More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look58.33%
Average: 11.11%
Pretty Bad: 5.56%
Total Crap: 0%

2 reviews, 24 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Pacific Rim: Uprising by alejandroariera

Unsane by Peter Sobczynski

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Addams Family, The
[] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

4 stars

You have to see this, if only to see how cool Christina Ricci was before she grew that attitude.

Truly, this is one of the more finely crafted pieces of comedy to come in modern times. Very surreal, very very morbid--I love it!!! And lots of laughs. PLus, Lurch is in it. C'mon! Not to mention Thing and the scores of other colorful characters.

But the best part of this movie is the absurd, silly, crazy, contrived plotline. Needless to say, long lost brothers and amnesia play a large role. But more than that the little moments stand out and make it worthwhile to see over and over again. Wednesday asking to be passed the salt. What do we say, dear? NOW! Haha. I love Wednesday.

All the acting is perfectly over the top. This is never serious. Nor should it be, for we like it as is, absurdists and insane.

An oustanding comedy. Most defiantely different from the normal Hollywood slop. 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/07/98 15:38:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/02/17 Charles Tatum It's classic. 3 stars
2/11/08 Pamela White very funny in a twisted way 4 stars
3/28/07 Mark Louis Baumgart Fast paced and funny. The Addams live in their own little world. I wanna live there. 5 stars
3/16/07 johnnyfog I forgot how pretty Anjelica Huston was. Frickin funny movie 5 stars
9/13/06 David Cohen Captures the feel of the comic very well 4 stars
10/28/04 Daveman Underrated comedy sequal, the female lead performances are what really make it so much fun 3 stars
5/22/04 John well designed with a good cast but the film is terribly uninvolving 2 stars
4/30/02 Monster W. Kung It was supposed to be an improvement on TV show, but it's really much worse. 2 stars
4/02/02 Brandy Little I'm A Huge Fan Of Anjelica Huston, So Of Course I Love This Movie 5 stars
3/11/02 Emilia Perfect cast....wish I could understand what the hell Itt was talking about . 5 stars
9/13/01 Butterbean They took a horrible TV series and made an awesome movie! 5 stars
9/01/01 Henry Ginsberg I liked Anjelica Huston in this movie.She actualy manages to make Satanism look sexy. 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk, yeah. 4 stars
6/10/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker A little slow but has a good share of very funny moments 4 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden It was cute, but everything falls apart, and it loses its momentum. 3 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin very dark and hilarious 4 stars
2/22/00 Bozo makes me cry in the beginning cause i miss Raul Julia who was great as Gomez 5 stars
8/21/99 Olivia Neutron-Bomb Christina was sexier here than she is now. 4 stars
5/29/99 Bob, Lord of Evil I liked this one a bit more than the sequel, but only for the Mamushka. 5 stars
3/30/99 Ah Dooey Totally rad! 5 stars
2/19/99 nun uf u r businness I love it!! It's soooo incredibly awesome Christina Ricci's awesome as Wensday! 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Neither inspired or disappointing. If you liked the TV series..... 3 stars
9/26/98 Maegs Definatly funny 4 stars
9/24/98 katherine a little wierd, but what do u expect? i liked it. i t was funny. 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  22-Nov-1991 (PG-13)

  13-Dec-1991 (PG)

  26-Dec-1991 (PG)

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast