More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.78

Awesome: 5.88%
Worth A Look29.41%
Average: 23.53%
Pretty Bad: 19.61%
Total Crap: 21.57%

4 reviews, 27 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

Predestination by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dick Tracy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Big Boy did it!"
4 stars

I'm not ashamed to admit it.

I liked this movie.

Sure it's a Warren Beatty vanity project (what isn't, these days?) but it's got a certain style. It captures the feel and look of the comic strip. Plus, it's frigging beautiful.

Yes, a goodly number of the cast is under heavy makeup, including Al Pacino, Paul Sorvino, Dustin Hoffman and William Forsythe. But they all capture the look of the Tracy villains, Flattop, Lips Manliss, Mumbles, Big Boy Caprice. The sets are exquisite and extremely colorful; it's a filmed comic, and for once, that's a good thing. Everything's loud and vibrant, but not to the point of distraction, and it's not gaudy, either.

The performances could use some work, especially Beatty and Madonna as his lust interest, Breathless Mahoney. She was too busy vamping it up to act, and he was too busy trying to be stoic.

But on the whole, Dick Tracy's actually a nice little diversion for the family some afternoon.

Plus, you can see Charlie Korsmo before he got up and sang along with Paradise City in Can't Hardly Wait.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=882&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/15/98 00:44:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/26/13 Philip It bothers me that there aren't any memorable set-pieces in this film. 3 stars
1/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Hollywood Hostess twinkie BS cash in on Batman. 2 stars
4/13/09 Dane Youssef Beatty not only brings the strip to the screen. He puts us inside the strip. Just glorious. 5 stars
12/22/08 the dork knight Loud and annoying 3 stars
12/12/07 Big_E i thought it was pretty good not the best but good 4 stars
7/14/07 David Cohen Even my kids thought it was boring 2 stars
5/11/06 jonathon lebo its fun to watch thats the point for those who dont like it 4 stars
8/27/05 Samantha No redeeming qualities. 1 stars
6/03/04 Monster W. Kung Unwatchable, pathetic. 1 stars
11/29/03 john it never comes together but the design is remarkable 4 stars
4/06/03 Jack Sommersby Cold, slow, totally lacking in freshness and spontaneity. Only supporting perfs are good. 2 stars
3/02/03 ME A GOOD MOVIE 4 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Madonna kills all the energy in every scene she pollutes 3 stars
8/13/02 1983 colorful, stylish fun. Pacino hams it up: Madonna is distractingly stiff. 4 stars
7/12/02 KMG Overblown, overhyped, overly early 90s piece of yellow shit 1 stars
10/15/01 Andrew Carden Excellent Setting Is Ruined By Bad Scripts. 3 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Something for kids. It's pretty cool! 4 stars
8/29/01 Gary Madonna earns this film its only star. 1 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Al Pacino is funny, but the rest is kinda messed up. 3 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Why was Madonna cast in this?!So many talent actors doing such poor work.Very disppointing 2 stars
4/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Eh, it's okay. The villains are cool, Beatty is good, and Madonna is at worst inoffensive. 3 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L It might have had a chance at cult status if directed by Ed Wood 1 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin Lovely to look at 4 stars
4/27/00 Matt B. Wild One of the best movies ever made. 5 stars
12/18/99 Kim Pretty good. Madonna is suberb as Breathless and Beatty gives a subtle performance. 4 stars
2/12/99 mandy Madonna's scene-stealing is the best part. 5 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Worth seeing just for the awesomely made-up villains. A shame Madonna had to scene-steal. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-1990 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast