More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome37.97%
Worth A Look: 21.52%
Average: 24.05%
Pretty Bad: 5.06%
Total Crap: 11.39%

3 reviews, 61 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Back to the Future Part 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Wild Biff vs. the Delorean!"
3 stars

Although in my opinon the weakiest of the trilogy, this movie is lots of fun, because ZZ Top is in it.

Look for a cameo by the ever bearded ones at the square dance scene.

At the end of the last movie, we had discovered Doc had been sent to the past. 1885 to be exact. To rescue him, Marty also travels back. Once there, they are confronted with several problems in their attempt to return once more to their correct time, 1985. For one thing, Biff ancestor is stirring up trouble. Plus, they're outta gas so the Delorean ain't reaching 88, baby.

This one is weaker, in my mind, because it depends less on clever plot twists and more on emotional ties between characters. Which is fine except one of them is newly intorduced: Doc's love interest. Which if fine, and necessary for the script, but it could have been presented more deeply so we would buy...certain events that happen towards the end. But they always have the excuse that Doc is nutty anyways.

Zemeckis paints as lovely a past as he did a future, and this movie is also fun to see more than once because of his subtle humorous touches.

However, it is such a step below the other two that to me it is worth only 3 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=876&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/08/98 04:57:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell IT SUCKS 3rd time NOT the charm 1 stars
9/19/16 Yaz One of the very best third movies. Fox and Lloyd still have great chemistry, and it's l 5 stars
8/11/15 Cal L A fitting end to the trilogy and a fun homage to the western genre. 5 stars
9/04/14 David Marsden Great ending to a fantastic trilogy. Love all three. 5 stars
12/11/12 Nellie Awesome stuff!! 5 stars
11/26/09 the dork knight Slow in the middle, but enough good scenes to warrant a watch. 4 stars
12/07/08 PAUL SHORTT A DECENT COMBINATION OF COMEDY, SCIENCE FICTION, ROMANCE AND WESTERN 3 stars
7/02/07 mrsinister I don't even like westerns. 2 stars
2/15/07 johnnyfog The weakest of the three, but could be worse I guess 3 stars
12/31/06 R.W.Welch Wraps us the series on exactly the right note. 4 stars
5/20/06 chienne I loved this one, clever and funny, but why do films pick on the Irish accent? 5 stars
1/30/06 WiseMan Great, Better than the 2nd one 5 stars
8/27/05 EZ Great Scott, this film kicks ass 5 stars
6/12/05 Manu Ginobli Great end to a great trilogy. 5 stars
4/15/05 Chris Frint its ok, but a real let down from the first two 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold The western setting annoyed me, but it still blows away most mainstream stuff. 4 stars
2/08/05 Jeff Anderson NOW THIS IS MORE LIKE IT, A GREAT(after the depressing 2nd)CONCLUSION TO THIS FILM SERIES!! 5 stars
11/23/04 alien assassin Great fun from start to finish !!! If only "Return of the Jedi" was this good !!! 5 stars
7/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Better then 2, and a fun ride. 4 stars
6/01/04 Nobody Not as good as #1 but still entertaining 4 stars
5/03/04 I Would A step up from the shite that was Part 2, but still not up to much good. 2 stars
3/28/04 john great conclusion - original, funny with good action sequences 5 stars
3/25/04 Gray intense good morals and funny 5 stars
1/16/04 Littlepurch Brilliant. Really satisfying end to the trilogy & a really worthy successor to the first 2. 5 stars
12/27/03 Dr. Egon Spengler BEST DAMN MOVIE EVER 5 stars
9/28/03 JJ This sequel is very good but not quite as good as the first. 4 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper Script spends more time on "Doc Brown" instead of MJ Fox's whining. Nice effort. 5 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig see the review to the original 5 stars
12/17/02 ben this movie is horrendous yeah i love marty with the accent 1 stars
10/10/02 chris the music is schweet, and the ending is perfect 5 stars
9/24/02 CVJ A disappointing conclusion to the trilogy but still alright 4 stars
8/07/02 Abe Martin This movie is friggin' awesome, just like the rest of the trilogy!! 5 stars
7/11/02 Flounder Not as good as the previous two, but I believe it is still entertaining enough. 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) wth a Jedi the best outta the 3 of dem 5 stars
6/03/02 Charles Tatum They redeem themselves after the awful Part II 4 stars
4/10/02 Butterbean See this only for Green Acres"Mr. Hinkley" say "Run for fun? Who the hell want to do that?" 2 stars
3/15/02 Zargo entertaining, but certainly the weakest, and I'm not a fan of the romance 4 stars
1/27/02 Geo7654 The beginning and end are very good, but the scenes in the old west are uneven. 3 stars
11/30/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Still the little details are still sthere (The Eastwood Ravine) but the old west is not. 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk I loved it. My little brother cried when the car got trashed! That's good filmmaking! 5 stars
6/22/01 Dave there's just something missing 3 stars
6/13/01 Sexy Gotta Love that Time Machine it's ssssssswwwwwwweeeeeeeetttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!! 5 stars
6/05/01 Sam The BTTF films make up such a great trilogy, you can't hate any part of the series. 5 stars
4/05/01 Andrew Carden Totally different then the first two, extremly badly made, boring, unimaginative. 1 stars
3/01/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) The moral of the trilogy?? TIME TRAVEL IS A REAL BIIIIAAAAATCH!!! 4 stars
12/27/00 Turtle A bit disappointing, but still okay. 4 stars
8/23/00 zall fantastic end 5 stars
8/12/00 Justin Terrific ending to the best trilogy, not the best but still great fun! 4 stars
6/18/00 Gen loved the future part! 5 stars
5/30/00 perverted pixie Sci Fi meets spagetti western- always works for me! 5 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright The Western cliches mount up, and the romance is predictable, but its fun most of the time. 3 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 A nice conclusion to the trilogy. Not AS great as the others, but worth a watch. 4 stars
11/23/99 Ralf Behet The series is already running out of steam. Still a funny movie. 4 stars
10/01/99 Doug Paulsen As good as the first 2. 5 stars
4/08/99 Ah Dooey not bad, not too bad at all 4 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce Gee, come on guys. This thing just had no real originality. It was okay... 3 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep A rehash of the first. But that's a good thing. It was fun watching the roles turned around 5 stars
10/03/98 Johny My favorite of the trilogy 5 stars
9/16/98 J-Guy a strong finally for this trilogy. makes you leave wanting more. damn good flick. 5 stars
9/09/98 MikeF I liked it a lot in 1990. it's still good. I was sad when the doc didn't stay with marty. 4 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee Nobody remembered to tell the producers that the gag was over. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-May-1990 (PG)

UK
  02-Jul-1990 (PG)

Australia
  02-Jul-1990 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast