More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.52

Awesome79.05%
Worth A Look: 8.89%
Average: 3.49%
Pretty Bad: 1.9%
Total Crap: 6.67%

16 reviews, 219 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"A mind-bending, heartbreaking inner-space odyssey."
5 stars

Lacuna Inc., the memory-erasure outfit that furnishes the premise of "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," would be of obvious benefit to movie critics. I wouldn't mind, for instance, forgetting that I ever saw "BloodRayne."

At the other extreme, it might be fun to eradicate the memories of my favorite films, so that I could experience them fresh all over again. (Which would raise the question of how the 33-year-old me would respond to the Indiana Jones movies -- would I love Raiders as much seeing it for the first time today as I did when I was eleven?) On a more serious note, there are experiences and people in our pasts we may wish we could forget. But we are built on the sum of our pasts -- our failures as well as our successes, our pain as well as our pleasure.

Eternal Sunshine ponders the meaning and impact of memory, and grounds it in a romantic fable. Screenwriter Charlie Kaufman, who devised the story with Pierre Bismuth and director Michel Gondry, usually specializes in being too hip for the room -- or the mainstream room, anyway (see Being John Malkovich, Adaptation, or Confessions of a Dangerous Mind). But underneath the hip, heady exterior beats a heart that yearns to understand the heart's vicissitudes. Your typical Kaufman protagonist is driven round the bend by insecurity versus passion -- the head versus the heart.

In Eternal Sunshine, Jim Carrey dials himself down to the ground as Joel Barish, a near-anonymous drone (the script barely specifies what he does for a living) who discovers that his ex-girlfriend, Clementine (Kate Winslet), has visited Lacuna and had all her memories of Joel swept away clean. Carrey, photographed to emphasize his haggard grief and stubble, gives a performance of almost unnerving intensity as a man dealing with the notion of having been erased. If a shared memory dies in one person, where does that leave the person who still has it? In a fit of rage and spite, Joel barges into the Lacuna offices and demands the procedure himself. Lacuna's founder and guru, Dr. Howard Mierzwiak (Tom Wilkinson), agrees to wipe Joel's Clementine memories.

The remainder of the movie -- occasionally interrupted by scenes with Mierzwiak's assistants Stan (Mark Ruffalo) and Patrick (Elijah Wood), whose duty it is to de-Clementine Joel, and Lacuna secretary Mary (Kirsten Dunst), who's going out with Stan -- is given over to Joel's inner journey through a world of disintegrating memories. I assume that most of Lacuna's clientele had an easier time with the memory dump than Joel does. For whatever reason, though he's supposed to be obliviously asleep through the night-long process, Joel -- or Joel's memory-self -- begins to regret his decision, and he clings desperately to each memory even as it fades and disassembles around him. He reaches one beautiful memory of a time when things were good with Clementine, and he doesn't want to let it go. So he and the memory-Clementine become fugitives from the ruthless Lacuna computer as it systematically locates and destroys each bit of the brain that houses a Clementine memory. Within Joel's brain, the lovers go on the run, hiding inside memories that have nothing to do with Clementine, especially embarrassing or painful buried memories. This conceptual comedy has moments of cerebral horror and despair, like Philip K. Dick adapted by David Cronenberg.

Michel Gondry is an internationally acclaimed music-video director (much like Spike Jonze, who helmed two Kaufman movies). His previous feature, also written by Kaufman, was Human Nature, also rooted in the head-slam between love and science. It was too self-consciously farcical, though -- maybe an attempt by two unconventional creators to prove they could make a sloppy physical comedy -- and it ended up missing both the brain and the funnybone. As of now, it can be seen as a dry run for Eternal Sunshine, in which Gondry, whose work in Human Nature was rather impersonal, de-slicks his style and serves the material. Gondry's use of CGI here reminds you of what special effects can do in a movie with real imagination. Some of this stuff, with background objects quietly blinking out or decaying memories of faceless people, is uniquely weird and upsetting.

The motor of the movie is Joel's quest to preserve Clementine in his memory, so if we don't agree with him that she's worth holding onto, the film perishes. But in the vivacious person of Kate Winslet, Clementine is realistically exasperating yet compelling -- a joie-de-vivre girl who drives a man nuts yet also pushes him to live more fully. Given time, a non-Lacuna-ized Joel might come to think back on Clementine fondly, or at least acknowledge the ways he grew under her care. But a man rejected and erased is not one to take the long view, and Joel at first jumps at the chance to clear the bitch out of his head. But his mistake, as you notice when you mull it over later, is that he's erasing Clementine not because he's tortured by memories of her but because he wants to get back at her.

Dr. Mierzwiak commits to Joel's procedure anyway, out of guilt and fear -- Joel has found out about his own erasure, and that's not supposed to happen. If word got out, it could mean the destruction of everything Lacuna has accomplished. Mierzwiak thinks he's doing great work, but he's only providing a quick fix for pain. Instead of giving people the tools to process hurtful memories and move on, he just whisks the past away with a keystroke. In Joel's case, the past includes memory of Lacuna. And we also find the sleazy little Patrick -- and Mierzwiak himself -- capitalizing on memory erasure for their own gain or convenience. It's mind-rape in reverse -- drawing out poison instead of injecting it. But that poison could also be the irritating grain of sand that produces an eventual pearl of wisdom. We remember pain so that we know what hurts; we remember mistakes so that we don't repeat them.

Eternal Sunshine is a wild tangle of emotion and thought, but one thing it isn't, particularly, is funny. I don't mean that as a criticism (although there are some fine, goofy moments from the supporting cast, especially the stoned Ruffalo and Dunst, and Joel's childhood memory incorporating Clementine as a go-go babysitter is memorably off-the-wall). It was marketed as a zany Jim Carrey movie, of course, with the trailer using quite a bit of loopy footage I looked in vain for in the movie. Carrey's scream in the trailer (when he's got the memory-wipe headpiece on) is used as a laugh beat; in the movie it's distorted in response to a genuinely distressing strobe of disorienting images.

Kaufman and Gondry bring out all the weirdness of the premise, sometimes eliciting disbelieving laughter, sometimes taking us to odd, chilly places (a scene involving the young Joel and a bird is a sad, harsh bit of business). At times, the film hits the notes that The Butterfly Effect haplessly aimed for -- the notion that things happen for a reason, and that the past shouldn't be rewritten even if you can. Since all we have of the past is memory, and since memory makes us who we are, to alter it is to shake the very foundations of self. The movie also effortlessly considers the interconnectedness of memories -- if you erase your hated ex, you also wipe out everything you were and did during the time with him or her; the good vanishes along with the bad, and what you're left with is an artificially induced void.

At the end, and at the beginning (the structure is kind of fancy), we see Joel and Clementine meeting for the first time. The real climax of Eternal Sunshine focuses on how Joel and Clementine -- in the real world, not in Joel's memory-world -- deal with what they've done. Will they deal with it? Or is the film an infinite loop? Among other things, the movie is an essay on destiny versus will. If two people are meant to be together, the film seems to say, no amount of memory cleansing is going to keep them apart. It's handled far more provocatively here than in the genial but unimaginative 50 First Dates, which also hinged on memory loss. Charlie Kaufman likes to begin with an outlandish premise and then burrow inside the characters to see how the premise affects them. He deals in the comedy of flawed perception, and it needs just the right rough-hewn directorial touch (George Clooney's rather slick and icy direction of Confessions of a Dangerous Mind ran contrary to Kaufman's intent) -- a first-draft shakiness, which can only be successfully accomplished by the truly gifted. Eternal Sunshine's stylistic primitivism works in accord with the script's sophistication, as if the very film itself, like Joel's memories, were about to tremble and fade away.

This movie joins Kaufman's best work in its maddening yet satisfying ability to stay with you and hound you for further answers; in that respect, Kaufman's movies are our own Clementines.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8888&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/27/06 14:42:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/11/14 syzvadiq USA 5 stars
2/04/14 dripvd USA 3 stars
2/04/14 xncfqbmmu USA 5 stars
11/13/13 Vanessa Campos one of my top movies 5 stars
10/27/12 Bob Wow, just wow. I went in with no idea, not even about the memory removal, and I'm sooo glad 5 stars
9/24/12 rob beautiful movie, top 5 favorite of all time 5 stars
7/28/12 Luis Rivera Extremely genuine and effective 5 stars
1/22/12 rXrumere No Comment 5 stars
8/23/11 Annie G Will stick with you, in a slightly annoying fashion. 3 stars
7/10/11 Todd Go watch Twilight, Cindy. That'll be more up your alley. 5 stars
6/27/11 DR A must see movie, with one of the most brilliant movie endings - simple yet poignant. 5 stars
7/18/10 Flounder One of my all-time favorite films. Intelligent and emotionally poignant. 5 stars
1/15/10 Diarmuid Hickey Wonderful. 5 stars
7/02/09 cindy Nothing funny here, this movie just plain sucked. BORING!!! 1 stars
11/21/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting Movie! 5 stars
10/05/08 Lenny Zane Kate Winslet's Oscar nomination for this tripe may be a sign of the end of civilization. 1 stars
6/09/08 PAUL SHORTT ODD BUT COMPELLING 3 stars
5/12/08 jordan unforgettable imagery and beautifully crafted. everything works wonderfully. a fav 4sure 5 stars
1/13/08 R.W.Welch Highly original but overly fragmented. B- 4 stars
12/16/07 LuLu One of the best movies ever made!!!!! 5 stars
8/03/07 Me This really sucks.. boring and predictable 1 stars
6/24/07 VIVEK KRISHNAN SUPERB, THE BEST FILM IN A DECADE 4 stars
6/15/07 Danielle Ophelia Most movies make me hate myself in the morning. Not this one. 5 stars
6/03/07 Gary of Winnipeg A very stirring movie but not manipulative 5 stars
5/13/07 the t-dawg Just Super-Awesome-Tacular 5 stars
4/08/07 H.M. Anyone who doesn't like this movie is an idiot. (I'm looking at you, one-star guys.) 5 stars
4/05/07 fools♫gold Not as good or as bad as people say (to me, anyway). Dream-like, and it does it right. 4 stars
2/16/07 Coenie Best performance by the brilliant Ms Winslet....EVER! 5 stars
12/24/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 3 stars
12/22/06 Bill Lambertson Timeless Beauty. Astonishing. 5 stars
11/29/06 Stanley Thai One of the weirdest, imaginative, best, romance ever! 5 stars
11/26/06 Jason of Essex Carrey has more than redeemed himself; Winslet is superb. Sad, surreal, beautiful and lol. 5 stars
11/16/06 Brian O'Neill A phenomenally creative, affecting, unpredictable, fevered dream of a movie. Adored it. 5 stars
11/04/06 Courtney This film is amazing, truly touching 5 stars
8/15/06 nathan one of this decades best and most original films 5 stars
7/13/06 Agent Sands Deserving of every bit of praise it has gotten. 5 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber I hatedthis - w-w-a-a-a-y-y-y-y-y too pretentious. 2 stars
4/30/06 Doug Seriously, HBS needs to bring back the 'Fucking Awesome' rating; 'Awesome' doesn't do. 5 stars
4/21/06 Diamond This movie is amazing, beautiful, funny, witty, and heart catching... MUST SEE. 5 stars
4/01/06 Anthony Feor Carrey has hit rock bottom 1 stars
3/21/06 kerry god does this movie suck 1 stars
1/05/06 Andrew Cheung After the 6th viewing, the ending is so perfect it still gives me chills 5 stars
12/27/05 Sammu i don't use to leave a movie theatre before the end of the movie, but this one... blaghr!!! 1 stars
12/13/05 cooler Winslet still can't act and this movie sucks.BORINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/01/05 Tara I was shocked by how good this movie was. The previews didn't do it justice. 5 stars
11/15/05 noops show it any mental hospital 1 stars
11/14/05 Jason Marjoram wikid awsome 5 stars
10/11/05 Agent Sands Kaufman is so brilliant that he makes u follow his own train of thought during the story. 5 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley Kind of touching. 4 stars
8/18/05 Stephen Beautiful and deep without being preachy... well worth your time. 5 stars
8/06/05 Zack Charlie Kaufman's best screenplay 5 stars
8/05/05 Gabriel Ruzin heartbreaking and incredible; one of my very favorite 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins The French will love this. Unfortunately I'm not decadent enough. 2 stars
7/23/05 Bad Critic Finally, a good Jim Carrey movie. Well, there was The Cable Guy. I guess I take that back. 4 stars
7/08/05 delli Great, but i want to see it. 5 stars
6/30/05 Chris The best movie of this decade, no doubt about it. 5 stars
6/28/05 R once again, kaufman misses the "comedy" mark, but for the better. he got lucky, THIS time. 4 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Absolutely floored by this film. Gets better and better every viewing. 5 stars
5/06/05 Regis Best movie of 2004. 5 stars
5/02/05 dee smith aweful 1 stars
5/01/05 ed.williams Great movie. Jim Carrey is becoming a great actor...possible another Robin Williams 5 stars
4/22/05 akram One of the worst movies I have ever seen. 1 stars
3/30/05 Regis Malone One of the best movies of the 21st century, if not the best. 5 stars
3/26/05 Mike Best movie of 2004. No, make that the last five years. At least. 5 stars
3/26/05 MaryBeth Isaac Good - thought provoking; insightful. Very unique storyline. Kate Winslet was perfect 4 stars
3/25/05 dwarzel Hopefully no more talking out of his backside for Carrey 5 stars
3/24/05 Michael Lloyd unlike any other film, great cast, great writing, daringly original 5 stars
3/09/05 jeff beautiful movie!!! very touching. 5 stars
3/02/05 Taylor Fladgate A masterpiece...blows your mind... 5 stars
2/18/05 Naka TYPING IN CAPS DOES NOT EXEMPT YOU FROM BEING A MORON WILLIAM. 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Very different movie, unique! 4 stars
2/14/05 ELI You suck William! :) one of the best movies of the year 5 stars
1/29/05 WILLIAM LONGWORTH FELL ASLEEP DURING IT, JIM CAREY SHOULD ONLY DO FUNNY MOVIES. 2 stars
1/26/05 Mark the best film of 2004 5 stars
1/25/05 Shawn jim carrey is great. great movie 5 stars
1/20/05 lindy03 This is a great film! 5 stars
1/16/05 Charlene Javier Brilliant! Bravo! 5 stars
1/15/05 Dara Elizabeth Van This film has made me look at life from a new perspective. Kate Winslet's BEST EVER!!! 5 stars
1/12/05 Tom Benton Easily the best film of 2004, and one of the best ever made. 5 stars
1/12/05 HL Twilight Zone?..Love Story?..Agree With TFH 'bout Kate. 4 stars
1/08/05 Martin Took some effort, but well worth it. 5 stars
1/04/05 Echo a lovestory with a twist. now my alltime favorite 5 stars
1/04/05 Abbath Very well made and written. Best of 2004. 5 stars
1/03/05 Max An aquired taste. 4 stars
12/30/04 Debra Sherman even made my nonemotional boyfriend sit up and take notice 5 stars
12/21/04 ELI Best movie in 2004! :) 5 stars
12/14/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne What Golden Globe idiots mistook this for a decent movie???? Kate Winslut sucks!!!!! 1 stars
12/12/04 AlbieOne Check it out,,, 4 stars
12/12/04 Charlene Javier Excellent! Kate Winslet deserves an Oscar! 5 stars
12/11/04 Jerry Very original. The best movie I've seen in 2004 5 stars
12/11/04 y2mckay vastly overrated, although Carrey gives a surprisingly good dramatic performance 3 stars
12/07/04 Lily To date, one of the best movies I have seen......A poignancyso pure and lethal 5 stars
12/03/04 Film Student Excellent movie, great subtle effects. See it. 5 stars
12/01/04 lolalaloca13 One of my top 5 fave films now! 5 stars
11/27/04 Matt F. Probably the best movie i've seen this year 5 stars
11/23/04 doinkie Stunning, thought provoking and brilliant. Best pic of 04 5 stars
11/23/04 Peter Scadding Slow to start with then the twists and turns kick in, marvellous film 4 stars
11/22/04 Jim Compelling psychological fairy tale shows how we forget good memories when things go bad. 5 stars
11/22/04 David Best movie of the year. 5 stars
11/21/04 Abbath A beautiful story filled with genuine emotion delievered in the most unique fashion. 5 stars
11/19/04 Jennifer I cannot get this movie out of my head, it's amazing! 5 stars
11/18/04 Ry Predictable and a waste of time. 1 stars
11/18/04 Jews for Hitler Right on the mark with toxic relationships. 4 stars
11/14/04 Nadia Fantastic. I loved it. 5 stars
11/07/04 Phil M. Aficionado Glad I saw it; innovative, well made, but too much hocum for my tastes 3 stars
11/06/04 Sara You're missing out if you don't see this. 5 stars
11/04/04 Alissa Lubanski This movie is a piece of shit. 1 stars
11/01/04 Monster W. Kung Frankly, I expected better than this. Not bad, but far from great. 3 stars
10/30/04 Elise WOW, best movie I saw this year! 5 stars
10/28/04 s4|nt you probobly think your artsy dont you? it blows 1 stars
10/27/04 The Talking Elbow Left me feeling 'bleh' at the end. Lacks real substance, more style then anything. But good 3 stars
10/23/04 Mikami Very sophisticated, non-linear film! 5 stars
10/13/04 Laura Defininutly awesome!!!!! 5 stars
10/09/04 Flounder Incredible 5 stars
10/03/04 Doc Hollywood Thought provoking and evocative. 5 stars
9/30/04 Flounder I'm absolutely stunned that I enjoyed this. 5 stars
9/29/04 MikeC Best movie i've seen in a decade 5 stars
9/25/04 Agent Sands One of the freshest, greatest movies in awhile. 5 stars
9/23/04 brit this is an amazing film. it is more than just simple entertainment.rather it is an artwork! 5 stars
9/23/04 nh great 5 stars
8/15/04 Peter James The best films of the year 5 stars
8/06/04 Terry Best film I've seen all year, or even the last couple 5 stars
8/05/04 Elena Best screenplay and direction in ten years 5 stars
8/02/04 Luna Pierce This movie has got to go on the top ten best movies of the year if not the last decade. 5 stars
7/25/04 marcelo marques Briliantly made. K. takes us on a journey which will never be erased from our minds..... 5 stars
7/21/04 dropdead Amazing! Best movie I've seen in a very long time! 5 stars
7/17/04 legend Hands down the best film this year. Great movie. 5 stars
7/08/04 Liz I loved this movie when I saw it. It was able to actually keep my attention the entire time 5 stars
7/01/04 Mikey Crunt I love this film. I was the only person in this old-fashioned cinema. Only in the UK 5 stars
6/12/04 Elena If you didn't like it, then you shouldn't have seen it because for what it is it's amazing 5 stars
6/09/04 S.F. Slow in the begining. A film that atleast tries to be different. Worth a watch. 4 stars
6/08/04 James Kustes One of 2004's best. Great soundtrack by ELO, Beck, and Jon Brion! 5 stars
6/02/04 Iris Dementia Praecox If Kirsten Dunst hadn't done VIRGIN SUICIDES, this would be every cast member's worst film! 1 stars
6/02/04 Norma Lehigh Woo fonvoulted cor turds! 1 stars
6/02/04 Turtle Touching, bizarre, and yet strangest of all, very real. Viva Charlie Kaufman! 5 stars
6/01/04 Sheila Evans ALONG CAME POLLY meets FATAL ATTRACTION meets 50 LAST DATES. 1 stars
5/31/04 Edler The ending was a disaster... like they ran out of money and had to wrap up in a hurry. 4 stars
5/27/04 Melissa P i loved the movie it's worth to see it, one of the few movies of its type that i enjoyed. 5 stars
5/26/04 Proteus Amazing performances, compelling creative script, and directed with flair. A treasure. 5 stars
5/23/04 Jackie Thomas original, great movie 5 stars
5/20/04 Alan Liddle In my Top 10 - Very left field! 5 stars
5/20/04 cpbjr One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. The story and its telling -- genius! 5 stars
5/20/04 Agent Sands Extremely effective. It may be kinda confusing, but it kicks ass overall. 5 stars
5/19/04 Elena Cloest thing to a perfect movie I've ever seen 5 stars
5/18/04 JoeManco Each prayer accepted, and each wish resigned 5 stars
5/16/04 steph an excellent film. really intresting and different ! loved it! :) 5 stars
5/15/04 skye so glad kate wasn't drew b. nice movie, but getting tired of reality-manipulation gimmicary 4 stars
5/14/04 earl duron WEIRD AND OVERATED=ANNOYING 2 stars
5/11/04 Graham Great acting and script killed by gimmicky over-direction 3 stars
5/11/04 Helen Bradley worst film of the decade 1 stars
5/11/04 AR Utterly wonderful acting and filming; a beautiful concept as well. 5 stars
5/11/04 Kimberly absolute genius 5 stars
5/07/04 DM Hooray for Jim Carrey! Found a new character at last! 5 stars
5/06/04 Mark Fulwiler Intelligent, well acted and entertaining 5 stars
5/01/04 sulky Kaufman brilliant as ever, Gondry underrated, wonderful cast 5 stars
5/01/04 Spud Envy Fabulous, funny, provocative and KIRSTEN DUNST in her undies!!! YOWZA 5 stars
4/27/04 gabrielle amazing! cant stop thinking about it 5 stars
4/27/04 Reini Urban Where Adapation failed, here it works. 5 stars
4/24/04 lacondora great, weird, wonderful flick 5 stars
4/24/04 Jorge Guimera heart and mind trip... a truly life experience 5 stars
4/23/04 mccn22 great 5 stars
4/23/04 ospinad simply put, best movie EVER! 5 stars
4/22/04 Kathy Brilliant love story, heartbreaking and funny too, Best of 2004 so far 5 stars
4/21/04 John Wallace long boring and confused 2 stars
4/20/04 Rosie R Brilliant! 5 stars
4/20/04 Marc Reasoner Bittersweet brilliance 5 stars
4/20/04 T$ excellent 5 stars
4/19/04 Boris Brilliant. Winslet is so adorable in this film, while Carrey holds his own. 5 stars
4/19/04 Owen Earp Phenomenal film... Jim Carrey & Kate Winslet are both truly captivating. True storytelling. 5 stars
4/19/04 Kevin c This movies sucks 1 stars
4/19/04 Nipun Sareen Smashing! Just one of the movies you would like never to end !!!! 5 stars
4/19/04 frankie stein deep and thought provoking. My new favorite movie 5 stars
4/18/04 zeitgeist Brilliant. Kaufman is a 21st century Philip K. Dick with glitz 5 stars
4/15/04 Agent Sands So deep it gets to boggle the mind into tying itself in knots, but it sure is great. 5 stars
4/14/04 CB truly beautiful...congrats Kaufman 5 stars
4/14/04 Aaron Artfully tasteful, but not great 3 stars
4/12/04 Jessica awesome movie 5 stars
4/10/04 Sean Anderson Has made me look at movies in a whole new light. One of my absolute favorites. 5 stars
4/09/04 colleen beautiful. 5 stars
4/08/04 Robert Wow, absolutely amazing. It'll mess with your head for a week 5 stars
4/07/04 mason ok if you like watching multi-millionaires try to play "regular-folks", annoying soundtrack 3 stars
4/07/04 re a great film 5 stars
4/05/04 Kbar a bit overobvious of a plot...no true mindfuck here 4 stars
4/02/04 Robert Goodwin Please tell everyone you know to go see this movie!!! Absolutely Incredible. 5 stars
4/02/04 othree great & touched way i can't express, carey (rocked)& winslet = wonderful 2 5 stars
4/02/04 Andy Lindsay Truly excellent. I'll see it again before it leaves the theaters. 5 stars
4/01/04 Jessie i loved it! 5 stars
4/01/04 Nicole Very solid movie, I was impressed. 5 stars
3/30/04 Barrett A stunningly beautiful and human film. 5 stars
3/30/04 jefftucson Best film I've seen in about a year. 5 stars
3/30/04 chris. awesome...NOT terrific 5 stars
3/28/04 FrayLo Takes a while to get started, but definitely relateable and compelling. 5 stars
3/28/04 Margie very very good... i think most people can relate with the subject matter 4 stars
3/28/04 average guy It's Worth a Look, but I was expecting too much after the buzz 1 stars
3/28/04 Kristin Fantastically creative and touching as well. "Being John Malkovich" with heart. 5 stars
3/27/04 Nathaniel No other word but amazing is needed 5 stars
3/27/04 Alicia I usually avoid anything with Jim Carey, but give him an Oscar! 5 stars
3/27/04 Melissa Gaugert Wonderful, surprising, sad, happy, funny --great all around movie! 5 stars
3/26/04 Eric This movie is incredible... It really touched me because, basically, I AM Joel. 5 stars
3/26/04 Emily When it was over i just sat there and took big breaths... 5 stars
3/26/04 rojo Great movie, be patient. 4 stars
3/25/04 Rich Great, thought provoking movie 5 stars
3/24/04 rje I like Jim Carrey but this is the worst movie imaginable 1 stars
3/24/04 Desperado Perfect, Incredible, I have seen a lot of movies, and this is one of my favorites, A+ 5 stars
3/24/04 cobra commander pretty damn good job by carey... a bit magnolia'esque nonetheless... fantastic!! 5 stars
3/24/04 Mortis Beautiful, engaging, engrossing, distrubing, saddening & uplifting - wonderfully acted 5 stars
3/23/04 Jon Jabber incredible acting performances especially from carrey, dunst, and winslet 5 stars
3/23/04 Mitch this film was really strange, and I don't think I got it. Mostly , it made me really sad. 4 stars
3/23/04 A F This will be hard to beat this year!!! In my mind anyway. 5 stars
3/22/04 Z_Fine The best film I have ever seen. 5 stars
3/22/04 susan lee kaufman rules 5 stars
3/22/04 midLI Cannot wait until I see it again! Better than awesome. 5 stars
3/22/04 Bubba Jones What 'Punch Drunk Love' was supposed to be (without the hype, too) & more. 5 stars
3/22/04 Koitus Parts were confusing, because of "jumbled" time-line(s); great flashbacks to childhood! 4 stars
3/21/04 True Grit Memento is about ten times better. The actors were cool but the movie lead nowhere. 2 stars
3/21/04 Titus Fantastic movie in every way. 5 stars
3/20/04 john wonderful, clever as 'Momento, romance, love etc. 5 stars
3/19/04 Cameron Slick An amazing, provactive, genius romantic comedy dreams are made of. 5 stars
3/15/04 Ray Carrey is good, but it isnt that much a comedy 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Mar-2004 (R)
  DVD: 04-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Apr-2004 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast