More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome: 23.6%
Worth A Look28.09%
Average: 11.24%
Pretty Bad: 13.48%
Total Crap: 23.6%

5 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eurotrip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Accidentally electing a new pope is funny, that's all there is to it."
4 stars

At a high school graduation party, a punk rocker played by Matt Damon sings a song called "Scotty Doesn't Know," about how Scott is unaware that he, the singer, is sleeping with his, Scott's, girlfriend. The joke is that both Scott and the girlfriend are there at the party, Scott standing forlornly amidst a crowd of head-bopping revelers, the girlfriend making out with the singer onstage.

"Scotty Doesn't Know" re-emerges several times in "Eurotrip," each time funnier than the last. It's a rare example of a teen-movie running gag that's actually funny, and it's in good company in this exuberant, unabashedly raunchy tale about the magical powers of hormones and alcohol.

"Eurotrip's" ancestors include "Porky's" and "Risky Business," with the "American Pie" films being its most recent relatives, at least among those that were artistically successful.

Yes, I said artistically. There's an art -- I wouldn't call it a fine art, but an art nonetheless -- to tapping into an adolescent audience's psyche and knowing what will make them laugh. Perhaps surprisingly, it's the same things that make grownups laugh: carefully contrived situations, snappy dialogue and a lighthearted attitude. The only difference for a teen film is that the situations, dialogue and attitude all center around boobs. But the principles are the same.

"Eurotrip," written by Jeff Schaffer (who also directed), Alec Berg and David Mandel -- the trio behind "The Cat in the Hat," unfortunately -- is about Scott's (Scott Mechlowicz) last-minute trip to Europe to meet his hot German pen pal, Mieke (Jessica Boehrs). He is suddenly interested in her romantically because he's been dumped by the aforementioned cheating girlfriend, and because he's only just learned that Mieke is not a guy. (He's been pronouncing it "Mike" all this time.) Scott is accompanied to Europe by Cooper (Jacob Pitts), playing the role of the oversexed, carefree best friend.

They can't get cheap tickets to Berlin, so they settle for London, where they befriend a brutish soccer team and eventually wind up in Paris. (The sight of the team bus indignantly driving the wrong way down every French street, swearing viciously at all who dare oppose them, is supremely funny.) Here they meet up with their old high school friends Jenny (Michelle Trachtenberg) and Jamie (Travis Wester), who are twins. Jenny is considered "one of the guys" by everyone, and Jamie is an uptight control freak who has planned their European vacation down to the minutest, boringest detail. Still, the four are friends, and though it takes some work to convince Jamie to loosen his grip on the itinerary, they set off for Berlin, by way of several other destinations.

Then it's one set piece after another, some funnier than others, but none completely useless or grating. They visit a nude beach, deal with an aggressively affectionate Italian train passenger (Fred Armisen, from "SNL"), partake of the debauchery that is Amsterdam, and accidentally elect a new pope at the Vatican (don't ask).

Though nothing really says "breakout performance," the mostly unknown cast acquits itself winningly and with comedic skill. It helps that the comedy, while outrageous, vulgar, crude and sexual, is not of the gross-out variety. The focus is on sex and drinking, not defecation and vomiting.

Four of the film's eight credited producers also worked on "Old School," another film that was raucously funny but not disgusting. I suspect audiences who enjoyed it will enjoy "Eurotrip," too, whether they are adolescents or merely think like them.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8747&reviewer=247
originally posted: 02/20/04 17:37:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/11/13 Charles Tatum Armisen is funny, the rest is not. 1 stars
3/18/11 art PURE MONKEY BUSSINESS! 4 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 4 stars
1/20/08 Dan huntley BEST FILM EVER. Screw the bar-studs who rated this fantastic film poorly. 5 stars
7/28/07 matt amateurish but really funny 5 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini hot chicks, not much else 2 stars
11/02/06 3man Disgustingly funny. One of the few movies to make me laugh out loud. 4 stars
9/19/06 PD Uneven but well-meaning, bejeweled with many comedic gems 4 stars
7/13/06 EZ I LOVE BOOBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/13/06 room42more Poorly written and directed, but still entertaining 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a cool sequel to roadtrip, funny and has sexy girls to boot, use her leg for a humping post 4 stars
9/14/05 matt ignore the critics, absolutely hilarious 5 stars
8/08/05 ffffffffffffff great 5 stars
7/20/05 JayJay NielNiel WimerWimmer Smith IT ROCKED OMG I LOVE IT I WANNA DO JAMIE 5 stars
2/14/05 Littlepurch Had low expectations but actualy laughed harder than i have in ages! Trachtenburg was best. 5 stars
2/03/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble A badly made movie, but funny in spots. 3 stars
1/20/05 X-naut lol as funny as american pie but cooper is no stifler ^_^ 5 stars
1/15/05 Pee-Wee Herman So, good I help but touch myself 5 stars
1/04/05 M. Diddy This was very funny 5 stars
12/25/04 Freddy hilarious stuff. I can't believe all the bad ratings! 5 stars
12/18/04 Imperfecto Why can't we all just get along? 1 stars
11/12/04 Balint ***** 5 stars
9/27/04 P.Rodriguez about as funny as a wet fart 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Funny 4 stars
8/11/04 howdinski a very funny film well worthe a watch by any one who enjoyed the first 1 or american pie 4 stars
8/09/04 Kerry It was so raunchy it was funny. 5 stars
8/04/04 Max heh heh Fluggenhaimer I mean this is definetly where I parked my car 5 stars
7/04/04 petelb The "worst movie ever made". This movie is plain garbage! 1 stars
6/25/04 Gray better than soul plane 3 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 cheech and chong woud be proud, made it up as they were filming it! i was embarrased! 2 stars
6/09/04 phoenix Very funny. Matt Damon was hilarious, and heMic 4 stars
6/03/04 Collin Dumb, shallow, potintless and grossly offensive are the terms that best describe this film 1 stars
5/22/04 Sheila Evans One of the better "teen" comedies. A few farts from fight cast members would make perfect! 4 stars
5/16/04 zxc this movie sucks 2 stars
5/16/04 Jenny is right! Sadistic sex is the worst! But I would have expected EricDSnider to report this film to the Pissing Children's Network 4 stars
5/15/04 Jenny Tullwartz (EricDSnider, please note:) Not all of us find defecation (even occasional vomiting) more gross-out than sadistic sex. 4 stars
5/15/04 Stephanie Throckmorton Best feelgood escapist comedy in years. Enjoyable from start to finish. 5 stars
4/29/04 luke matt damon cameo was great 5 stars
3/19/04 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Likable characters and some cool songs. "SCOTTY DOESN'T KNOW!" 5 stars
3/16/04 alex you got mail madafaka.. I almost pissed my pants :)This Movie is funnier then Amer. Pie 1,2 4 stars
3/07/04 FrayLo While somewhat predictable, it was still funny and worth seeing. 4 stars
3/03/04 A F Kyle, why did you see it then? Funny, nice to see something less serious! 4 stars
3/01/04 chris Quite funny - laughed soooo hard 4 stars
2/29/04 actionjackson2099 I thought it was good movie just a step down from Old School and Roadtrip. 4 stars
2/28/04 Kyle Fuck you people. Sucked ass, just like I knew it would. 1 stars
2/26/04 Angolmois Had some chuckles, but not when it was trying to be funny. 2 stars
2/25/04 susan lee totally sucked 1 stars
2/25/04 Star Piss your pants funny!!! 5 stars
2/25/04 Bullshit Detector Surprisingly unfunny , predictable, and lame movie. How'd it get made? 1 stars
2/24/04 josh garbe An amazing movie! My favorite! 5 stars
2/23/04 Greg R. Very good. New stars acquit themselves very well, especially the actor playing Cooper. 4 stars
2/23/04 Igor If you don't take everything so seriously you will laugh your ass off. 5 stars
2/22/04 Paul It was funny as hell 5 stars
2/22/04 Julie Wenders the movie never takes off, only to be held back by all its cheap juvenile antics. 2 stars
2/22/04 Clay Rains Pretty typical and predictable. 2 stars
2/22/04 jdogg Watch Dawn from Buffy mumble through her nose for 90 minutes? Wish I'd said no, thanks. 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Funny 4 stars
2/21/04 KingNeutron Some parts were just WRONG; but on the whole, funny. Lucy L could have done better. 4 stars
2/21/04 nick oswaldo has it moments (the others arent bad either) 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Feb-2004 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2011

UK
  30-Apr-2004 (15)

Australia
  12-Aug-2004 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast