More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.51

Awesome76.67%
Worth A Look: 14.44%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 1.11%
Total Crap: 7.78%

7 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Before Sunset
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A charming, intelligent film about love"
4 stars

Celine (Julie Delpy) and Jesse (Ethan Hawke) met nine years ago on a train in Austria, spent the day together in Vienna, and parted ways, promising to meet in Vienna in six months. That much you know if you saw “Before Sunrise” (1995), which I did not. What you did not know is that the planned re-encounter never happened, and this beautiful young couple -- who never learned each other’s last names or contact information -- never saw each other again.

Until “Before Sunset,” that is, when Jesse is in Paris on a book tour and Celine is wandering through bookshops. Jesse has written a semi-fictional story about two young people who fall in love one magical evening in Vienna -- proof that he never forgot Celine. That he should meet her again now seems pre-destined. Alas, he must catch a plane back to the States in a couple hours. All he can do is walk and talk with Celine through the streets of Paris in the time he has.

The film, again written and directed by Richard Linklater (with the stars getting co-writer credits), unfolds in real time for 80 minutes as Celine and Jesse re-connect and rekindle their affection for each other. They do almost nothing but talk, filling one another in on what’s happened over the past nine years, and expounding on some of the interesting philosophical ideas Linklater is famous for. It’s interesting conversation even for disinterested bystanders like ourselves.

Hawke’s voice has a whine to it that I’ve never liked, and his character says “I’m just kidding” too often in the film. Apart from that, Jesse and Celine are perfectly likable, sympathetic people, and seeing them begin to fall in love as if spying on them -- the camerawork is unobtrusive and observant -- is a reasonably satisfying experience.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8925&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/04/04 13:27:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2004 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/28/12 Quigley One of the best sequels ever made. There's nothing like the lovely art of conversation. 5 stars
6/11/11 Jack Lantern Brilliant and captivating. Possibly the best "romance" movie ever. 5 stars
10/01/08 Annie G The ultimate ‘they came to talk’ film, but actually quite enjoyable. 4 stars
5/12/08 Venere Thought provoking yet Romantic. They both become a lil too "jaded" at the end though. 5 stars
6/20/07 Dunedain The most amazing film in years 5 stars
6/02/07 Sam one of the films I could never forget 5 stars
5/21/07 Qaisar Janjua It makes you think and it is a great thing for a film. 5 stars
4/19/07 fools♫gold People don't change. 5 stars
3/17/07 Double M Fantastic sequel. realistic characters. Not for CGI-obsessed kids. 5 stars
11/26/06 Indrid Cold Amazingly, it's a completely satisfying continuation of the original. Kudos to Linklater. 5 stars
8/23/05 john williams One of the most interesting movies i've ever seen. conversations were done so real. 5 stars
8/13/05 Lily The rare sequel that is better than the first. Lovely ending. 4 stars
7/25/05 KAREN DE JESUS IT IS SO FANTASTIC..... I LOV\E EVERY WORD OF IT.... WITH JUST SIMPLE CONVERSATION..... 5 stars
5/16/05 JFK good movie, script and acting 4 stars
2/06/05 joanna saw it a month ago & still cant stop thinking about it 5 stars
1/23/05 Darryl Almost as good as "Sunrise," my only complaint being that it ended too soon! 5 stars
12/27/04 Steve I can't do this movie justice in one line...heck, in ten pages. 5 stars
12/13/04 ken purchase achingly beautiful 5 stars
12/07/04 Lily Talking never got better in a movie! 5 stars
12/06/04 Natasha Theobald I love the idea, I love the execution -- intimate and evocative 5 stars
12/05/04 Sid Savillo/Novelist/Scriptwriter That One Night Stand They Had was More Precious than Anything! 5 stars
12/04/04 nichole the movie is a total crap, it's a waste of money 1 stars
11/23/04 Ed Wood, Jr. So pretentious, cloying and self-satisfied I longed for the damn thing to be over. 2 stars
11/16/04 Dave Has a natural flow. If you've loved deeply once and disconnected it will have a certain ap 5 stars
11/14/04 tom This is romance, "new" love between the ears and over the years. Enchanting! 5 stars
11/02/04 alice a beautiful film, intelligent , for intelligent people, marvellues acting!!! 5 stars
10/05/04 julie brilliant 5 stars
10/01/04 Wendy I groaned out loud several times. 1 stars
9/10/04 Noah I loved it as much as "Before Sunrise" 5 stars
8/31/04 Steve Casper Great romance! 5 stars
8/25/04 martin unpleasant characters - cliched 1 stars
8/23/04 tina LOVED it. Can not put into words how much their story affected me 5 stars
8/06/04 Henry Soto Nice. 4 stars
8/02/04 FAnderson The couple's "true love" was not believable. 1 stars
7/29/04 Chopper3 Loved it 5 stars
7/24/04 Marce OMG! This is simply -the- benchmark on, smart, funny, touching and beautiful movie romance! 5 stars
7/21/04 Valerie Spentzos A pleasant change from Hollywood garbage, with sensitive acting and intelligent dialogue. 4 stars
7/20/04 Elizabeth Beautifully done! Brought a smile to my face and broke my heart at the same time. 5 stars
7/19/04 RMS This film was BOOOOOOOOOOORING! 1 stars
7/18/04 Cassandra Farrar good entertainment 4 stars
7/17/04 Christine was not disappointed 4 stars
7/09/04 Todd Fike Exceeds expectations 5 stars
7/09/04 JulieD It´s a really dumb movie. I loved the 1st one, though 1 stars
7/01/04 Darren Superb. The perfect follow up to a cinematic gem. 5 stars
6/30/04 Lori Not a chick flick! We BOTH loved it. He even said, "Let's rent the original." WOW 5 stars
6/30/04 Jan R Useless waste of my time, slow, dull, lifeless, amature film 1 stars
6/29/04 Kai Kirner Brilliant, intelligent, touching and wise... 5 stars
6/07/04 Trent Mitchell Great movie. I had a smile on my face the whole time. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-2004 (R)
  DVD: 09-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Aug-2004 (M)


Directed by
  Richard Linklater

Written by
  Richard Linklater
  Ethan Hawke
  Julie Delpy

Cast
  Ethan Hawke
  Julie Delpy



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast