More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.89

Awesome54.12%
Worth A Look: 8.24%
Average: 18.82%
Pretty Bad: 10.59%
Total Crap: 8.24%

3 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"My 500th Bitchslap!: I sorta had the time of my life"
3 stars

While the original "Dirty Dancing" was a goofball throwback to letting your hair down and cutting loose, this film is a goofball throwback to letting your hair down and cutting loose in Cuba.

It is the fall of 1958. Brainy Katie (Romola Garai) is forced to move to Cuba thanks to Dad's (John Slattery) new job. The family, also including little sis Susie (Mika Boorem) and Mom (the always enchanting Sela Ward) settle in at the Hotel Oceana. Future preppie James (Jonathan Jackson) takes a liking to Katie right away, but Katie has eyes for cute waiter Javier (Diego Luna).

The film addresses racism and pre-revolutionary Cuba, as Katie and Javier grow closer thanks to a mutual love for dancing. Katie wants to loosen up her hoofing skills (Mom and Dad were ballroom dancers), and Javier is more than willing to show her. Of course, Katie does get some advice from PATRICK SWAYZE, doing a cameo and showing these snot nosed young uns that he can still tap a foot and make the ladies swoon. Katie and Javier keep their dancing a secret, and practice for the big dance contest. There is plenty of dancing, and kissing, but then Fidel Castro comes along and ruins everything!

I started out hating this film. Bratty teen grows up through The Dance, and learns to appreciate her square family...hmm, like the first film. But slowly, the film grew on me. Maybe it was some great location shooting (Puerto Rico standing in for Havana). The two leads have a great chemistry together, both on and off the dance floor. The direction and editing are crisp and fresh, never boring the viewer.

Like the first film, the song score is full of songs from the period, and songs that would never be mistaken for the period. I had a good idea where the film was going until the final fifteen minutes, when the Cuban Revolution suddenly popped up! There was no bloodshed, but the last quarter hour of the film is something I did not see coming. In the end, "Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights" is purely average entertainment. Sure, I would have liked to see someone from the first film, besides Swayze, but this played more like a made-for-network-TV pilot instead of a major motion picture sequel, or remake, or whatever it is.

Nice cast, nice direction, enjoy it for ten minutes after it ends before you realize it stays with you about as long as a Chinese meal.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8775&reviewer=325
originally posted: 08/10/04 02:44:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

5/13/09 Sirry This movie is the best !!!! 5 stars
12/05/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
4/01/08 doggie 1 Dirty Dancing was WAY BETTER then this one.i HATE Havana Nights 1 stars
3/27/08 Heather I HATE this movie.The first is WAYYYY BETTER 1 stars
8/01/07 Maria i love it!!!it is mz favorite!!! 5 stars
7/24/07 mbs It's clean,fun, and enjoyable. Isn't that the meaning of entertainment? Luna was great. 5 stars
2/03/07 Sylvia I was impressed when I saw it 5 stars
11/26/06 AL Predicatable, the all too modern music takes away from the setting and feeling of the era. 2 stars
6/27/06 Ashley Hinz Forgettable, but a decent movie to see once. 3 stars
6/25/06 lucinda i loved it, it makes u want to dance like them!!!! 5 stars
6/24/06 xxx I LLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE THIS MOVIE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH..i dont know why tho 5 stars
12/24/05 Laura Doe I love this movie and it was wonderful! anyone who disagrees needs to find their priorties 5 stars
12/12/05 lisa i loved it so much it was so good! 5 stars
11/26/05 cr a decent sequel with some sexy cuban dances and true love story, cool but not good as 1 3 stars
11/21/05 Sherilyn To comment on the movie and any ratings, it is Javier, not Xavier. Spanish peeps! 4 stars
11/15/05 noops gr8 movie...i love Romola.... 5 stars
10/15/05 Crystal I loved it!!!!!!1 5 stars
9/25/05 Malcolm Brown Brilliant, great dancing 4 stars
7/30/05 jessi I totally loved it ... i wish i could dance 5 stars
4/09/05 Janet Corkerin I thought it was postively fantastic! Passionate...very sensual ! 5 stars
2/18/05 Missy Mc total disappointment 2 stars
1/09/05 portia smith it was AWESOME 5 stars
12/28/04 Cara so...let me just fuck diego? k. 5 stars
11/25/04 Brittney I loved it . It was a great movie. 5 stars
11/23/04 Mockingbird So badly acted and petty that it's hilarious, a teenage girl's wet dream 4 stars
11/15/04 Kelly OMG I LOVE Dirty Dancing Havanah Nights. I've seen it 9 times, and I LOVE DIego Luna 5 stars
8/24/04 Bilbo Good film. Garai is a hottie. Nuff said. 5 stars
8/10/04 tatum Living la vida communista 3 stars
7/30/04 katie i could watch it over n over agen DIEGO LUNA is the hottest thing 5 stars
7/18/04 lheolyne mandigal incredible! excellent!! 5 stars
7/13/04 maya it's a wonderfull film about love,dance and passion. You will fal in love with diego luna ! 5 stars
7/09/04 sam loved it 5 stars
5/18/04 nadine khedr this movie is just a great one and should not be critisized on story but on the dancing 5 stars
5/10/04 Leena It was great. Although the plot ain't that good, the dancing was breath taking 5 stars
5/07/04 Andrea anti- American, pro-communist drivel. Boring as hell anyway. 1 stars
4/01/04 charlie faboulous!!! Best movie I've seen in a while. 5 stars
3/27/04 Candace this movie was great...very teen friendly 5 stars
3/27/04 Gretchen good music, fun, loved it 5 stars
3/24/04 Margie Diego Luna is very hot, but even he couldn't save this movie :-( 2 stars
3/21/04 Lizz It's thinr brdt movie EVA!!!!!!!!! Diego Luna Isthe hottest man eva!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/21/04 Jesse Pretty good, music and dancing made me and my friends want to dance, and we don't know how. 4 stars
3/21/04 jade OMG IT'S THE BEST MOVIE EVER! ITS SOO COOL I WANNA BE IN IT!! 5 stars
3/20/04 Christy Predictable, Typical? Yes. Fun & Worth Seeing? Definitely! 5 stars
3/13/04 Danyelle It was really great, since I'm a latin dancer I can connect. Plus Diego Luna is hott... 5 stars
3/06/04 nare grigorian this movie has inspired me to get tango and salsa dancing classes 5 stars
3/06/04 Someone This was the stupidest fucking movie i have ever seen!! 1 stars
3/04/04 Todd You people are all fucking morons!! It was a million times worse than the first one!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/04/04 erica i loved the movie. i think it was fabulous. 5 stars
3/03/04 atanu it is not wonderful. its pathetic, at par with you. 1 stars
3/03/04 Shelly I thought the movie was WONDERFUL!!!! 5 stars
3/03/04 Laurie Dido I LOVED THIS MOVIE! it is my 2nd favorite movie with Pirates of the Caribean as my 1st! 5 stars
3/03/04 Joey I really liked this movie, the dancing was awesome!!!! 4 stars
3/02/04 Jennie I absolutely loved it! I can't remember the last movie I loved as much as this one! 5 stars
3/02/04 Katia Pierre Loved it way better than the first. At least these dancers had rythm & Diego is Beautiful 5 stars
3/02/04 Monina Hernandez U guys rocked 5 stars
3/01/04 djacosta A simple movie 3 stars
3/01/04 The Emperor's New Clothes Sometimes you just have to laugh. Cooba! Represent Represent! We do it dirty! dirty dancing 4 stars
3/01/04 Gia This movie was GREAT! The perfect treat after a year of nothing but dry acting. 5 stars
3/01/04 Jessica Very hot and steamy movie the dancing is very sexy, plus the guy is sooo hott! 5 stars
3/01/04 Jenn Lorenzo It was awesome!!! 5 stars
3/01/04 Marla It was possibly the GREATEST movie I've seen sinse finding nemo. 5 stars
3/01/04 C Boudreau I loved it, lots and lots of dancing. 4 stars
2/29/04 Marie LeBlanc Cuban dude hot. Chick ok. Acting terrible. Dancing rocked. That's all there is. 5 stars
2/29/04 Carterlynn Michaels A.W.E.S.O.M.E! enough said! 5 stars
2/29/04 Miori It was a really fun movie that people in the theater clapped and laughed to. 5 stars
2/29/04 Niquela Iy was AWSOME !!!!!!! 5 stars
2/28/04 atanu sucks. what did you expect? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Feb-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-May-2004 (PG)


Directed by
  Guy Ferland

Written by
  Ronald Bass

Cast
  Romola Garai
  Diego Luna
  Mika Boreem
  Jonathan Jackson
  January Jones
  Patrick Swayze



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast