More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.05

Awesome34.15%
Worth A Look: 4.88%
Average: 17.07%
Pretty Bad: 19.51%
Total Crap: 24.39%

6 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


D.E.B.S.
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Throw in some comedy, and you'd have a great comedy!"
2 stars

SCREENED AT THE 2004 SUNDANCE FILM FESTIVAL: The main thing missing from "D.E.B.S.," which is a comedy, is comedy. Apart from that, it's a perfectly good comedy.

Based on a short film that everyone seems to agree was 10 times as funny as the feature, "D.E.B.S." is about a top-secret government spy agency that recruits girls via a hidden test in the SAT. Without knowing what, exactly, qualified them, nubile teenage girls are brought into the D.E.B.S. organization, given a plaid-skirt schoolgirl uniform, and trained in all manner of surveillance, crime-fighting and makeup application.

The story has ultra-talented D.E.B. Amy (Sara Foster) falling in love with the sexy supervillain she and her fellow D.E.B.S. are supposed to be pursuing, Lucy Diamond (Jordana Brewster). Amy thought she was straight until she met Lucy. Now she's the only person to fight Ms. Diamond and live to tell about it, plus she has a crush on her.

Yes, it is a fun premise, isn't it? The production design is sharp and comic-bookish, the tone light and spoofy, and the performances energetic. Alas, it is so short on humor! Most of the jokes do connect, like in the montage where Lucy tries to become non-evil; the problem is that there aren't enough of them. The film, written and directed by Angela Robinson, maintains a frothy sensibility that feels like it ought to be funny -- or at least be TRYING to be funny -- yet isn't, and doesn't.

Dress it up with all the kitsch in the world, this is still just a lesbian falling-in-love story, and not a very interesting one at that. The characters are two-dimensional parody characters, trapped in a movie that doesn't know how to do parody. It's a good idea for a short, dragged out into a feature-length film.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8504&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/22/04 07:07:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 CineVegas Film Festival. For more in the 2004 CineVegas Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Palm Springs Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Palm Springs Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/03/11 Charles Tatum Not nearly as clever as it thinks it is 2 stars
2/21/11 art "A REAL CLASSIC",give me a BRAKE! 1 stars
5/18/10 Timmy Awful unfunny mess 1 stars
5/02/10 PAUL SHORTT VAPID AND SILLY 1 stars
12/07/09 art THIS FILM SHOULD BE PUT ON A BONFIRE! 1 stars
7/18/09 JOZNEE I Love it. . . !!!!!!!EXCELLENT MOVIE..JORDANA BREWSTER lookSS Hot. 5 stars
6/25/09 Leslie A fun story and great casting! 5 stars
10/08/08 Enry Wiki SEEN TWICE! Funny,original, yet subversive in presenting seriously a girl2girl relationship 5 stars
8/13/07 Friducha This is Lez camp at its best - if you dont like it, you dont get it... 5 stars
7/26/07 Katrina The movie trailer was decieving, didn't know anything about this movie, kind of shocking 2 stars
6/04/07 gansta dis movie is de bomb 5 stars
5/07/07 Chris Cute flick! Unrealistic of course, but a great Friday night movie! Cute! 5 stars
10/11/06 amber I loved it! It was cute and fun! 5 stars
9/28/06 Phiuk Yiu This movie sucks, no good action scenes and Lucy Diamond is a joke. Lesbian kissing? Good 1 stars
8/19/06 harkharjit a film full of excitement nd irony but some action was lacking 5 stars
10/20/05 tabitha its mint i love it watch the film with the actresses comments its halerious 5 stars
10/17/05 FRANYELIS ES EXTREMADSAMENTE BUENA 5 stars
10/11/05 Tom Burns Not that good, some very hot girls though are in it. 2 stars
9/26/05 a. kurlovs creative, packed w/fun and laughs, completely unpretentious, and the soundtrack is great. 5 stars
8/24/05 Dogfish Oh,my God,it is very fine indeed 5 stars
8/21/05 Kym i just love the movie. ^_^ Jordana and Sara so hot!. 5 stars
8/09/05 Nampetch I love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/07/05 Tabata B. Iuspa i justy love the movie. its message ut pretty cool 5 stars
7/28/05 Kat It was a hoot - a happy funny silly spoof 5 stars
6/29/05 T It's silly, campy fun. You won't learn any Life Lessons, but eh. 5 stars
6/23/05 sally angwin this film opened the melbourne queer film festiival and it went down big time 5 stars
6/08/05 Lindi I loved this movie! It had action, comedy, and Jordana Brewster!! I couldn't ask for more! 5 stars
5/12/05 amin sax 1 stars
3/26/05 Greg Ursic I liked the tongue-in-cheek styling mixed with some serious messages. Great soundtrack! 3 stars
3/19/05 Mark McLeod funny sort of charlie's angel type film.. 4 stars
10/15/04 Denise Sudell Cute genre parody. Jordana Brewster steals every scene, and is great eye candy to boot. 3 stars
10/11/04 Nathalie I friggin loved it! 5 stars
9/22/04 Jenni Sahramaa Great! 5 stars
9/19/04 Grace Just Terrible! 1 stars
8/17/04 sara funny is the less thing i can say. 5 stars
7/02/04 jeffrey Cute & fun movie. I'm sure they won't mind being compared to Charlies Angels in High schoo 4 stars
6/23/04 Lauren Nissen wow...this movie was pretty bad 2 stars
6/15/04 Brent Usry A pathetic over rated copy of about every film lately. Charlies Angeles Specifically! 1 stars
5/02/04 kate shaffer great fun film! 5 stars
4/23/04 Cristiana The most funny movie I've seen lately 5 stars
2/19/04 Randy Excellent Movie 5 stars
2/13/04 Sergio Vitale Probably the first lesbian funny movie!!! 4 stars
1/30/04 Katie Swanson What are they guys talking about? THIS is FUNNY FUNNY FUNNY! 5 stars
1/28/04 Katie This movie is pretty funny its not award worthy but I think its better than most comedys 4 stars
1/27/04 JJ saw at sundance very funny likeable silly sweet spoof -go see this movie 5 stars
1/27/04 Jimmy Chang there are lesbians and there is Devon Aoki!! No ?s asked 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Mar-2005 (PG-13)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast