More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.41

Awesome61.9%
Worth A Look: 28.57%
Average: 3.17%
Pretty Bad: 1.59%
Total Crap: 4.76%

2 reviews, 51 user ratings



Beauty and the Beast (1991)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"How can you read this? There are no pictures in it!"
4 stars

Tale as old as time....

I'm all for Disney. Big fan of the animated projects. And this was the movie that got me interested in animation again, not as a kid, but now as an adult.

The story you know: Belle (voice of Paige O'Hara) stays in the castle of the Beast (Robby Benson!) in order to save her father. Beast falls for Belle, but he can only change from Beast to handsome prince if Belle loves him for who he is. What will come between them is Gaston (Richard White), the boorish oaf of a man who wants Belle as his own, even if he has to off the Beast to do it.

The animation here is spectacular, although if you've read spork-girl's review you know about the obvious transition from traditional animation to computer generated backgrounds in the ballroom scene. It bothers me, too, but I still think that on the whole it's really well done. This was also the first instance of the curvier Disney heroine. Belle was the first to be given more of a bustline (useless trivia, but trivia nonetheless). There's also the typical Disney staples: songs out the yingyang (although most are memorable) and a white-haired father figure who's basically inept.

But it works.

I also like the voice work here, particularly from Paige O'Hara and Angela Lansbury (as Mrs. Potts). But for my money, you can't get much better than Jerry Orbach as Lumiere.

Worth the rental, and not just for the kids.

Oh, there's the usual things: flowers, chocolates, promises you don't intend to keep...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=872&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/29/98 01:51:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/07/15 WALTER BEST DISNEY FILM SINCE SNOW WHITE AND THE SEVEN DWARFS,SLEEPING BEAUTY and PINOCCHIO. 5 stars
10/02/13 Neil Not quite as good as the aladdin but still a winner 5 stars
10/02/11 sarai aguilar best movie my favorite love it more than any other princess movie 5 stars
4/05/11 Jennifer Marquardt beautiful, fun music, could have a cuter prince 4 stars
3/19/10 PAUL SHORTT ELEGEANT, ENCHANTING AND WELL ANIMATED 4 stars
4/24/09 Dominic BEAUTY & THE BEAST is the best film since SNOW WHITE,PINOCCHIO,FANTASIA,DUMBO and BAMBI. 5 stars
3/22/09 Heather Jones My favourite film ever. I actually want to be Belle. 5 stars
12/01/08 Little Buddy Disney's best animated feature movie film since THE JUNGLE BOOK. 5 stars
8/27/08 Little Buddy Beauty And The Beast is released in 1991 after DuckTales The Movie. 5 stars
8/15/08 Shaun Wallner Great film!! 5 stars
6/21/08 lucy love the story line and everything about this movie 5 stars
2/04/08 Pamela White Great story and memorable songs 5 stars
3/16/07 johnnyfog Everybody misses the Beast when he turns back into that pretty boy prince. 5 stars
3/01/07 Nati The best animated movie I have ever seen!!! 5 stars
11/11/06 David Cohen Hard to believe, but there was a time Disney put storytelling above political messages 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another Disney legend I grew up with; very awesomely depicted "Beast" Good for all ages!!!! 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena thigs aren't what they seem. movie for any child. 5 stars
4/29/06 Jack Meh 1 stars
3/11/06 c reed and bake sale ridiculously amazing i watch it every day of the week 5 stars
11/03/05 audra i just love the story and the animation is fantastic 5 stars
10/22/05 ines I loved the movie!! It is my favourite!!! 5 stars
10/02/05 Lionman Great film babe. 5 stars
6/17/05 Quigley absolutey horrible disney drivel. the animation is good, but the story is made of cardboard 1 stars
5/11/04 Sean Scanlan Wonderful Disney movie 5 stars
2/18/04 john very good film which comes close even to the old classics 4 stars
12/25/03 Ed Cowell One of the finest,most honest films ever made 5 stars
9/01/03 Kitty B. lov it but lionking is still my fav 5 stars
8/26/03 Eloise caught myself humming the tunes......keep 'em comming disney 5 stars
8/02/03 DM Truly touching 5 stars
5/23/03 Ryan F. My favorite animated movie ever. 5 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Nice, but no The Lion King 4 stars
11/11/02 R.W. Welch Effective retelling of ancient tale with strong score and fine animation. 5 stars
10/25/02 qtpie A GREAT FILM 5 stars
10/24/02 Flounder I hate Disney with a passion but have to admit that this one is superb 5 stars
7/30/02 Burlap Mac You want movie magic? Fucking watch this 5 stars
3/04/02 Frances So totally cute. 5 stars
12/22/01 travis one of the best!! 5 stars
8/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Far to sopy. 3 stars
8/25/01 PoisonIvy Is it me or Disney promoting of beastility? 5 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart My favorite of the Disney movies (But it is Disney after all) 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is the 2nd in a line of successful Disney movies. Mermaid-Hunchback! 5 stars
1/15/01 Stewart Ball The best of the modern Disney movies. The characters are three-deminsional and great. 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin 5 stars? you must be joking 2 stars
8/05/00 Jed A good disney film not the best but perfectly alright disney fare. 4 stars
6/13/00 Bruce THE best animated movie EVER. 5 stars
3/31/00 Brett Davies The best movie ever made 5 stars
3/19/00 David Rogers This is boring and didn't live up to the romors that I heard. 1 stars
11/17/99 April wonderful family film 5 stars
7/18/99 Ann The dance scene still gives me chills 5 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep Until Hunchback came around this was disney's best film in ages. 5 stars
9/21/98 Miss Stress disney just went down hill after little mermaid. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Nov-1991 (G)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast