More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.64

Awesome45.38%
Worth A Look: 17.66%
Average: 9.78%
Pretty Bad: 10.33%
Total Crap: 16.85%

15 reviews, 278 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Saw
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Tony Hansen

"SAW WAS AWESOME"
5 stars

You see, guns don’t kill people – literal jawbreaking, head splitting helmets kill people. And with that I’ve decided that I can never become a movie serial killer. I just don’t have the creativity. Sure, crazy – I can do. Insane? Why not. But to put it all together in a package in which nutty goes side by side with an insane philosophy AND deadly artistic virtuosity, well, then I’m completely lost. Frankly, I believe the public school system is to blame (and my parents) for not helping me to develop a work ethic in which I could nurture my creative tendencies. They were lazy so that fictional people could live. Thankfully for the serial killer genre and for its fans, however, film makers James Wan and Leigh Whannell have had no such creative barriers. In "Saw", Wan and Whannell have constructed an imperfect film that just may be considered a classic.

The Hollywood serial killer genre has become obvious and predictable. Even worse, it has become boring. For every Manhunter and Silence of the Lambs there’s a formulaic genre film starring Ashley Judd. For every Seven starring Morgan Freeman there are two Morgan Freeman genre films co-starring Ashley Judd, or someone that is utterly Judd-like. In fact, at times it seems that Judd has taken it upon herself to dilute an entire filmic age with her own patented brand of mediocrity. Where would the cinematic world be today if Judd never existed? We can only dream.

The problem with living within the Hollywood “Judd” system is that the serial killer film has become more about mystery than horror. “Who done it?” has replaced “No! No! What the fuck has he just done?” By playing “guess who?”, a dangerous game with today’s savvy audiences, film makers have no other option than to undercut, even if just to a small extent, the empathy that one must feel for the victims. As the victims become the objects rather than the subjects of the film, so do the audience’s voyeuristic identifications become slanted more towards the heroes rather than the victims. And where’s the horror in that?

Another approach that certain film makers have taken to the serial killer genre is to focus primarily on the mind of the killer. What’s going on in his/her head? It’s an approach that worked in a film like Seven but taken to its logical last step in a film like The Cell, where the audience goes literally inside the mind of the killer, the approach produces nothing but a pretentious mess of crap. The Cell is an awful, awful film primarily because it claims to give the audience everything that the film makers think the audience wants to see. But it doesn’t ring true, and it certainly doesn’t ring fun. Altogether, the film’s indulgences make for a boring, fraudulent film. Psychological style does not make psychological substance.

(Wait. Wasn’t I supposed to be reviewing a film?) Oh, yeah . . .

The great thing about Saw, and the thing that makes it truly subversive, is that it’s not about finding the identity of the killer, although it pretends to be, and it’s not about the complex psychology of the killer, although it pretends to be. Saw is about “the game.” It’s about the elaborate dance between killer and victim. It’s all about the puzzles of story mechanics. The audience, left without a hero, is placed squarely in the shoes of the victims. What would you do? What could you do? Can you out think this genius lunatic? These are the questions that Wan forces upon the viewer. The real chilling part of the film is that for the most part I couldn’t come up with answers. I’m really not sure what I would do in the situations in which his victims find themselves. Truly, the best horror films all make you feel trapped. They give you a sense of “there’s nothing more I can do.” Saw is about as claustrophobic a film as they come.

And it’s devilish. Oh, man, is it devilish. If you thought that the killer in Seven created gruesome scenarios for his victims, then you’ll surprised by the ingenuity of Saw’s “Jigsaw” killer. There was a time when I believed that the elaborate tortures designed by the lunatic villains of serial killer films had gone too far. In order to continue with titillating the viewer’s inner sicko, directors appeared to feel the need to take everything to the next level. The water torture cell found in The Cell, for example, almost seemed like a parody of more realistic situations. It didn’t look as if there was anywhere else for film makers to go. Surprisingly, Saw finds another level of morbidity. By adding an element of moral decision, Wan and Whannell construct situations in which their characters must choose their own gruesome fates and the fates of others. By opting for this approach the film makers have the opportunity to highlight not only the macabre but also the ugliness of human nature. How far would you go to survive?

Certainly, Saw isn’t a perfect film. Horribly miscast and saturated with stiff dialogue, Saw trounces forward always on the basis of its brilliant premises. Cary Elwes, for example, stars a hard as nails doctor trapped in a seemingly unescapable situation. He’s tough. He’s gruff. And there is no way that he’s capable of being played accurately by Elwes. Of course, Elwes is a character actor and he typically does a great job, but he isn’t a particularly versatile character actor. He’s good for the funny but he’s not necessarily good for roles of brooding strength. I don’t want my Elwes to try intimidation; I want him served to me wry. Irony is his strength.

Regardless of the problems with Elwes and the stilted dialogue, "Saw" is a memorable movie experience. Why? Well, it’s the type of movie that teaches us how to treat each other, how to love. It’s a veritable text book on racial and sexual tolerance. It comments on the gay lifestyle and the biases that exist between men and women. Animals are sacred, "Saw" says, and children are our most valuable commodity. Actually, it says none of these things. It’s just fucking scary.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8560&reviewer=421
originally posted: 03/19/04 11:24:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Toronto Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Toronto Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Boston Fantastic Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Boston Fantastic Film Festival series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

7/29/14 gunwojxje USA 4 stars
2/06/13 gohar funn 5 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth This is the best film in the series. Watch this one, and the sequel. I would stop there. 5 stars
9/06/11 sylvia jastrzebski great effects, awesome movie - keeps you on the edge of your seat!!! 5 stars
8/11/11 Sharon Hinrichs It was something original in the horror genre. 4 stars
3/15/11 Annabel LOVED it. Ingenious, makes you think, clever, AUSTRALIAN! 5 stars
2/09/11 Lundon What a fantastic smart ending totally worth watching 4 stars
3/03/10 Stanley Thai An interesting film with a brilliant twist ending. 4 stars
10/07/09 Darryl Great, ORIGINAL, horror film. Don't get all the criticism of Elwes acting, he was good. 5 stars
9/01/09 Wagner Good morning. Write down the advice of him who loves you, though you like it not at present 1 stars
3/17/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess The MTV directing style kept talking me out of the movie, as a result it's not suspenseful 2 stars
2/17/09 action movie fan actually a good shocker good suspense and surprise ending 4 stars
10/31/08 tiffany pettey this one was the first and the best 4 stars
10/28/08 Sugarfoot A good idea but only so-so execution. Elwes' performance a big minus against film. 3 stars
8/11/08 Axl if you like sadism and total moral depravity in a director, this one's for you. 1 stars
7/23/08 David V I loved the concept and the direction was well executed, but the acting was a laugh riot. 4 stars
7/19/08 Shaun Wallner Great Horror film!! 5 stars
7/06/08 Jason Strickland Absolutely could have been so much more 3 stars
6/11/08 Dawn MCPike too scary for me....didn't get it 2 stars
6/03/08 PAUL SHORTT A TWISTED AND GORY HORROR FILM THATS NOT FOR ANYONE, LET ALONE THE SQUEAMISH 1 stars
5/21/08 sebastian rea The acting was unbearable. The film sucked! Why is everyone so into watching this crap? 1 stars
5/11/08 Tabitha Rabisa The 3rd best horror film ever made (the rest of the trilogy being the other 2) 5 stars
4/12/08 paul Excellent, brilliant. Concept is genious 5 stars
3/24/08 Lemonette Needlessly gory, but I like a surprise ending, How can you over 3 stars
3/10/08 beatrice Who the hell would watch this crap 1 stars
3/03/08 Danny I agree w/Scott W's review - Elwes is always awesome, and so is this movie! 5 stars
2/18/08 Jordan Gotta disagree with you this time david. The film is engaging and interesting. (4 Stars) 4 stars
2/16/08 Tracey Pounds Love the show. Have watched it several times! 5 stars
11/19/07 bre the saw movies are only the best movies EVER 5 stars
11/18/07 marina I love this movie it's one of my favourites 5 stars
11/04/07 Total Crap I hate the Saw series, the first one was, eh. 3 stars
10/29/07 sadsa fuck you 3 stars
10/26/07 Carly Pure genius. 5 stars
10/14/07 edwin menguin i must be getting old 2 stars
8/07/07 Johnny Interesting enough to watch once, but hardly comparable to the brilliant "Cube." 2 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger a great twist. i did not see that coming at all 3 stars
6/26/07 jerrad i see a lot of stupid reasons to hate the film. my favorite one "pointless twists" dumbass! 5 stars
6/13/07 Dave a little to graphic for me 3 stars
5/09/07 Nic Straight from film school to make a ground breaking film WIKID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/30/07 Jess This is a awesom movie i LOVE the saw movies 4 stars
4/06/07 suhas I loved it because it put me into a horrific atmoshphere that I had never experienced befor 5 stars
4/04/07 Double M Whether you found the twist genius or improbable, you just can't deny the SHOCK. i loved it 5 stars
12/30/06 bet casinos 4 stars
12/14/06 D. Kickham If somebody tried to make me watch this movie again, I'D cut my foot off. AWFUL!! 1 stars
12/13/06 mig One of my favorites. 5 stars
12/12/06 Vikrant More I'm Blank 5 stars
12/08/06 Angel Chavez The movie freaking rules! 5 stars
12/05/06 Bitchflaps Not as bad as it could have been, but still pretty mediocre on the whole. 2 stars
11/15/06 Drew Galletti Poorly acted, but original 3 stars
11/12/06 LOLOL I hate this site. 4 stars
11/11/06 Kristina Cooney It had me and my friend hands clenched glued to the screen. I wouldn't watch it alone 5 stars
11/10/06 dirtbikerboy552 THIS MOVIE IS THE SHITTTTTT 5 stars
11/09/06 Dark Enchantress Great movie...one of the best ones yet! 5 stars
11/07/06 Drew An original movie, if not the strongest in performances. 4 stars
11/02/06 Patsyc I am hooked on the Saw movies. You never know what is going to happen next. 5 stars
10/30/06 Roger Wilks way too graphic 2 stars
9/29/06 MMB Loved it - only downside was typical bad-guy invincibility 5 stars
9/19/06 Joyster best horor movie in a long time 5 stars
8/24/06 David Pollastrini needs more gore! 5 stars
8/17/06 Stanley Thai A great movie. One of the best. 5 stars
8/14/06 Sharon this movie was so good and always kept me geussing. the ending was great!! 5 stars
8/02/06 dan such a breathof fresh air from the usual horror storylines 5 stars
7/24/06 Joyce Verhoeven Awesome 5 stars
7/24/06 shane swank crap fare but fun,Loved the bad flouresant lighting. 3 stars
7/15/06 michael pretty good but might want to wait on the dvd to come out 5 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor Maybe if it didn't try to be so graphic and real 3 stars
6/05/06 katie Great movie and amazing ending. 5 stars
6/02/06 vicky SO COOL 5 stars
5/31/06 Ally Great twist at the end, fair play 5 stars
5/25/06 Paulette Gross Great for a nap. This movie put me to sleep. 1 stars
4/22/06 Becky Very good and creepy, I love psychological stuff like this. Alittle confusing, but great 4 stars
4/09/06 paula merani saw es la mejor pelicula y leigh es exelente como actor y como todo lo que hace!!!!l 5 stars
3/08/06 Hu Don't like saw, go oil up a banana and watch brokeback mountain. 5 stars
2/03/06 The man Good ending, some good parts, too many flashbacks and spinning camera moves though 4 stars
1/18/06 Relklc Good idea, nice story, bad acting. 4 stars
1/10/06 Gigi Nice set-up, lame otherwise. The pieces dont fit! 2 stars
12/12/05 daniel great, really really fun 4 stars
11/25/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME, Just so AWESOME-ly original and energetic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian A perfect example of an excellent idea, but poor execution. 4 stars
11/04/05 Meryl One of the best horror movies in YEARS. 5 stars
11/03/05 Littlepurch Genuinely terrifying, which is rare. And one of the best endings I've ever seen! 5 stars
11/01/05 Michael persons boom headshot 5 stars
10/29/05 cooler one of the worst films ever.A steaming pile of Hollywood trash into an already tepid genre 1 stars
10/25/05 chris fox (the god) good film worth watching 4 stars
10/25/05 The EZ1 Not really a horror movie, but more like Seven. 5 stars
10/13/05 Agent Sands I don't know about you, but this is one movie that scared the SHIT out of me!!!!! 5 stars
10/11/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME, just AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/08/05 Frenzy godlike 5 stars
9/28/05 Ray Kick-ass movie! 5 stars
9/27/05 Anthony G owned 5 stars
9/22/05 Fritz Not scary or suspenseful or well-made. One cheap gimmicky ending and everyone worships it. 1 stars
9/03/05 adam wtf's happened to Danny Glover?? 2 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez Scariest puppet ever used in the entire history of cinema!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/27/05 Tom Burns I loved this movie. this is one scary movie. 5 stars
8/24/05 ES Best use of a clown, a steel trap and razor wire I've ever seen in a film. 4 stars
8/22/05 MC Serch One of the most stylish, intense, mind-blowing horror films in the last ten years!!!!! 5 stars
8/22/05 rizo Bad acting, but overall a sick, creepy, f***ed up, kick-ass mindjob! GREAT ending!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/17/05 Agent Sands OK, so it wasn't very well-acted, but it sure scared the shit out of me! 5 stars
8/16/05 Rohs Flawed but likeable, worth seeing 4 stars
8/15/05 Christine Hosie soso,overhypes,didn't like resolution of film,a real let down 3 stars
7/20/05 Legendkilla very good film...great acting and plot 5 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington terible, why do you people like this shit? 1 stars
7/14/05 ross one of my favorite moves right now 5 stars
7/10/05 mgp bad acting, bad script, bad character development, too many flashbacks 1 stars
7/07/05 J I wasn't scared, but it is the first real horror movie. 5 stars
7/01/05 sidbum levorn rubbish. good idea gone wrong. very scary, but only because it cheaply plays on every fear 2 stars
6/24/05 Cheif One of the shittiest movies, ever. 1 stars
6/24/05 Alexandra Thompson saw was the best movie i've seen in years! 5 stars
6/23/05 matt awesome, one of the few recent horror movies to have good plot, and it's scary too 5 stars
6/14/05 Littlepurch Scary, gruesome and very exciting. Great acting and some decent twists. 5 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands Any scarier and I would've required hospitalization. 5 stars
5/31/05 Hack-SAW BEST Horror-Film of 2004... EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/05 davy t Total crap,poor dialog ,acting ect a real bitches film 1 stars
5/22/05 Joe The best horror of 2004! No really cause all the other sucks! 5 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers Strange movie....good concept but they ruint it. I'll watch part 2 though.isn't that odd? 3 stars
5/19/05 ad a classic 5 stars
5/17/05 Save your Time Horrible acting - a lot of parts that are very hard to beleive- it falls apart fast 1 stars
5/13/05 Aannelie great,but it makes you wonder why didnt the man on the floor move throughout everything. 4 stars
5/07/05 Amy Riggsby Awesome movie. Great actors and amazing plot. 5 stars
5/07/05 edsandiego2 I'll definitely will see this movie, just by reading the story. 4 stars
5/03/05 Hack-SAW SO CAN'T WAIT FOR "SAW 2" (Halloween 2005; 31st October)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 It has a bad story! but it is worth to watch 3 stars
4/19/05 The Sorrow I disagree with your comment 'Jimmy James'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/17/05 Jimmy James decent idea + bad execution + horrible acting = lame seven wannabe 2 stars
4/13/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Could have been a great movie. Mean & disturbing. 1 stars
4/05/05 Laurian Diaconescu Brilliant. I take a bow before the producers and the actors. Incredible final twist. Wow! 5 stars
4/03/05 loz gr8 movie awesome excellent twist very pissed off coz i cant get it on dvd 5 stars
4/03/05 fhf fuckin' sucks 1 stars
3/31/05 paris hart this was an excellent movie confusing but great twists not fot the faint hearted! 5 stars
3/30/05 pgm this movie sucked, bad acting, story, too many flashbacks pointless twists, dumbasses 1 stars
3/30/05 Frenzy Better then you hoped! 5 stars
3/29/05 Vince Really cool, unexpected twists 5 stars
3/29/05 craig varney never knew what was comimg nextgreat gore movie 5 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Clever idea, but ultimately just a lame "Seven" ripoff. 3 stars
3/24/05 Toes Pretty.... 3 stars
3/21/05 jay some overacting but the ENDING is awsome 5 stars
3/19/05 Jeff Labowsky Possibly one of the worst movies ever. 1 stars
3/17/05 Maurice EVO Mindblowing 5 stars
3/16/05 Rubén Martínez deeper than it's seems, be smart and analyze the puzzle... 5 stars
3/16/05 Judith Musick THIS GRANDMA LOVED IT!! 5 stars
3/16/05 Amy Lynch Kept me on the edge of my seat, and guessing 5 stars
3/13/05 Fabri Worth looking. The ending was good 5 stars
3/11/05 The Sorrow A great milestone in Australian talent being shipped over to Hollywood...! 5 stars
3/09/05 jcjs wonderful 5 stars
3/09/05 LarryV The only thing that's disturbing is the bad acting and direction. 1 stars
3/07/05 ad classic 5 stars
3/06/05 chris. are you people crazy? this is the worst piece of acting i've seen in years.2 stars 4 ending 2 stars
3/03/05 HORAN THE MAN tyler loves the cock 5 stars
3/02/05 Colleen Goldrick A true thriller leaves you guessing 4 stars
2/27/05 mike ok 3 stars
2/23/05 Rock-Steady Great plot, great story, this movie is the bomb b! 5 stars
2/23/05 tatum Cannot keep up the intensity, plus I loath Monica "I hate guns" Potter 3 stars
2/22/05 richard and jacqui some good tense moments until last jigsaw puzzle 3 stars
2/21/05 Darryl Very suspensful, though a bit confusing at times. Keeps you guessing til the end. 4 stars
2/21/05 Agent Sands One of the top 3 scariest movies of all time. I wet myself 3 times, 2 of them on purpose! 5 stars
2/20/05 ad good job 4 stars
2/19/05 emajor that was the best movie i have seen in a long time 5 stars
2/19/05 Mr. Durden On par with Se7en and SOTL. 5 stars
2/18/05 Colleen Goldrick Incredible 4 stars
2/16/05 Johnny Switchblade i would rather watch gay porn for a week than this movie once more 1 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders This movie was great if you love horror flicks! It kept you watching. 5 stars
2/12/05 Julia Eddy I came, I SAW, I left 4 stars
2/09/05 Maureen As first time filmmakers, James Wan and Leigh Whannel were brilliant.I enjoyed the movie!l 5 stars
2/09/05 New England Patriots = Dynasty pfft, scary? People were laughing at this trash in the theaters. 1 stars
2/02/05 Hilary Adamson Now we see what EricD prefers to fart humor. Gimme farts any day. This isn't a gas! 2 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules This movie would be good if it didn't suck so much. 1 stars
1/26/05 Oh, Anna! I'd 've never guessed you had any shit in you! Might be worth seeeing if it had an ending 2 stars
1/25/05 Graves Yes "what", I concour but overall... SWEET KICK-ARSE FLICK! 5 stars
1/22/05 what not too bad, but the writer has issues 5 stars
1/18/05 Archanist_101 Once again... WICKED SICK SADDISTIC FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/05 Anna scared the shit out of me 5 stars
12/29/04 Zaneta If I would have understood the ending, I might have thought it was okay... 1 stars
12/26/04 Freddy nothing spectacular here 3 stars
12/23/04 Kev Any Horror fan would love this movie. If you don't like it you don't get it. 5 stars
12/22/04 magaafi pretty scary...gruesome, but definetly good film 4 stars
12/21/04 John Bale Despite buget restrictions this gritty thriller works with a ghoulish atmosphere 4 stars
12/18/04 Heywood If you can ignore the horrible acting and ridiculous character decision making, it's OK. 3 stars
12/10/04 Archanist_101 WICKED! It's way better than 'Se7en' & 'Silence of the Lambs', dare I say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/08/04 Ty shocking, thats all it's meant to be 5 stars
12/06/04 Michael I laughed out loud at the evil clown doll and elwes hammy acting 2 stars
12/03/04 jesna was good, made me jump AND think 5 stars
12/02/04 kswiss Elwes sucks and he really ruined the movie. 1 stars
11/29/04 Peteco Saw it. Hate it. 1 stars
11/28/04 luke wow. that's it. just wow. 5 stars
11/26/04 Timmy Is it an coincidence that all the good ratings come from girls 3 stars
11/26/04 Sarah I would recommend it to anyone older than 17 obviously, but what an awesome mystery horror! 5 stars
11/23/04 Mockingbird Eh. Wasn't too boring or dumb. Wasn't too psychologically thrilling either. 3 stars
11/23/04 Megan Amazing! I don't think I'll see another movie that comes close for a long time! 5 stars
11/23/04 Keely Benham Excellent, well worth watching - gory, scary and keeps you guessing 5 stars
11/20/04 Jessica It was great. Blood and guts and twists. Unpredictable till the end! 5 stars
11/20/04 ME Not even worth illegally downloading 1 stars
11/19/04 JIZZ Excellent use of special effects great idea and good plot twists 5 stars
11/18/04 maxomai C+ for suspense, B for gruesome. Rent it. 3 stars
11/18/04 coco SAW!!!, it speaks for its self, I say no more. 5 stars
11/15/04 Kim Blashill THIS SUCKS 1 stars
11/15/04 malcolm not bad overall. hard to believe that guy laid there w/o moving for like 7 hours. 4 stars
11/13/04 Nessa Call me insecure if you want but.......Saw has changed my whole perspective on life!!!!! 5 stars
11/11/04 colin chandler excellent movie keeps u on tha edge till the very end 5 stars
11/11/04 Da Lynchmob See "Saw" before you judge it - its pretty good 4 stars
11/11/04 mrchar Some suspension of disbelief necessary, but good fun 4 stars
11/10/04 Lizard King typical hollywood shit 1 stars
11/09/04 KitKatEyez Potential to be absolute genious. Leaves you wanting more creepiness & less Hollywood BLAH 4 stars
11/08/04 Kittie intelligent, spooky film with an excellent twist and no sugar coating. 4 stars
11/08/04 Christian lady VERY, VERY SCARY---SCREAMED MY HEAD OFF! EXCELLENT PLOT! 5 stars
11/06/04 Dan Stupid, boring, many plot holes... tried to be Seven meets Silence of the Lambs but failed 1 stars
11/06/04 Me EVEYBODY WHO SAYS THIS MOVIE IS BAD CAN SUCK ON MY BALLS! ITS FUCKING AWSOME! 5 stars
11/05/04 Chris Belldo If only the guy who put together this movie's trailer had also directed the movie...sigh. 2 stars
11/05/04 Buk This writer is a talent. Best movie in a decade... no exceptions. 5 stars
11/05/04 Kelly MEZO I was terrified! I love horror but this one had me to the point of tears, ORIGINAL!!! 5 stars
11/05/04 wiss lots of good chits... 5 stars
11/04/04 russell stelly this one had me squirming in my seat which rarely happens to me.one of the best ever. 5 stars
11/04/04 Sara Chacon It was an awesome movie! 4 stars
11/04/04 mike it was cool!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/03/04 ciaran grumley awful...the so called "twist ending" was patently obvious from the first 2 minutes. 2 stars
11/03/04 Al Guy Great movie with a butt-kicking ending! 5 stars
11/03/04 the dude refreshing to see a good new horror movie, its been awhile 4 stars
11/03/04 Pat Mcclernon Most well writen movie ive seen in my life 5 stars
11/03/04 Candice Roberts The best movie I've ever seen so far! The crazy machine contraption was awesome!! 5 stars
11/03/04 JOE BEST HORROR / THRILLER I'VE SEEN IN A LONG TIME 5 stars
11/03/04 mike this movie sucked!!!!!!!!!!!!i would rather watch clifford the big red dog 1 stars
11/02/04 Shandi I am a complete horror movie buff, seen analysed and laughed at them all. I must say GREAT! 5 stars
11/02/04 dan jules w. hit the nail on the head 5 stars
11/02/04 Kaelen Mitchell One of the best films of the year! Outstanding Plot with mindblowing ending, a must see! 5 stars
11/02/04 Me A grear film 5 stars
11/02/04 lycan boooo-ring 1 stars
11/02/04 j VON stands for victory orgasm nazi 5 stars
11/02/04 maxomai Gruesome and horrifying. A few plot holes. 5 stars
11/02/04 SM Stunning visuals and clever twists. Flawed but promising debut. 4 stars
11/02/04 A F I thought maybe the horrible acting & was part of the film and it would be explained, wrong 1 stars
11/01/04 irbear slow at times, but suspensful with a great ending. 4 stars
11/01/04 von Some of the least inspired writing and acting in recent memory. Cant even approach scary. 1 stars
11/01/04 Jules W. Disturbing premise, super ending, bad acting. 4 stars
11/01/04 Saskatoon Critic Overhyped, underwhelmed 4 stars
11/01/04 hope walking out of the theater, i didnt know what the hell to think. watch it! 5 stars
10/31/04 josh the ending - WOW - there are like 5 mins you dont expect 5 stars
10/31/04 othree Hyped sequel material some good moments. not enuff 2 be great no Silence all lambs no 7 a 4 3 stars
10/31/04 Jim The Movie Freak Inconceivably bad that is more campy than creepy. Elwes gets the Raspberry Award this year 1 stars
10/31/04 Ahnold Sort of Like Seven - not as good, but probably worth a look 4 stars
10/31/04 bigeasy not as scary and suspenseful as i had hoped, but great villian 3 stars
10/31/04 ella bad acting and great premise should be redone. too stylized. 3 stars
10/31/04 Brett One of the worst movies ever. Good potential, interesting premise - BAD acting & script. 2 stars
10/31/04 Me A grear film 5 stars
10/30/04 Angela Constanly has you saying "What the hell is going on here", but in a good way 5 stars
10/30/04 Samuel Not the scariest movie of the yeah....but it was good. 4 stars
10/30/04 mason Great idea, OK acting, rotten ending, looks like a Marilyn Manson video. 3 stars
10/30/04 MorallySound So intense!!!! Awesome acting!!! Amazing! My new favorite flick! 5 stars
10/30/04 Project Mayhemer Easily one of the best thrillers in years, and the ending is great 4 stars
10/30/04 colin It was a excellent movie had me on the edge of my seat the whole time 4 stars
10/29/04 bill An ok movie that needed a rewrite. 3 stars
10/23/04 ODH One of the worst horror flicks I have ever seen and I have seen some bad ones!!! 1 stars
10/23/04 peter great idea, shame about how it turned out. 1 stars
10/22/04 Molly says Se7en is SMARTER No emotional build - I didn't buy the severing of the foot, the dialogue, or Elwes. 2 stars
10/16/04 My Opinion Is Better Than Yours BEST FILM EVER 5 stars
10/15/04 Skunk D Ridiculous!! Haven't slept since I've seen the movie 5 stars
10/12/04 doug abernethy clever ideas and original narrative style let down by a clanky script and some pretty woode 3 stars
10/12/04 Lucy Great storyline, great twists, very good acting, the best and most gripping horror ever! 5 stars
10/12/04 DK Chris Parry, I dont know what you are talking about, this film was amazing. 5 stars
10/09/04 james W.O.W. (Worthy of Watching) 5 stars
10/07/04 Lewis Brilliant! A shocking film that keeps you on the edge of your seat. 4 stars
10/07/04 Merkin Extremely disappointed in this movie. Cary Elwes was awful. The audience was laughing. 2 stars
10/05/04 Jay You can tell this is a Aussie Film, total lack of anything worth watching. 1 stars
10/05/04 M Jones Watch it for yourself. Amazingly Good. Best horror i have seen in a long time. 5 stars
10/04/04 matty acting seemed a bit wooden the the twist was the dogs bollox 4 stars
10/04/04 G Blair No, no, no, NO!! A truly dismal script with huge plot holes and terrible acting. Avoid it! 2 stars
10/04/04 Liam Quinn This film is absolute toss 1 stars
10/02/04 Neil V ery good with twist all the way 5 stars
9/29/04 Tony It was fun, but could have been "Awesome" if the characters did things that made sense. 3 stars
9/14/04 hj good 5 stars
8/13/04 Joshua Chilling with real claustrophobic intensity. 5 stars
8/05/04 Sykopat Pretty good! 5 stars
7/21/04 Mark Burnett Saw is awesome. Why? Because itwas made by Aussies. 5 stars
7/13/04 Sean Harrop Saw was about as sexy as my grandmother. Love David Bell 5 stars
7/04/04 kevin s Great horror movie, very disturbing! I loved it! 5 stars
6/09/04 Corey Damn good horror flick. Unlike Blair Witch this film really does scare you. 5 stars
5/04/04 Steve Garvey The smartest horror film I have ever seen. These two young men have great talent. 5 stars
2/01/04 JAKE MARTIN I LOVED THIS MOVIE, & WILL OWN IT WHEN IT COMES TO DVD. 5 stars
1/31/04 Jennifer SAW is like an amusement park ride, you leave a little sick but ready to get back in line. 4 stars
1/27/04 Brian Wilkins One of the best horror films of all time 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Oct-2004 (R)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Dec-2004


Directed by
  James Wan

Written by
  Leigh Whannell

Cast
  Cary Elwes
  Danny Glover
  Monica Potter
  Leigh Whannell
  Tobin Bell
  Michael Emerson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast