More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome62.69%
Worth A Look: 21.64%
Average: 8.58%
Pretty Bad: 2.99%
Total Crap: 4.1%

14 reviews, 184 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Garden State
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Marc Kandel

"A welcome evolution in the dramedy of the adrift, lost individal."
4 stars

“Garden State” is an urban fairy tale about getting a second chance to be happy- something that really doesn’t happen for most poor schlubs out there. Throughout the movie I asked myself, “Should I buy into this?” Yes. Absolutely. “Garden State” is thoroughly enjoyable, original, unabashed twenty-thirtysomething/actor/jewish/misanthrope/romantic fantasy to which you can pop open a beer and treat yourself.

A troubled young man comes home in wake of a parent’s death which he may or may not have been a contributing factor towards, and must deal with the world he had left behind in search of a completely new life built on some early success which has now leveled out into mundane drudgery. He returns to confront a mishmash of parental love, resentment and awkwardness, old friends both relevant and obsolete, leftover high school lummox mentalities, Jewish guilt, and the ever uncomfortable “hometown boy made good- so what now?” perception from others. Done before? Sure. Done this well? Not often, but this entry definitely swims with the best in this category.

There are flavors of “The Graduate, Swingers, Ghost World, Clerks,” and a host of other films dealing with the absurdity and paralyzing pain of reconciling your comfort and discomfort of the place you grew up in, one’s potential, one’s dreams, and the disturbing reality of what you have or have not accomplished, where you have ended up, and where you need to go in life. Add a shot of vivacious, life-saving/renewing romance, mix with 8 gallons of dubiously prescribed Prozac, shake, and you have “Garden State” a film capturing the best feelings, emotions, humor, and heart of the aforementioned films, but standing on its own as a completely original, extremely pleasurable work.

Other movies have attempted to capture this mood and these topics, typically ending up with horrifically derivative, retread anti-entertainment like “The Pallbearer”. Vleh. “Garden State” raises the bar by finding new ways to explore the territory, deftly avoiding cliché and easy jokes in favor of finding new humor in recognizable situations and going for wry wit and vivid imagery over lazy yuks. Ok, there is a non-sequitur, random leg hump from a large dog at one point- but misguided animal coitus is comedic gold, so I can forgive- plus I was laughing my fool head off.

In a more reflective, sober moment, one might have the nagging feeling that “Garden State” might, at it’s core, tread the same real-life-as-surreal-fantasy-ground for out of work actors and disenchanted late 20’s to 35’s as Sex In the City does for roving packs of New York spreadleg wannabe twits who really think falling down on a model runway is an actual, real problem to be solved and pondered in day-to-day life or Ally McBeal for assholes who would like to believe that lawyers are attractive, harmlessly eccentric, charming people who sit around fucking each other in their unisex bathrooms between insipid, selfish hallucinations rather than spending all day going through stacks and stacks of paper alone in a basement and billing ridiculous amounts for said work every 7 1/2 minutes of their day, or even worse, yet another lame attempt at remaking or exploring concepts well-covered in “The Graduate”. But these are very extreme comparisons, and indeed real-life-as-fantasy labels can be applied to most every movie or TV show out there. The point is, “Garden State”, a concept which could easily veer off the road into these ditches keeps its balance and does not fall into manipulative or candy-ass banality as it is sincere enough to stand above the aforementioned vapid pretenders in the “bending the rules of real life and getting your happy ending” stylings.

The eccentricity found in “Garden State’s” characters and situations, ranging from a home whose first design priority is for their pet hamsters, to a friend’s boozy mother who serial dates knights from her job as a serving wench at Medieval Times, to a guy whose wealth from creating Silent Velcro (hah!) has left him with so much money in a town devoid of taste that he has no idea what to do with his opulence other than buy a large empty manse and drive a golf cart around it, is delivered at rapid fire pacing at the start of the film (and this made my David E. Kelly Syndrome alarm bells go off). But here, the eccentricities on display ring true due to the firm grounding of the central characters- Braff, Natalie Portman and Peter Sarsgaard, who acknowledge the rampant quirkiness by either shutting down in the face of it, defying it, or manipulating it to their advantage as the suburban weirdness/normalcy is a small part of what has touched off their disconnections and disgruntlements to the world in the first place.

The story and its players have the heart to make this strange journey into life’s everyday problems count. That the film is a total riot helps as well, yet it balances its zanier moments with believable observations and consequences. Director, writer and lead Zach Braff has brought about a solid, layered tale of coming home and managing to excavate the nice things that made home worth all the pain and angst of growing up in the first place, whilst giving the miserable junk that weighted your heart down a spirited heave-ho with the help of romance and closure- sounds like tacky and ridiculous Lifetime movie right? Again, it’s all in the execution, done to extraordinarily pleasing effect here.

That’s not to say “Garden State” is without its problems- and no, I’m not fishing for one negative thing just cuz I take myself to be some sort of a critic- the film has some long moments that may test your will to stay awake if you’ve popped this on after a busy day and the lights are low- and it’s almost intentional, as if the film exudes the haze of prescription drugs that have numbed and sedated the main character. It’s a very, very small bump that I must make mention of, and at the same time, I should say that if you watch the DVD you will see that there has been more of a dollop of editing performed already, which is a credit to Braff’s good sense (though I lament the editing of the electronic, motion-sensor Mezzuzah, low percentage joke that it is, from the theatrical run). In contradiction to what I just said, the cut scenes are well worth giving a look as well, apart from the initial viewing, but better off having not weighted down the running time.

As a performer, Zach Braff is unrecognizable from his asexual, foppish, Scrubs cartoon character (which despite my seemingly derogatory adjectives, I consider one of TV’s better characters in a top notch ensemble comedy- I note ensemble because without the rest of the cast I would probably crawl through my TV and choke him). Instead we see his character, Andrew Largeman, as the calm, or at least, restrained center in a maelstrom of absurdity- it is a complete reversal from the spastic, twitchy Dr. Dorian most audience members are used to. Look at his face in the opening as he rides into Newark airport amid terrified, panicked passengers inside a shaking, troubled airplane. We will find out later that he is indeed sedated to the gills, but there is some wonderful resignation in his face conveying that death might be more palatable than returning to New Jersey or continuing life in Los Angeles. In my heart of hearts I’d like to believe he’s not on sedatives at all during this scene- he simply does not fear a fiery death in the face of his current life as a completely disconnected late 20’s man who has lost his way- a horrifying thing indeed (far scarier than recent horror offerings "The Grudge", "Cursed" or "Boogeyman"). I love this brief moment- hilarious, heart-wrenching, and a promise of great things to come.

Peter Sarsgaard plays Andrew’s old best friend from high school, Mark, a man perfectly content with his lot in life as a perpetually stoned grave digger with no pressure from or tolerance for other people’s expectations and definitions of success. Mark proves himself to be a truly decent, accepting friend- the kind you so rarely can keep from your school days. Sarsgaard has a great deal of fun in his role, but never lets the eccentricities overwhelm the character- the stoner attitude is there, but so is the intelligence, the soul, and the resentment of puppet-head idiots around him, so he never becomes the road trip, tye-dyed caricature most movie pot smoking characters are content to ape. I would like to see more of this actor, whose honest, earnest performance I noticed back in “Man in the Iron Mask” where apart from his very nice work, I was convinced someone took cell samples of John Malkovich and created Dolly the cloned Malkovich- And then of course named him Peter.

A word about Natalie Portman- you remember that scene in “Hook” (don’t fucking lie to me, you went out and saw it along with the rest of us when it came out) where the little kid takes Robin William’s face and tries to peek between the age lines, and wrinkles and extra pounds to find the young Peter Pan inside and then goes…”Oh THERE you are Peter!”? Well, that’s honest to God what happened to me concerning Natalie Portman in this film- except I’m resoundingly not a precocious little black child in a day-glo feel-good skid mark. Anyway, as I peeked through all the female coming of age “taste my menstrual blood” films, the George Lucas Star Whores Drillogy excrement, and oh, the last um… ten, twelve years, I found the actress I was so taken aback by in “The Professional.” There she is. Gosh I’ve been looking for you for so, so long. I didn’t think I would find you again. Haven’t seen “Closer” yet, but gee, I certainly will now. Good to see you, so good to see you. You make me happy with your talent. You’re just lovely. Lovely. Jean Luc Besson- you may officially take the sofa plastic off your “Matilda” script (Though you might have to change the name, Roald Dahl copped it for his film). She’s back. I’m so happy she’s back- Her portrayal of Sam, a troubled, lonely young woman Andrew meets at his physician’s office (during the aforementioned dog hump scene) is a charming, joyous performance bursting with life. It’s so good to see her again in something worth her time and personality. Get your contractual obligation to Lucas over with, and come back to us. Oh look, "V for Vendetta." Perfect. Just perfect. One adult ticket, please.

Ian Holm, playing Andrew’s flawed, beaten father is par for his typical magnificence in just about any role he gets his hands on. The man’s pain over his lost wife and uncomfortable recriminations over how he has chosen to deal with his son both as a father and an analyst (oooh, squirmingly bad move Pop), is palpable in his every gesture and word. This role is the anchor which prevents the movie from drifting off into some comedic fever dream- the situation here is real and serious and hangs over Andrew’s head at every waking moment- and it shows to beautiful effect.

The film is also backed and complemented by a stellar collection of music that was pleasing enough to warrant me going out and purchasing the whole thing rather than swiping tracks off the net. I rarely ever pick up any soundtracks that are anything other than orchestral scores, so that's saying something.

“Garden State” is a journey with an end (or beginning) that I would very much like to believe in. I bought the concept. I enjoyed it. The right side of my brain wishes I had written it- the left side reminded me I’m a lazy ass who can barely get a movie review out once a month. I imagine many, many people both in and out of the entertainment industry and from most small towns probably had the same reaction. I had a big dopey grin on my face for the majority of the film, so much fun was I having with the experience. To quote Whoopi Goldberg’s character from “Star Trek Generations,” it’s like “being wrapped in joy”- Great. I found an applicable use for a line from “Star Drek Masturbations”. Go find that in any one else’s review. This is the talent I have to share.

A fine, funny film that doesn’t skimp on the despair and makes its characters earn their happy or at least happier endings. Really worth your time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8529&reviewer=358
originally posted: 03/23/05 04:05:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Leeds Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Leeds Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/29/12 Omlopez8 Great soundtrack 3 stars
6/27/11 DR "I love indie films"...Great. Too bad this one is empty and pretentious. 1 stars
6/06/11 Dorothy Rozdilsky I can relate to frustrated relatives 3 stars
2/07/10 art I don't know which is worse PORTMAN"s exotic dancer in CLOSER,or this NONSENSE! 1 stars
1/31/10 Simon Yes,very overt,purpose-bloated,and slightly immature- but that gets this generation right 4 stars
12/31/09 Dave Worst movie ever made. Appeals to stoners, idiots, and the easily amused. 1 stars
10/12/08 Samantha Pruitt great movie, Zach Braff is so awesome, and i love Natalie Portman! 4 stars
9/03/08 PAUL SHORTT A SIMPLISTIC AND INSINCERE CHARACTER PIECE WITH ELEMENTS OF SMUG COMEDY 1 stars
2/10/08 mb Left after an hour ... it was empty ... lacked life. 2 stars
6/26/07 Bill Witty, intelligent script with great characters, and a wonderful, feel-good ending. 5 stars
5/08/07 Jennifer garden state is this poor fuck's favorite movie. and i'm not even from new jersey. 5 stars
4/30/07 Tristan The most wonderful movie that I can't ever get bored of. Those who don't like it are ugly. 5 stars
2/27/07 Asian God 94 Briliant. Inspirational. Hilarious. Natalie Portman. Need I say more? 5 stars
2/24/07 dbx laughably overdirected, pop-indie film. but some people seem to like that sort of thing . 2 stars
2/18/07 Nick P TO the people who didn't like it, you are wrong, Garden State is great, great acting &story 5 stars
12/16/06 Nici I love this movie. It is the best movie I have ever seen!!! 5 stars
12/12/06 Terra Landolt Freaking amazing movie, and I watch it on a regular basis. It surpassed my expectations. 5 stars
11/18/06 Kirsty Creative and Pensive...mildly life-changing! 5 stars
10/06/06 Bitchflaps Funy at first, but quickly degenerates into maudlin mediocrity. 1 stars
10/04/06 Henrik Fruergaard Hansen One of my personel favourite movies of all time! 5 stars
8/09/06 cico its so special and unique 5 stars
8/06/06 Doug Awesome 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 good film, unique and interesting 5 stars
6/29/06 Ricardo bad movie, bad actors 1 stars
6/27/06 Kimberly I enjoyed watching this one, interesting 4 stars
5/04/06 Christopher Lindstrom Feel good and simply creative...good for sensitive types. 5 stars
3/24/06 Osama Are you kidding me? Contrived, cliched, natalie portman is god awful too 2 stars
2/14/06 Lea Dahmer Best movie ever, 5 stars. 5 stars
11/29/05 Sully excellent, excellent, excellent 5 stars
10/16/05 millersxing One must desperately search the abyss for human relatedness in Garden State. 4 stars
10/10/05 Ionicera good until he screamed into the abyss 4 stars
9/22/05 Fritz Light, likable dramcom, but instantly forgettable. 3 stars
9/15/05 Jonathon Holmes the best directorial debut i've seen since Sam Mendez w/"American Beauty" 5 stars
8/23/05 Naka Pulses with a ethereal beauty and sly sense of humor. One of a kind. 5 stars
8/19/05 ALDO real overrated hip movie that thinks it's slice-of-life and director gets to kiss hot babe 3 stars
7/07/05 Phil M. Aficionado Vivid characters in a reality-evoking fantasy. Read Kandel's review; it's mine, too. 4 stars
6/01/05 Scott Reynolds whimsical, light, full of real feeling moments abruptly shot to hell by a boat in a dump. 3 stars
5/27/05 Indrid Cold Gee, it sure is nice when smokin' hot girls like us ugly guys for no apparent reason. 4 stars
5/21/05 hl good movie 5 stars
5/15/05 Renee Tolson Love it 5 stars
5/10/05 zeitgeist Over-rated, but good. Pretentious in a palatable way 4 stars
4/17/05 sidman656 this movie has a vibe to it, a flow 5 stars
4/16/05 Michael Lloyd extremely good movie, brilliant debut for Zach Braff 5 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway It was okay 3 stars
4/08/05 Lina Correa Great director, funny and "nice" 4 stars
4/01/05 craig varney this garden is in a sad state it's been picked clean of plot and substance 1 stars
3/30/05 Skeeve WARNING: THIS FILM NOT TO BE WATCHED IN A SOBER STATE. 4 stars
3/28/05 Charlene Javier Not so bad. 4 stars
3/27/05 Victor Toledo I really enjoyed this film much more than I originally thought I would. 5 stars
3/26/05 Denise ok 3 stars
3/25/05 hannaho A good movie, but not exactly great. 4 stars
3/24/05 Colleen Goldrick Loved it 5 stars
3/23/05 Alice Colwell good movie 4 stars
3/11/05 The Talking Elbow Sign me up for those five star reviews. 5 stars
2/24/05 GS Over rated - Portman's quirky performaces weren't very good. 3 stars
2/22/05 re morgan cool soundtrack for sho 4 stars
2/22/05 Jeff Incredible film, hip yet introspective 5 stars
2/16/05 Bobby da Squid Fantastic film, top to bottom. Witty, sad, and real. 5 stars
2/14/05 ELI Totally one of the best movies of the year! I LOVED it 5 stars
2/12/05 Ig Great movie 4 stars
2/12/05 John Jankowski Great acting, and one of the best movie soundtracks in a long time 5 stars
2/11/05 Voncile Mayes Great first time effort but not without flaws, however I still loved this film. 4 stars
2/10/05 Maggie Beautifully done, good acting, amazing music, and freakin funny. A must see. 5 stars
2/09/05 Lisa Jochelson It was good. But I didn't get it so much. 3 stars
2/07/05 Kara Neary This is definately one of my favorites...the movie of our generation 5 stars
2/06/05 DM Holy shit. 5 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw It was very good, but it was a bit creepy in some ways to me also lol. 4 stars
2/05/05 Susan Chamberlain Very strange, but I liked it anyway. 4 stars
2/05/05 youreo More interesting watching Ms Portman's performance than flat Zach. 4 stars
2/03/05 Clifford C Gardner Pleasantly surprised - some of these kids can act 5 stars
2/01/05 april gupton LOVED IT 5 stars
2/01/05 Andrea Haresign I laughed, I cried... I wanna see it again! 5 stars
1/30/05 Xander The most beautiful, touching, and powerful film i've ever seen 5 stars
1/30/05 waldo Put a romantic evening together, some wine, some pot, and watch this movie. 5 stars
1/29/05 govenar Great beginning, then a little slow, but still good. 4 stars
1/23/05 Rob McKeown loved it... 5 stars
1/21/05 Uncle Phucker Simple but hit me right in the motherfucking heart. 5 stars
1/19/05 Z Amazing movie... great script, GREAT acting... good quirky 5 stars
1/18/05 chris. not many movie just make me feel good. this one does. 5 stars
1/15/05 TheViper The dialogue between Braff and Portman was artificial. 1 stars
1/13/05 jada quirky doesn't alway mean good 3 stars
1/08/05 Lucas Stenz Only worth watching if you're home w/ the flu 2 stars
1/06/05 ry the most original movie i've seen in years 5 stars
1/03/05 BobK898 Portman's character not believable, couldn't wait till it was over 1 stars
12/27/04 The Mockingbird so let go so let go just get in,for the effort of intelligent writing and honest acting 4 stars
12/27/04 Steve Strangeness for no reason; I just didn't care what happened. 2 stars
12/27/04 SEX PIMP natalie is hot 5 stars
12/25/04 Des Brilliant, i came out of the theater with a smile glued on my face that didnt go away 5 stars
12/20/04 fowle fantastic 5 stars
12/17/04 napoleon dynamite simply brilliant! 5 stars
12/17/04 Carl Utterback more genuinely funny and fun than any hollywood film about an estranged son burying his mom 4 stars
12/13/04 Bonnie Poon A fantastic film which explores depressed and confused people... like myself... 5 stars
12/10/04 xxx xxx 5 stars
12/07/04 Caleb Larson This movie was terrible. The script was artificial & forced, & the characters were grating. 1 stars
12/03/04 dave great movie. seen better, but worth the time & money 4 stars
11/22/04 Aisha Grace Beautiful movie. It made me laugh, cry and I simply just enjoy it. Loved it!! 5 stars
11/20/04 Desperado Apparently the last post was a blind dipshit, great movie one of my favs ever Braff rocks 5 stars
11/17/04 Jimmy Danger This movie totally rocked, I am so glad my friend "dragged" me to go see it. I loved it. 5 stars
11/16/04 josh great movie, like vanilla sky 5 stars
11/16/04 Zel :) this is my favorite movie ever. Gotta love natalie. Zach is great too!!!! 5 stars
11/12/04 Bairbre Ní Mhídheach Such a brilliant film, I'm still laughing at the different bits, it was quirky I love that 5 stars
10/29/04 Rick H This is truly a great contemporary indie insta-classic. 5 stars
10/20/04 Mike V One of the best movies I've seen 5 stars
10/19/04 Erik this movie is a waste of time and money 2 stars
10/19/04 Amber see it with someone you love, you'll fall in love with them all over again. :-) 5 stars
10/18/04 Rachael it's definitely the kind of movie that makes you happy to be alive 5 stars
10/13/04 Patrick one of the best movies i've seen in a long time. 5 stars
10/10/04 bill kaye Walked out. Bored to tears after 45 minutes. 2 stars
10/07/04 ryan it makes you want to fall in love, and if youre already in love, love that person even more 5 stars
10/06/04 T. Maj Deserves all the praise the dreary "Lost in Translation" got last year 5 stars
10/04/04 Ira Fell asleep twice -- movie a total ego trip 2 stars
9/30/04 LJ Life changing movie 5 stars
9/28/04 Justin Zach Braff captures what it is to be apart of this generation in a genuine and unique way 5 stars
9/28/04 ALFRED GOOD ACTING, COOL SONGS,WELL WRITTEN 5 stars
9/28/04 BrianWilly Pure. Genius. 5 stars
9/27/04 alicia it made me want to die and live all at once 5 stars
9/25/04 Valerie Jackson One of the best movies I have ever seen. Zach Braff puts real life on the screen. 5 stars
9/22/04 Franklin Dam Incredible movie, fantastic characters/development - Great Soundtrack 5 stars
9/19/04 mar jones great movie, unbelievable how drugs screw up your life and you continue to do them 4 stars
9/16/04 Clare AMAZING movie; I loved Sam and the deep philosophical themes that this movie brings up. 5 stars
9/16/04 Ray Superb 5 stars
9/14/04 Michael Donnelly so far this year probably the best movie i think people of all ages can relate to this film 5 stars
9/14/04 jessie i saw it twice over the weekend, absolutly drew me in, the characters, moments, music, issu 5 stars
9/13/04 Sean Most beautiful film I've seen since Rushmore 5 stars
9/12/04 karedog loved it 5 stars
9/10/04 Jeanette like, the greatest movie EVAR! 5 stars
9/09/04 Leida Fabulous Movie! Very sweet and entertaining. 5 stars
9/09/04 Prospero7 Despite a predictable ending, the film is beautifully surreal. 4 stars
9/09/04 Jaime Excellent, I laughed, I cryed and I loved! 5 stars
9/07/04 Thom Lyons A scarely accomplished debut - outstanding! 5 stars
9/07/04 Ben Smith the best film since A Beautiful Mind 5 stars
9/07/04 Frank Lynch Worth seeking out 5 stars
9/05/04 gsfan Real and yet surreal, emotional yet unmanipulative, totally honest and refreshing 5 stars
9/04/04 Titus Beautiful and touching, funny and sincere. Great work. 5 stars
9/04/04 Kate Extraordinarily slice of life with a touch of quirky humor - fantastic. 5 stars
9/04/04 Desperado A inspiring movie, one of the best of any genre that I have ever seen, Magnificent 5 stars
9/01/04 Kyle Dude, this is my new favorite movie 5 stars
8/30/04 Gabriella Excellent movie. 5 stars
8/30/04 Tony Frost Almost everything a 20something thinks but can't put a name to. 5 stars
8/30/04 Peter James Touching and well done, also stretches past the traditional romantic comedy 5 stars
8/29/04 Brad Impressive! Great film. Portman and Braff had great chemistry 5 stars
8/28/04 Kate so, so very real 5 stars
8/27/04 Vitality1 Zach Braff has a bright future ahead of him 5 stars
8/25/04 Andrew Wright After being teased by the frou frou song & trailer, this came to town. I'm glad it did. 5 stars
8/24/04 FrayLo Great story, believable emotions. 5 stars
8/24/04 zora Every part of it was well done,interesting+indie feeling.I liked it months before I saw it. 5 stars
8/24/04 JOHN HUMPHREYS ENTHRALLING 5 stars
8/24/04 LynFisher Thoroughly enjoyed it except for the end, where I thought it could have been less predicta 5 stars
8/21/04 Bruce Lamb this movie sucks. It is totally predictable. Not funny, not insightful. Sorry/ 1 stars
8/21/04 Peter James This year's Lost In Translation 5 stars
8/20/04 Erik Intrigued by the preview and then wowed by the movie. Couldn't have been better. 5 stars
8/20/04 A F Amazing. Best film so far this year. 5 stars
8/19/04 Colleen Makes you feel good. Plus the soundtrack rocked. I loved the postal service remake. 5 stars
8/17/04 Tony Gilbert One of my all time top five favorite movies 5 stars
8/15/04 Sherril The movie is touted as a romantic comedy, but it is so much more and it makes you cry. 5 stars
8/15/04 KCobain Quite wonderful 5 stars
8/14/04 Michael Fantastic. I was really expecting a lot from this movie, and it exceeded all my expectatio 5 stars
8/13/04 Elena A little clicheef but very visually innovative and stunning 4 stars
8/13/04 Jin Best in show. 5 stars
8/11/04 jacob max winkler one of the best I've seen. truly wonderful. 5 stars
8/09/04 sam a indie version of 'orange county'.A little cliched but would be great asa series on the WB 4 stars
8/09/04 amanda this movie is fabulous. it's beautiful and funny and just makes you feel good. 5 stars
8/07/04 Kurt Great writing, great acting, great characters. 5 stars
8/07/04 Stryder So Good!! Reminds you how most modern movies stink. 5 stars
8/06/04 Bossy John I'm in my late 20s and this is my new favorite film. Ever. 5 stars
8/05/04 blah blah 5 stars
8/01/04 Kevin I threw American Beauty in the garbage! I've never been so moved by a movie! 5 stars
7/27/04 Jeremy Most moving and real movie I've ever seen 5 stars
7/02/04 Carlie What a Great Movie!!!! 5 stars
7/02/04 jeffrey True & believable story. Wortht the money to see 5 stars
6/25/04 Morgan Davis Simply a classic!!! Zach Braff deserves the highest of praise for his first film. 5 stars
6/18/04 Pinkline Jones Puts Burke's Backyard to shame 5 stars
6/15/04 Jessica saw it at sundance -beautiful, funny, imaginative - can't wait to see it again. 5 stars
6/15/04 Star This film is quirky, brilliant, funny, heartwarming and so crazy that it's believable. 5 stars
6/12/04 Bill Personally, one of the best films I have ever seen. 5 stars
6/09/04 Jeff Saw it at Rockefellar. Very moving, captured my attention! 4 stars
2/27/04 Betty White I personally found myself disappointed with the picture; well-written but overplodded. 3 stars
2/25/04 Mark Very funny stuff, similar in some ways to his character on scrubs 5 stars
2/07/04 brafflover Saw this Sundance! This is the best movies I've seen in yrs. The songs seriously ROCKED!!!! 5 stars
1/31/04 Katherine Saw the last screening @ Sundance, got blown away. Braff = exceptional, inspirational even. 5 stars
1/31/04 Boombah Baby Just fantastic. Loved every second. Laughed from the first scene. 5 stars
1/26/04 sam i too saw garden state at sundance 2004 and i loved it. bravo zack braff! jersey rocks! 5 stars
1/22/04 Andy Tarr Excellent Film 5 stars
1/20/04 Super Fan All the charm of Wes Anderson, but with a lot more heart. A classic!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-2004 (R)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  10-Oct-2004

Australia
  25-Nov-2004


Directed by
  Zach Braff

Written by
  Zach Braff

Cast
  Zach Braff
  Natalie Portman
  Peter Sarsgaard
  Ian Holm
  Jean Smart
  Ron Leibman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast