More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.76

Awesome41.92%
Worth A Look: 22.34%
Average: 15.81%
Pretty Bad: 9.62%
Total Crap: 10.31%

16 reviews, 195 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Dawn of the Dead (2004)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Mark Rodger-Snelson

"Nothing will beat the original, but this is still a great zombie flick"
4 stars

Dawn of the Dead is more of a rework than a remake of George Romero’s cult classic but that is not necessarily a bad thing. The same premise is there as it is a survivalist tale of desperate people bunkered down inside a shopping mall whilst marauding zombies stalk the world outside but other than that the characters and the story are completely different.

One major difference with the 2004 version is the speed and strength of the zombies. Taking its cues from the recent 28 Days Later (which, in turn would have been influenced by the original Dawn of the Dead), the filmmakers have injected a significant amount of adrenalin into these zombies. They have the running speed to keep up with cars, the brawn to throw victims across rooms and are also quick thinkers making them much scarier than the staggering brain dead creatures that are usually served up in the zombie genre.

The beginning of the film focuses on Ana, a nurse who at the end of a long shift is too tired to tune in to the news and misses the hints that soon her city of 750000 will be thrown into chaos. Instead she takes a shower with her husband and heads off to bed only to be woken up early the next morning by a little girl from the neighbourhood standing at their bedroom door with a crazed glare in her eyes and blood dripping from her mouth. The little girl then proceeds to bite a chunk out of her husband’s neck and whilst Ana is receiving the busy signal on 911, she watches her husband die. Within half a minute her husband pops up from his death and violently attacks Ana. She manages to escape by car and witnesses that her picture perfect suburban world has gone mad. Buildings are burning and ‘people’ are tearing each other apart.

After crashing her car Ana soon teams up with police officer Kenneth (Ving Rhames), Michael (Jake Weber), Andre (Mekhi Phifer) and his very pregnant girlfriend. They quickly decide to take refuge in the local shopping mall in the hope that a rescue party will arrive. Once inside, other than a couple of stray zombies, they also encounter three power tripping security guards who are very reluctant to share their safe haven. From here on in it is a non stop zombie action splatterfest that spends enough time with each character for the audience to decide who they would like to see make it and who they would prefer to see fall victim to the hunger of the undead.

The screenplay by James Gunn (Scooby Doo!?) does pay some attention to what can happen to ethics and morals when a group of people are thrown into extraordinary circumstances but it mainly focuses on tension building, suspense and in your face terror with the odd bit of humour thrown in for good measure. All of the actors are adequate in their roles with Polley, Rhames and Weber being the standouts. The special effects are fantastic and it is an incredibly gory adventure, the likes of which have not been witnessed on the big screen for a long time. Brains are blown out, intestines are eaten, limbs are hacked off and there is one chainsaw scene that cuts far deeper than anything seen in the Texas Chainsaw Massacre movies.

The new Dawn of the Dead may not achieve the cult status of the original and it is not as successful as 28 Days Later in creating an overwhelming sense of doom but it is still a highly enjoyable venture into the genre that surpasses many Hollywood horror flicks of recent years.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8887&reviewer=388
originally posted: 12/04/04 13:55:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 ScreamFest L.A. Horror Festival. For more in the 2004 ScreamFest L.A. series, click here.
Horror Remakes: For more in the Horror Remakes series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell good remake imho 4 stars
8/06/12 Jeff Wilder Completely pointless and unnecssary remake. Stick with the original instead. 1 stars
8/09/11 Dreary A real zombie recovery story! Zombie finds new life in Modern Family! Way to go Phil! 4 stars
9/18/10 art ROMERO"S 2005's LAND OF THE DEAD is the best ZOMBIE film EXTENT! 1 stars
1/11/10 art AN END OF THE WORLD STORY!,A REAL DOWNER! 1 stars
12/26/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Sight ,Hostess twinkie remake. Kids will think this is "awesome". 2 stars
12/24/09 art BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL,which isn't saying A HELL OF ALOT! 2 stars
10/18/09 Chad Dillon Cooper A light weight remake in name only. Typical Hollywood Hostess Twinkie garbage. 2 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* This movie is a great zombie flick. Awesome guns and storyline!!!!! 5 stars
6/16/09 scott The 'pot noodle' version of a horror. This will NOT leave you satisfied! 3 stars
12/19/08 Craig D. It's "28 Days Later" without the interesting characters and memorable scenes. 3 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Great Horror film!! Kept me on the edge of my seat 5 stars
1/09/08 art COMIC-BOOK STUFF 1 stars
11/04/07 Ivana Mann Probably the best horror remake ever made.Creative spin on Romero classic. 5 stars
10/15/07 fools♫gold Why is this considered a remake? Predictable and sucky. 2 stars
9/26/07 Marco Wow... it could've been good but the running zombies and the MAIN FEMALE ruined everything. 1 stars
4/21/07 Tina Robertson/Anderson I love zombie flicks and this one was the best! 5 stars
1/23/07 Krinkels Why all the good reviews? I thought Uwe Boll directed this piece of shit. 1 stars
1/03/07 del Mediocrity squared. 3 stars
12/12/06 Angela Saunders Fast moving and worth watching if you like SCARY!! 4 stars
12/12/06 al watchd 34 times 5 stars
12/05/06 Stanley Thai A good remake but it's too long. 4 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
10/17/06 AJ Muller kickass action/horror hybrid with smarts AND style AND fun 4 stars
7/30/06 Dethbyhashi Running Zombies. Bad Idea!! 3 stars
7/17/06 mark just fucking great to watch 5 stars
6/08/06 ES Best zombie flick ever 5 stars
2/20/06 chris f doesnt even compare with the original 3 stars
2/05/06 Shawn Gadberry Best ZOMBIE remake! Best ZOMBIE movie period--since the original DAWN OF THE DEAD! 5 stars
2/04/06 Michele loved it 5 stars
1/18/06 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Just as great as the original, Just in a differetn way. 5 stars
11/22/05 Stefan Halka Decent remake. For some reason I like it better than Romero's version. 3 stars
10/28/05 Monday Morning I've been to Milwaukee, and there ARE zombies there. They're called the Brewers. 4 stars
10/25/05 DEEDeeDEEe I seen More action At the grave yard! Poop! 1 stars
10/21/05 cypress Great remake, must-see if your a zombie freak, lots of action 5 stars
9/25/05 K. Sear Generic, useless, boring, rehashed, predictable, brain-dead crap. 1 stars
9/01/05 Klondo there need to be more characters like CJ 4 stars
8/13/05 Ric It's a great rollercoaster ride, the best action/horror flick in years. 5 stars
8/11/05 ES Finally a zombie movie with a sense of dread, this movie was excellent 5 stars
6/26/05 DennyRoss Raises the bar for the zombie genre - how about a sequel? 5 stars
6/07/05 Anthony G holy shit, action from beginning to end, AWESOME. 5 stars
6/04/05 Mike Jozic Surprisingly brilliant remake of a horror classic. Must see flick! 5 stars
6/01/05 Scott Reynolds A ton of fun, especially the first 10 minutes, which will blow you away. Dark and bloody. 5 stars
5/27/05 Christy Schultz Not bad...lots of gore. 4 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Surprisingly fucking awesome. Doesn't hold a candle to Romero's 'Dawn'. Still fucking cool. 5 stars
5/02/05 MeredithL Fun, scary and never dull! 5 stars
4/25/05 Indrid Cold Better than the original, but still a perfectly mediocre horror movie. 3 stars
4/24/05 Clubber Lang Great first and last 20 or so minutes, but needs stronger characters to make the middle fly 3 stars
4/23/05 Domingo Montayo Oh god its so lame, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish 1 stars
4/17/05 Brig. Gen. Ripper It must be something in the water up in Wisconsin 5 stars
4/15/05 Raymond Montoya the Best Zombie movie ever!!!!! I love this movie 5 stars
4/04/05 Ric It's a scary, fast-paced, action-packed ride. Best horror film of the decade. 5 stars
4/03/05 Tom Ciorciari Not s'good 2 stars
3/25/05 dwarzel Most excellent humor for a zombie movie 4 stars
3/22/05 Uncle Phucker Some cool moments, but nothing compared to the original films of George Romero. 3 stars
3/19/05 Jin Horrifying and disturbing that people waste time on crap like this. Dumb soundtrack too. 1 stars
3/17/05 Naughty Devil Man Has a very nihilistic "fuck the world" teenage mentality. 2 stars
2/25/05 zoe hunter enjoy a good zombie flick like this one..love sarah!! 4 stars
2/01/05 Wendy S. Blew me away! 5 stars
1/29/05 WILLIAM CAMPY BUT FUNNY! 3 stars
1/22/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Ho Hum...Another typical day at the mall. 3 stars
1/12/05 Ron Newbold It was fun once but I won't watch it again anytime soon 3 stars
1/11/05 Kristina Williams loved it 5 stars
1/10/05 Brett Unfortunately not as good as I hoped. 3 stars
12/16/04 J Dead can sure run!!! 5 stars
12/15/04 ALDO I agree with the boring characters....but still deserves a look 4 stars
12/12/04 Charlene Javier Pure popcorn fun! 4 stars
12/11/04 Al Guy Get down with the sickness! 5 stars
12/10/04 tony this movie was pretty bad near the end. Kinda cheezy. But otherwise ok. rent this movie 3 stars
12/08/04 frosty Definitely good, but not really scary. 3 stars
12/05/04 Maalstrom Was boring after the first opening scene. Some REALLY dumb characters 2 stars
11/14/04 Darryl Great opening sequence, then down hill. Not EVEN the least bit suspensful. 2 stars
11/03/04 tatum It's obvious SOMEONE in Hollywood really liked "28 Days Later" 3 stars
10/31/04 asina you can't compare this to the original - too different. great opening montage, though... 4 stars
10/31/04 Geo78665 Starts and ends great, but has boring characters, and lacks a sense of dread. 3 stars
10/29/04 The Talking Elbow Watch the first half of 28 days then tell me this movie couldn't have been better. 3 stars
10/25/04 Ric A terrific rollercoaster ride of action and horror. 5 stars
10/25/04 Tom Ciorciari the best first 15 minutes i've seen in a long time 3 stars
10/13/04 me a great film 5 stars
10/08/04 The Grinch The original is a smarter movie, but this Rubinstein remake is fun, and will help Romero 5 stars
9/02/04 Adam I LOVE THIS MOVIE. IT WAS AWESOME! 5 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge The original still rules! Romero is King of the Zombie flick. 4 stars
8/21/04 Jimmy Great Remake of my Favorit Horrorflick 4 stars
8/15/04 Anthony G fucking awesome movie 5 stars
7/29/04 Shams Huque Awesome film! 5 stars
7/27/04 Kayla this was a great movie! it has scary moments and it has momenys like run stupid!!!1 So i sa 5 stars
7/25/04 Pure RAGE... It was okay... 4 stars
7/05/04 spritely Shocked to discover it's better than the first 5 stars
7/05/04 Brian C0urtney Holy cow! Awesome, gritty horror flick to rage against current teen camp! 5 stars
6/18/04 sumixam Best Horror movie in 20 years 5 stars
6/15/04 Lizzy I feel asleep...need I say more 2 stars
6/15/04 Jordan Davis This movie had its moments. If you're looking for some good fun, it's an excellent choice! 4 stars
6/14/04 d.t.carney awesome don't miss this film !!!!!! 5 stars
6/12/04 malcolm interesting, not a single good thrill 3 stars
6/12/04 cornelious parker awsome zombie movie. zombies are awesome, and this movie did them justice. 5 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 wow what a movie! the opening sequence kicked!!!! 5 stars
6/11/04 Matt best zombie movie ever 5 stars
6/06/04 Norema Cameron Fairly watchable thriller, with typical stupid horror-movie ending. Marginally worth look 4 stars
5/25/04 Mitch From genius cinematography to the brilliant use of Johnny Cash...wow. 5 stars
5/21/04 Eloise an insut to the original, weak performances, just plain bad 1 stars
5/20/04 Jeff S Great use of music and editing, but zombies that run like cheetas? 3 stars
5/14/04 earl duron best horror film in years 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot they ran in 28 days later,now they can die in style too! 5 stars
5/06/04 Bobby Fisher none stop, top shelf horror, very edge of ur seat.... lovely stuff 5 stars
4/24/04 Drew Excellent re-make. Alot more chilling than first anticipated. Speedy zombies much scarier. 5 stars
4/24/04 maxomai An erotic thriller for Nekromantik fans everywhere 5 stars
4/21/04 TonyMontana Only worth watching in theaters 4 stars
4/19/04 jj if this was the worst ever made it would still be better than the original which sucks 3 stars
4/18/04 Zach The opening 10 minutes is STUPENDOUS! 5 stars
4/16/04 TWINEY More fun then horror 4 stars
4/15/04 Jeff MacIver Shuffling zombies are officially a thing of the past. 4 stars
4/15/04 rojo Classic horror, top shelf. 5 stars
4/14/04 slayathon I really had fun watching this but I did not like the ending 4 stars
4/12/04 Mario St.Clair Great movie. IF you havn't seen, go see it. 5 stars
4/12/04 Mike V When of the best horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
4/12/04 Will Taylor this film is an hour and a half which wasted my life! 2 stars
4/09/04 mlh Aliens meets Zombie Flick 5 stars
4/09/04 David R Good action remake of a great horror classic. 5 stars
4/08/04 Eloise crappy, weak, pointless, shameless hollywood remake of a good film. WHY? 1 stars
4/08/04 Mark Awesome film. Fresh, yet does real credit to the original. Gotta love a good zombie flick. 5 stars
4/06/04 Samuel just watch the origional instead, its much better 3 stars
4/06/04 George Baumert Action Packed Fun 5 stars
4/05/04 puckfreak Now, one of my all time favorites 5 stars
4/04/04 Eric A fantastic thrill ride, actually even better than the original. 5 stars
4/03/04 Alexander Miller The best horror film since erm... well, ever 5 stars
4/02/04 re a great film 5 stars
4/02/04 Obi Wan Very good remake. Anyone feel the video game version of Resident Evil coming?? 4 stars
4/01/04 Tim Whitcher A Hollywood CGI mess. Rotting zombies with strength? Come on! 2 thumbs bit off.... 1 stars
4/01/04 tediboy good movie but not to be compared with the original 4 stars
3/31/04 mcgill373 28 days later with a budget 5 stars
3/31/04 thomas clark loved im much better than the original 5 stars
3/31/04 Rod ONeal Very good film- although the ending lost steam. 5 stars
3/30/04 cpkpixel Excellent! Scary, gory and deeply though provoking.... 5 stars
3/29/04 Kenny Ward Gore fest 2004 (excellent) 5 stars
3/29/04 Chris Barts See the original for a good movie, or see one of the millions of other cheap zombie flicks. 1 stars
3/29/04 Mr Lucky They could have trimmed 45 minutes off this monster movie. 2 stars
3/29/04 Katie, 16 It reminded me a little too much of 28 Days Later, but I really enjoyed it. 5 stars
3/29/04 danny perrigoy great film keeps u either on the edge of your seat or curreld in a ball 5 stars
3/29/04 Jean Oh Man! that was GOOD ! 5 stars
3/28/04 Pasquale Buba They already made 28 Days later and that film was betr 1 stars
3/28/04 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) Better than average slasher pic. Soundtrack is the most pleasantly surprising. 4 stars
3/28/04 Taylor It was f*king AWESOME! i have a bit of crude humor so i also thought it was hillarious 5 stars
3/28/04 HorrorScribbler You are who you eat. Jake Weber rocks. Good, but "28 Days Later" better. 4 stars
3/27/04 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Far better than the original, with the ugliest baby I ever seen! 5 stars
3/27/04 rojo The original still has more magic, but the remake takes no prisoners. 4 stars
3/27/04 Melissa Gaugert Sucked big time! 2 stars
3/27/04 Michael Great film. Delivers what it promises and well balanced, unlike 28 Days Later. To be owned. 5 stars
3/26/04 The Ripper What 28 Days Later claimed it was: the horror flick I've been waiting my whole life for. 5 stars
3/26/04 cinkcool It ruled. 5 stars
3/26/04 Priest Good flick, i'll pay to see it again 4 stars
3/26/04 Heather Robosn Taken apart from the original it is an entertaining film, but it lacks a moral heart. 3 stars
3/26/04 greensweater '28 Days Later' was better, but still rocked 5 stars
3/25/04 Mike It's too bad there is't a lower rating for this absolute FAILURE. 1 stars
3/25/04 Mark as good as the original and in ways better 4 stars
3/25/04 deadtoyou kick ass film, everyone should see and bring their kids too!!!! 5 stars
3/25/04 Dave Fox Mad Props to James Gunn , but i'm a wee bit retarded and didn't stay for the credits, what? 5 stars
3/25/04 Meg Worst movie I have ever seen! I was ready to go before the opening credits started 1 stars
3/24/04 f 11 That movie ruled! Bad ass opening scene 5 stars
3/24/04 sikrik not even close to the brilliance of the original 4 stars
3/23/04 luke it was allright i liked the one in '78 better 4 stars
3/23/04 Ryan Wilson Excellent movie! 5 stars
3/23/04 true review way better than the original because the original sucked, best remake in the last 10 years 4 stars
3/23/04 Morally Sound The only worthy 'remake' I have ever seen! Awesome! 5 stars
3/23/04 coco dumb 1 stars
3/23/04 maxomai Fun, satisfying flick. Not 28 days. Stay through the credits! :) 5 stars
3/23/04 Heaven'sJustice Like an overhaul on the original, same good design, just better and newer parts! 5 stars
3/22/04 Caiphn Complete suprise, a must see. 5 stars
3/22/04 AfroFett F*** Resident Evil! 4 stars
3/22/04 graham cosh a must see! equal to but different from the original.can`t wait 4 dvd! 5 stars
3/22/04 Lust4DetH DoTD + 28DaysLater only decent horror in 200x 5 stars
3/22/04 michael keller this movie was awesome, so much fun. 5 stars
3/21/04 y2mckay Better than the original, Eric? Come on now, Son . . . 4 stars
3/21/04 nick2k wowzas! it was grrrreat. was kinda false advertising to sell as a 'remake' though. 5 stars
3/21/04 Morally Sound The original is still the best horror movie of all time. James Gunn's remake kicks ass too. 5 stars
3/21/04 Zophael great flick....non stop action....love the ending 5 stars
3/21/04 john good actors but no charchter development - no creepy atmosphere and bad video game action 2 stars
3/21/04 L.H. Oswald Love the original, love the remake! 5 stars
3/21/04 allan smith Pretty weak. Looked like a video game. celebrity sniping was fun. 2 stars
3/21/04 Michelle Bell Should have just made a sequel, not a remake of the greatest film ever made. 3 stars
3/21/04 True Grit This movie was only average. Original better. And Night of th.. remains untouched. 3 stars
3/21/04 Dustin Loomis an all around great zombie flick 5 stars
3/21/04 Dan hella pimp tite! 5 stars
3/21/04 Carver S. saw it last night and LOVED it..the sniper on the roof was sweet 5 stars
3/20/04 movieguy a great film 5 stars
3/20/04 vagile They got it right. 5 stars
3/20/04 los man The old ruff-around-the-edges splatter FX of old were somehow spookier; original's better 3 stars
3/20/04 Vicious Excellent horror film. 5 stars
3/20/04 Mike Great Movie!!Started right away and doesnt let up til the end...stay for the credits!!! 5 stars
3/20/04 CLS Very good remake--true to the original form. Marred by a bad ending. 4 stars
3/20/04 Graham Alright, but... is it so hard to write an original zombie film, and not rehash a classic? 3 stars
3/20/04 mason if the original wasn't the greatest film ever made this might have worked 2 stars
3/20/04 Maria Harrison the movie was boring, it dragged, and to be blunt it was horrible 2 stars
3/20/04 jpbeck This was a very tastey movie 5 stars
3/19/04 shanaynay I loved it! It scared the lights outta me! 5 stars
3/19/04 steve kick-ass movie 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Mar-2004 (R)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Jun-2004


Directed by
  Zack Snyder

Written by
  James Gunn

Cast
  Sarah Polley
  Ving Rhames
  Mekhi Phifer
  Michael Barry
  Lindy Booth
  Ty Burrell



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast