More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.53

Awesome52.51%
Worth A Look: 7.82%
Average: 8.38%
Pretty Bad: 2.79%
Total Crap: 28.49%

4 reviews, 155 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Inherent Vice by Jay Seaver

Babadook, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

It Follows by Jay Seaver

Sea Fog (Haemoo) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


You Got Served
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"...or, Why BREAKIN' Has Stood the Test of Time"
1 stars

“You Got Served” tells the story of a bunch of crews (dance teams) who breakdance competitively for hundreds—sometimes a thousand—dollars. Two teams of dancers hit the dance floor in what looks like the makings of a prison riot (Is it a rec center? Is it an abandoned warehouse? Do they share the space with the Regional Cockfighters Union?). They dance against each other, but the dancers swerve in and out of each other’s spaces that it makes it virtually impossible for the viewer to glom onto a particular side. When asked to applaud for your favorite crew, one can only just sit there and wait for the court of popular opinion to decide for you (i.e., those who actually could follow it without being hindered by bad editing).

Same goes for the plot. Much of what happens between the characters in “You Got Served” happens off-camera. You can almost feel writer-director Chris Stokes nudging you in the ribs every five minutes and saying, “Yeah, something major just happened there. Just trust me on this, it happened. Some major drama. I know you couldn’t see it, but it went down. That’s me in the background waving at the camera. Cool, huh.” So, yeah, the movie has that crassness about it in that it basically aims at quietly pandering to its audience (young, dopey fools) by just showing them breakdance scenes for the sake of them. Everything else exists as filler.

Speaking of mindless filler, I grew up with the “Breakin’” movies, as well as “Beat Street” and the misbegotten “Body Rock.” I know how this works and I fell for it too. I was 11-12 fer Chrissakes! I wasn’t even half the film freak I am now and it didn’t matter that the acting in these movies fell below Razzie standards. I’m sure the pre-teens who attend this flick will be marginally entertained on that same level. At least in the “Breakin’” movies, Ozone (played by Adolfo “Shabba-Doo” Quinones) had charisma and his gay-but-not-out comic sidekick Turbo (played by Michael “Boogaloo Shrimp” Chambers) played up that cocktail party scene for all its worth. And I can even still remember his immortal line: “How about some pig cheese?”

Lemme ask you, have you watched that movie lately? MGM recently released both “Breakin’” and “Breakin’ 2: Electric Boogaloo” on DVD and they couldn’t have picked a better time. With the availability of these movies, we may now go back to see how well they hold up today (exactly 20 years later. Think about that). I’m of the opinion that the first “Breakin’” movie has better stood the test of time after having aged 20 years than “You Got Served” has after its first 20 minutes. Why? Glad you asked, grasshopper. Pay attention.

--“Breakin’” kept its plot simple. Three aspiring dancers compete against a few other dancers in a national competition. “You Got Served” features the same plot, but with a sub-plot involving one of the guys getting beat up while working as a courier for a druglord/gangsta/whatever.

--If one of the characters in “Breakin’” were to be killed, we would have a good idea of which one. In “You Got Served,” a character gets killed and we have to try and process which one. Since everyone here has seven names, that makes it difficult. We pretty much have to figure out which character hasn’t appeared in a long while before we figure it out (Again, lots of action happens off screen).

--The main dancer/character in “Breakin’” is a woman (Lucinda Dickey as Kelly). In “You Got Served,” all the main characters/dancers are men.

--In “Breakin’” Shabba-Doo has that nice soliloquy about why people dance in spite of their shortcomings, in this case, a dancer with unusable legs and using the crutches to his advantage. No such poetry exists at the heart of “You Got Served.” In fact, it gets hard to tell whether or not it’s a dance film or a basketball film.

--In “Breakin’” and especially “Breakin’ 2,” Boogaloo Shrimp can work magic when he dances (dancing with a broom in the first film and causing it to hover; in the second film, literally dancing on the ceiling). No such magic realism exists in “You Got Served,” which makes it all the more head-scratching. Hey, if you’re gonna make a silly dance movie, why not go all the way with it?

--“Breakin’” features a then-unknown Ice T. “You Got Served” features an almost non-existent Lil’ Kim, which brings me to my next point.

--Part of the charm of “Breakin’” lies in the fact that they didn’t have the budget to hire big movie/music stars, not even for a cameo. In “You Got Served,” the winners of the dance competition get to star in a video by Lil’ Kim. Our heroes win, of course, but the movie ends there. WE NEVER GET TO SEE THE VIDEO!!! Hey, if you don’t have the budget to follow through on a pay-off like that, you probably shouldn’t introduce it in the first place.

--In baseball, you wear a cap. In football, you wear a helmet. –George Carlin

--“Breakin’” has a cool title that tells you what it will be about. What the hell does “You Got Served” mean?

--The makers of “Breakin’” cracked out a sequel about eleven months after its release. The makers of “You Got Served” could very well crack one out before the end of March.

--Nobody has parents in “Breakin’.” Too many parents and grandparents exist in “You Got Served,” one of whom puts donuts on her kitchen table for display purposes only.

--“Breakin’” has one of the silliest dance villains ever the grace the silver screen (Ben Lokey as Kelly’s aggressively closeted-yet-out teacher who refuses the accept breakdancing as a viable form of dance). The only unintentional laugh in “You Got Served” comes when one of the dance montages shifts to scenes of guys breakdancing…in the rain…with thunder and lightning…in slow motion!!! (This, by the way, marks the first unintentional laugh of the year, unless you count Ashton Kutcher’s twitching in “The Butterfly Effect,” which only received a minor chuckle from myself.)

--The editing in “Breakin’” is minimal, allowing viewers to enjoy the dancing without getting dizzy or confused. “You Got Served” is chopped and scrambled like a salsa omelet cooked up by a blind epileptic.

--The tagline on “Breakin’” is cheeky: “Push it to pop it! Rock it to lock it! Break it to make it!” The tagline on “You Got Served” is just confusing and stupid: “If you want respect, you’ve got to take it!” Huh?

--Finally, “Breakin’” is compulsively watchable crap. “You Got Served” is barely releasable shit.

So, there you go. Unfortunately, I could not find a rentable copy of “Breakin’ 2: Electric Boogaloo” for further comparison, but I believe the point has been made clear. If you want to bring back the ‘80s by emulating the immortal movie-making team of Golan-and-Globus of Cannon films (the executive producers of “Breakin’” and a staple of bad ‘80s cinema), you HAVE TO GET GOLAN AND GLOBUS! Everything else is just 4th-rate. Don’t think so? Go back and watch these two movies back-to-back, if you dare, and just try to disagree with me. Christopher B. Stokes? You just Got Served! (And that's bad, right?)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8629&reviewer=233
originally posted: 02/02/04 16:26:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/03/09 Vanessa Garcia This movie is awesome!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/06/08 Jessay This movie is so hilariously bad that' it's great. Excellent melodrama. 5 stars
5/09/08 Josh2929 ok... innercity kids DO dance like in the movie ( me & my crew and most ppl i know) 5 stars
9/09/07 adil i love the movie......every who says its bad is a son of a bitch...and i will fuck his mama 5 stars
7/04/07 Gina movie was the bomb, ya'll are crazy if you be thinkin othawise. 5 stars
5/23/07 Tam Nguyen The dance is good but the movie is very corny, but i only watch the dance so good movie 5 stars
5/13/07 jennifer I've seen this movie 67 times i love your dances it's cool 5 stars
4/22/07 randy tamba no comments because it the best 5 stars
4/15/07 anastacha crockett i love the way they dance 3 stars
4/09/07 ew it sucked real bad except for the dancing 1 stars
1/24/07 Katie Connor so inspirational, me and my mates now have a crew and we dominate the battles we have! 5 stars
11/15/06 catriona dasent da best film going 5 stars
11/13/06 cody a pretty cool movie with great lines and dancing, they getting down dude. 3/5 3 stars
11/11/06 Bill Hi all 5 stars
10/05/06 graciahhh OH!la!la!! I love it!.. Its owesome so energetic, the beat, the moves and the people!! 5 stars
9/19/06 jennifer its the bomb 5 stars
8/31/06 aramide diz movie woz sick i watch it all da time 5 stars
8/01/06 mori this movie is da shit 5 stars
7/02/06 John Only ignorant niggers and white pieces of wanna be nigger shit would enjoy this. 2 stars
6/24/06 George The Fuck?! 1 stars
6/04/06 Jess maddest movie ever 5 stars
5/23/06 adeeba exellent-i loved it 5 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj It sucks 1 stars
5/19/06 grace Prutt Its excellent 5 stars
5/16/06 MELISSA MORRIS THIS MOVIE SOOOOO GOOD 5 stars
12/27/05 amie best dance film ive ever seen 5 stars
12/18/05 Zachery I love the movie i want to learn the dance moves. 5 stars
12/06/05 ariana awsum 5 stars
11/24/05 NETTY ITS FINE 4 stars
11/07/05 shane its the pimpn movie eva 5 stars
11/04/05 chloe Really good and exciting 5 stars
10/15/05 tony so shit it isn't even funny! 1 stars
9/24/05 scritti politti kween dstny, u a triflin' ass ho. nigga please!! 1 stars
9/12/05 hilda the best movie i have seen 5 stars
8/06/05 Dionne Nikeisha Burton I Had A Great Time Watching This Movie 5 stars
8/03/05 ramona makaea 5 stars
7/28/05 Erin Donahue I've seen this movie 27 times and i really love it.B2k and marques houston i love yall 5 stars
7/18/05 jonathan reynoso this movie was the shit it was off the chain 5 stars
7/14/05 kyra intense dance moves, love it , make another one 5 stars
7/07/05 KWEEN DSTNY anne thompson your a freshy 5 stars
7/07/05 KWEEN DSTNY this movie was the best 5 stars
6/22/05 Phillip davis this movie was one the best movies i have saeen 5 stars
6/21/05 KWEEN DSTNY JUST 2 EVERY 1 ELSE, YOU COULDN'T MAKE A MOVIE LIKE DAT UR SELVES, SO SHUT DA HELL UP 5 stars
6/21/05 Bob Geez Shittytiest movie ever made 1 stars
6/16/05 collette this film is so great 4 stars
6/11/05 Kaweora loved it cant get enough 5 stars
6/01/05 Anne Thompson this movie almost made me got up and dance, its an exciting film i wish there will be par 2 5 stars
4/25/05 Jessica I think it's a pretty bad movie, it not only has dancing but it also has drama. 5 stars
4/09/05 B Kniprath Good dancing, actual movie could have been better. 3 stars
3/10/05 Elodie Excellent dancers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/05/05 Carolyn Rathburn lots of enegy, I liked it 4 stars
3/05/05 Gloria Anderson sure wasted my time 2 stars
3/02/05 Colleen Goldrick Run before they ServeYou 1 stars
2/26/05 Darlene Wright No Good 1 stars
1/31/05 clinger26 Total piece of gangster made crap! 1 stars
1/18/05 india absolutely outstanding 5 stars
1/15/05 keithers.. imdb.com said it best....an exaple of what is wrong with todays culture 1 stars
1/13/05 Lauryn Hill I thought the review was racist. Also, they're not "inner city" kids living in those homes 3 stars
1/13/05 claudia i love it its tight and of the hook 5 stars
11/26/04 carley a fat film and brill dancing 5 stars
11/24/04 Claire I thought this film was brilliant! 4 stars
11/10/04 Ana HOT movie 5 stars
10/30/04 kristian i think it is like the best moive i have seen i am now talking lesoons 5 stars
10/05/04 taurean not better than me 4 stars
9/29/04 Tyrantis This comment isn't meant to be racist, but whoever likes this film should be killed. 1 stars
9/21/04 alma way too good 5 stars
9/21/04 yannyris lopes the film was the bomb and j-boog really rocked love you-contact me 5 stars
8/12/04 mickey cent it waz tha total bomb men 5 stars
8/09/04 da hood im wiriting this from a mental hospital after I TRIED TO KILL MYSELF AFTER I SAW THIS SHIT 1 stars
7/24/04 terrance the only character with REAL acting skillz was beautiful, i mean Beautifull 4 stars
7/14/04 amanda this movie was awesome!!! i loved it!!! marques houston is dead sexy!!! 5 stars
7/13/04 Yecenia Garcia LOVED THE MOVE AND WHO EVER IS HATIN ON B2K QUIT HATIN CAUSE U KNOW THEY TIGHT IGHT HATERS 5 stars
7/02/04 borjz_jamez not that cool 3 stars
6/29/04 caroline it is excellent and omarion is so boom 5 stars
6/20/04 Spiderfan50 The end is so cheesy, I had an alergic reaction! 1 stars
6/12/04 Krystal That movie is cool i reckon dat every1 should c it, itz got B2k on it and there really hot 5 stars
6/08/04 palaboy101 great dance moves...average story though. 3 stars
6/05/04 Jessica great,made me and all my friends wanna dance! 5 stars
6/01/04 Lauren I think that if u totally diss this movie then u are hatin, the dance scenes were sick. 4 stars
5/31/04 Smitty THIS MOVIE IS THE FREAKIN' SHIT!!!!! def. go see it! 5 stars
5/22/04 tony horrendous acting 1 stars
5/19/04 Joe To Mr Xdizzle you are an idiot, this movie was so unabashadly bad that it was unwatchable 1 stars
5/17/04 J Come on... can Hollywood produce an even remotely original movie anymore? 1 stars
5/17/04 Mr XDizzle My comments:Dis film was off the hook, and Scott was obviously not watchin wat i was. Peace 5 stars
5/05/04 kate i think its actually a cool movie. u guys r justr a bit harsh. its also got cool steps. 5 stars
5/03/04 13- the dancin' was T-I-G-H-T but the script and $15 soundtrack were C-R-A-P, all in all... 5 stars
5/02/04 J I ought of SMACK and SHOOT Steve Harvey for this CRAP!!!! 0 out of 4 1 stars
4/11/04 karla flores greats 5 stars
4/01/04 Alimatu it the boom 5 stars
4/01/04 armentta brown i loved it 5 stars
3/31/04 Clarissa stupiidddddddddd 2 stars
3/29/04 Jay I LOVED IT!!! IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE WITH THE BEST CAST!!! THE BOYZ WERE GREAT!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/19/04 michelle Nicole is going to be famous one day ya'll 3 stars
3/17/04 olga martinez its the best movie i have seen because of the bad ass tricks they do. 5 stars
3/11/04 D BOY BEST FILM EVER 5 stars
3/06/04 Q-t ip The dancing was off the chain!! made me want to dance in the theater!! Go B2K and the crew! 5 stars
3/05/04 Sergio Martinez IT was the coolest move ever dansing move ever 5 stars
3/04/04 sunny i like freestyle dance so i like this movie 5 stars
3/02/04 Alimatu I think it is the boom 5 stars
3/01/04 Toni Da acting was BS, but tha dancin was ill 4 stars
2/28/04 Rena It was awsome!!! when they were dancing in the rain with no shirts on!!!! :) 5 stars
2/27/04 crazy cracker The story, directing was awfull, dancing was cool though 1 stars
2/25/04 LEBRON JAMISON THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVA!!! 5 stars
2/25/04 manda gilham this was the best movie i have ever seen, christopher jones was so hot, and so was b2k 5 stars
2/25/04 Lady T Dancing-Mindblowing!! Teen love connection-Boo!!! Plot could have been better of course. 5 stars
2/24/04 Ben Dover I served Keanu's moma 5 stars
2/23/04 WnnabBboy Movie itself wasnt that crappy... n the dancins sick, wich is y i saw it cuz i braik dance 4 stars
2/22/04 James the dancing was the da bomb, but the story/plot was lame 4 stars
2/22/04 Megan I had to go on 24 hour suicide watch after seeing this pile of junk 1 stars
2/19/04 mary kolhtender i think that this movie wasnt good at all 2 stars
2/17/04 Chantelle goulet this movie was MAD awsome man it was so fun and its something I could watch again n again 5 stars
2/16/04 Project Reach Great Movie 5 stars
2/16/04 Shorty I loved it like crazi!!Watching it made me take up Breakdancin 5 stars
2/15/04 krystle w this was a great movie omarion looking good as usual they looked great 5 stars
2/13/04 El Frederic not only is you got served an amazing dance movie but the plot is also extraordinary! 5 stars
2/11/04 Scarface shiet 1 stars
2/11/04 Natalie I thought the movie was hot 5 stars
2/11/04 me sucked 1 stars
2/11/04 Lisa BEST MOVIE EVER....All who say it was bad TRY AND DANCE LIKE THAT i doubt you could 5 stars
2/10/04 Johnny C. This movies blows. Anyone who is neither a dancer nor legally stupid will hate this. 1 stars
2/10/04 diane sheetle i liked it a lot. the dancing made up for the garbage plot and wack acting. I luv Fizz 4 stars
2/10/04 Aamber Camarillo THIS IS THE BEST MOVIES I SEEN!!! These are the kinds of movies that they should maKE!!!!!! 5 stars
2/10/04 Caroline This movie was the best one i have ever seen in my life so far! its so ausome! 5 stars
2/09/04 Erica White I loved it, its my favorite movie! 5 stars
2/09/04 Kelly AWESOME!!! One of the best movies ever!! Stop dissin it and watch another movie! 5 stars
2/08/04 Cheryl Dearborne comparable to a porno(horrible acting great sex)(horrible acting great dancing) 3 stars
2/08/04 nanako that was so cooool!!!! 5 stars
2/08/04 kriuwou it made me want to dance 5 stars
2/07/04 marcus minor it was a fairly ok movie in this day and age of teen appeal cinemas but not a classic cut 4 stars
2/07/04 roberto don't waste you life on this movie 1 stars
2/07/04 Melissa Davis I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 5 stars
2/07/04 Cha'longe The music and dane moves was fresh. 5 stars
2/06/04 Scarface shiet 1 stars
2/06/04 bridget the movie was the bomb! 5 stars
2/05/04 Weezcake What a retarded movie! U suckas got served?!? Wth! 1 stars
2/05/04 tippi melton IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN.... 5 stars
2/04/04 Cidney possible the worst movie I have ever seen. The actor and actresses could not even act. 1 stars
2/03/04 Todd you people are all fucking morons! This movie sucks donkey balls 1 stars
2/03/04 chrys Who ARE these people? there should be a limit to even the lowest common denominator! 1 stars
2/03/04 JaYmEe P the movie itself was great, the actin put it over the top 5 stars
2/03/04 Don The acting was painful to watch; The athletic dancing was painful to watch (in a good way) 3 stars
2/02/04 dtt Electric and energizing! The performers' passion shines through their every move. 5 stars
2/02/04 Debreka I loved it 5 stars
2/02/04 little caramel the movie was good romantic funny and i liked it alot jud cause i liked B2k 4 stars
2/02/04 LucZ Best dancing movie i have ever seen need to noe the songs that were not on the soundtrack 5 stars
2/02/04 Brittany Great dancing and great movie!! 5 stars
2/02/04 Star I loved it. It wasn't a Denzel Washington thriller so the acting DIDN'T have to spectacular 5 stars
2/02/04 McDXI Noticed how the only awesome ratings were done by people who can't type. 1 stars
2/02/04 Ashley This movie was alright..the dance scenez were dope..but the acting coulda been better 4 stars
2/02/04 Derrick Roberts This movie is made so white boys who "wanna be" black can see how to do just that. 1 stars
2/02/04 Eliza Awesome movie!!! I loved it! Chirstopher Jones was tearnin it up! 5 stars
2/01/04 Adam The worst acting ever. 2 stars
2/01/04 Jake For Morons Only!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/31/04 Jingo P. Cast includes names like J-Boog, Lil Fizz, and Raz-B. How 'bout...NO! 1 stars
1/30/04 Brian 2004's crap streak continues... 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jan-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Sep-2004


Directed by
  Christopher B. Stokes

Written by
  Christopher B. Stokes

Cast
  Marques Houston
  Omarion
  J-Boog
  Lil Fizz
  Raz-B
  Steve Harvey



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast