More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.92

Awesome: 18.42%
Worth A Look: 15.79%
Average28.95%
Pretty Bad: 13.16%
Total Crap: 23.68%

1 review, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Toys
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"A train wreck, but a reaaaally interesting one."
3 stars

Weeeeeeeeeiiiiiiird.

Barry Levinson really wanted to make this film. I'd just like to know what he was smokin' while he made the script.

It's like a bad Dr. Seuss story come to life. Kenneth Zevo (Donald O'Connor), the founder of Zevo Toys, is nearing death and wishes to leave his company to his wacked-out son, Leslie (Robin Williams). But while Leslie tries to prove that he is competent enough to run the place, his military-general relative (Michael Gambon) makes a hostile takeover and starts turning the toy factory into a munitions plant/tactical strategy unit. Other featured players are Robin Wright as a business associate and LL Cool J as a security guard.

This film probably would have worked better if the story made more sense, and if Robin Williams had more wisecracks in his lines. Plot-wise... ah, forget it. I'll go mental just trying to decipher everything. The climax is a battle between good toys and evil toys. Go figure.

The visuals, however, I have no problem with. The factory is built like a huge funhouse. Security cameras turn into music videos. Walls move in on you like a Tetris game. Outside shots border on the surreal. It all gives a peculiar yet whimsical effect to the film. The music (by Wendy and Lisa, or the Artists Formerly In Prince's Band) is pretty cool as well.

As it is, Toys is pure eye candy for the avant-garde, and little else. It would probably be best to be high on something before watching this movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=853&reviewer=9
originally posted: 09/10/98 03:16:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/25/13 David Hollingsworth strange, but interesting movie 3 stars
2/03/10 shit so much potential such a failure 3 stars
1/26/10 CastleAlba This is a beautiful, abstract movie (yes, Leland's son is black, get over it.) 5 stars
12/18/09 MR Z Robin Williams son is black and they never explain why 1 stars
12/15/09 Doug One of the greatest films of all time. So far ahead of its time. It predicted modern war 5 stars
5/14/08 Jeff Anderson Brilliant production design, but it's story is clueless much like it's wrongheaded message. 2 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White wierd movie 3 stars
6/14/05 Indrid Cold I don't know what vibe it was going for, but the result is bizarre and unentertaining. 2 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Dreadfully unfunny. 1 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Boring, dated misfire 1 stars
9/27/02 Enrique S. Lores Great movie with great message and incredible performances 5 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson Two Tribes was popular in 1986, 8 fucking years before this movie came out!!! Hellooooo? 1 stars
3/08/02 War Against Crap Too bizarre to hate 4 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean This was fuckin unwatchable! 1 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat Kinda weird. Robin Williams is okay in some places, but Levinson's "Rain Man" was better. 3 stars
5/19/01 James Wheeler extraordinary work of art. sets out to be an absurdist's tale and suceeds. magical. 5 stars
4/02/01 Andrew Carden It's a movie for fans of corny, light-weight humor. 3 stars
4/14/00 yankee good flick, what the hell was that water toy, funny, great visual effects 4 stars
1/21/00 Matt Visually outstanding. Felt like a dream. I loved every moment of it. 5 stars
12/21/99 Sue Great visuals but have to look beyond that to see that the movie also has real substance. 5 stars
11/25/99 delirium it is pretty and unusual. not for everyone- a welcome break from the typical movie fare 5 stars
11/21/99 Somecollegeguy Are you awake out there? This is a film about techonology and what it does to our identity 4 stars
11/07/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster This movie is really depressing , and disturbing . Like The Shining , except it's a comedy. 2 stars
11/04/99 V. Robin Williams' kid flicks make me wish I had narcolepsy. 1 stars
9/08/99 Jason Kinsey two words: Horse shit. 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Can you say "WASTE"? Or "EXCESS"? Or "UNFUNNY BULLSHIT"? 1 stars
12/20/98 bizzy i liked it 4 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink Twenty years later poeple will regard this as an underrated movie 4 stars
11/17/98 Gray Whitten This movie consistently happy. Folding houses rock my world. LL is a stealthy badass. 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob When Levinson misses.... I'm sure this is a parable for something...? 2 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} One of those drug trips that somehow got through the system and onto film. 2 stars
9/08/98 Johny sheeit 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Dec-1992 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1993 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast