More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 9.02%
Worth A Look: 24.59%
Average33.61%
Pretty Bad: 10.66%
Total Crap: 22.13%

11 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Starsky & Hutch
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Luke Pyzik

"A miserable excuse of a comedy"
1 stars

Watching "Starsky and Hutch," you get the feeling that everyone involved is wishing they were doing something else. The film’s director, Todd Phillips, seems like he’d rather be making another R-rated comedy, much like he did with "Road Trip" and "Old School." Owen Wilson, as Ken Hutchinson, looks like he’d rather be sitting on a dusty bar stool in Austin, Texas, writing quirky stories with his old buddy Wes Anderson. And Ben Stiller as David Starsky, well, he just looks like he’s counting the days until his big payday for "Meet the Fockers."

"Sarsky and Hutch" is, of course, based on the old television show of the same name, though the two share almost no similarities. Stiller and Wilson aren’t really concerned with doing anything interesting with Starsky and Hutch for the sake of tribute, satire, or some combination of the two. Instead, they choose to play the same characters they always do - Stiller is the uptight everyman with a penchant for accidents that lead to remarkable embarrassment, while Wilson is the obnoxiously laid back slacker that women find irresistible. These characters have worked for both actors in movies that had at least some shred ambition toward creativity or comedy, but "Starsky and Hutch" has neither.

I suppose the movie tries to make us laugh, but the chuckles are no more inspired than when Aunt Ruth busts out old pictures of Uncle Stan standing next to his ‘74 Gremlin. The movie wants us to laugh simply because it takes place in the 70s, but all the characters are dressed like they stepped out of last month’s Gap catalogue. The movie wants us to laugh simply because they cast Snoop Dogg as Huggy Bear, but his comic timing is about as sharp as a rubber ball. Even the reliable Vince Vaughn can’t garner a laugh playing a fast-talking drug dealer.

The plot revolves around Starsky and Hutch investigating a murder that is somehow connected to an upcoming drug deal. The central problem with a movie like this is that nobody, particularly the audience, really cares about the crime story driving the plot. People want to see Stiller fall-down-go-boom and Wilson crack wise. But so many creative resources seem tied down with getting Starsky and Hutch to their various comic situations by way of crime story plot device that the writers seem too winded to give them anything truly funny to do once they get there. It is only when Will Ferrell pops in as a reluctant informant with a kinky fetish for dragons that we are treated to a short-lived laugh.

The story plods on from there, with Wilson and Stiller moving from one comic vignette to another, each one growing more stale as the running time lingers on. The action set pieces aren’t any better as each one seems scraped together from rusty clichés. By the time the movie ends with one of the most embarrassing cameos in recent history, the performers seem almost as relieved as the audience.

Vaughn, Stiller, Farrell, and the Wilson brothers seem to enjoy working with each other, and various combinations of this Frat Pack have made a handful of movies that contain some funny moments, but are ultimately uninspiring. The group has awesome gifts for quirky humor, but they are limiting themselves with the material they’re working with. Can you imagine a movie that could harness the comic performances of the Wilson brothers in "Bottle Rocket," Vince Vaughn in "Swingers," Ben Stiller in "Zero Effect," and Will Farrell in, well, just about everything? Someone call John Landis and get him to work with these guys. Now that is a movie I would like to see.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8800&reviewer=381
originally posted: 08/30/04 23:57:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

4/25/16 Katrina Weiss Just watch the original series. 3 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT HUMOUROUS BUT ULTIMATELY UNSATISFYING COMEDY 2 stars
3/08/10 Samantha Pruitt surprisingly funny! some gret one-liners 4 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Flick!! 5 stars
11/30/06 lovestospuch sucked balls 1 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 1 stars
6/09/06 Anthony Feor A funny remake of the exeptionaly done television show 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth Of the 100-odd movies Stiller made in 04, this was the best. 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Weak film. Chemistry is there. Light Entertainment. 2 stars
11/05/05 JamesCole Any 5 minutes of Zoolander is funnier than this whole movie. Yuk! 1 stars
11/04/05 baseball-nut Definitely a waste of money, should've stayed home! 1 stars
11/03/05 Matt DO IT! it is a great movie, i got my first kiss while watching it. that felt good. 5 stars
7/18/05 jimmy Wicked film! - do it! 5 stars
2/24/05 ELI Extremely unfunny. Didn't laugh once 1 stars
11/16/04 Dunce Stunt casting + dull script = snoozer. The show wasn't very good. Don't waste your time. 2 stars
11/16/04 lucas jodoin di maria the best 5 stars
8/23/04 Jim Snoop Dogg & Will Ferrell walk away with the movie 4 stars
8/13/04 kRISTINE mEINHARD i WANT TO SEE ANOTHER ONE THE BOYS ARE GREAT 4 stars
8/11/04 bsho76 wake me up when it's over 2 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues stiller&wilson are a good duo, but vince vaughn was the best! he's adorable! 5 stars
7/27/04 lespacified I am still waiting for a plot to materialize!!The story/plot/writting sucked!!! 1 stars
7/21/04 Steve Adams DO it! Dooo it! Doooo it! 5 stars
7/20/04 Chris very funny movie 4 stars
7/19/04 twilliams606 Boring and just plain silly. 2 stars
7/18/04 ithaka peyru c'mon stiller, get your comedic balls out of the perverbial money mouth 1 stars
7/18/04 Onyeabo Monago It could have been better considering the show certainly was. 3 stars
6/02/04 Marcia Lartz Reasonably enjoyable, though far from the best that either Stiller or Wilson is capable of. 4 stars
6/01/04 James Kustes Not as funny as the other movies Owen has been in but pretty good. 4 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean Has it's moments. Those that know anything about the TV series appreciates this more. 3 stars
4/19/04 E-Rock A fun flick. Worth the money just for Snoop Dogg as Huggy Bear... 4 stars
4/12/04 Rusty Grizwald If you've seen the trailer, you've seen all the jokes that might get a laugh. 1 stars
4/09/04 Michael "Hutch" Hutchinson I loved the T.V. show and I loved the movie. Freakin hilarious! 5 stars
3/28/04 Littlepurch LOVED IT! Never saw the tv series but this was brilliant and absolutely hilarious!!!! 5 stars
3/26/04 rojo Funky Fun, even if you didn't live thru the 1970's. 4 stars
3/21/04 argnoowarp This movies captures none of the excitement nor the buddy chemistry of the original. 1 stars
3/19/04 Chris Stiller is a vinager douche 1 stars
3/18/04 Nikolai I was alone in the downtown LA theatre and I left when the candy ran out. 1 stars
3/17/04 kevin watts i thought it was very good.chemistry is there among the stars. 4 stars
3/17/04 Jin Stiller continues his downward slide. 1 stars
3/17/04 Alfred Guy Starsky and Hutch was 70s style at its best. The stuff that is copied poorly today. 4 stars
3/16/04 alex it's not awesome, but worth a look, Y2M is right about them two having good chemistry 4 stars
3/09/04 KingNeutron "Menage" wasn't needed, but Vaughn made a good villain; tighter direction needed in spots. 3 stars
3/09/04 Wendranh so much more fun than the TV show was 4 stars
3/09/04 W. Frederick Zimmerman the series was good, the movie a horrible idea 1 stars
3/08/04 veddermatic Pretty funny if you are over 30. Semi funny if not. 4 stars
3/08/04 nick2k i liked it....liked it more than 'old school'. 4 stars
3/08/04 Aunt Ralph Breezy, Funny, add a star if you're gay 3 stars
3/08/04 Carver S. Stiller and Wilson need to get off each other's jocks. 1 stars
3/08/04 cathy paterson i loved the series, i liked the movie 4 stars
3/07/04 Siamese Toga Princess STARSKY!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/06/04 Kooler Stinky. Stiller and Wilson's stock has completely dried up wtih this one. 1 stars
3/06/04 Andrew Dunn Abomination..... but I still love that car after all these years.. 2 stars
3/06/04 Scrunci Funny as hell 5 stars
3/05/04 Brian worth a few chuckles 4 stars
3/05/04 Ray This movie was a mistake 2 stars
3/04/04 ajay saw a sneak preview last week. pretty funny, but not "zoolander" funny. :) 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Mar-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Apr-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast