More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 29.69%
Worth A Look: 10.94%
Average: 6.25%
Pretty Bad: 17.19%
Total Crap35.94%

3 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bodyguard, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Pt! I spit upon this movie!"
2 stars

And IIIIiiiiIIIIIiiiiiiiiii-eeee-IIIIIIII will never rent YOOOoooooooOUUUUUuuuuuuuuu...

I despised this movie.

Whitney Houston plays essentially herself. Kevin Costner is stupid. They fall in love once she hires him to protect her when she gets death threats. There is all if ONE, count 'em, ONE shady character in this movie... GEE I wonder if he could be involved in those threats?

Actually I saw this movie twice because ym aunt's college buddy, Mike Starr is in it. And he does a good job. Bravo Mr. Starr!

But much like every other character in this movie, he gets a label slapped on him and does not get to remove it at any point. Whitney is the ultimate objectified woman. All we need to know is that she's pretty and people shell out to see her and oh no she's so scared she's gunna die so she needs big stron Kevin Costner to protect her. Whatever.

Bah!

And I understand that Hollywood knows no better. but even for a sterotypical, predictable pseudo thriller, this is not terribly entertaining. There is little or no chemistry between the two stars, and what is there is not enough to make this into a great love drama. It's nonsensical.

2 sporks. Whitney is pretty good at acting scared. And she calims Bobby doesn't beat her. Suuuure.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=851&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/08/98 05:37:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/14/10 PAUL SHORTT OVERBLOWN AND PREDICTABLE 2 stars
9/29/08 Mike Loved it! 5 stars
8/07/08 Shaun Wallner boring! couldnt watch the whole thing. 1 stars
11/09/07 PIesie This is one of my best movies 4 stars
2/18/07 Sugarfoot A terrible movie, but hilarious. (I mean look at Costner's hair!) 1 stars
3/08/06 Mahua this is an amazing movie for people who are romantic at heart 5 stars
2/16/06 jakko i agree wit desperado DIS FILM ROX!!!!! 5 stars
1/22/06 Anthony Feor I heard Mariah Carry is making a movie......NOT 1 stars
7/30/05 CndnGirl Ok, I give this rating even though I'm totally NUTS for Kevin Costner! 1 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Laughable Paper Mache Macho Poop 1 stars
5/26/05 Mary This was one of the best movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
12/27/04 Zahra(Farimah ) I love it so much ,I see it every night,I love Kevin 5 stars
7/29/04 rms I love this movie, as good as Pretty Woman. Kevin & Whitney are hot together. 5 stars
4/01/04 john first rate entertainment - nothing particularly new here but very solid film 4 stars
12/31/03 mercie i love costner and the movie is a blast,the critics can go to hell 5 stars
10/13/03 Desperado Whoever wrote this piece of shit review i the one who should burn in hell, good movie 5 stars
10/13/03 marquis the movie is the best whitney should have won an oscar! i hpe the make a bodyguard 2 5 stars
8/26/03 Sarah Firestone The Bodyguard is my FAVORITE movie ever and Whitney Houston is the GREASTEST SINGER EVER!! 5 stars
8/06/03 sam i think this movie is great 5 stars
5/28/03 alex i love this movie[bullshit to all those fuckers who thinks its crap ] 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Whoever likes this needs to Get out a little more. Junk. 1 stars
1/08/03 GILLIAN KELSEY It is the best film i have ever seen. i have the soundtrack, video and dvd. 5 stars
11/15/02 DIANNA SMITH I LOVE THIS MOVIE, GREAT MOVE TO ME 4 stars
7/12/02 KMG PERFECT MATCH: SPOILED BIATCH WHITNEY AND EGO PRICK KEVIN! HORRAY! 2 stars
5/17/02 tosh it was a scary film 5 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum I loathe all involved. A terrible film 1 stars
4/11/02 vladimir its a cool movie and i like it 5 stars
3/17/02 FlaFan Good acting, but bad writing. 3 stars
2/26/02 smmboo I loved this movie. It is one of my favorites. Whenever I get a chance, I watch it again. 5 stars
2/20/02 Bertha Venation Old-movie type kiss at the end was good, all else was crap 2 stars
12/19/01 Thomas Great movie! No wonder it grossed 410 million worldwide at the box office! 5 stars
12/04/01 Shams Huque Nice soundtrack. The movie? Well... 3 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean I only watch this movie to laugh at Houston's acting. She improved in Waiting to Exhale 2 stars
7/04/01 TLsmooth How in the fuck did Lawrence Kasdan get talked into this shitball? 2 stars
5/21/01 Monster W. Kung Sad excuse for soundtrack. If you like the song, buy the CD, and STICK IT UP YOUR ASS!!!! 1 stars
4/25/01 Emma Scott This film was one of the best films i've ever seen! The acting is superb! 5 stars
3/19/01 Elinor Goater I thought that it was a real feel good film but the plot could have been strengthened. 4 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla not bad, sadly, Costner is still going down, Whitney sucks at acting 3 stars
9/16/00 Jed %uck you @$$wipes! This is Costners best movie. 4 stars
1/06/00 Thinker Pretty Good Movie 4 stars
10/31/99 NAHLA IT IS A VERY GOOD MOVIE 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria Perfectly romantic movie, but Costner still sucks. 4 stars
6/14/99 Dylan FUCKING CRAP!!! 1 stars
3/18/99 Madcap he shoulda let her die before she sang that godawful song... 1 stars
9/27/98 katherine it was ok. my friends obsessed though. 3 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee Lovey-dovey star-vehicle crap. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-1992 (R)
  DVD: 01-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mick Jackson

Written by
  Lawrence Kasdan

Cast
  Kevin Costner
  Whitney Houston
  Gary Kemp
  Bill Cobbs
  Ralph Waite
  Tomas Arana



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast