More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.87

Awesome: 14.29%
Worth A Look65.71%
Average: 14.29%
Pretty Bad: 4.29%
Total Crap: 1.43%

5 reviews, 40 user ratings



Backdraft
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"'Right be-FUCKING-side me!'"
4 stars

"I told you to stay beside me! Right be-FUCKING-side me!" Mmmmmm I love it when Kurt gets all mad. He's so sexy.

Kurt Russel is the compelling antihero in this man vs. the fire-beast drama. William Baldwin is the young rookie/brother who has to deal with his own feelings of competetion in order to achieve his goals. Jennifer Jason Leigh is a stupid horny slut. Rebecca DeMornay is the neglected wife. DeNiro is the mentor. And surprise surprise Sutherland is the looney.

The cinematography is stunning in this movie. Direction is superb. Writing is also well done. The plot is captivating. A little predictable perhaps, but who cares. The pictures are stunning and this movie is your basic coming of age drama. There is love, there is loss...there is competetion and betrayal, and since this is the nineties, we gotta deal with issues from our childhood, don't we?

DeNiro is really good in a supporting role. I think he should do it more often. Russel is mean enough for us to dislike him, but he does that "i'm tough but sensitive inside" face good enough that we don't hate him. Baldwin is...he's a Baldwin. he does his job. Sutherland is scary and I don't want to think about him.

The biggest fault of this movie is dialog. It's pisspoor. Corny to the fault of being distracting. But if you kinda shut it out and look at the effects and the drama, it shouldn't ruin it for you.

In short, this movie is worth your time. 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=866&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/04/98 08:38:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell lame script good acting & effects 4 stars
12/15/13 mr.mike Not bad despite a dopey climax and overlong running time. 4 stars
9/22/13 Jeff Wilder Cliched script. But performances and FX save it. 3 stars
3/01/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING MELODRAMA WITH GOOD SPECIAL EFFECTS 3 stars
3/07/07 David Pollastrini Not great not terrible 3 stars
5/07/06 chienne Yeah, it was alright, impressive uniforms, great soundtrack 4 stars
4/27/06 scott robinson what's it rated? on this entire site i cannot find a 'rated r, pg, what' 4 stars
4/24/05 Quigley great action movie, but it easily could have been titled "the F word" 3 stars
1/27/05 Jeff Anderson A big disappointment. The fire effects are amazing, but a weak script & acting suffer. 2 stars
10/25/04 Chris Average 2 stars
10/23/04 UMER deniro was great and desrved more screen time 3 stars
8/08/04 Norman Hollingsworth Great effects, short on plot 4 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot The script isn't great but the cast and the effects are.I really enjoyed it. 4 stars
2/18/04 john good fire effects but the movie is a bit on the nose and overblown 3 stars
1/18/04 steve andrews This near perfect action drama excels, despite the miscast Billy Baldwin. 5 stars
10/21/03 sam brown it was really exciting 5 stars
8/31/03 R. D. Miller Pretty cool for a hollywood flick about fire 4 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Simply awful. Script is all over the place, and the characters are all cliches. 1 stars
11/11/02 mark andrew kenniston this movie is the best movie ever rent it 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum I smell smoke...it must be Jennifer Jason Leigh 4 stars
9/17/02 Murray H To be honest, I bought the film, but it doesn't take 2 minutes to get on the truck! 4 stars
7/12/02 KMG Doesn't stand the test of time well, but is still pretty good. 4 stars
5/28/02 R.W. Welch Some flaming good cinematography here but could have used a rewrite. 3 stars
12/09/01 toh Cockamammy plot, about an hour too long, and melodramatic as hell. Fire effects ok though. 2 stars
11/30/01 Shams Huque Entertaining. Superb fire sequences. Fine musical score. 5 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth On a short list of good Kurt Russell flicks. He is a shithead. 5 stars
6/19/01 Joe Russo Damn Fucking Awesome 4 stars
2/28/01 Dmitriy I like this movie because I dream to become a firefighter 5 stars
2/25/01 Ian Camwell realy radical spectacular special effects 5 stars
2/16/01 Jake mediocre with lots of cheese 3 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla Great FX , good film 4 stars
12/02/00 Angela Murtagh Great film...kept you going...one of my favorites! 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Astounding special effects with a bit of humor; a must-see 4 stars
4/12/00 Elvisfan at turns melodramatic, stupid, spectacular; VERY sad in part, too-best acting is by Kurt 4 stars
3/18/99 Madcap the fire was alive...that was the cool part...the actors weren't, that part sucked 3 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness crted through the whole movie! mostly because it really hit home! 5 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep FIRE!! FIRE!! But why was Hannibal Lecter in this though? 3 stars
9/26/98 Armageddon Top notch film. Production and directing, along with acting, is top notch. 5 stars
9/15/98 Badass One of those movie you have to see in full screen, cuz the LTBX crops Jennifer Leigh's tits 4 stars
9/15/98 tessSpork great entertainment-defenetly not boring 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-1991 (R)
  DVD: 19-Sep-2006

UK
  02-Jul-1991 (15)

Australia
  02-Jul-1991 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast