More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome: 23.6%
Worth A Look28.09%
Average: 11.24%
Pretty Bad: 13.48%
Total Crap: 23.6%

5 reviews, 59 user ratings



Eurotrip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Eurotrash."
1 stars

Slapdash, sub-standard teen comedy for even an imitation of an imitation of the American Pie-styled sex romps about a loser who blows off his German e-pen pal whom he has always mistaken for a guy, and upon discovering his faux pas, dashes off to Europe with his best friend (an even bigger loser), meeting up with a brother-and-sister set of twins they just graduated with, all in order to track down das reizvoll Mädchen that he obviously can’t know too much about, except that judging from the picture he’s seen of her, she’s hot.

The movie’s whole motivation for taking place in Europe is clearly the association with free — or at least freer — sex and sexuality; however, the distinction between how those subjects are handled by Americans posing as Europeans, and real Europeans, is distinct enough when superficially compared to The Dreamers. Here we have a movie that basely attempts to create humor from the twins who accidentally make out and cannot face each other without chagrin, while the other movie treats the incestuous relationship so maturely, it tries to provoke titillation and eroticism from it — different levels and interpretations of horniness. (The inclusion of a beach of penises doesn’t make this any closer to resembling a European product.) If it weren’t for the fact that the filmmakers of this doubtfully set foot outside of the United States in the process of making it, relieving all liability of any European country, this would better be called Eurotrash. This inexcusably slums along the bottom-most surface of trashiness and crassiness throughout the entirety of its running time, devoid of laughs, and with the direction of curled lips only pointing down. (Could it be possible that the screenwriters were actually laughing to themselves as they inanely set up and poorly executed the sequence where the bell being mistakenly tolled leads the incorrect presumption that the Pope has died and Loser Number One accidentally taken for his replacement? Could it be possible that they even smiled to themselves the first time the gag with the Italian who kept molesting the foursome when the train went into a dark tunnel was used, let alone the subsequent times?) No less perverse and pathetic than these proceedings, is seeing Michelle Trachtenberg turned into a sex object when just a few years ago she was being washed bare-chested by Rosie O’Donnell in Harriet the Spy. With Scott Mechlowicz, Jacob Pitts, Travis Wester, and Jessica Boehrs; directed by Jeff Schaffer.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8747&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/07/04 16:16:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/11/13 Charles Tatum Armisen is funny, the rest is not. 1 stars
3/18/11 art PURE MONKEY BUSSINESS! 4 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 4 stars
1/20/08 Dan huntley BEST FILM EVER. Screw the bar-studs who rated this fantastic film poorly. 5 stars
7/28/07 matt amateurish but really funny 5 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini hot chicks, not much else 2 stars
11/02/06 3man Disgustingly funny. One of the few movies to make me laugh out loud. 4 stars
9/19/06 PD Uneven but well-meaning, bejeweled with many comedic gems 4 stars
7/13/06 EZ I LOVE BOOBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/13/06 room42more Poorly written and directed, but still entertaining 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a cool sequel to roadtrip, funny and has sexy girls to boot, use her leg for a humping post 4 stars
9/14/05 matt ignore the critics, absolutely hilarious 5 stars
8/08/05 ffffffffffffff great 5 stars
7/20/05 JayJay NielNiel WimerWimmer Smith IT ROCKED OMG I LOVE IT I WANNA DO JAMIE 5 stars
2/14/05 Littlepurch Had low expectations but actualy laughed harder than i have in ages! Trachtenburg was best. 5 stars
2/03/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble A badly made movie, but funny in spots. 3 stars
1/20/05 X-naut lol as funny as american pie but cooper is no stifler ^_^ 5 stars
1/15/05 Pee-Wee Herman So, good I help but touch myself 5 stars
1/04/05 M. Diddy This was very funny 5 stars
12/25/04 Freddy hilarious stuff. I can't believe all the bad ratings! 5 stars
12/18/04 Imperfecto Why can't we all just get along? 1 stars
11/12/04 Balint ***** 5 stars
9/27/04 P.Rodriguez about as funny as a wet fart 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Funny 4 stars
8/11/04 howdinski a very funny film well worthe a watch by any one who enjoyed the first 1 or american pie 4 stars
8/09/04 Kerry It was so raunchy it was funny. 5 stars
8/04/04 Max heh heh Fluggenhaimer I mean this is definetly where I parked my car 5 stars
7/04/04 petelb The "worst movie ever made". This movie is plain garbage! 1 stars
6/25/04 Gray better than soul plane 3 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 cheech and chong woud be proud, made it up as they were filming it! i was embarrased! 2 stars
6/09/04 phoenix Very funny. Matt Damon was hilarious, and heMic 4 stars
6/03/04 Collin Dumb, shallow, potintless and grossly offensive are the terms that best describe this film 1 stars
5/22/04 Sheila Evans One of the better "teen" comedies. A few farts from fight cast members would make perfect! 4 stars
5/16/04 zxc this movie sucks 2 stars
5/16/04 Jenny is right! Sadistic sex is the worst! But I would have expected EricDSnider to report this film to the Pissing Children's Network 4 stars
5/15/04 Jenny Tullwartz (EricDSnider, please note:) Not all of us find defecation (even occasional vomiting) more gross-out than sadistic sex. 4 stars
5/15/04 Stephanie Throckmorton Best feelgood escapist comedy in years. Enjoyable from start to finish. 5 stars
4/29/04 luke matt damon cameo was great 5 stars
3/19/04 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Likable characters and some cool songs. "SCOTTY DOESN'T KNOW!" 5 stars
3/16/04 alex you got mail madafaka.. I almost pissed my pants :)This Movie is funnier then Amer. Pie 1,2 4 stars
3/07/04 FrayLo While somewhat predictable, it was still funny and worth seeing. 4 stars
3/03/04 A F Kyle, why did you see it then? Funny, nice to see something less serious! 4 stars
3/01/04 chris Quite funny - laughed soooo hard 4 stars
2/29/04 actionjackson2099 I thought it was good movie just a step down from Old School and Roadtrip. 4 stars
2/28/04 Kyle Fuck you people. Sucked ass, just like I knew it would. 1 stars
2/26/04 Angolmois Had some chuckles, but not when it was trying to be funny. 2 stars
2/25/04 susan lee totally sucked 1 stars
2/25/04 Star Piss your pants funny!!! 5 stars
2/25/04 Bullshit Detector Surprisingly unfunny , predictable, and lame movie. How'd it get made? 1 stars
2/24/04 josh garbe An amazing movie! My favorite! 5 stars
2/23/04 Greg R. Very good. New stars acquit themselves very well, especially the actor playing Cooper. 4 stars
2/23/04 Igor If you don't take everything so seriously you will laugh your ass off. 5 stars
2/22/04 Paul It was funny as hell 5 stars
2/22/04 Julie Wenders the movie never takes off, only to be held back by all its cheap juvenile antics. 2 stars
2/22/04 Clay Rains Pretty typical and predictable. 2 stars
2/22/04 jdogg Watch Dawn from Buffy mumble through her nose for 90 minutes? Wish I'd said no, thanks. 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Funny 4 stars
2/21/04 KingNeutron Some parts were just WRONG; but on the whole, funny. Lucy L could have done better. 4 stars
2/21/04 nick oswaldo has it moments (the others arent bad either) 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Feb-2004 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2011

UK
  30-Apr-2004 (15)

Australia
  12-Aug-2004 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast