More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome51.76%
Worth A Look: 11.76%
Average: 18.82%
Pretty Bad: 10.59%
Total Crap: 7.06%

3 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"I guess it was kinda funny too."
3 stars

As a child, especially one that watched movies, there were two things I gravitated towards: a) Transformers and b) Turtles.

So, as that fateful day dawned when the movie was released, I leaped like a lovestruck rabid kangaroo attacking a sloth. Yes, I was pretty damned enthusiastic, I must say.

The movie itself was great. I mean, give me a break, I was around 10 at the time. Hardly the age where one would begin to criticize the inner realms and levels of a full fledged motion picture. Give me a break. Though now, in the threshold of adulthood, I can easily look back and say that this franchise was... an odd one.

But that's where imagination comes in. That's why it was attractive to my generation. It was unconventional.

The same would apply to the movie. I mean they used robot turtles! Either that or midgets in turtle suits which isn't bad in itself.

Anyways, that one fact gives this movie merit. Screw the fact it was stupid in terms of acting and plot, it's that it was unlike most movies at the time. It was a respectable movie adaptation of anoter medium's franchise.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=877&reviewer=3
originally posted: 02/04/99 07:41:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

4/09/14 Heidi Embrey Love this movie 5 stars
3/16/12 Sean This was the best of the original TMNT movie series. TMNT 2 & TMNT 4(2007) are good as well 5 stars
3/14/10 PAUL SHORTT MURKY COMIC-BOOK MAYHEM 2 stars
11/29/09 Honey I've gotta agree with the general consensus. EridDSnider, you're as bad as David Denby. 4 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight Still holds up pretty good 5 stars
3/28/07 Sugarfoot One of those movies that you love as a kid, and find harmless as an adult. 3 stars
11/24/06 Dark Enchantress & Jason great movie! Those turtles are hot! 5 stars
11/01/06 Ackles This movie and the 2003 series stay true to the comics. 87 toon and sequels sucked! 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer A true testament to the original comics. Serious kick ass action!!! 5 stars
3/20/06 Klondo you're a snob, EricDSnider, and you aren't funny. 4 stars
2/26/06 Dan Stands the test of time surprisingly well. I liked it as much now as I did as a kid in 1990 5 stars
12/03/05 cr a great cartoon becomes a action packed adventure, cool lines and nice turtle action! 4 stars
9/09/05 tony The best way to start a phenomenon. Filled with stunts and action 5 stars
8/25/05 ES this movie was the best when I was 13, has lost something since then 4 stars
10/29/04 Zach Yes, I do like it..... 5 stars
8/28/04 Brad Best action movie ever 5 stars
8/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Like alot of people, I liked it better as a kid, but it's still not bad 3 stars
6/04/04 Telisha Stamper THAT MOVIE ROCKS! THERE IS NO BETTER MOVIE THAN THE NINJA TURTLE SERIES! 5 stars
5/19/04 Kimberly Carouth It was a great movie! 5 stars
5/01/04 jesse it was a great movie wen i was young 5 stars
4/07/04 MAT S Brilliant appeals to kids and adults unlike the sequels. 5 stars
3/11/04 Mark This movie (despite what critics say!) is a classic and among my top 5 favourite movies 5 stars
1/08/04 betty ann dehart= splinterjunior91@webtv.net TMNT is the greatest, best there ever was,the actors in TMNT are the greatest 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Even as I get older its still a great movie!!] 5 stars
11/19/03 tatum Uh, no 2 stars
8/03/03 TurtlesAllTheWay I thought it was the best movie ever! I'll never get tired of watching it! COWABUNGA! 5 stars
7/29/03 Nicole loves Bret Hart! I did not like Raphael's temper tantrum! 4 stars
6/09/03 The Talking Elbow Instant cult classic 5 stars
6/02/03 Kid-P i watch this movie at least 5 times a week 5 stars
5/17/03 Turtle The best comic book movie ever. And also, the GREATEST lines in the history of film. 5 stars
4/05/03 TMNT fan Terrific costumes, poor acting, ridiculous, but fun, premise+ good fights and funny lines 4 stars
4/02/03 Zach GREAT 5 stars
3/06/03 jay great movie, they took somthing that was a joke and it in 2 awell writed movie 5 stars
3/03/03 May Great movie! 5 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones I loved this movie! Especially the final fight scene with Shredder 5 stars
12/30/02 Turtle Chick! By far the BEST, I MEAN BEST movie ever made! Totally awesome, dudes! 5 stars
12/16/02 Stefano Cricket? Nobody understands cricket... 5 stars
9/16/02 Nickokapo Best...Film...EVER ;) well maybe not, but at least it's my favorite movie. 5 stars
6/11/02 Zefram Mann I had this on video back in the day and wore the tape out. It's a good kids action flick. 5 stars
6/07/02 Charles Tatum Someone got rich off this half baked idea 2 stars
5/31/02 RAPH_fan this movie was pretty good, i hope the cg one will be even better 5 stars
5/13/02 Lord Fury TOTALLY AWESOME DUDES!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/12/02 Kevin You really have to see how bad the second one is to appreciate how good the first is. 4 stars
3/08/02 Butterbean Pokemon and Power Rangers made me yearn for the time the Turtles were popular 4 stars
2/05/02 Tommy Bragan This movie is the best Turtle movie yet to come out but CGI looks like it's going kick ass 5 stars
8/17/01 The turtles The best film i seen that year but its better than pokemon (crap) 5 stars
7/28/01 the scarecrow I did not not like this movie at all. 1 stars
6/10/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker This movie is like STAR TREK: if you're a fan for now, you're a fan for life 5 stars
6/05/01 My name is none of your business Awesome movie as a kid and still is an awesome movie...just saw it again still hillarious 5 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden Kind of dull being an action movie, but OK. 3 stars
2/13/01 the Grinch Like a tab of bad acid... 1 stars
12/27/00 fifu this is a great movie i own it on DVD 4 stars
10/09/00 Samantha Dark, yet entertaining comody. It's hard to find, but worth the effert. 5 stars
9/22/00 Turtle Pull up a seat, get a pizza (hold the anchovies), and watch this movie! 5 stars
7/18/00 Joshua Farrelly Thats the 2nd movie you idiot. This one dosent have Vinilla Ice, this 5 star entertainment 5 stars
5/02/00 Bloodflower The movie is fun. So it's not a drama but it could have been SO much worse. 5 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers I loved the Turtles. Still do, but their big screen debut was not what I expected. 3 stars
2/12/00 steve layne Boy how I loved this as a kid. I still like it today, but im not really proud of it. 4 stars
9/11/99 Jason Kinsey turtles designed as the four horsemen of the apocalypse 1 stars
4/30/99 Sentaia E Poor Raphael *sniffle* 5 stars
2/04/99 Michelle Me Belle I STILL love this movie! The turtles rock! 5 stars
1/18/99 Dasha Oh, this was SO pathetic... Lame, awful, absolutely crappy... 1 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo HAd higher expectations for this. Where is Vanilla Ice nowadays anyhow? 1 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} Made my comic collection worth diddleysquat. God awful. 1 stars
9/28/98 jasper the best in entertainment 5 stars
9/25/98 ShadowStar COWABUNGA!!!! 5 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Sets a new standard in teenage mutant ninja turtle storytelling! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Mar-1990 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast