More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.37

Awesome: 3.39%
Worth A Look52.54%
Average: 28.81%
Pretty Bad: 8.47%
Total Crap: 6.78%

5 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Flatliners (1990)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Die Keifer Die!"
4 stars

Why doesn't Oliver Platt get more roles?

What a weird movie. I don't know who thought this would be a good idea, because it doesn't really fit into any clear cut catagory. It's disturbing, so it's part horror. It's suspense, so it's part that. There is some drama and some comedy but not nearly enough to put it into any sub-catagory, and there is too much disturbence to call it a thriller.

And I find that so commendable. Bravo, Mr. Schumacher.

The setup is, six med students play with killing themsselves and bringing themselves back to life. Thus, going 'flatline.' Kevin Bacon is the ring leader, Keifer is the fuckup, Julia is the poor vulnerable little girl, the Baldwin is the pervert and Platt is the joker.

I like this because although each character is defined almost to the point of sterotyping, we still learn enough about them to grow attached. And since the plot revolves around our understanding of each character, that makes me happy. Oliver Platt makes me happy too. He's a riot. The Baldwin is boring, but he recites his lines right...Keifer, well, I already think of Keifer as a fuckup so it's all good. He can never play anything else, though. Because we all know he's a psycho. he beat Julia Roberts. I don't know why they even let him work any more. Kevin Bacon makes up for it, though, as a compelling leading man. He, is much the opposite. He shouldn't be evil. he just is good. He just is.

Worth a look? Hells yeah. Cause Keifer like almost kills himself n shit. I wish he really had. 4 sporks just for that.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=888&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/08/98 09:26:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell interesting idea becomes moraility tale 2 stars
1/27/13 PAUL SHORTT HECTIC, OFFBEAT FANTASY 2 stars
8/27/12 roscoe very good, but takes awhile to get going and way too morbid 4 stars
1/05/08 Pamela White movie makes you think what is really on the other side 4 stars
4/21/07 action movie fan very good story-intense and engrossing afterlife thriller 4 stars
2/04/07 chow this film was crap...its so boring and it leads to no-where...utter crap 1 stars
5/18/06 chienne Quite right. VERY interesting concept, but it the film was left lacking. But I loved it. 4 stars
1/18/06 JM Synth Not terrible, but it wastes several good ideas, and has surprising little to think about 2 stars
9/18/05 E Wood interesting idea of life after death 4 stars
8/24/05 ES Seen it a couple times, not overly scary nor intriguing, not even eye candy really 2 stars
8/05/05 ^podo scary and interesting 4 stars
9/30/04 Archanist_101 Kiefer Sutherland is just superb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/22/04 Al Guy Interesting thriller. Great star value. 3 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva Great cast good plot 4 stars
4/07/04 Sig wow 5 stars
3/28/03 Goofy Maxwell Insultingly stupid, yet wildly entertaining. 3 stars
1/13/03 Jack Sommersby Dazzling cinematography but dramatically obvious. 2 stars
11/01/02 Monster W. Kung I'd rather die. 1 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum One of the few Roberts films I have ever liked 4 stars
8/05/02 KMG I THINK EVERYONE IN THIS PICTURE DATED JULIA 3 stars
1/14/02 Magnum Craphole Interesting premise is flushed down a toilet of banality and superficiality. 1 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter One of the dumbest movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Sometimes scary...sometimes stupid. It was OK. 3 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe About as good as Shumacher will ever get; Baldwin & Jules OK for once 4 stars
3/14/01 Jake Entertaining and engrossing. 4 stars
12/20/99 Eric S. Joel Schumacher takes a great idea and turns into an average thriller 3 stars
10/18/99 Shelagh Interesting, disturbing yet silly! 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Worth seeing. 4 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann pretty freaky plot, but freaky in a good way. i liked it. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Aug-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1991 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast