More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome: 13.82%
Worth A Look32.24%
Average: 19.74%
Pretty Bad: 23.68%
Total Crap: 10.53%

10 reviews, 92 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


50 First Dates
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Hawaii and brain damage... comedy gold? Maybe."
4 stars

As corny as Adam Sandler films may get, you gotta give him credit for sometimes trying new approaches to making his brand of comedy films.

Using mental illness as a comedic subject is nothing new... Tom Hanks did a few sketches on Saturday Night Live as "Mr. Short Term Memory". Yet one doesn't want to be branded as being cruel to the mentally-challenged in modern-day PC Hollywood. So Adam treads carefully here, focusing as much on the romantic storyline as the mental condition.

The condition basically is this: Lucy (Drew Barrymore), a resident of a small village in Hawaii, suffered a massive head injury in an automobile accident a year ago, damaging her short-term memory. As a result, every time she wakes up in the morning she thinks it's her father's birthday and performs the same routine day after day, to the chagrin of her father and brother, who painfully accommodate her in her perpetual rituals. And whatever transpires during the day in the days after her wreck is totally wiped out of her mind when she goes to sleep at night, as if one of the Men In Black sneaked in and "neuralyzed" her.

All of a sudden, a strange man enters her life: Henry Roth (Sandler), a veterinarian at a marine park on the other side of the island. In between his womanizing of the female tourists, Henry's pastime is fixing up his old rundown fishing boat in the hopes of one day sailing it up to Alaska. A boat mishap strands Henry in Lucy's part of the island. He decides to kill some time at a little diner, where he meets Lucy making buildings out of her waffles, like she's been doing every day for the past year.

Suddenly, Henry is in love with Lucy, and is willing to do whatever it takes to win her heart and overcome her trauma, with some help from his friend Ula (Rob Schneider), his walrus and his pet penguin.

I don't what it is about the Drewski, but she seems to make a Sandler film more palatable and endearing, just like when she graced The Wedding Singer with her presence six years ago. The usual Sandler staples are here - cornball characters, lowbrow jokes, a little guitar ditty, a celebrity cameo in the form of SNL charter member Dan Aykroyd as Lucy's doctor - but somehow this particular outing doesn't leave as much of a bad aftertaste as most of Sandler's previous works... in fact, the aftertaste does have a pina colada flavor to it, at least. And the animals are cute, anyways.

So, yeah, I'll go easy on the guy this time. 50 First Dates just barely merits four-star status for its ingenuity amidst the Sandler stand-bys.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8698&reviewer=9
originally posted: 06/21/04 01:05:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/09/14 Heidi Embrey Love this movie. Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore have great chemistry together 5 stars
2/19/13 the truth a real man only needs 1 3 stars
11/19/12 Sean Harrison Not that grate but still better than anything Sandler has done recently. 3 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Has some funny moments, but not enough to make up for a dumb ("cute") ending 2 stars
10/25/10 Frank Fontaine If you stop and think about it for 1 second a very depressing movie. Agressively unfunny. 1 stars
9/27/10 jennifer kimberly super funny never get tired of it 4 stars
3/06/09 Elaine i love this film so much.. i saw it with my friends.. and i fell in love with it!! 5 stars
11/28/08 Shaun Wallner Very Funny! 4 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight Adam Sandler is no longer evil. He makes good movies now 4 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr i really liked this movie! very funny. but sad at the end. 4 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White Sweet romantic comedy one to see over and over 5 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia You'll laugh, you'll puke, you'll roll your eyes, you'll lapse into a diabetic coma. 4 stars
5/11/07 MP Bartley I'm with Rob - surprisingly sweet, touching and winning despite Schneider's awful presence 4 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Unfunny and as deep as a thin crust pizza, this marks the beggining of the end for sandler. 3 stars
4/04/07 David Pollastrini Drew Barrymore is hot in this! 4 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold creative, funny, probably Sandler's best, what more can convert you to watching? 5 stars
3/06/07 Robin Hudspeth Really a tragic story underlying some good comedy. 5 stars
2/01/07 Matt Silly premise, but who cares? Light fluff, enjoy it for what it is. 3 stars
12/06/06 Sharon I LOVE this movie! Great love comedy, A+! 5 stars
11/30/06 Stanley Thai A good funny film. 4 stars
7/10/06 R.W.Welch Hardly Neil Simon stuff, but has some effective scenes. 3 stars
7/08/06 NS Rob Schneider is hilarious! 4 stars
6/09/06 Wendy I love the film very much ! 4 stars
5/18/06 Roy Drew, as cute as ever 4 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Barrymore and Sandler were good once, don't push it! 2 stars
4/28/06 Annie G The only Adam Sandler film I like ... in fact, I actually bought this one. 4 stars
3/07/06 Steven Lewis Adam Sandler is still just as funny in a more calm romantic comedy. 4 stars
12/20/05 kr another great Adam Sandler movie gotta love it 4 stars
12/10/05 cody a very good movie staring adam and drew in best perfomances ever, nice ending 4 stars
8/31/05 natalie love it 5 stars
7/18/05 Nicole Eh....not really my type of film, as I typically do not like Adam Sandler 2 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel Hey Drew...lisping isn't acting. 1 stars
5/12/05 Mike Better than I expected, quite funny in parts. 3 stars
4/11/05 The Talking Elbow Great Premise meets bad Rob Schneider and Sandler jokes 3 stars
2/10/05 Just Me Horrible, like every other Sandler movie. 2 stars
1/29/05 blueviolet Such a sweet love story, one of my faves 5 stars
1/27/05 Stephanie It was an awesome movie, but not the GREATEST from Drew and Adam 4 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams I thought it was cute. 4 stars
10/28/04 Georgie Porgie How sweet was Doug! lother doth the dithes 5 stars
9/27/04 silver I like how Adam Sandler carried the movie 4 stars
7/31/04 John Aster Habig it's ok but Roger Ebert has really lowered the bar 4 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz Different,sometimes funny & sad. 4 stars
7/23/04 Jannet Kwan This movie is sort of funny. Rob Schneider stole the show! 3 stars
7/21/04 Harry J Barely an average rating. Not half as good as Happy Gilmore. 3 stars
7/17/04 legend A fairly decent date movie. Had some funny moments. 4 stars
7/09/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen How does the doctor know what J. Edgar Hoover's ass looked like? Apart from a few moments, 2 stars
7/06/04 James Kustes One of the worst Sandler movies 1 stars
7/05/04 michaelb14 one of Sandlers better, a funny sweet movie 4 stars
6/27/04 cinkcool Not bad. 4 stars
6/22/04 Marc Basque One of Sandler's better films...though that's not saying much. 3 stars
5/29/04 J Drew Barrymore and Sandler work great together! 4 stars
5/25/04 Sheila Evans At least Drew Scarymore is a bit less scary than when she played Helen Zass. 3 stars
4/15/04 Jeff MacIver Aside from some strange Sandler-movie moments, I *really* enjoyed this light comedy. 4 stars
4/13/04 ME AWESOME! 5 stars
4/13/04 Chris Sandler made up for "Anger Mangement" with this. Cute, funny but still Sandle = gross 4 stars
4/08/04 Valarie Funny!! 5 stars
4/05/04 David Ground Hog Day clone, but an extremely funny one 5 stars
4/05/04 Charlene Javier Worth the price of admission. 4 stars
3/29/04 Blues Singer Babe Awesome i luv the walrus and the penguin ULA ROKS! 5 stars
3/26/04 Vikki Fox very funny and entertaining 4 stars
3/26/04 Amy Adam and Drew team up once again for another unforgettable romantic comedy 4 stars
3/24/04 Reini Urban Drew was always one of favorites, and though it's not a top movie I love it. 5 stars
3/24/04 sophia 2 THUMBS UP 5 stars
3/21/04 avinash its a good date movie!! 4 stars
3/19/04 sarah nicole is going to be famous one day! f*** see her movies!nicoles beautiful! 5 stars
3/18/04 rachel burke its okay not good or bad 3 stars
3/18/04 Maria Loved the show!! A must see!! 5 stars
3/17/04 Mike Erdelyi I had a great time at the Flick It was a good time. 3 stars
3/16/04 alex funny.. at times. most adam sandler movies are funny though 3 stars
3/14/04 E-Rock A cute movie, with funny moments abound. Could do without Schneider, though... 4 stars
3/12/04 Phyllis Not as good as The Wedding Singer, but if you liked that, you'll probably like this one too 4 stars
3/08/04 Marthe Roe enjoy the movie very much 4 stars
3/05/04 Goofy Maxwell Sun-baked Sandler-Barrymore for mindless consumption?... Brilliant! 4 stars
3/01/04 Sir Spam-a-Lot Freaky, but better than expected 3 stars
3/01/04 sarah clarke excellent 5 stars
2/29/04 actionjackson2099 Rob Schnieder was hilarious but, Drew Barrymore isn't the best actress for a comedy. 3 stars
2/23/04 8=====D it was repetive and boring and sad,dull as dirt plot 2 stars
2/22/04 nancy liked it the 1st time i saw it, LOVED it the 2nd time, as it really grew on me! 4 stars
2/20/04 LEHUA IT WAS AIIGHT, HAWAII SCENES WAS SWEET 3 stars
2/19/04 Cheeseball!!! I love this movie !!! It's my all time favourite! 5 stars
2/18/04 Allie E. I thought this movie showed the sensitive and loving side of Adam Sandler. It was great. 4 stars
2/18/04 Jin This drivel is an insult to Groundhog Day. 1 stars
2/18/04 wicked_3 IT BLOWS 1 stars
2/17/04 ian TERRIBLE 1 stars
2/17/04 Henry Kay I kind of liked it. It's Sandler not Sean Penn. It entertains. 3 stars
2/17/04 Ned Rubin Execrable,exploitative sophmoric "comedy" by and about the brain damaged. 1 stars
2/16/04 T.Kittlitz Great Movie - Makes you feel good 5 stars
2/16/04 Linzo The best part of the movie was the Hawaii scenes. And that just sucks. 1 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Anyone who enjoys this type of shit needs to have their fucking head caved in with a brick. 1 stars
2/15/04 Tony this is getting some harsh reviews 4 stars
2/14/04 cd funny 5 stars
2/13/04 Todd Typical Sandler bullshit. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Feb-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 15-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Mar-2004


Directed by
  Peter Segal

Written by
  George Wing
  Lowell Ganz
  Babaloo Mandel

Cast
  Adam Sandler
  Drew Barrymore
  Sean Astin
  Missi Pyle
  Rob Schneider
  Dan Aykroyd



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast