More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome: 15.07%
Worth A Look: 27.4%
Average39.73%
Pretty Bad: 9.59%
Total Crap: 8.22%

5 reviews, 43 user ratings



Ju-On: The Grudge
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Can you guess who Sarah Michelle Gellar will play?"
3 stars

A minor and very low-key spook story, broken off into fragmentary bits for each of the characters that come onto the curse.

As for the anathema itself, its brief explanation is hurriedly rushed off the screen, leaving one to discern things all on their own. The inhabitants and visitors of a particular home are tortured by the souls of a mother and her young son, both killed in that very house years ago by the paterfamilias. (Explanation as to why never occurs.) Takashi Shimizu takes a haphazard approach to the introduction of those who enter the abode, with their own impending disaster to be followed mostly out, before returning to the house for the break down of its next victim. Eventually, that poses a problem in itself, especially because there are so many characters, so many of them similar looking, and the movie throws the regulations for continuity out of the window. (A character whose story we’ve already had, is mentioned to have died via a report on the radio, only to return to her at an earlier time in someone else’s chapter, with a different outcome than the radio report.) Shimizu, while elaborate in his storytelling, is rather simplistic in his filmmaking, relying on old-fashioned framing devices (his signature “profile shot,” where the camera twists out 180-degrees around the character), basic makeup (powder blue, like the Morlocks), shrill and vibrating electro-haunt music (think Dawn of the Dead), and general fear of the unknown. (One nice detail out of the whole thing is the shoeless Japanese detectives who canvass the crime scene in their socks.) There is the occasional special effect (a black hand, in the form of a shadow, that engulfs a security guard), but the meager tension is all a result of basic sweat and tears from someone attempting to use imagination, however misguided. The question becomes, since Shimizu has also directed the remake, has more money resulted in less imagination? The best hope that could come out of the remake is to be able to make heads or tails out of what actually went on here, with faces I assume I’ll better recognize.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8875&reviewer=172
originally posted: 08/07/04 18:47:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2004 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/27/15 brian Hoped this was better than dull US version. Not. 2 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Incomprehensible snoozefest.2 hours of meowing ghost boy and groany, hairy ghost woman. Zzz 2 stars
2/16/07 Axel Leos A supreme example of Japanese horror... 5 stars
10/01/06 poker gambling 1 stars
8/08/06 K.Sear I realy enjoyed this movie but have not seen the original V-cinema version. I will though. 5 stars
10/28/05 HORROR FREAK Im a BIG HORROR FREAK and i have not found a movie that has really made me shit my self! 3 stars
8/14/05 Charlene Javier Hard to understand. 3 stars
7/22/05 Jordan okay I hated this movie USA version is better and has good graphics 1 stars
6/01/05 Indrid Cold Pretty good. Acheiving even moderate creepiness makes it above average. 4 stars
5/23/05 hk crap plot 1 stars
3/09/05 Uncle Phucker Some creepy scenes, but ultimately mediocre. 1 stars
2/06/05 clinger26 a crappy remake of a crappy movie 1 stars
2/05/05 rose the grudge is best movie out of all, all the stunts are real any other movie is fake. 5 stars
1/01/05 Raven Aren't remakes supposed to be of good movies? Not scary and there is no story at all. none. 1 stars
12/19/04 Daveman Nonsensical and not at all scary, I dread to think how crap the remake is. 2 stars
12/12/04 Goggman Seriously creepy 5 stars
11/26/04 Caiphn Convaluted, has it moments. Doesn't really come together unfortunately. 3 stars
11/23/04 haydon This movie is the scariest movie i've ever seen!........!..........!...........!..........! 5 stars
11/20/04 emily rak it was good, but very boring 4 stars
11/09/04 JL Loved It! 5 stars
11/08/04 Kevin You guys are talking about the wrong movie!! This page is for the Japanese version! >:( 5 stars
10/30/04 ali griffiths scared the living daylights out of me! 4 stars
10/26/04 David Milne Pretty Scary Movie 4 stars
10/26/04 bruce goldberg Geller was average.Movie slightly better than average 4 stars
10/25/04 aurora too many questions unanswered. generally lame. 2 stars
10/24/04 Nik Trailer gave away all the good scene. No character development...Boring 3 stars
10/23/04 davebo scary how confusing it is, and confusing why it isn't scary enough 3 stars
10/22/04 malcolm lots of good startles, but ultimately felt incomplete. several times i thought WTF?! 2 stars
9/06/04 Oscar Disturbing, eerie, and scary. I love that it is more focused on atmosphere than plot. 5 stars
8/25/04 Annie This movie and tv counterparts will have you crying for your mommy. 5 stars
8/24/04 timtop more thanthe sum of it's fragmented parts....loved it. Scary..and I'm hard as nails. 5 stars
8/21/04 Matt T. The film is good, but the remake should be better 4 stars
8/17/04 StümpA pretty weird...i liked it. for fans of those japanese ones 4 stars
8/10/04 kyotomatt The movie sucks. No understandable plot, just a bunch of SCARY GHOSTS. Incomplete. 2 stars
7/17/04 Ray Solid 4 stars
7/16/04 Oliver Has some good scares. 4 stars
7/05/04 Eric Han this movie has scared the shit out everyone who has seen it. thats what it was made for 5 stars
6/19/04 Jim A typically monocultural insight as the Japanese are far superior in the horror genre 4 stars
5/29/04 Ali pretty freaky and demented at times (espically when your high) 4 stars
5/28/04 madman Tries to be scary the whole time. It succeds half of it. You may be anoyed for the rest. 4 stars
5/18/04 taintedlunch Creepy, but nonsensical. Remake should be better. 4 stars
4/24/04 Brip Weinberg is wrong...not boring...surreal, unnerving, superior treatment than Western junk. 4 stars
3/29/04 Kyle The made for TV version was MUCH MUCH MUCH freakier 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-2004 (R)
  DVD: 09-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Takashi Shimizu

Written by
  Takashi Shimizu

Cast
  Megumi Okina
  Misaki Ito
  Misa Uehara
  Yui Ichikawa
  Kanji Tsuda
  Kayoko Shibata



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast