More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.64

Awesome75.36%
Worth A Look: 18.84%
Average: 1.45%
Pretty Bad: 2.9%
Total Crap: 1.45%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Red vs. Blue
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Now THIS is how you turn a video game into a movie!"
4 stars

Forget the moronic conceit of lengthening a virtually plotless video game like 'Tomb Raider' into a feature length movie...or two, actually. Most "video game movies" are conceived with little more than 'brand name recognition' in mind and succeed financially thanks to 14-year-olds hoping to see their digital adventures brought to life...regardless of how turgid the adaptation may be realized. 'Red vs. Blue' is something entirely new and completely cool: the movie was MADE using nothing but footage from Xbox's 'Halo' and the voice-over work of some particularly clever vidiots.

If you're a fan of Halo (which means: if you've ever PLAYED Halo for more than an hour or two), you'll have an absolute ball with Red vs. Blue. Comprised of 19 shorts that were originally conceived for internet entertainment, Red vs. Blue is silly and profane and altogether goofy...but even those with a cursory knowledge of Microsoft's insanely popular video game will by suitably impressed with just how 'cinematic' Halo can be. Obviously Burnie Burns and his cadre of game addicts saw something of a narrative goldmine in Halo's fantastic visual design, and you can just picture these loons sitting down with a few beers and coming up with a suitably silly narrative to go along with Halo's addictively cool visual presentation.

The plot is all but meaningless. Indeed, even the SXSW website synopsizes Red vs. Blue thusly:

"In the distant future, two groups of soldiers from opposing factions (red and blue) are stationed on a remote planet. In their spare time, they fight for control of the universe because they really don't have much else to do."

The pleasure of the movie comes from seeing the ways in which Burns & Co. have turned an addictively slick video game into such a foul-mouthed and witty little action-adventure. What this also means, unfortunately, is that those unfamiliar with Halo will most likely be scratching their heads through the length and breadth of Red vs. Blue.

Bah, but who cares? This flick wasn't made for those folks!

If Microsoft and the fine folks at "Bunjie" deserve effusive praise for delivering one universally adored video game (with a long-delayed sequel on the way!), then Burnie Burns and his pals deserve an ice cold beer and a pat on the back for taking their group obsession and turning it into something truly and cleverly entertaining.

You can wait for the full-length compilation of "Red vs. Blue" to hit DVD eventually, or you can bop on over to http://www.redvsblue.com and see precisely what I'm talking about. If you're down with 'Halo' I can pretty much promise that you'll find a healthy dose of chuckles for your efforts.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8857&reviewer=128
originally posted: 03/16/04 07:53:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2004 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/22/14 vskzkjaa USA 2 stars
7/18/14 ormxlrzrkcb USA 2 stars
8/16/12 dj AWSOMEIST SERIES EVER 5 stars
6/15/11 Tim Thank you for introducing me to your bowling ball...hello bowling ball 5 stars
11/05/10 Chris Armstrong Quite possibly the best comedic timing i've ever seen in cinema, machinima or otherwise 5 stars
5/19/09 Hawkins the greatest, and the best 5 stars
12/17/06 DJ Lecuyer God Damn it's so fucking funny! I almost pissed myself watching some of the episodes! 5 stars
11/04/06 luis you suck 5 stars
10/05/06 Dan A. A gift from God 5 stars
6/21/06 wes anyone who does not like this is a bigger fag than the queer eye guys also "SSHHEEIILLAA!!! 5 stars
6/03/06 RandyChimp All the series are awsome. I'm lookin forward to series 5!!! 5 stars
5/18/06 mark if you the person that eats and sleeps at a computer this is the film for you 5 stars
5/05/06 Coltra P.I.M.P. Yo! 5 stars
3/30/06 Enoch "Track sucks!" "YOU suck!" 5 stars
2/14/06 Matt I almosy wet my pants watching this. Ok, I DID wet my pants. 5 stars
11/15/05 Berry "You just killed chuch, you team killing f**ktard!" This is one of the funniest shows ever 5 stars
10/17/05 cvhg487 kisss my ass 5 stars
10/11/05 Jacx This is the best show I've seen! PERIOD!!!! 5 stars
9/20/05 tidus it was FRACKING HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/02/05 Fish THIS DOSEN'T SEEM PHYSICALLY POSSIBLE!!!! 5 stars
7/23/05 birdfrag sweet! 5 stars
6/19/05 Matt Dietz This is the best non-porno site on the web, making it one-millionth over all. 5 stars
6/06/05 david "I could blow up the whole god damn world with this thing" 5 stars
5/04/05 Michael Kuck God Dammn best online show ever!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/07/05 Eldebo It was bound to happen. I'm glad it did. 5 stars
1/13/05 breremarer Kickass. 5 stars
12/14/04 Halodude Frickin Hilarious. Period. 5 stars
12/12/04 ryan ley it sucked 1 stars
12/12/04 Alfred McFact Awesome! 5 stars
12/10/04 Robosoldier FUCKING COOL!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/04/04 Zeonoline I can't sit in my seat n/e more cuz I'm ROFL 5 stars
11/04/04 Miramel fucking awesome!!! 5 stars
10/11/04 Rich25Sk8er Thamk god there is something funny on the Internet 5 stars
10/08/04 Brian Taking humor to new heights. Addicting 5 stars
9/14/04 Webmaster One Word: Perfect 5 stars
7/14/04 John McIntyre If Red Vs Blue wasn't online, I would have to waste my time looking at porn instead. 5 stars
7/02/04 Bryan Laugh out Loud Funny! 5 stars
6/30/04 Unky Dunky most excellent 5 stars
6/27/04 James Vander Very slick, very inventive. 5 stars
5/21/04 John Absolutely Awesome! 5 stars
5/21/04 Ben Holarious! 5 stars
5/08/04 Dustin Way too funny 5 stars
5/05/04 Kyle Conatser Red vs. Blue is the most ingenious work of machinima ever. Comedic timing is awesome! 5 stars
4/28/04 DarkWulf This aint no ice cream social! 5 stars
4/26/04 Alex i like the colors jajaja!!! 5 stars
4/14/04 Matt Petrucci the shiznin 5 stars
4/13/04 Jay Buy this DVD. Buy it NOW! 5 stars
3/25/04 Bingo was his name-o That was a hoot. 4 stars
3/18/04 Wolf My fav part: when the Warthog zooms over the hill with Mexican accordion music blaring! 5 stars
3/16/04 Hoopla Not really a movie, but a funny series of shorts. 3 stars
3/14/04 Spartan-117 funny as hell, its the greatest thing ive ever seen 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast