More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome60.76%
Worth A Look: 27.85%
Average: 4.43%
Pretty Bad: 1.27%
Total Crap: 5.7%

9 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Super Size Me
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The Movie Ronald McDonald Doesn't Want You to See!!!"
5 stars

Enlightened. Educated. Entertained. It's not many documentaries that can pull off a trifecta like this and leave you giddy with enthusiasm. Following the screening of Morgan Spurlock's fantastic "Super Size Me", there were movie critics and press folks standing around and talking about the lessons we'd learned, and (more importantly) the brilliantly breezy way in which we'd been educated. Half comedy and half gastronomical tragedy, 'Super Size Me' is absolutely one of the most enjoyable documentaries I've ever seen. Yeah, ever.

"Hey, I'm gonna eat nothing but McDonald's food for an entire month. Three meals a day without fail. Of only foods that are offered on a McDonald's menu. And I have to 'super size' my intake if and when I'm ever asked to! As good ideas go, how's that one sound?"

"You're insane."

One can only imagine how many times Morgan Spurlock has had that conversation over the past few years. Inspired by a rather silly court case in which two obese young women sued McDonald's for making them so fat, Spurlock sets off on a scathing (yet still somewhat affectionate) indictment of everything "Mc". Not content to merely 'talk to the experts' regarding the nutritional value of McDonald's fare, Spurlock puts his mortality where his mouth is.

Unless there was some major cheating going on in the movie (which in no way seems to be the case), Morgan really does eat nothing but McFood for one full month...three times a day...'super sized' when asked.

And coming from a writer who adores McFries, I still gotta say...ew. The fact that Morgan gains nearly ten pounds in the first week alone is a clear indication as to where we're headed.

And if you're someone who eats McDonald's more than once a week or so, Super Size Me is full of information and revelations that you may be happier not knowing. Although the movie is crisp and colorful and quite good-humored, the bottom line is this: fast food is poison, one that is proven to be fatal when taken in large doses. It's a fact. Next to smoking, obesity is the #1 cause of preventable deaths in the U.S. And where do you think most cases of obesity come from?

Big Macs, Whoppers and Frosties. That's where.

But Morgan's month-long mastication marathon of the macabre is only half the story. Not satisfied to just kick back and enjoy a month's worth of junk food, Morgan instead hits the road to locate subjects that focus on the American state of nutrition...or stunning lack thereof.

Our intrepid eater gets a resoundingly clean bill of health from three doctors and two nutritionists. The health-care professionals grow less jovial and more dire every time he drops in for a check-up. The result is a transformation that's as sobering as it probably is familiar; who hasn't spent a weekend eating mostly crap...only to come out feeling like a lethargic zombie afterwards?

Super Size Me is not a movie to rest on one clever conceit; Morgan travels the countryside in an effort to get the straight dope on Modern America's waistline, and clearly it's pretty bad news across the board. College professors explain why the wall-to-wall proliferation of "fast food culture" is so omnipresent and powerful; school district nutritionists struggle to feed their students something other than corn syrup and calories; a few surgeons drop by to offer a candid look at 'weight loss through surgery'; heck, Morgan's even lucky enough to meet up with "Big Mac Enthusiast" Don Gorske as he eats his 10,000th burger. (Ironic that Don would turn out to be a skinny fella.)

If the goal of a documentary film is to educate or enlighten its audience, then Super Size Me is a resounding success in every sense of the word. Spurlock treats his audience with wit and intelligence; his kinetic directorial style and consistent attention to the sad, twisted humor of the situation are what make the film so endlessly appealing. Engage your audience and make them laugh, and whatever message you're trying to impart will hit home so much more effectively.

I can't imagine that the fine folks at McDonald's Inc. are all that happy about 'Super Size Me', but it's my sincerest hope that this movie plays in every town across America. I'd even go so far as to call it REQUIRED VIEWING for every American with greasy fingers and a rapidly expanding belt size. This flick will teach you things, it will make you laugh, and it may actually add a few years onto your life. Not bad for one movie, eh?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8631&reviewer=128
originally posted: 02/02/04 08:29:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2004 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Philadelphia Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Philadelphia Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 San Francisco Film Festival. For more in the 2004 San Francisco Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Edinburgh Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Edinburgh Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Palm Springs Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Palm Springs Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/18/15 Cool cool Ha the movie was so good 4 stars
8/11/11 AAA Great Message 4 stars
2/28/10 alyne it's funny movie 5 stars
5/26/09 The Master of All Things Obvious Everybody knows at least a size XXXL who gorges on McDonalds. Those = big $$$ For McDonalds 5 stars
4/02/09 Norma Salinas This movie realy change the way I think about eating I think that can help alot anyone 4 stars
1/19/09 arlin its a agreat movie to bad people never learn 5 stars
1/15/09 yo mama this film is jawdropping 5 stars
5/15/08 Ana Gabriela It's very useful for students. All the school should have it. 4 stars
2/18/08 Dan Ward Great 5 stars
6/29/07 Jasmine This movie it wonderful, to bad it didn't affect the fastfood industry. 5 stars
5/10/07 Mandee I love McDonalds so this movie sucked 1 stars
2/10/07 affiq fast food suck!!! 5 stars
1/17/07 Crimb Awesome! 5 stars
1/09/07 CJBlalock can't you just smell the pre-digested, vomit-like aroma of McDonalds? 5 stars
8/17/06 Mary Beth interesting medical results to experiment 4 stars
8/06/06 Agent Sands It's definitely an eye-opener. Sadly, it's to what you already knew. It's a reality check. 4 stars
8/01/06 David Cohen Too much fast food is bad for you, this is supposed to be news?!? 1 stars
5/24/06 Brian Roberts very good 4 stars
5/03/06 Jim Interesting stuff. I'll still eat fast food once in a while though. 4 stars
4/18/06 mike made be want to go out and have a Big Mac afterwards, they looked so damn good. 4 stars
4/10/06 Robert Hartshorn Shoddy, simple minded, self righteous, unwittingly right wing schlock-doc! 1 stars
4/02/06 JRE why? 4 stars
4/01/06 Thomas Semesky Left too many questions to be answered. The directors integrity for one. 2 stars
2/03/06 arti show us how effrct of fast food 3 stars
11/15/05 FlashyNig Yo people, this s**t is tight an' you gotta see it 5 stars
8/08/05 yuko americans should definitely come to japan where one of the most healthy foods is served 5 stars
6/04/05 Denise Gannon Micky D's makes U poo cubes! seriously-after eating U can feel a brick form in yer colon! 5 stars
5/20/05 Jeff Anderson I'm not lovin' it! The movie truly made it's observant point. FAST FOOD IS BAD FOR YOU!!!!! 2 stars
5/20/05 MyGreenBed Pathetic Michael Moore wannabe doc, also anti-vegetarian, anti-real, anti-useful. 1 stars
5/10/05 NotEd I'll be damned if I still wanted fries afterwards. Extra proves they are immortal! 4 stars
5/03/05 Quigley pretty gross sometimes, but an overall fascinating look at fast food and obesity (kidding)! 4 stars
4/26/05 DM Morgan Spurlock could be Michael Moore's little brother (in a good way.) 4 stars
4/15/05 HL Fruit cup anyone! 5 stars
4/11/05 Paul Not really accurate but it is entertaining. 3 stars
3/31/05 hannaho Entertaining and educational! 3 stars
3/18/05 B. D. Cole very interesting and relavent twist on the documentary ... its you he's talking about 4 stars
3/17/05 Naughty Devil Man Fat people are abhorrent and need to be shunned from society. 1 stars
3/17/05 He- man Great film dude. Hurray for spurlock!!! 5 stars
3/06/05 chris. in my opinion, this if very much needed. 5 stars
3/02/05 David Tsung got so hungry watching this movie 4 stars
2/27/05 Charlene Javier The French fries were scary! 5 stars
2/26/05 Darlene Wright OK 3 stars
2/26/05 Denise shocking not 3 stars
2/05/05 bullit16 Eye-opening, and more than a little nauseating 4 stars
1/31/05 Paul He was overeating. 4 stars
1/30/05 Carrie Hubbard Imagine that, if you eat McDonalds 3 times a day, you'll get fat. Pure Genius! 4 stars
1/24/05 Paul D I will keep an eye on what i'm eating!!! 5 stars
1/17/05 HL So Now It's No Mystery How People Get Unhealthy...Bravo! 5 stars
12/15/04 fdmHamiltonOhio i could have done without it. Since i had to do a research paper on it, i'm glad he did. 3 stars
11/27/04 Portly Paul from Portland. Just saw the DVD and it friggin' rocked! Best doc I've ever se, now I'm going to the gym. 5 stars
11/24/04 chris walker I think people are fat and lazy and pretty much fat 4 stars
11/15/04 Gabby Wow, what a suprise! America is the fattest country in the world! Great doco. Well done 4 stars
11/15/04 da hood' you fatasses need to quit scarfing down food. if not, then fuckin die! 5 stars
11/11/04 Jillian Rath A wicked movie 5 stars
10/25/04 KARIN GORDON AFTER SEEING SUPER SIZE ME...HE MADE A FAN FOR LIFE. EDUCATIONAL, FUNNY, AND INTELLIGENT. 5 stars
10/20/04 Kelly It really made you think about what you are eating 5 stars
10/15/04 Addy Wilson i'm a teen that needs to start making health decisions and this movie was a kick in the but 5 stars
10/12/04 Katie A very creative way to urge America into being a healthier country 5 stars
10/05/04 blakeh great film, informative and entertaining 5 stars
9/30/04 Simon Khalil It made me think.... think that this is a great movie! 5 stars
8/26/04 Maureen McDevitt Painful to see someone purposely destroy their good health! 4 stars
8/05/04 Snickerdoodle Really interesting and shocking, I eat mostly at Subway now, no BK or McD for a while! 5 stars
8/04/04 Chloe OMG - so fucking awesome! I h8ed McDonalds before...but I will NEVER eat there again now... 5 stars
7/21/04 dropdead hilarious. stay away from dead animals. eat your veggies, damn fatties. 5 stars
7/02/04 Nikolai Unfair bias on McShitlets even more so now since their CEO died from a heart attack 4 stars
7/02/04 jeffrey See this & You'll never eat again @ McD's 5 stars
6/29/04 four44@444.net This is what I call REALITY TV!! I consider Morgan Spurlock to be a modern day hero! 5 stars
6/18/04 Cindy Very eye-opening and well done. 5 stars
6/14/04 man you fat bastards should not need a movie to realize that your gonna die! eat shit! 5 stars
6/14/04 ezrgd Spurlock trying to do too much here, forced 4 stars
6/13/04 Ira Friedman Important to see and entertaining 5 stars
6/06/04 Helen Bradley This beast Michael Moore anyday Great viewing 5 stars
6/02/04 Miriah Engrossing, informative, and witty. Should be required viewing in all health classes. 5 stars
6/01/04 James Kustes I wonder how it will affect fast food sales 3 stars
5/31/04 Raspberry Of course the doctor was independently chosen... it's opinion with an agenda... not balance 1 stars
5/31/04 Laura Lydigsen We couldn't stop talking about this movie after leaving the theatre! 5 stars
5/31/04 reenum Excellent, thought-provoking film. I had no idea how deep the problem was. 5 stars
5/30/04 Titus A very fine documentary, but not as moving or hilarious as "Bowling" 4 stars
5/29/04 ajay very interesting... made me rethink at my diet of soda and fast food... 5 stars
5/29/04 Cameron Slick This film has wholly convinced me to never again eat McDonald's. 4 stars
5/29/04 Flo An excellent film. Too bad the people who really need to see it won't go... 5 stars
5/26/04 Ana Excellent film 5 stars
5/22/04 Mitch You'd expect something stale and preachy, but its the total opposite. 5 stars
5/21/04 Vinnie If you're so fucking stupid you think McDonald's is good for you, you deserve to keel over. 1 stars
5/20/04 too-much-coffee mistress Oh my god! McDonalds is bad for you? *shock* This will change the world... What an ass. 1 stars
5/20/04 Proteus Go see this. Bring friends. Caution - don't buy the usual large popcorn. 5 stars
5/19/04 RICH C sequel idea:2 hrs of flogging Rnld McDnld,ending in crucifixion. "the passion of the clown" 5 stars
5/18/04 Julie Enertaining & interesting, but why would McD's ever let him?? I'm never eating there again! 5 stars
5/13/04 This girl Loved it. I laughed almost as often as I cringed. It's not a ripoff of Fast Food Nation. 5 stars
5/11/04 cocky bastard Isn't this movie a rip off of Fast Food Nation? 5 stars
5/11/04 Christina Awesome. This is why I eat at SUBWAY 5 stars
5/11/04 Jorge Fragette It's not about Mcdonald's, dumbass, it's about a culture of consumption. Idiot! 5 stars
5/10/04 Cameron Slick I'm never eating at McDonald's again. 5 stars
5/07/04 JOE AMBROZY MUST SEE 5 stars
5/04/04 Matt McCaskey Fantastic Film. 5 stars
4/16/04 Antonia Hadley first rate film about critical subject 5 stars
4/16/04 Vinnie Why do we need this dumbasses' movie to convince us that MCD's is bad? Idiot. 1 stars
4/11/04 Robin Frey 6 stars for a super-sized rating! 5 stars
3/26/04 Bingo was his name-o A reality movie that works! 4 stars
3/22/04 Elle Anee Totally fun, totally gross, totally shocking, totally amazing, totally educational, SEE IT! 5 stars
2/28/04 James Edwards This movie is fantastic. Just saw it and loved it! AMERICA: YOU MUST SEE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
2/05/04 Michael McCallister An incredible movie - everyone in America should see this! 5 stars
2/01/04 rich smith awesome film - give me that BIG MAC 5 stars
1/29/04 Randy Smith This was great! Super size this movie. Can't wait til it comes out in theatres! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-May-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Sep-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Jun-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast