More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.53

Awesome52.51%
Worth A Look: 7.82%
Average: 8.38%
Pretty Bad: 2.79%
Total Crap: 28.49%

4 reviews, 155 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


You Got Served
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Not very good, but it does put some electricity in your boogaloo."
3 stars

It has been 20 years since the release of "Breakin'" and its sequel, "Breakin' 2: Electric Boogaloo," which came out seven months later. The Law of 20-Year Nostalgia, which dictates that once-popular things should come into vogue again two decades later, indicates we're due for some more breakdancing, and "You Got Served" is here to dish up a big, cheesy platter of it.

Written entirely in slang and directed by music video guy Christopher B. Stokes, "You Got Served" is about a team of hip-hop dancers in central Los Angeles who spend their days shooting hoops and their nights competing against other dance crews at a club owned by the avuncular Mr. Rad (Steve Harvey, who is now officially interchangeable with Bernie Mac and Cedric the Entertainer, at least as far as casting directors are concerned).

The team is led by Elgin (Marques Houston) and his best friend David (Omari Grandberry), homeboys to the bitter end, as long as David doesn't actively pursue Elgin's sister Liyah (Jennifer Freeman) like he wants to. To supplement their dance-off earnings, El and David occasionally deliver "merchandise" for Emerald (Michael "Bear" Taliferro), a large, pin-striped man who reminds me of Kingpin in "Daredevil."

Then one day El and David get challenged by a white dance group from Orange County. Led by the mouthy, spiky-haired Wade (Christopher Jones), this group puts up $5,000 against El's crew, a bet El and David gladly take. When they show up to the competition, though, some double-crossing leads them to discover that the "you" of the film's title is themselves, and served is definitely what they got.

This leads to a petty feud between friends, some tidily packaged drama and life lessons, and a finale set at an MTV-sponsored dance-off where the winners get $50,000 and a chance to appear in Lil' Kim's new video.

The performances in the film are passionate and likable, if not especially nuanced -- better than you'd expect, considering everyone was cast for their dancing skills, not their acting.

By the same token, the breakdancing itself is infectiously energetic, and great fun to watch. The performers are amazing, giving full voice to the inventive, attitude-heavy, near-gymnastic work of choreographer Wade J. Robson (who has a cameo in the finale). I could watch the dance scenes all day; unfortunately, they are broken up by simple-minded, street-flavored melodrama that, while not as bad as it could have been, could not be considered "good" by any stretch of the imagination.

It gets sillier as it goes, and borrows more than a few plot points from "Bring It On" (2000) (plot points that weren't exactly clever to begin with). By the time we are forced to endure the skank-encrusted presence of Lil' Kim herself, one's patience for the whole affair might have run out. But in the meantime, the dance scenes are fantastic, and they are plentiful.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8629&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/30/04 16:50:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/03/09 Vanessa Garcia This movie is awesome!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/06/08 Jessay This movie is so hilariously bad that' it's great. Excellent melodrama. 5 stars
5/09/08 Josh2929 ok... innercity kids DO dance like in the movie ( me & my crew and most ppl i know) 5 stars
9/09/07 adil i love the movie......every who says its bad is a son of a bitch...and i will fuck his mama 5 stars
7/04/07 Gina movie was the bomb, ya'll are crazy if you be thinkin othawise. 5 stars
5/23/07 Tam Nguyen The dance is good but the movie is very corny, but i only watch the dance so good movie 5 stars
5/13/07 jennifer I've seen this movie 67 times i love your dances it's cool 5 stars
4/22/07 randy tamba no comments because it the best 5 stars
4/15/07 anastacha crockett i love the way they dance 3 stars
4/09/07 ew it sucked real bad except for the dancing 1 stars
1/24/07 Katie Connor so inspirational, me and my mates now have a crew and we dominate the battles we have! 5 stars
11/15/06 catriona dasent da best film going 5 stars
11/13/06 cody a pretty cool movie with great lines and dancing, they getting down dude. 3/5 3 stars
11/11/06 Bill Hi all 5 stars
10/05/06 graciahhh OH!la!la!! I love it!.. Its owesome so energetic, the beat, the moves and the people!! 5 stars
9/19/06 jennifer its the bomb 5 stars
8/31/06 aramide diz movie woz sick i watch it all da time 5 stars
8/01/06 mori this movie is da shit 5 stars
7/02/06 John Only ignorant niggers and white pieces of wanna be nigger shit would enjoy this. 2 stars
6/24/06 George The Fuck?! 1 stars
6/04/06 Jess maddest movie ever 5 stars
5/23/06 adeeba exellent-i loved it 5 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj It sucks 1 stars
5/19/06 grace Prutt Its excellent 5 stars
5/16/06 MELISSA MORRIS THIS MOVIE SOOOOO GOOD 5 stars
12/27/05 amie best dance film ive ever seen 5 stars
12/18/05 Zachery I love the movie i want to learn the dance moves. 5 stars
12/06/05 ariana awsum 5 stars
11/24/05 NETTY ITS FINE 4 stars
11/07/05 shane its the pimpn movie eva 5 stars
11/04/05 chloe Really good and exciting 5 stars
10/15/05 tony so shit it isn't even funny! 1 stars
9/24/05 scritti politti kween dstny, u a triflin' ass ho. nigga please!! 1 stars
9/12/05 hilda the best movie i have seen 5 stars
8/06/05 Dionne Nikeisha Burton I Had A Great Time Watching This Movie 5 stars
8/03/05 ramona makaea 5 stars
7/28/05 Erin Donahue I've seen this movie 27 times and i really love it.B2k and marques houston i love yall 5 stars
7/18/05 jonathan reynoso this movie was the shit it was off the chain 5 stars
7/14/05 kyra intense dance moves, love it , make another one 5 stars
7/07/05 KWEEN DSTNY anne thompson your a freshy 5 stars
7/07/05 KWEEN DSTNY this movie was the best 5 stars
6/22/05 Phillip davis this movie was one the best movies i have saeen 5 stars
6/21/05 KWEEN DSTNY JUST 2 EVERY 1 ELSE, YOU COULDN'T MAKE A MOVIE LIKE DAT UR SELVES, SO SHUT DA HELL UP 5 stars
6/21/05 Bob Geez Shittytiest movie ever made 1 stars
6/16/05 collette this film is so great 4 stars
6/11/05 Kaweora loved it cant get enough 5 stars
6/01/05 Anne Thompson this movie almost made me got up and dance, its an exciting film i wish there will be par 2 5 stars
4/25/05 Jessica I think it's a pretty bad movie, it not only has dancing but it also has drama. 5 stars
4/09/05 B Kniprath Good dancing, actual movie could have been better. 3 stars
3/10/05 Elodie Excellent dancers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/05/05 Carolyn Rathburn lots of enegy, I liked it 4 stars
3/05/05 Gloria Anderson sure wasted my time 2 stars
3/02/05 Colleen Goldrick Run before they ServeYou 1 stars
2/26/05 Darlene Wright No Good 1 stars
1/31/05 clinger26 Total piece of gangster made crap! 1 stars
1/18/05 india absolutely outstanding 5 stars
1/15/05 keithers.. imdb.com said it best....an exaple of what is wrong with todays culture 1 stars
1/13/05 Lauryn Hill I thought the review was racist. Also, they're not "inner city" kids living in those homes 3 stars
1/13/05 claudia i love it its tight and of the hook 5 stars
11/26/04 carley a fat film and brill dancing 5 stars
11/24/04 Claire I thought this film was brilliant! 4 stars
11/10/04 Ana HOT movie 5 stars
10/30/04 kristian i think it is like the best moive i have seen i am now talking lesoons 5 stars
10/05/04 taurean not better than me 4 stars
9/29/04 Tyrantis This comment isn't meant to be racist, but whoever likes this film should be killed. 1 stars
9/21/04 alma way too good 5 stars
9/21/04 yannyris lopes the film was the bomb and j-boog really rocked love you-contact me 5 stars
8/12/04 mickey cent it waz tha total bomb men 5 stars
8/09/04 da hood im wiriting this from a mental hospital after I TRIED TO KILL MYSELF AFTER I SAW THIS SHIT 1 stars
7/24/04 terrance the only character with REAL acting skillz was beautiful, i mean Beautifull 4 stars
7/14/04 amanda this movie was awesome!!! i loved it!!! marques houston is dead sexy!!! 5 stars
7/13/04 Yecenia Garcia LOVED THE MOVE AND WHO EVER IS HATIN ON B2K QUIT HATIN CAUSE U KNOW THEY TIGHT IGHT HATERS 5 stars
7/02/04 borjz_jamez not that cool 3 stars
6/29/04 caroline it is excellent and omarion is so boom 5 stars
6/20/04 Spiderfan50 The end is so cheesy, I had an alergic reaction! 1 stars
6/12/04 Krystal That movie is cool i reckon dat every1 should c it, itz got B2k on it and there really hot 5 stars
6/08/04 palaboy101 great dance moves...average story though. 3 stars
6/05/04 Jessica great,made me and all my friends wanna dance! 5 stars
6/01/04 Lauren I think that if u totally diss this movie then u are hatin, the dance scenes were sick. 4 stars
5/31/04 Smitty THIS MOVIE IS THE FREAKIN' SHIT!!!!! def. go see it! 5 stars
5/22/04 tony horrendous acting 1 stars
5/19/04 Joe To Mr Xdizzle you are an idiot, this movie was so unabashadly bad that it was unwatchable 1 stars
5/17/04 J Come on... can Hollywood produce an even remotely original movie anymore? 1 stars
5/17/04 Mr XDizzle My comments:Dis film was off the hook, and Scott was obviously not watchin wat i was. Peace 5 stars
5/05/04 kate i think its actually a cool movie. u guys r justr a bit harsh. its also got cool steps. 5 stars
5/03/04 13- the dancin' was T-I-G-H-T but the script and $15 soundtrack were C-R-A-P, all in all... 5 stars
5/02/04 J I ought of SMACK and SHOOT Steve Harvey for this CRAP!!!! 0 out of 4 1 stars
4/11/04 karla flores greats 5 stars
4/01/04 Alimatu it the boom 5 stars
4/01/04 armentta brown i loved it 5 stars
3/31/04 Clarissa stupiidddddddddd 2 stars
3/29/04 Jay I LOVED IT!!! IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE WITH THE BEST CAST!!! THE BOYZ WERE GREAT!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/19/04 michelle Nicole is going to be famous one day ya'll 3 stars
3/17/04 olga martinez its the best movie i have seen because of the bad ass tricks they do. 5 stars
3/11/04 D BOY BEST FILM EVER 5 stars
3/06/04 Q-t ip The dancing was off the chain!! made me want to dance in the theater!! Go B2K and the crew! 5 stars
3/05/04 Sergio Martinez IT was the coolest move ever dansing move ever 5 stars
3/04/04 sunny i like freestyle dance so i like this movie 5 stars
3/02/04 Alimatu I think it is the boom 5 stars
3/01/04 Toni Da acting was BS, but tha dancin was ill 4 stars
2/28/04 Rena It was awsome!!! when they were dancing in the rain with no shirts on!!!! :) 5 stars
2/27/04 crazy cracker The story, directing was awfull, dancing was cool though 1 stars
2/25/04 LEBRON JAMISON THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVA!!! 5 stars
2/25/04 manda gilham this was the best movie i have ever seen, christopher jones was so hot, and so was b2k 5 stars
2/25/04 Lady T Dancing-Mindblowing!! Teen love connection-Boo!!! Plot could have been better of course. 5 stars
2/24/04 Ben Dover I served Keanu's moma 5 stars
2/23/04 WnnabBboy Movie itself wasnt that crappy... n the dancins sick, wich is y i saw it cuz i braik dance 4 stars
2/22/04 James the dancing was the da bomb, but the story/plot was lame 4 stars
2/22/04 Megan I had to go on 24 hour suicide watch after seeing this pile of junk 1 stars
2/19/04 mary kolhtender i think that this movie wasnt good at all 2 stars
2/17/04 Chantelle goulet this movie was MAD awsome man it was so fun and its something I could watch again n again 5 stars
2/16/04 Project Reach Great Movie 5 stars
2/16/04 Shorty I loved it like crazi!!Watching it made me take up Breakdancin 5 stars
2/15/04 krystle w this was a great movie omarion looking good as usual they looked great 5 stars
2/13/04 El Frederic not only is you got served an amazing dance movie but the plot is also extraordinary! 5 stars
2/11/04 Scarface shiet 1 stars
2/11/04 Natalie I thought the movie was hot 5 stars
2/11/04 me sucked 1 stars
2/11/04 Lisa BEST MOVIE EVER....All who say it was bad TRY AND DANCE LIKE THAT i doubt you could 5 stars
2/10/04 Johnny C. This movies blows. Anyone who is neither a dancer nor legally stupid will hate this. 1 stars
2/10/04 diane sheetle i liked it a lot. the dancing made up for the garbage plot and wack acting. I luv Fizz 4 stars
2/10/04 Aamber Camarillo THIS IS THE BEST MOVIES I SEEN!!! These are the kinds of movies that they should maKE!!!!!! 5 stars
2/10/04 Caroline This movie was the best one i have ever seen in my life so far! its so ausome! 5 stars
2/09/04 Erica White I loved it, its my favorite movie! 5 stars
2/09/04 Kelly AWESOME!!! One of the best movies ever!! Stop dissin it and watch another movie! 5 stars
2/08/04 Cheryl Dearborne comparable to a porno(horrible acting great sex)(horrible acting great dancing) 3 stars
2/08/04 nanako that was so cooool!!!! 5 stars
2/08/04 kriuwou it made me want to dance 5 stars
2/07/04 marcus minor it was a fairly ok movie in this day and age of teen appeal cinemas but not a classic cut 4 stars
2/07/04 roberto don't waste you life on this movie 1 stars
2/07/04 Melissa Davis I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
2/07/04 Cha'longe The music and dane moves was fresh. 5 stars
2/06/04 Scarface shiet 1 stars
2/06/04 bridget the movie was the bomb! 5 stars
2/05/04 Weezcake What a retarded movie! U suckas got served?!? Wth! 1 stars
2/05/04 tippi melton IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN.... 5 stars
2/04/04 Cidney possible the worst movie I have ever seen. The actor and actresses could not even act. 1 stars
2/03/04 Todd you people are all fucking morons! This movie sucks donkey balls 1 stars
2/03/04 chrys Who ARE these people? there should be a limit to even the lowest common denominator! 1 stars
2/03/04 JaYmEe P the movie itself was great, the actin put it over the top 5 stars
2/03/04 Don The acting was painful to watch; The athletic dancing was painful to watch (in a good way) 3 stars
2/02/04 dtt Electric and energizing! The performers' passion shines through their every move. 5 stars
2/02/04 Debreka I loved it 5 stars
2/02/04 little caramel the movie was good romantic funny and i liked it alot jud cause i liked B2k 4 stars
2/02/04 LucZ Best dancing movie i have ever seen need to noe the songs that were not on the soundtrack 5 stars
2/02/04 Brittany Great dancing and great movie!! 5 stars
2/02/04 Star I loved it. It wasn't a Denzel Washington thriller so the acting DIDN'T have to spectacular 5 stars
2/02/04 McDXI Noticed how the only awesome ratings were done by people who can't type. 1 stars
2/02/04 Ashley This movie was alright..the dance scenez were dope..but the acting coulda been better 4 stars
2/02/04 Derrick Roberts This movie is made so white boys who "wanna be" black can see how to do just that. 1 stars
2/02/04 Eliza Awesome movie!!! I loved it! Chirstopher Jones was tearnin it up! 5 stars
2/01/04 Adam The worst acting ever. 2 stars
2/01/04 Jake For Morons Only!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/31/04 Jingo P. Cast includes names like J-Boog, Lil Fizz, and Raz-B. How 'bout...NO! 1 stars
1/30/04 Brian 2004's crap streak continues... 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jan-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Sep-2004


Directed by
  Christopher B. Stokes

Written by
  Christopher B. Stokes

Cast
  Marques Houston
  Omarion
  J-Boog
  Lil Fizz
  Raz-B
  Steve Harvey



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast