More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome: 23.6%
Worth A Look28.09%
Average: 11.24%
Pretty Bad: 13.48%
Total Crap: 23.6%

5 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eurotrip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Yes, let's spread our childish depravity all over Europe. Great."
1 stars

One knows what they're in for when going to see a teenage sex farce like "Eurotrip"...so it's not exactly fair to knock the movie for being sloppily written or poorly directed. (Guilty on both counts.) Quality filmmaking or original concepts aside, the laughs are the only real key, and this movie offers precisely...none.

As I sat and had the lukewarm slapstick pap that is Eurotrip ooze over me, my hopeful mood slowly souring into contempt, I had time to wonder about what happened to that kid who used to love the Teen Sex Comedies. Growing up in the mid-80s, there were two sub-genres that churned out a seemingly endless deluge of product: the slasher movie and the teen sex comedy.

My friends and I devoured 'em all. From The First Turn On to The Last American Virgin, from Private Lessons to Private School. My Tutor and My Chaueffeur had some Fast Times at Ridgemont High, started Losin' It, did some Homework and got into a little Mischief. Screwballs, Porky's, Hardbodies...

...and on and on. So why was it that someone weaned on the finest slob comedies could not find the humor in something as slipshod and juvenile as Eurotrip?

It's probably for the same reason that I never watch any of those old movies anymore: they're just terrible. (Fast Times notwithstanding, obviously.)

It's rare to find an eight-letter movie title that's capable of describing the film's entire plot, but Eurotrip accomplishes just that; it's about four teenagers who wander through Europe. The experience will cost you eight bucks and 80-some minutes. In return for your efforts you'll receive four or five broad and obvious set-pieces that wouldn't make the cut on Mad TV. And that's saying something.

In an obvious effort to include just enough sex to fill the trailers and TV spots with, Eurotrip features material of a frank and vulgar nature. It's too bad that frankess and vulgarity don't automatically result in effective comedy. Eurotrip is the sort of movie that considers French Kissing Between Siblings as the pinnacle of all things hilarious. And what's NOT funny about a guy having a sex toy jammed up his ass?

Eurotrip is virtually bereft of laughs (and criminally wasteful of young actress Michelle Trachtenberg), and this only serves to highlight the scattershot direction by a trio of former sitcom joke-writers. (You write the screenplay for The Cat in the Hat and your reward is getting to direct Eurotrip? Is this Bizzaro World?) Schaffer clearly hopes that the exotic European settings will overshadow his ham-fisted approach to even the most simplistic dialogue scene; the faceless performers (save for the slumming Ms. Trachtenberg) mutter through their one-dimensional schtick with an air of bored indifference. Only Matt Damon, in a wacko cameo role, brings any life to the whole desperate affair. Logically, he vanishes after the first 12 minutes.

This one's so laughless, so charmless, and so resoundingly amateurish that one wonders why it doesn't carry a "National Lampoon Presents" in front of the title.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8747&reviewer=128
originally posted: 02/21/04 18:34:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/11/13 Charles Tatum Armisen is funny, the rest is not. 1 stars
3/18/11 art PURE MONKEY BUSSINESS! 4 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 4 stars
1/20/08 Dan huntley BEST FILM EVER. Screw the bar-studs who rated this fantastic film poorly. 5 stars
7/28/07 matt amateurish but really funny 5 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini hot chicks, not much else 2 stars
11/02/06 3man Disgustingly funny. One of the few movies to make me laugh out loud. 4 stars
9/19/06 PD Uneven but well-meaning, bejeweled with many comedic gems 4 stars
7/13/06 EZ I LOVE BOOBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/13/06 room42more Poorly written and directed, but still entertaining 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a cool sequel to roadtrip, funny and has sexy girls to boot, use her leg for a humping post 4 stars
9/14/05 matt ignore the critics, absolutely hilarious 5 stars
8/08/05 ffffffffffffff great 5 stars
7/20/05 JayJay NielNiel WimerWimmer Smith IT ROCKED OMG I LOVE IT I WANNA DO JAMIE 5 stars
2/14/05 Littlepurch Had low expectations but actualy laughed harder than i have in ages! Trachtenburg was best. 5 stars
2/03/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble A badly made movie, but funny in spots. 3 stars
1/20/05 X-naut lol as funny as american pie but cooper is no stifler ^_^ 5 stars
1/15/05 Pee-Wee Herman So, good I help but touch myself 5 stars
1/04/05 M. Diddy This was very funny 5 stars
12/25/04 Freddy hilarious stuff. I can't believe all the bad ratings! 5 stars
12/18/04 Imperfecto Why can't we all just get along? 1 stars
11/12/04 Balint ***** 5 stars
9/27/04 P.Rodriguez about as funny as a wet fart 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Funny 4 stars
8/11/04 howdinski a very funny film well worthe a watch by any one who enjoyed the first 1 or american pie 4 stars
8/09/04 Kerry It was so raunchy it was funny. 5 stars
8/04/04 Max heh heh Fluggenhaimer I mean this is definetly where I parked my car 5 stars
7/04/04 petelb The "worst movie ever made". This movie is plain garbage! 1 stars
6/25/04 Gray better than soul plane 3 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 cheech and chong woud be proud, made it up as they were filming it! i was embarrased! 2 stars
6/09/04 phoenix Very funny. Matt Damon was hilarious, and heMic 4 stars
6/03/04 Collin Dumb, shallow, potintless and grossly offensive are the terms that best describe this film 1 stars
5/22/04 Sheila Evans One of the better "teen" comedies. A few farts from fight cast members would make perfect! 4 stars
5/16/04 zxc this movie sucks 2 stars
5/16/04 Jenny is right! Sadistic sex is the worst! But I would have expected EricDSnider to report this film to the Pissing Children's Network 4 stars
5/15/04 Jenny Tullwartz (EricDSnider, please note:) Not all of us find defecation (even occasional vomiting) more gross-out than sadistic sex. 4 stars
5/15/04 Stephanie Throckmorton Best feelgood escapist comedy in years. Enjoyable from start to finish. 5 stars
4/29/04 luke matt damon cameo was great 5 stars
3/19/04 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Likable characters and some cool songs. "SCOTTY DOESN'T KNOW!" 5 stars
3/16/04 alex you got mail madafaka.. I almost pissed my pants :)This Movie is funnier then Amer. Pie 1,2 4 stars
3/07/04 FrayLo While somewhat predictable, it was still funny and worth seeing. 4 stars
3/03/04 A F Kyle, why did you see it then? Funny, nice to see something less serious! 4 stars
3/01/04 chris Quite funny - laughed soooo hard 4 stars
2/29/04 actionjackson2099 I thought it was good movie just a step down from Old School and Roadtrip. 4 stars
2/28/04 Kyle Fuck you people. Sucked ass, just like I knew it would. 1 stars
2/26/04 Angolmois Had some chuckles, but not when it was trying to be funny. 2 stars
2/25/04 susan lee totally sucked 1 stars
2/25/04 Star Piss your pants funny!!! 5 stars
2/25/04 Bullshit Detector Surprisingly unfunny , predictable, and lame movie. How'd it get made? 1 stars
2/24/04 josh garbe An amazing movie! My favorite! 5 stars
2/23/04 Greg R. Very good. New stars acquit themselves very well, especially the actor playing Cooper. 4 stars
2/23/04 Igor If you don't take everything so seriously you will laugh your ass off. 5 stars
2/22/04 Paul It was funny as hell 5 stars
2/22/04 Julie Wenders the movie never takes off, only to be held back by all its cheap juvenile antics. 2 stars
2/22/04 Clay Rains Pretty typical and predictable. 2 stars
2/22/04 jdogg Watch Dawn from Buffy mumble through her nose for 90 minutes? Wish I'd said no, thanks. 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Funny 4 stars
2/21/04 KingNeutron Some parts were just WRONG; but on the whole, funny. Lucy L could have done better. 4 stars
2/21/04 nick oswaldo has it moments (the others arent bad either) 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Feb-2004 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2011

UK
  30-Apr-2004 (15)

Australia
  12-Aug-2004 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast