More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.46

Awesome70.97%
Worth A Look: 17.2%
Average: 5.38%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 6.45%

2 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Sound of Music, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"This crack-whore hooker moves in with fifteen singing children."
4 stars

OK, just kidding--This is a review for The Sound of Music, voted by everyone over 70 as the greatest movie ever filmed and is it time for my blue pills yet? Julie Andrews is ultra-perky and sweet, especially in the scenes where she's forced at gunpoint to provide oral sex to the chaueffer and the cook.

OK, kidding again. She's this governess who goes to stay with the Von Trapp family. At first the little tykes reject her, stating things like "Lesbians say what?" and "You're that lady from the Triscuit commericals!" They slowly begin to like her because she frolics and sings and is pretty damn cool to be around, especially in comparison to their nazi dad who's more stern than that psycho nun in The Blues Brothers.

Anyway, Dad wisely disappears for the middle two hours of this epic, which leaves the slave children and this margarine saleswoman to display such skills as singing while walking, singing while running, and especially singing while singing. All the classics songs you remember are on display: My Favorite Things, Do Re Mi, How Do You Solve A Problem Like Angina?, and Rub My Swollen Parts. Truly magnificent.

The movie ends up with some pretty shoddy plot contrivances that require this obnoxious (and singing) clan to make a daring escape from the Nazis...while singing, of course. Let's put it this way: If you're making cookies and run out of sugar, run this videotape on the wet sticky batter. The Sound of Music is so sappy you should brush your teeth continuously as you watch it. Then immediately consult an oral surgeon.

All venom aside, this is simply the innocent classic that your parents let you stay up late on a school night to watch, hoping you'd learn something from its sweet message, instead you can't wake up for school the next morning and you decide to swear you're going to throw up and Mom says you BETTER get the HELL out of bed or you can't stay up late next week to watch Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Ah youth.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=889&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/19/99 21:50:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/15/17 Louise Juvenile review Scott. It's a film to be enjoyed by all ages, not just oldies. 5 stars
3/02/12 stanley welles the audience is asleep with the sound of music 1 stars
1/30/11 Linda J One of the best films ever made. A great family film. 5 stars
8/29/09 smrithi the music in this movie has taken me to different world 4 stars
6/22/09 Richard Walsh I saw "The Sound of Music" when I was 18 in 1965. 44 years later I still love it. 5 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. this film deserves no reviews/ratings under five stars. 5 stars
9/13/08 David Cohen I hate musicals...but this one is pretty good...for a muscial 5 stars
6/26/08 Emily Petrie I've seen it tons of times and I never get tired of it!! 5 stars
5/29/08 PAUL SHORTT HANDSOME MUSICAL THAT ENTERTAINS BOTH MIND AND SPIRIT 5 stars
4/05/08 Pamela White Simple songs and the children make the movie 5 stars
1/29/07 Steph It should be a LAW that everyone see this at least once. A true classic! 5 stars
1/23/07 action movie fan boring--thunderball was 1965's best movie, mister moses, crack in the world also good 1 stars
12/17/06 R.W.Welch Socko opening sequence. The rest is pretty good too. 4 stars
11/28/06 Laurie jones saw the film seven times . i would still watch it seven times seven more 5 stars
10/21/06 AnnieG Watch the DVD - TV version we all know cuts various scenes. 4 stars
9/12/06 Jessie Qiou I've watched this fantastic movie for countless times but still not get tired of it.Amazing 4 stars
2/19/06 Yuvan Seth Excellent movie 5 stars
1/03/06 Daveman As gushy as the odious Mary Poppins only this has a great s/t and beautiful photography. 4 stars
12/24/05 Green Gremlin Sentimental, corny but impossible to dislike 5 stars
11/18/05 M.F. a lovely movie 5 stars
10/21/05 Leah and Kelly the hills came alive 5 stars
9/14/05 Actress variously known as Angelina Jolie, Charlize Theron&Ashley Judd Superb! Please cast me in an R-rated remake! 5 stars
5/17/05 LARRY LEISE sR. I Loved this Movie and think every one should see it. 5 stars
5/02/05 Nicole classic..should be known to everyone 5 stars
4/27/05 John charming as can be....great 5 stars
4/07/05 brody boring..... 1 stars
3/26/05 Denise awesome 5 stars
3/19/05 lora Amazing...pure complete entertainment 5 stars
2/26/05 rebecca it is the best movie ever *but Julie Andrews is good in any movie!!!* 5 stars
2/23/05 gracecchu A pure classic, this is my 26-year-old, straight brother's favorite movie. 5 stars
2/21/05 fiona fantastic movie...but it loses it when they get together! oh well... 5 stars
2/20/05 debra fey great oldie but goodie 4 stars
2/18/05 Shel Wonderful! Too bad many of todays youth won't see it..it's too old 5 stars
2/15/05 Carolyn Rathburn Love this classic musical with it's dreamy music and beautiful scenery 5 stars
2/12/05 rebecca gilbert feels good. a classic 5 stars
2/11/05 Sharon Davis Wonderful, how could you be down 5 stars
2/08/05 Gray first half sucks ass, the second half brings me to tears (Edelweiss) 4 stars
1/26/05 Ashley Smith I love this movie, but I love anyhting with Julie Andrews 5 stars
10/24/04 emma tabelisma one of the best ive ever watch 5 stars
10/19/04 kite its so wonderful! 5 stars
10/15/04 Pete I'd never get tired of watching it again and again 5 stars
9/16/04 Shalmali Dilip Kamat very good 4 stars
9/02/04 John It has a few good moments but except for the scenery I found it rather dull 3 stars
8/16/04 djacosta Very good children movie 5 stars
6/09/04 Nobody A classic! I first saw this when I was a little kid, it remains one of my favorite things 5 stars
12/23/03 Chris Lovely and sweet. It ranks in my top 10 of all time. A masterpiece. 5 stars
12/12/03 Wayne Gifford Its the best movie ever made. Period. 5 stars
10/04/03 DM Best song ("How Can Love Survive?") is cut out, and it's too sappy anyway 3 stars
4/15/03 susan it's great! one of my all time favorites 5 stars
4/13/03 Dave One of the greatest musicals ever made. 5 stars
4/09/03 Daisy Brown Its simply a superb moovie which captures all ur attention..3 hrs pass like 3 secs 5 stars
3/25/03 Colleen This is my all time favorite movie. A must see for everyone 5 stars
3/23/03 Actress known as Angelina Jolie, Ashley Judd, and Charlize Theron Splendid. Please cast me in an R-rated remake of this! 5 stars
3/20/03 May Q. Horney Compelling, for all the hokiness anyone ascribes to it. 5 stars
1/19/03 Douglas E. Smith Still a must see movie. I meet and spoke with Eleanor Parker yesterday, a wonderful person. 5 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig they cut out the best song "No Way To Stop It" 4 stars
11/06/02 Daryn M. ***** A true classic! ***** 5 stars
10/24/02 Flounder This is probably the greatest family/music film ever made 5 stars
10/24/02 Charles Tatum The Sound of Mucus 3 stars
10/08/02 chris super-wicked-awesome 5 stars
8/30/02 Peter Parker 5 stars
8/05/02 Ruth Gonzalez BEST MOVIE EVER !! 4 stars
7/18/02 Lottie Anyone who says it isn't great should be shot. By a French firing squad, with no cigarette. 5 stars
4/20/02 JOE MAMA retarded 1 stars
4/03/02 actress var. known as Charlize Theron, Ashley Judd, and Angelina Jolie Astounding movie. Please cast me in an R-rated remake of it. 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand the music...the story...the scenery...this movie is a classic 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent Music is AWESOME. 5 stars
12/11/01 Melanie i think its a great movie(I'm not 100 years old and think anthing with music is sweet ) Bu 5 stars
10/27/01 Andrew Carden It Starts Out Really Good, but It Gets Quite Dull Later On. 3 stars
10/13/01 British Bulldog This film is a classic from start to finish. 5 stars
9/26/01 Honesta Romberger It is a very sweet, good natured movie, that brightens anyone's day, and lift's ones soul. 5 stars
7/04/01 Georg Hurdalek I had some really good ideas for this picture. I really did. They blew them all. Bastards. 1 stars
5/18/01 Bada Bing Crosby What would have happened if one of the little bastards did not FEEL like singing? 1 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye It somehow seems wrong to call this movie "fuckin' awesome" and yet.... 5 stars
10/29/00 Melanie Pair This was my favorite movie as a little girl and I still love to watch it and sing along!!!! 5 stars
10/15/00 rdmanning@hotmail.com I liked it so much, I wrote the sequel! 5 stars
7/13/00 Eric Can't help myself, I LOVE IT PASSIONATELY!!!! 5 stars
4/29/00 C.K. McConnell Great Movie 5 stars
10/19/99 The Velvet Edge I just peed myself. (I'm rating the review, not the movie ) 5 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu Best of all time!!! 5 stars
9/28/98 Heather How do you solve a problem like overplayed Rogers & Hammerstein musicals? 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Aug-1990 (G)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast