More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 32.79%
Worth A Look62.3%
Average: 1.64%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 3.28%

3 reviews, 43 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Hunt For Red October, The
[] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Go see. You. Now."
4 stars

Intrigue! Deception! Sean Connery is a Ruskie! Plus, the added bonus of having the Baldwin be the only one who knows what's up.

Sean Connery, as the only russian submarine commander with a scottish accent, steals his super-high-tech submarine. The ruskies claim he's gunna attack America. So the navy helps in a hunt and destroy mission. But Baldwy thinks the old man is trying to defect to America and the Ruskies don't want us to have the technology, so they want to make us blow it up.

But of course no one believes the Badwin, because after all, he's no more than a pretty face. No, he actually does a very good job. He could have made the movie about him, but I feel he did the right thing by understating and leaving the spotlight to the original Highlander himself, Sean.

The direction is superb, taking us down the path of intrigue and leaving even the audience doubting most of the time. Which is good. Because that's what makes it suspenseful. Duh. I'm sorry, I just woke up.

You like. Me promise. 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/07/98 01:06:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell boring imho 1 stars
2/27/14 Madame de Merteuil Connery & Baldwin are excellent + great plot 5 stars
7/22/09 bethany cox Very, very good submarine movie, only let down by a sometimes confusing story! 4 stars
1/14/09 Shaun Wallner Interesting Movie! 4 stars
10/29/07 Jack Sommersby Quite entertaining with solid performances. 4 stars
3/07/07 David Pollastrini Connery is brilliant in this 5 stars
8/26/05 EZ One of the best plots ever, superb film 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Mr. Connery your best when your at your best 5 stars
3/25/05 me A damn fine Clancy adaptation, Sum of all Fears was tripe compared to this 4 stars
3/06/05 N. Peterson Absolutely stunning, and if you like the movie, read the book! 5 stars
1/14/05 Aaron Smith my favorite sub movie 4 stars
1/09/05 John Parr Extremely good 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody The first and best of the movies based on clancy's books. 5 stars
11/29/03 john great cast Connery and Baldwin are phenomenal - a modern day sea adventure 5 stars
11/19/03 michaelb14 one of my favorites 5 stars
11/10/03 Lin Rainey Loved it! Good story, good acting, Baldwin is very winning 5 stars
8/08/03 3man Exciting movie if a bit overhyped 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Ironically, brooding Baldwin almost sinks a sub film 4 stars
8/20/02 Lisa Lou Gettespar Promising story becomes a bit waterlogged 4 stars
8/08/02 Jack Thompson best sub flick there is, hands down 5 stars
6/11/02 Spanky He shlipped on hish tea! harrison beats the pus out of baldwin 5 stars
3/31/02 Rockitman007 The Best Submarine movie ever!!! 5 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden I Just Couldn't Help Liking This Movie. 5 stars
10/29/01 Fred Mills Jr. Dialogue is very Techy, only someone like me would know it, but good nonetheless! 5 stars
10/25/01 sub man baldwin was cheated out of patriot games. evil games were played against him by others. 4 stars
10/09/01 jawsboy great fun!! McTiernan rules!!! 4 stars
9/10/01 Racheal McCoy I watched it one time and was totally hooked! And I like Sean Connery's accent! 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk great adaption of Clancy's novel...Baldwin was a boner for not reprising this role. 4 stars
7/03/01 bront best modern sub movie around, equal with crimson tide 5 stars
1/12/01 R.W. Welch Good Cold War yarn with insights into the new high tech submarine warfare. 4 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin Connery and Baldwin at their best 4 stars
7/12/00 Terrie Smith Good adaptation of the novel; Connery and Baldwin in good form. 4 stars
1/17/00 CM An all time favourite of mine. Excellent. 5 stars
11/04/99 Karahde Khan Connery is great, and Baldwin didn't annoy me. Best Clancy-based movie. 4 stars
10/24/99 Lame-Oh it was great 4 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink If it wasn't for the explosion at the end,I would have slept the whole night in theatre 1 stars
11/13/98 Jules Really excellent story, well done in movie form, even if Sean's Russian is horrific... 5 stars
11/03/98 Kimberly Murphy-Smith Alec Baldwin and Sean Connery in the same film? Yum. Awesome flick. 4 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob McTiernan CAN do suspense (it needed chicks in bikinis water skiing behind the sub, though) 4 stars
9/15/98 Badass AWESOME! 5 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Couldn't Connery have at least *tried* to do a Russian accent? Like no-one would notice.... 3 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  02-Mar-1990 (PG)



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast