! 5 stars
2/08/04 Krys I wasn't interested in watching this movie, but was pleasently surprised. 3 stars
2/03/04 someone This was a GREAT film. It's one of my favorites now! 5 stars
2/03/04 Brandon Taber (age15 My favorite movie. Ireprehensible: Not reprehensible; blameless; innocent. Asshole! 5 stars
2/03/04 Rkm What stupid junk. He really can't act! 1 stars
2/03/04 Tony Stunning...make sure you catch the original ending on DVD also 5 stars
2/03/04 max montenegro im not a fan of Ashton, but this movie was great. I was very surprised at the job that hedi 5 stars
2/02/04 Braden Mailloux This movie is made for a dumb audience 1 stars
2/01/04 Marc Best movie I've ever fucking seen!! 5 stars
2/01/04 aseelye One of the best movies I've seen in the past year. 5 stars
1/31/04 VISIBLEH20 AWESOME! 5 stars
1/31/04 Eric Lee Expected it to be crap and wasvery pleasantly surprised that it wasn't. 4 stars
1/31/04 Carl surprisingly good 5 stars
1/31/04 sharott I am going to see it again. 5 stars
1/31/04 tiggerbounc You either love it or be freaked out by it or both. Great movie! 5 stars
1/30/04 Syd Barrett It was much much better than i expected, I also reccomend a look 4 stars
1/30/04 Sara Ortiz I loved it!!! 5 stars
1/30/04 Daniel Cooper I have to say critics are overpaid !!!!holes.. this movie is worth 2 hours of your time. 5 stars
1/29/04 Jeffrey Samples Walked in with an open mine. Walked out a very very very satisfied customer. 5 stars
1/29/04 sjw2 very thought-provoking and entertaining 5 stars
1/28/04 Topher This movie was the bombay! The best movie I've seen in years 5 stars
1/27/04 bollocks Great! Absorbing from start to finish! 5 stars
1/27/04 matt Excellent, thought-provoking movie 5 stars
1/27/04 Jay Pretty good, though sometimes Kelso pops up. 4 stars
1/26/04 DragonNinja Frikkin Awesome 5 stars
1/26/04 k-x exellent and accurate 5 stars
1/26/04 Movie Fan Great 5 stars
1/26/04 Molly This movie was one of the best movies ive ever seen! 5 stars
1/26/04 Ryan W this movie kicked ass... i think they could of roled a different actor than kutcher. 5 stars
1/26/04 Collette I'd like to say the movie was FREAKY! It was SOOO GOOD!!!!! 5 stars
1/26/04 Nick this movie was one of the best movies i have seen in awhile. 5 stars
1/26/04 Margo It sucked for air. 1 stars
1/26/04 J Rock F-bombs definately coulda been limited 4 stars
1/26/04 Sandi Miller I can't wait to own it! 5 stars
1/26/04 Jake This move is mind blowing 5 stars
1/26/04 Dorothy Camerino I don't know what all you guys are talking about cause this movie for sure tripped me out! 5 stars
1/26/04 V.J. i dont understand the neg. reveiws, this movies a hardcore mindfuck man 5 stars
1/26/04 Kyle Miller in my all time top 10 movies 5 stars
1/26/04 nanju One you have to really think about. Do you really want to alter the past? Thought provoking 5 stars
1/26/04 Lena Entertaining and suspenseful despite Kutcher's so-so performance 4 stars
1/26/04 Sea Bass Just wasn't "feeling it" from Kutcher. 2 stars
1/26/04 Marco You get a front seat in this excellent roller coaster ride through hell. 5 stars
1/26/04 Jason Eppert Very Entertaining, I don't understand all of the negative reviews. 4 stars
1/26/04 zeitgeist A total mind-fuck 5 stars
1/26/04 Ben Dover This is a great movie that I really enjoyed, even though the script was less than par. 5 stars
1/25/04 Evan Donnie Darko 4 stars
1/25/04 othree not as tame or lame, good cross over for 'Kelso' & 'Dude!' great cast 4 stars
1/25/04 Andrew Austria Plot works very well, great cast, one of my favorite movies now 5 stars
1/25/04 sb guilty pleasure, twisted rollercoaster ride, no academy award but fun Saturday nite movie 5 stars
1/25/04 Heath Kutcher wasn't bad and the story was excellent! 5 stars
1/25/04 Randy Curll awsome movie.....dont underestimate kutcher in this one 5 stars
1/25/04 Human Shield Wow. Everyone in this movie did phenomenally well. 5 stars
1/25/04 Cyn Awesome performance by Kutcher. Very well written screenplay. 5 stars
1/25/04 0100010101 kutcher wasnt as bad as he's being accused for, the movie was pretty good actually. 5 stars
1/25/04 Jessica Loved the movie 5 stars
1/25/04 Mike Excellent thought provoker 5 stars
1/25/04 amy not bad 4 stars
1/25/04 uli stein Holy Cow! GO SEE IT, NOW! 5 stars
1/25/04 Pam Gruber Amazing 5 stars
1/25/04 Emma D Freakin scary!! but it was hot 4 stars
1/25/04 Jordan L. Amazingly, Kutcher made the film better, not worse. Sick and twisted at time, but sureal. 5 stars
1/25/04 Joe D Fucking Awesome 5 stars
1/25/04 B. C. Great movie!! I was so intrigued by this film-it was very intense and had a lot of twists 5 stars
1/25/04 Jim W Best movie i have seen in a long time! 5 stars
1/25/04 Joe Amazing movie i loved and want to see it agine and agine 5 stars
1/25/04 Lesly I loved it!!! 5 stars
1/25/04 KingNeutron Disturbing on many levels, yet well-acted; and the bleeding makes it just plausible enough. 4 stars
1/25/04 brad alston very unique and original storyline 4 stars
1/25/04 Julie Great story and acting! Keeps you guessing.. 4 stars
1/24/04 Alan Nothing special at all. 2 stars
1/24/04 Brett Amazingly well done. Have never seen anything like it. Will definitely twist your brain. 5 stars
1/24/04 Yasha This movie rocks everything was awesome about it. Brilliant acting especially by Ashton. 5 stars
1/24/04 Mike This movie kicked ass, Ashton Kutcher is a hell of an actor in this movie. 5 stars
1/24/04 Kimberly OMG. The movie had me at the edge of my seat and Ashton's talent really shines through. 5 stars
1/24/04 Jake TBE was excelent Watch donnie darko then TBE and say it didnt ripp you off your seat and make you think 5 stars
1/24/04 Susan Very, very good. Still thinking about it, and will be for a long time, I think. 5 stars
1/24/04 Cora Edwards Ashton Kutcher was great he really shocked I will be telling my friends about this movie. 5 stars
1/24/04 Rob Shockingly inane - save your money and rent Ishtar. Yes. It's really that bad. 1 stars
1/24/04 Ryan McCabe the movie was great!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/24/04 Chris Great Movie. Brilliant story, brilliant scenes, intense scenes! 5 stars
1/24/04 MelissaNYC Chris-irreprehensible: blameless,innocent,not reprehensible. It's a real word, dork. 3 stars
1/24/04 Nick Extremely intense...great scenes...good movie... 4 stars
1/24/04 Ed Believe it or not, it's an excellent flic. The rare flic worth seeing twice! 5 stars
1/24/04 Bosch Dude - where is my movie? Wait for the dvd 3 stars
1/24/04 Kristopher Brilliantly written and directed with great acting. 4 stars
1/24/04 Jeremy Jacobson Great movie 5 stars
1/24/04 Kacey J. Great. And, Reviewer Chris Perry, "irreprehensible" exists in the English language. Duh. 5 stars
1/24/04 Jacko Much more than I expected, Kutcher was actually pretty good 4 stars
1/23/04 Chooch McGee This movie rocks! It will outdo Titanic; it's that d*mn good! 5 stars
1/22/04 Steve This film was amazingly good. The best that I saw this year at sundance. 5 stars
1/22/04 Goose Great Movie! 5 stars
1/21/04 Paylo Carsenstein Kill me now!!! End the pain!!! 1 stars
1/21/04 jimmy much better than i expected. hardly an award winner, but entertaining for sure 4 stars
1/21/04 Betty White Silly, unbelievable, badly acted film; Kutcher should retire already. 1 stars
1/21/04 Tommy Bee It was good, it was better then I thought it would be. 5 stars
1/20/04 Just me Read the Short Story 4 stars
1/20/04 Jeff Marlboro I liked it! I too was expecting Kutcher to suck but he did a solid, unexpected job here. 4 stars
1/20/04 ricky D future midnight movie cult classic 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jan-2004 (R)
  DVD: 06-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Mar-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast