More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.44

Awesome73.2%
Worth A Look: 11.92%
Average: 5.9%
Pretty Bad: 3.9%
Total Crap: 5.08%

23 reviews, 709 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Jackson does Tolkien right."
4 stars

All right, everyone can relax now -- and I mean that both ways: the first of the three 'Lord of the Rings' movies has emerged triumphant, but it's not going to alter the course of mankind (it's just a movie, folks).

The wildly ambitious (and, fortunately, just as wildly talented) New Zealand director Peter Jackson has delivered what everyone should have been delivering for years: a good story well-told, a massive adventure painted in strokes bold and subtle on a vast canvas. I expected no less from him, though I come to The Fellowship of the Ring as a Jackson fan, not so much a J.R.R. Tolkien devotee (I last read the books, oh, twenty years ago), and this wouldn't be my favorite Jackson film -- second or third, maybe.

Given his biggest piggy bank ever and almost three hours in which to sprawl, Jackson still has to speed through the book. Invariably, when he does dawdle, he dawdles over fairly uninteresting stuff; no matter how much golden light he throws onto the Elves, for instance, they're still pretty dull and can't compete with the forces of evil for sheer cinematic power (the Rivendell footage tends toward the blandly idyllic at times). Jackson's at his best here working with dark colors -- the corrupt wizard Saruman (Christopher Lee), who's building an army of half-man, half-Orc creatures; the truly frightening Ringwraiths, who bring a shiver of dread into the movie every time they ride in on their black and shrieking horses; the various monster-movie obstacles, including a giant troll and the much-beloved-by-Tolkien-fans beastie the Balrog, with its ferocious whip of flame. Not to mention the chief Big Bad -- Sauron, whose tainted Ring sets the plot in motion.

Pitted against all this evil are a motley crew of four hobbits, a wizard, an Elf, a dwarf, and a couple of regular guys. (No girls allowed in this Fellowship, though Jackson -- to the disgruntlement of many purists -- has given Liv Tyler's Elf character Arwen a slightly more active role than in the book.) Frodo Baggins (Elijah Wood), who has inherited the aforementioned Ring from his uncle Bilbo (Ian Holm), must take it to Mount Doom and destroy it; the wise and mighty wizard Gandalf (Ian McKellen) has advised Frodo never to wear the Ring -- its corruptive power is too great -- but of course on several occasions it finds its way onto his finger. It's a proactive ring -- it can even adjust itself to fit any finger.

There's unfortunately some rushing of things that shouldn't be rushed, even at almost three hours. The confrontations between Gandalf and Saruman (yes, I realize they weren't in the book) feel a bit too Matrix-y -- yeah, they're wizards, but they're also old, and should they really be able to be flung all over a vast room without breaking a hip? The Balrog gets more build-up than actual screen time; at times, the movie has the same thin, one-damn-thing-after-another tone as Harry Potter, which also tried to pack too much into a reasonable sitting time. But Jackson's storytelling economy also serves him well here; when Bilbo gives Frodo his sword Sting (which glows blue when Orcs are near) and magical chain mail, we're fondly reminded of Bilbo's own adventure, which he's busily recording in his book There and Back Again (Tolkien renamed it The Hobbit, of course). In the same scene, Bilbo shows us a flash of ring-addiction that's chilling for being so sudden -- Ian Holm, making a deep impression despite scant screen time, gives us an invaluable sense of how dangerous the Ring really is.

In addition to Holm, the film is immaculately cast. Elijah Wood is as much the ideal Frodo -- wide-eyed, sincere, frightened yet determined -- as Ian McKellen is the textbook Gandalf -- wise, wry, sometimes self-satirical (as when Gandalf, in his first scene, tries hard to be stern with Frodo and can't quite keep a straight face). It's a good thing Jackson populates the Good with so many vibrant actors, because his Evil -- with the exception of Christopher Lee's Saruman, who occasionally bears an eerie, obviously unintentional likeness to Osama bin Laden -- hardly has a human face. Evil in this movie snorts and writhes in shadows, or hisses to itself in demented supplication to the Ring (what little we see of the mutated Gollum in Fellowship is mitigated by what we hear -- Andy Serkis deserves kudos for making that famous "my precioussss" vibrate with menace and madness).

As the first act in a trilogy, Fellowship is all set-up and quest. It inevitably suffers from reverse been-there-done-that; Jackson is competing not only with fan devotion to the books, but with all the Tolkien rip-offs and knock-offs of the last fifty years, including a quarter-century of role-playing games. I grew bored with Dungeons & Dragons by age 14 or so, so it's a testament to Jackson's skill that I was with the film throughout, given that it often plays like a D & D game writ large. The proceedings are a bit more solemn than usual from the previously prankish Jackson, though he still manages to sneak in some humor: the bumbling hobbits Pippin (Billy Boyd) and Merry (Dominic Monaghan); the very tall Gandalf's trouble adjusting to the very small Bilbo's hobbit-hole; the perpetually snoopy Samwise (Sean Astin); a dwarf one-liner that, I'm certain, did not come from the books; the burping, blink-and-you-miss-it cameo from the director himself, who, Hitchcock-like, has found his way into all his films except his puppet satire Meet the Feebles.

Jackson also, it must be said, conjures the most potent major-motion-picture magic in years. The landscapes get a tad too pictorial in the tradition of bad '70s folk-album covers, but when Gandalf breaks out his enchanted fireworks for Bilbo's 111th birthday party, you feel that this is what dazzlement was always meant to be, and that what we know as fireworks today are just a weak dilution of the age of sorcery. When the swords and arrows come out, as they frequently do, so does Jackson's love of hack-and-slash; the fearless human men of the Fellowship, Aragorn (Viggo Mortensen) and the conflicted Boromir (Sean Bean), speed into the fight with full-blooded battle lust -- the spectacle is all the more thrilling for packing an emotional charge.

'Fellowship' is a big one, with two more to come; if some part of me isn't all the way into the story Jackson has chosen, I'll still definitely be back to see what else he does with it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=897&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/27/07 15:26:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

10/24/14 matt crorkz USA 2 stars
10/04/14 gdiduqoa USA 2 stars
9/17/14 Krujifig USA 4 stars
8/30/14 vkcovkobx USA 4 stars
8/27/14 zqjmfvqqfy USA 5 stars
7/29/14 bwkzscyzipg USA 3 stars
7/16/14 durllhbbak USA 3 stars
7/14/14 kharwgmiwh USA 5 stars
7/14/14 Roy Hicks This movie is like the ring itself one film to rule them all and this is the one 5 stars
7/14/14 drkdhsah USA 5 stars
7/01/14 acmkxiux USA 2 stars
6/16/14 Eric Plant I love this movie so much! The scenes are beautiful and perfect! 5 stars
4/26/14 bniulamc USA 2 stars
4/22/14 szyanpbphy USA 3 stars
4/12/14 xlpgaa USA 2 stars
4/12/14 nctbylydwt USA 4 stars
4/11/14 jnaaehk USA 3 stars
4/08/14 qrszjxv USA 2 stars
3/07/14 uqxmfibu USA 3 stars
3/06/14 Wtwdsrow USA 2 stars
2/27/14 gctzblsir USA 2 stars
2/15/14 Jphpjolw USA 2 stars
2/13/14 Uqiqlwie USA 4 stars
2/12/14 Utztqbqt USA 2 stars
2/06/14 Rzjejgft USA 3 stars
2/04/14 Lprscyvw USA 4 stars
2/03/14 Aigbeory USA 4 stars
2/02/14 Dkwqpjno USA 5 stars
2/01/14 hmyvzubs USA 5 stars
1/28/14 Fyonwvsy USA 3 stars
1/26/14 Hmddrxqh USA 5 stars
1/21/14 Epnbgtbs USA 4 stars
11/19/13 great things to know USA 3 stars
7/28/13 austin fantastic 5 stars
5/16/13 Baylee Nelson Gosh! I did like the book much more, but it's fantastic! MUST WATCH! 5 stars
4/02/13 Julie Link Best Trilogy EVER 5 stars
11/14/12 Slender Man Perfection. 5 stars
10/23/12 Roshawn Rochester Never read the books and i LOVED this movie! 5 stars
10/18/12 Ben H Frodo and Sam are priceless 5 stars
8/29/12 Alanna one of the best movies ever made! must-see for any fantasy lovers. 5 stars
3/18/12 Marty Best of the trilogy. Best characters and engaging plot. epic film. 5 stars
2/15/12 Ron Larson It will be important 40 years from now; like the greatest films are. 5 stars
1/27/12 C.M. Chan Great, but read the book 5 stars
1/13/12 Isaac An epic fantasy with groundbreaking effects, unbelievably beautiful sets and a great story. 5 stars
11/27/11 Yngwie One of the best movies I've ever seen!! 5 stars
9/08/11 Todd Teghtmeyer Great Movie ! 5 stars
9/05/11 Scot DeCristofaro very good, but the entire Lord of the Rings is just a little to dark for me 4 stars
8/10/11 WENDY If you can make it through the beginning it's great! 4 stars
7/02/11 Splinter Digital Camera Pentax S50, Pentax Digital Camera Slr, Digital Camera Pentax Optio 33Lf. < 3 stars
7/02/11 Rimma Pentax K10D Remote Flash, Pentax Ist Digital Camera Body, Pentax S5I Optio Digital Camera. 5 stars
6/26/11 DR Tolkien never touches on the great questions of human life. As such, neither does Jackson 2 stars
6/10/11 Bagroff Canon Powershot A540 Repair, Camera Canon Digital Powershot Sd700, Camera Canon Digital Pow 2 stars
6/09/11 Alex_hyp Fujifilm Finepix S1000Fd Manual, Fujifilm Finepix 2650 Manual, Fujifilm Finepix A507 Digita 1 stars
6/06/11 Olegan Cod phentermine, Meridia weight loss medication, Free phentermine 2009 jelsoft enterprises 4 stars
6/03/11 Kosikdr Weight loss diet effective hoodia, Herbalife weight loss product 20, Order phentermine no p 1 stars
6/01/11 KatenOK Climera medication, Buy medication cheap online, Drug interactions prednisone ambien. <a 4 stars
5/24/11 Nehama Depression counseling denver, Sleep aids reviewed by consumers, Viactin medication. <a hr 2 stars
5/21/11 Wmw Phentermine miami no prescription, Hoodia xs, Free consultation noscript phentermine. <a 2 stars
5/19/11 Slavan Administration crossword example health medication nursing puzzle related, Ambien urinalysi 4 stars
5/14/11 Sn@per Peri menopause weight loss diet, Phentermine and sexual desire, Body fat diet pills with ep 4 stars
5/13/11 Shipadu Discount phentermine no prescription needed, Xenical mexico prescriptions, Exercise and phe 1 stars
5/04/11 Andrewva Forest green depression glass, Depression inventory questionnaire, Depression free help. 2 stars
4/28/11 Au?ea Inherited anxiety in children, Propecia hair loss medication, Anxiety symptoms and treatmen 2 stars
4/27/11 Natty From medication but we sure killed all the pain, Dates of the great depression, Anxiety and 3 stars
4/21/11 TheBMV Tadalafil or kamagra or tadalafil, Tadalafil hgh, Comparison viagra cialis levitra. <a hr 4 stars
4/18/11 Tom D The best 3+ hours spent in front of the tv. 5 stars
2/27/11 Netrain Zenalean ephedra, Zenalean ephedra, Ephedrine diet pills ephedra vitalbodyfitness com. ht 5 stars
2/27/11 Stephanie Bondlow This is the best movie from literature ever made. I watch it annually. 5 stars
2/21/11 Ioeuea Because child depression from number parent separate suffer who, The great depression 1920s 2 stars
2/17/11 Vadya Resource for depression and anxiety, Insomnia picture, Ways to order sleep aid lunesta. h 4 stars
2/16/11 Horse Online zolpidem, Buy sleep aid dreampharmaceuticals, Ambientali trasmettitori. <a href= h 2 stars
2/13/11 Linka Prozac side effects photosensitivity, Medication information prozac, Prozac and welbutrin p 4 stars
2/12/11 Liliushka Celebrex pharmacy online, Celebrex assistance prescription, Bextra and celebrex claims. h 3 stars
2/03/11 Smerch The phentermine carisoprodol phentrimine yellow, Cost low phentermine, Xenical buy from ind 1 stars
12/12/10 Moon Is vicodin still available through prescription, How is vicodin made, Common diagnosis for 1 stars
1/21/10 Sally wow...so differnet from the book, but, yet, just the same...nearly perfect 5 stars
9/05/09 rob overrated and boring pile of cgi bollocks with no character 1 stars
8/30/09 CTT A groundbreaking cinematic experience 5 stars
6/23/09 Aaron Smith One of the greatest movies of our time, perhaps ever! 5 stars
11/04/08 Maps If we fall, we don't need self-recrimination or blame or anger - we need a reawakening of o 1 stars
10/27/08 Samantha Pruitt Great even if you didn't read the book, amazing visuals, great scenery! 5 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner One of the greatest movies ever made! 5 stars
5/21/08 sebastian rea if your not a fan just stick to the 3rd film. the first 2 were boring and cheesy. 1 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT A STUNNING ADVENTURE STORY REALISED WITH GENUINE ARTISTIC FLAIR 5 stars
2/03/08 matthew I'm a normal male and i start crying when Boromir gets shot... thats all 5 stars
11/02/07 ADAMA DRAMMEH I HAVE SEEN THIS MOVIE 5 stars
10/18/07 Beau The best movie in sequel, fantastic scenery captured and great photography! nice editing! 4 stars
10/01/07 Andrew Kercher Extended version worth it. We loved 'em. Get all 3. (Frodo will succeed.) 5 stars
7/16/07 David Kimble I really like the entire trilogy and thought this one was not as good as the others. 4 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger i was encapsulated by this movie. it fused emotion, lifesize adventure and fantasy into one 5 stars
6/11/07 fools&#9835;gold After another watch, I can only say that I almost like this. 2/5 or 3/5. 3 stars
6/02/07 plox best walking ive ever seen 5 stars
4/29/07 Kathleen Devine Big Thumbs Up! 5 stars
4/27/07 Sharlatan even if u dont like fantasy..if u think this films shit ur retarded 5 stars
4/22/07 arie boring 1 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Star wars: shit. Lort: shit. Aliens: good. Terminator: good. see something there? 1 stars
2/21/07 Sharlatan Jackson takes tolkiens boot and kicks hollywood in the fackin face!! 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday There was a point where I watched this everyday for an entire month. 5 stars
2/17/07 action movie fan great movie!! action, monsters, battles-but isn,t great and LOTR the same thing!!!! 5 stars
2/11/07 bob biggest underated film in history!!!! 5 stars
2/09/07 Neilg71 The greatest film of all time - without question. 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Ment to join Raiders of the Lost Ark and Star Wars as a cinematic genius. 5 stars
1/10/07 Bitchflaps Big on atmosphere and breathtaking action, not so big on plot and character development. 2 stars
1/09/07 bobski best fantasy film ever made??beats starwars in its entirety(shits on it) 5 stars
12/13/06 Derek Tribe Must see! 5 stars
11/30/06 David Cohen Why does the ring make Bilbo and Galadriel turn sparkly and go "Arr" Good movie otherwise 4 stars
11/11/06 Henry yup better than sex (almost) 5 stars
10/24/06 basher k dog ur a complete fukhead/go watch fukin starwars twat 5 stars
9/19/06 PD Excellent and loyal compromise as a movie adapation; great movie experience 5 stars
9/11/06 Agent Sands Though it isn't a genre that interests me, in the least, I enjoy it. Quite well-made. 4 stars
9/07/06 bosh this film alone...beats starwars. 5 stars
9/05/06 The Maz Best movie trilogy ever. Beats Star Wars by a mile. 5 stars
8/23/06 morrison sets the standards for films today,and its a budget film!!eat shit potter 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Better than overrated@$$ Harry Potter, but still ALL3 R popcorn flicks. 4 stars
8/08/06 omnipotent wat Quigley said... 5 stars
7/26/06 Quigley it blows my mind how much I love this movie. so, so powerful in every way. don't miss it 5 stars
7/17/06 EZ K-Dog you are seriously out of your mind!!!! 5 stars
7/15/06 Marty fave of the series. beautiful settings 5 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G So well made it's ridiculous. 5 stars
7/08/06 john a pure fkin fantasy fikm,beats all the new shit 10/5 owns ecritic too:D 5 stars
7/06/06 Tom Groholski Great film 5 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber Very well done - my fav of the trilogy. 5 stars
6/05/06 drydock54321 great story 5 stars
4/11/06 C Vega required viewing for any movie lover 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE great film with lots of action 5 stars
3/11/06 van zwaar shouldnt of this part won the 11 oscars!! 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk A film that is so good you cant quite believe it 5 stars
3/08/06 myzzy Beyond amazing.,. Must see! 5 stars
2/27/06 Anthony Feor Amazingly good 5 stars
2/12/06 Quigley This movie is powerful in every sense of the word. one of the all-time greatest movies. 5 stars
2/03/06 van zwaar dito 5 stars
1/26/06 the laughing man Possibly one of the best films ever made. 5 stars
1/04/06 cody a very good adventure movie ,with decent story and believeable characters, kinded overrated 4 stars
12/31/05 Muglet THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER MADE AND EVER WILL BE MADE! 5 stars
12/16/05 ........... This is one of the best movies I have seen. 5 stars
12/13/05 mc its good 4 stars
12/09/05 Anthony G holy shit? 5 stars
12/01/05 hibbyX People in funny costumes walking...for three hours. Only dorks need apply. 1 stars
11/19/05 dobo fuks potter wat eric said-----hes dam rightTHIS MOVIE IS FKIN AWESOME 5 stars
11/16/05 Eric Shallow man. Obviously, this movie deals with themes and ideas beyond your grasp. 5 stars
11/16/05 Quigley this movie is one of the best ever made. it's powerfully moving as well as an awesome story 5 stars
10/27/05 chris a very good start to an exellent trilogy 5 stars
10/24/05 xavier great piece from peter jackson 5 stars
10/14/05 ram1brn would watch again 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor The best one out of the trilogy. Tells one of the most recognized stories nowadays. 5 stars
10/03/05 James Ash The best of the three, I am still utterly amazed PJ was actually able to do it some justice 5 stars
9/21/05 Jonathon Holmes what an enjoyable movie 5 stars
9/13/05 Indrid Cold I suppose it deserves nothing less than 5 stars, but CGI spectacles are all too common. 5 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G Not the bes tin the trilogy, but goo none the less 4 stars
8/12/05 ES the book was so dry it made me spit dust, thank god we live in the motion picture age 4 stars
7/23/05 watch the extended DVD *cartoon and badacting*yeah sure lmfao this film is awesome sorry if u have no emagination 5 stars
7/17/05 Brandy Harrington I'm sorry, I just couldn't see what all the fuss was about 2 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma Fun to watch, but OVERRATED! 3 stars
6/29/05 .... best fantasy flick i ever fukin seen 5 stars
6/20/05 darick Don't kill me but...I didn't find it all THAT riveting (nor did my accomplices) 3 stars
6/12/05 Manu Ginobli Sucks. 1 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones A bad acting-riddled cartoon of major unimportance 1 stars
5/27/05 Quigley whoever says any film in the trilogy is bad, i'll make them watch "the alamo" eighty times 5 stars
5/27/05 tony Awsome.No question about it! 5 stars
5/19/05 Gothmog Wonderful. 5 stars
5/07/05 Michelle Gerardot This movie is awesome! 5 stars
5/03/05 NYCLaura Amazing in any version you see. 5 stars
5/01/05 tootie1961 Love it!! 5 stars
4/23/05 H Lin Great movie, but I think just one is enough 4 stars
4/23/05 Quigley an unforgettable film of the ages. truly shows the power of friendship. well done, Jackson. 5 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 GREAT MOVIE!! Who would say this movie sucks? 5 stars
4/20/05 jellosheriff Great film. Naysayers no doubt preferBeevis and Butthead 5 stars
4/18/05 Rhianna Correa Another great job..... 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce I liked it 3 stars
3/26/05 MaryBeth Isaac one of the best movies I have ever seen. Truly incredible 5 stars
3/23/05 Alice Colwell loved it 5 stars
3/13/05 Charlie Over rated, Wins my award for one of the suckiest movies. 2 stars
3/09/05 Los Daddy Alot of geeks in this world...OVERRATED clap clap clapclapclap...Book to Movie..so what!! 3 stars
3/09/05 pepperann224 one of the best movies ever made 5 stars
3/05/05 kimerie jones this movie was excellent in every way 5 stars
2/20/05 Scott Majors Best picture??? I found it horribly boring and predictable. 1 stars
2/18/05 Movie Queen Follws the spirt of the book flawlessly. Great Epic! 5 stars
2/18/05 .... UMMM AHHH ooohhh fukin lov it/music in tis films phat 5 stars
2/11/05 bob thedwarf proper rules..how the fuk is it a ripoff u nob 5 stars
2/10/05 Colleen Goldrick Incredible 5 stars
2/05/05 Alice Colwell great movie 5 stars
1/30/05 Dawn A total sleeper. I couldn't get into it. 3 stars
1/30/05 MARION BURGESS RIGHT ON, THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME!! 5 stars
1/28/05 New Jersey Rules They should have called it "Bored Of The Rings" what a ripoff. 1 stars
1/14/05 Turtle A little long, but nicely-detailed and quite gorgeous to look at. 4 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton A beautiful, flawlessly done wonder of a film ... one of the very best movies ever made. 5 stars
12/22/04 Michael OConnor Crap 1 stars
12/20/04 roy easily best lotr for story..wig eat shit u little f&g 5 stars
12/16/04 Blu Stevens Crap just Crap - so the money from these movies went towards a Lear Jet!!!! 1 stars
12/05/04 message to matrix/sw/ harry potter etc fans ROTK EE IS COMING AND ITS GONNA OWN U ALL(fotr is classic owns all films in my name) 5 stars
12/01/04 umer easily the best fantasy cum adventure movie ever made 5 stars
11/29/04 Naka Classic, glorious...the kind of thing Lucas could make if he still had an ounce of talent. 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey I don't really wanna say anything about this crap 1 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Help me Lucas, PLLLLLEEEAAASSSEEEE!!!!! 1 stars
11/12/04 i hate it this movie was sooooooo boring! worst movie ever made. trash. 1 stars
11/06/04 Chris Ireland A masterpiece and a great translation of the book 5 stars
11/02/04 ash@lotrjunkie THE BEST FREAKN' MOVIE EVER! 5 stars
10/17/04 Miles Morley "If you don't watch your feet, there's no telling where you will be swept off to." 5 stars
10/15/04 Pete Best of the 3 4 stars
10/13/04 Laura Totally awesome!!! 5 stars
10/07/04 Rob P S Pretentious and tedious. 2 stars
10/05/04 R.W. Welch Okay fantasy yarn with dandy FX, but why not just throw the ring in a river? 4 stars
10/04/04 Steel Heffalump Not too bad at all 5 stars
9/02/04 Carol Crowley I love the first move, but the second one left me disappointed at the battle of Helm's Deep 4 stars
7/20/04 Valerie White WOW! Have to watch it over and over! 5 stars
7/15/04 John McIntyre yes boring, but great somehow 4 stars
7/12/04 SF Ghastly 2 stars
7/10/04 Bobbo This Movie Rocks PERIOD 5 stars
7/08/04 Stevo What else were you expecting? Something better? 5 stars
7/03/04 Stab Wounds It's okay. 3 stars
6/17/04 kitfo1 fun movie, but lets not get carried away: it is written for 14 year olds 4 stars
6/03/04 Angel THAT is EXACTLY how it looks!!! Wonderful adaptation 5 stars
6/02/04 T-Shirt Guy Got bored half way through the movie and left the theater. :( 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Easily the best movie of the year! Jackson has made these incredible books into an awesome 5 stars
5/31/04 Troy Kuprash One Of The Greatest Movie Ever 5 stars
5/21/04 Butt Kicker K-Dog, MsAsh & Raven, among others, all have 1 thing in common - they suck each other badly 5 stars
5/09/04 Sean Scanlan The best saga begins 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot A fine start to the trilogy,it had a big job to do with the plot so give it a break. 5 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it As good as the others 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Boring and overrated! The last half hour was pretty entertaining, but it's 2 little 2 late. 2 stars
4/14/04 luke a good interpretation and display of tolkien's story 5 stars
4/01/04 The Talking Elbow MsAsh uh I think you're a bit harsh, you might be the one on drugs 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Excellent for most of its length, but began to feel relentless. Weakened by small screen. 4 stars
3/31/04 Raven This movie is about midgets that have to walk very far to put evil jewellery into a volcano 1 stars
3/21/04 Constance Swearingen Yes there were minor discrepancies, but over all it was wonderfully made and produced. 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Grandeous! 5 stars
2/20/04 fred Orlando is the only good part! 2 stars
2/08/04 Talia Heiss My mom thinks the dude who plays Aragorn is rugged!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/05/04 c.r This movie had great story, but it not that entertaining 3 stars
2/04/04 Chad Foster Uh It Sucked 1 stars
2/02/04 Rocko Horse Shit 1 stars
2/02/04 brian the best but the 3 is the best 5 stars
1/29/04 Ashlee Hall obviouslt the people who dont like it, are to shallow minded to see this is a great movie! 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric Without Woods it would have been alot better. 3 stars
1/25/04 Sarah I LOVE U ELIJAH WOOD IM ONLY 12 BUT MARRY ME PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena Noone can legitimately call this film crap.Sure it's not their thing,but it's still amazing 5 stars
1/19/04 LOTRfan it's the best movies of all time, can be topped by none 5 stars
1/12/04 Sazali Awesome 5 stars
1/12/04 Chrys Are you kidding me? its perfect 5 stars
1/11/04 Chris L Palmer (Manchester UK) Utter Crap, watch the 1st 30 mins then skip to the 2nd film, "Bored of the rings" 1 stars
1/09/04 faelon i think its the best movies that is out there and will ever be out. it was the best movie o 5 stars
1/07/04 Ken The most overrated film of all time. Just a good-looking action/adventure flick. 3 stars
1/07/04 Yoko Jones Too f*king long and wasting time I reckon 1 stars
1/01/04 the dog way retro 5 stars
12/20/03 Pigdaddy Truckdriver They never let me on the set even though I offered them all a free ride! 4 stars
12/19/03 Butterfly Good movie need sex and nudity 5 stars
12/18/03 Made In America 122 CRAP TOTAL CRAP AND MORE CRAP 1 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle Better of the two incredibly atmospheric made you forget how daft the plot was. 4 stars
12/04/03 Mava Moayyed its my all time favourite movie! Bloom all the way! 5 stars
12/03/03 Agent Sands Bravado cinematography and FX, but gets a little boring, and it's slightly overrated. 3 stars
11/28/03 john the production design is propably the best ever done in a movie 5 stars
11/26/03 LOTR fan Great 5 stars
11/26/03 Gi Gi I think Legolas is gay 5 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick Could be better 3 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess The best fantasy ever. 5 stars
10/19/03 Littlepurch Doesn't live up to hype. Too long. I enjoyed it the 2nd time tho. 3 stars
10/11/03 Jinnvisible new standard for fantasy/cgi, the shakesperean approach to perfomance+$$$=justice4tolkien 5 stars
10/04/03 Double G Awesome - Enough said!!! 5 stars
9/30/03 jimmy d when i got home, orcs shot me with arrows 3 stars
9/29/03 Eloise just one big looong advert......for the next chapter, cheap trick. 2 stars
9/27/03 Lord Chu One of the best movies of all time. Of course, it had one of the best source materials. 5 stars
9/08/03 aragorn092003 THIS MOVIE IS SO AWESOME BOTH THE TWO TWOERS!!AND THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING!! 5 stars
9/03/03 It's just me Did the book great justice, really entertaining! 5 stars
8/29/03 Philomina Amazing 5 stars
8/21/03 Dan Beattie the greatest movie ever made, even without the lat two parts. 5 stars
8/18/03 Simon Hedges Fabulous. Some slips of tone (Bree, Lothlorien), too much CaveTroll, but brilliant overall 5 stars
8/13/03 Nancy295 Great! Love Viggo - and Orlando! 5 stars
7/31/03 AJ Final Harry who? 5 stars
7/29/03 DM Unparalleled fantasy- cast is totally perfect, FX are amazing 5 stars
7/24/03 Mag Pie who ever thought it sucked you suck it was way better than fucking harry potter 5 stars
7/12/03 Doug what else to say? 5 stars
7/08/03 Connie Kauffman Bwaha...hah...ha....LotR = God. 5 stars
7/07/03 cinkcool great 5 stars
7/07/03 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. This movie was so good, I read the books. Now I am a LOTR 5 stars
7/06/03 Mopsa Go PJ! Of course it's "unreal", it's a fantasy film! 5 stars
7/04/03 T3 Left lots of stuff out thats in the book, but its still very good. 5 stars
6/19/03 Cisco Mercado One of my all time favorites! Masterpiece!! 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice What can I say... It totaly blew me away. Fantastic !!! 5 stars
5/24/03 U LOSERS WHO THINK THIS SUCKS ARE DIPSHITS!!! I think that the lord of the rings is one of the best movies i have ever seen. 5 stars
5/16/03 Danielle Jones Possibly the most boring and unreal film i have ever watched - for the parts that i was awa 1 stars
5/05/03 Megan I love this movie! This and the Two Towers are the best... Peter Jackson is a genious! 5 stars
4/26/03 Shaminar the Blue Dragon What can I say? Lord of the Rings is more like a history than a "fiction" and I Like it! 5 stars
4/24/03 GWB stunning and brilliant 5 stars
4/20/03 Dillon The cinematic cure for insomnia 1 stars
4/18/03 The Talking Elbow APPRECIATE THIS MOVIE DANG IT 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Absolutely incredible. 5 stars
4/13/03 Quick Draw best book I ever read ... the movie was true to it 5 stars
4/10/03 Ross Bernard Another shit review, Paquin! Me and 2 friends fell asleep during 3(!) hour long shitter. 1 stars
4/09/03 Mr. Do I just don't like elfs, dwarfs and sorcerers... they're stupid! 3 stars
4/08/03 Michele Ass-kicking, great story telling, cinematic wonder!!!!! 5 stars
4/08/03 Shadaan Felfeli EEGAD !!!!! 2 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon Eh. Gay blondes. Big Balrog! Boring. Christopher Lee! Is it over yet? Overrated. 3 stars
3/29/03 pinkline jones Toof*ing long and wasting time! 1 stars
3/20/03 GMan Dan Lipian...where the FUCK do you think J.K. Rowling got that idea from? Her own head??? 5 stars
3/18/03 Dominick Lea Johnson (Nicki) It is the best move that I have ever seen in The Hole Wide World!!! 5 stars
3/15/03 mauricio ribera best movie ever 5 stars
3/11/03 Michael Lush Fantiasitc 5 stars
3/06/03 DIRTY HARRY WITH MAGNUM FORCE FAB ! JUST LIKE HARRY 5 stars
2/16/03 raoul grassion hollywood movies shit ,peter jackson WE DEMAND the hobbit 5 stars
2/10/03 FcPoliFan Too long...what's the point? 3 stars
2/06/03 Louie great flick if u can last for 3+ hours 5 stars
2/04/03 Monster W. Kung Everybody I know who thinks it's too long is a retard. Clive redfern is the latest example. 5 stars
2/01/03 Rachel Weger I loved it. The whole time i watched the movie i was taken into the movie. 5 stars
1/30/03 natasha_theobald literally breathtaking 5 stars
1/26/03 Frodo Baggins Very Entertaining 5 stars
1/21/03 Andy Bronson this is the greatist epic since the 60's 5 stars
1/15/03 clive redfern Too long by 45 mins, Robin Hood meets From Dusk til Dawn, with a bit of Pythons Holy Grail 4 stars
1/14/03 hacim25 have you ever seen a movie with this many cuts? Tolkien is the reason that this is any good 3 stars
1/12/03 Danielle It was so aaawwweeesssooommmeee 5 stars
1/10/03 Mitsaso Kinda boring.The second part made up for it. 3 stars
1/10/03 Adrienne Directing - a poor showing. Art direction - excellent. Worth seeing? A disappointment. 3 stars
1/07/03 Elbereth Gilthoniel Silvren Penna Miriel Beyond cool 5 stars
1/07/03 Mark Little long, but nice action. Couldnt stop watching 4 stars
1/05/03 Punk_Ass This movie is da Shibbies! 3 hours and I didn't even look at the clock. Awesome Flick! 5 stars
12/29/02 Zemos Wow! What a GREAT movie ! 5 stars
12/28/02 Sarah I loved it! The makeup! The visual effects! It's amazing!!!! 5 stars
12/27/02 Tony Good movie, but not worth the hype that it has gotten. 3 stars
12/23/02 Ryback Loved it!, gotta prefer fantasy over reality..GREAT MUSIC! 5 stars
12/23/02 E-Rock Move over Star Wars. There's a new King of Fantasy in town! 5 stars
12/20/02 Edric Rocked my world, oh yeah :) It all is so clear to me now. 5 stars
12/19/02 Junglist if you didnt like this movie... get out of your basement and get a life.. 5 stars
12/19/02 STEVE MY PRECIOUS...OH MY PRECIOUS....! 5 stars
12/14/02 Brad Broadhead Brilliant; well done! Has something to give to fans of the book. 5 stars
12/14/02 Interrog8 A great film. Not a "classic", but it's still supurb movie-making. 5 stars
12/09/02 Allen I thought Christopher Lee was very good. Anyway job well done! 4 stars
12/08/02 Elladan This is, bar none, the greatest epic fantasy movie yet made 5 stars
12/08/02 John Lipian I love this movie more than a Nylon 6-10 Polymerization! 5 stars
12/07/02 Kyle Love it! 5 stars
12/07/02 Kevin It's a good thing not all three were shown at the same time i would have messed myself 5 stars
12/06/02 Ingo it get's better and better each and every time i see this movie... 5 stars
12/05/02 Gary Undoubtedly a great movie, but not even close in spirit to the book. 4 stars
12/04/02 Gazza E Incredible. I'm speechless. 5 stars
11/27/02 DMF Finally saw the "Best Picture". FotR should have won! 5 stars
11/26/02 Flounder This movie is one of the greatest fantasy epics ever made. Don't miss it! 5 stars
11/24/02 BOROMIR GREATEST FILM EVER AFTER THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION 5 stars
11/24/02 Dustin Fucking Awsome isn't a good enough description. One of the greatest films of all time. 5 stars
11/23/02 Croweater Excellent. But not for those who dont like very long and engrossing plotlines. 5 stars
11/23/02 Obi Wan Still great after about the 12th viewing . . .Dec 22nd!!! LOTR II 5 stars
11/22/02 dead brilliant 5 stars
11/19/02 big daddy b if you havent read the books this is great, if you have you will nitpick it to death. 4 stars
11/17/02 Backflip Simply wonderful, the new extended version I much prefer 5 stars
11/17/02 Jenna I loved this movie and I must see all the rest when they come out!!! 5 stars
11/16/02 Staralfur Absolutely fantastic... They could have done without Liv Tyler though.. she's awful 5 stars
11/16/02 Muggs Peter Jackson is the KING!!!! 5 stars
11/10/02 Daniel I LOVED IT!! Should've won Best Picture! 5 stars
11/07/02 Joe Stark (Bio Man) This movie is more exciting to me than disecting a cat! 5 stars
11/07/02 Seanaci Farmer I have seen this movie too many times to count. I even snuck in once or twice. 5 stars
11/02/02 liz lost the best movie ever...can't wait till the other two come out... 5 stars
10/29/02 José the best film of XXI 5 stars
10/26/02 Mike Shelton I have read the books (unlike most reviewers) this is perfection redefined 5 stars
10/26/02 The Truth It's tragedy that lame and cheesy Beautiful Mind won Best Picture and not this great epic 5 stars
10/18/02 Cynthia Janowicz Awesome to the creaters 5 stars
10/07/02 Sheridan Aragorn : My King... 5 stars
9/29/02 Ryback Great! 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Fabulous and faultless 5 stars
9/24/02 Ryan Wulf A Masterpiece 5 stars
9/23/02 snowconehead It did a damn good justice to what most book-to-movie projects could never accomplish 5 stars
9/19/02 Dave Be So Good UNDEIABLE PERFECTION! 5 stars
9/14/02 spaceocowboy interesting 4 stars
9/13/02 John McNew A masterful adaptation of J.R.R Tolkien's incredible vision 5 stars
9/12/02 Bueller Epic film making. Kudos to New Line Cinema, for have the cajones to do this trilogy credit. 5 stars
9/09/02 othree to be continued timing was off, all the greatness of modern movie tech. 4 stars
9/07/02 Strider I wanna hunt orc! 5 stars
8/30/02 JesseL One of the best. Worthy of Tolkien. Only the brain dead don't like it. 5 stars
8/22/02 Aidan Musumeci it is awsome 5 stars
8/20/02 pianoman13 The one greatest movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/17/02 Andrew Patrick This Is The Best Suspence Film I Have Seen 4 stars
8/16/02 DUP The best fantasy book of all time gets the best film adaptation ever, truly remarkable! 5 stars
8/15/02 Rachael it was great 5 stars
8/12/02 Joseph Alcantara This Movie is Brilliant with magical scenes 5 stars
8/12/02 Film Guy Very Very Good. Very 5 stars
8/12/02 Wooo... Overrated but still excellent adaptation. McKellen and Mortensen are standouts. 4 stars
8/12/02 RangerGirl This was an amazing film, the directing, music, atmosphere and acting were perfect! SEE IT 5 stars
8/11/02 New Zealand Fucking brilliant 5 stars
8/09/02 Tyner I'm still creaming my pants just thinking about this movie 5 stars
8/09/02 TLsmooth Why in the fuck did I wait until the DVD came out?! This shit rocked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/08/02 elizaveta Stunning, beautiful, truly adapted :-) It only enhances one's images of the book. 5 stars
8/06/02 Cottster Visually outstanding 5 stars
8/06/02 sarahfar88 this movie is a nuclear bomb compared to Harry Potter 5 stars
7/29/02 Piz lol, Chronic...This movie kicked all sorts of ass. 5 stars
7/28/02 TheTalkingElbow MsAsh you are crazier then a Rhinocerous locked inside a gas station store, you are nuts. 5 stars
7/28/02 Edwin Menguin Fuckin' mint 5 stars
7/24/02 TheChronic look past the story? why not throw out the plot as well, idiot. 5 stars
7/21/02 sdjfsdkjf loved when saruman beat gandalf - great effects. 5 stars
7/20/02 ??? really good 5 stars
7/19/02 wild bill grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat show 5 stars
7/17/02 John Awesome movie! Fantastic action sequences, and great fantasy story! I loved it! 5 stars
6/20/02 Mitchel It's not perfect, no, but it's great! A simple story made extraordinary. 5 stars
6/18/02 Bart Great! Faithful to the book and tons of fun. 5 stars
6/16/02 Telchar Jackson is brilliant, the actors are brilliant, the movie is great 5 stars
6/12/02 Laser The Lord of the Rings is brilliant. Lucas was..Jackson IS the best. 5 stars
6/08/02 Ronald Dawson The greatest epic adventure of all time!! 5 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi mmmmmmmmmmmm......orlando 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris Don't kill me. This was an o.k. movie. Put down that gun. 3 stars
5/31/02 Deborah Wang Peter Jackson is God. 5 stars
5/30/02 R. A. House I have read the book 21 times and seen the movie many times; a transcendant film! 5 stars
5/30/02 Keith Comeford Magnificent, only thing bad to say is we've got to wait for each of the sequels 5 stars
5/27/02 steve McRoberts Lord of the Rings is a masterpiece. I have seen it a number of times. 5 stars
5/27/02 Nicole Awesome as far as Sci-fi/fantasy goes.....wonderful effects.....beautiful movie 5 stars
5/21/02 Commander Jourg This is one of the best sci-fi movies of all time next to Empire Strikes Back! 5 stars
5/19/02 Edwin Menguin I liked it a lot 5 stars
5/17/02 Jessica Awesome, great brillent 5 stars
5/15/02 Mad Hatter Thank you Mr. Jackson & crew. Pure love on film. 5 stars
4/27/02 Gremlin Superb epic story. Reminiscent of a Neo-StarWars fantasy film. 5 stars
4/27/02 Jessica ONE OF THE BEST! I hope Hollywood can produce more movies like this. 5 stars
4/25/02 Phoenix One of the great films of the year. Excellent in every aspect. Can't wait for the sequel. 5 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia Ooooooooh!!! Aaaaaaaaah!!! 5 stars
4/23/02 Tony Orlando this movie is very cool 5 stars
4/18/02 smokinjay 85 you people are crazy its the best movie i ve ever seen 5 stars
4/14/02 Francis The visuals make this movie, but the fight scenes get wearisome. 3 stars
4/14/02 MARUŠA JARC IT IS VERY GOOD FILM,AND I LOVE IT 5 stars
4/13/02 Spencer Lent AWESOME MOVIE!!! Stays with the book. 5 stars
4/09/02 Darkly Samwise Gamgee is the greatest!!! 5 stars
4/09/02 Allison the person who runs this page has no knowledge of relating a film to a classic-duh!! idiot! 5 stars
4/06/02 Junshi diff. from orig. book but emotionally up to par and visually stunning 5 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo Peter Jackson brings this film brilliantly to life...One of the best films of 2001 5 stars
4/03/02 la quixotina awesome 5 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz I like the little people, just the right height. 5 stars
3/31/02 Karlie awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/23/02 Natalie Stonecipher Super retelling of story, super visual effects. Best movie of 21st century so far. 5 stars
3/22/02 JesseL One of the best fantasy movies I have ever seen. Great. 5 stars
3/21/02 Dennis Arguably among the top 3 of its genre 5 stars
3/20/02 Artgal Whoa, baby! Pretty amazing! 5 stars
3/17/02 Teresa Yet another fight scene, and another.Too LOUD! Too long. Boring! 3 stars
3/16/02 Emma Elen sila lumenn' omentielvo 5 stars
3/14/02 Adeel F Amazing! Thought it wouldnt be that good, but it was... 5 stars
3/14/02 Rockitman007 One of my new favorites 5 stars
3/09/02 Mike Caddick I'm amazed that its been pulled off. Jackson has put a lot of love into this 1st film. 5 stars
3/04/02 Peter C. GREAT! But there was too little magic....especially in Saruman vs. Gandalf 4 stars
3/03/02 sarahfar88 loved it;seen it 4 times and counting;aragorn, boromir, and legolas hot;sic of frodo 5 stars
3/02/02 Dasha It is very-very beauteful film!!! And Elijah Wodd it is cool!!! He is good boy... 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Immensely entertaining. Bring on The Two Towers!!!!! 5 stars
3/01/02 P.Rodriguez Pretty Good most of the way, but got too long eventually with constant retellingof thestory 4 stars
3/01/02 Gracy Lionheart Best movie of the year, not the best ever-5 stars. (Conan the Barbarian is my fav) 5 stars
3/01/02 Jennifer Daseler A movie of exquisite beauty, splendor, and power...I have never enjoyed a movie more fully! 5 stars
3/01/02 Kelsey Kallal it was the best movie i have seen all year 5 stars
3/01/02 Jenesysss This movie was amazing, from start to finish. Sir Ian Mckellen was brilliant! 5 stars
3/01/02 Grumpy Film Guy Lord of the Yawns. Sure, great sp effects and all, but no heart to this tediously long epic 3 stars
2/25/02 natasha visually stunning, with compelling characters and perfect tone 5 stars
2/25/02 Kent Terrific flick - didn't even notice that we were in the theatre for almost 3 hours! 5 stars
2/23/02 Shrike Very good, but remember this is only the prologue... 4 stars
2/23/02 hannah The best movie in the ENTIRE WORLD. absoloutly flawless. See it again and again!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/23/02 Amanda and Jeremy Constant adrenaline rush! Even better the second and third time! 5 stars
2/22/02 Amy Louise Lusk WOW! I would recomend this movie to anyone! It's a real fun, adventurous and exciting movie 5 stars
2/22/02 Cat This movie was fucking amazing, k-dog and MsAsh are idiots 5 stars
2/21/02 luda hoe it wasn't that good. by the end, i was begging for the kid to throw the fucking ring away 3 stars
2/21/02 Deaaewen they couldn't have done better! 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver True fun and a feast for the eyes. 5 stars
2/18/02 Jim McF Exceptional 5 stars
2/17/02 Jenna Elaine The most amazing and thrilling film I've ever seen 5 stars
2/17/02 John Lyons Great, but don't know if they will be able to hold people's attention for 3 episodes. 5 stars
2/16/02 Jeseph G. Jimenez simply the best 5 stars
2/13/02 Gimli Wonderful film - enhanced by excellent acting. Ian McKellen was supreme as Gandalf. 5 stars
2/13/02 sarahfar88 Only Peter Jackson can make a movie this good from a book, unlike Chris Columbus. 5 stars
2/11/02 Alyssa Park It was really awesome and I wanna know when its coming out on VHS and DVD cuz i cant wait!! 5 stars
2/10/02 i love aragorn best film ever!! 5 stars
2/08/02 GGG A Movie that is both creative and makes you think and an epic, all in one 5 stars
2/07/02 nizam aziz the real fantasy story 5 stars
2/06/02 ashley i havn't read the books yet but the movie was awsome!!! 5 stars
2/05/02 Heath Stewart Best portrayal of LOTR I've ever seen 5 stars
2/04/02 KMG This movie has it all! Weird shit, crazy shit, and awesome fucking shit! 5 stars
2/03/02 Brendon fucking a! 5 stars
2/03/02 Jessica James It was SO good i can't WAIT for he other LOTR movies to come out! 5 stars
2/02/02 Liv wow 5 stars
2/02/02 Steve The movie was incomplete, too much focus on the grim and dark, unlike the book.. 4 stars
2/01/02 E-Funk This is film brought back what it really feels like to be taken away. P Jackson, thank you. 5 stars
2/01/02 Brindlescruff A real kick-ass movie (for a change) 5 stars
1/31/02 Kelli Blood I don't know if I can wait a year for the next one. 5 stars
1/30/02 maja a three-hour fairytale...... 5 stars
1/30/02 Frances great bloody movie. legolas is hot. 5 stars
1/30/02 cr0wgrrl Jackson captures the look and feel of Tolkein wonderfully. Great acting, great effects. 5 stars
1/30/02 J Waite Damn good 5 stars
1/29/02 Renee Excellent youll be mad to miss it 5 stars
1/29/02 rogue just freakin great 5 stars
1/27/02 AkIrA kickass movie!!! (though I wonder if Tolkien would have thought the same) 5 stars
1/27/02 moviegoer never wanted to read the books until now- the best three hours i've spent in the theater 5 stars
1/27/02 sarahfar88 loved the movie, aragorn, boromir, legolas hot as hell-hated frodo (frodo boring as hell) 5 stars
1/27/02 RingBearer 327 Days until the next one...need I say more? 5 stars
1/27/02 Samantha I loved it, absolutely amazing.. and Elijah wood.... hot as hell 5 stars
1/26/02 vessejoigt Awesome movie!!! 5 stars
1/26/02 MrV Damn it was good 5 stars
1/26/02 Pip122201 best movie i've ever seen, except for a few major omissions 5 stars
1/25/02 Brindlescruff Breath-taking-ly, Awe-inspiring, FUCKING AWESOME! 5 stars
1/24/02 Dan Hogan Not quite as great as Casablanca, a little better than GWTW. Can't wait for the next two! 5 stars
1/23/02 Galadrielsgarth Seen the movie 2X. REad the book about a 100X. Know Elvish a little. Viggo&Liv converse :) 5 stars
1/23/02 Dan The mindblowing effects compliment the excellent storyline. Best movie of the year by far! 5 stars
1/23/02 bobber nothing special, nice effects. 3 stars
1/23/02 Piz tough starting out but builds well, never lets up..eagerly awaiting the sequels 4 stars
1/21/02 Abigail Short This is not a movie, this is a full-immersion cinematic experience. 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent I'm reading the book now. Awesome movie I want to see it again. 5 stars
1/21/02 hamlet3k THE perfect movie. Period. Thank you, P.J. 5 stars
1/20/02 Bad Kitty bad ass movie in so many ways--could watch it every day twice 5 stars
1/20/02 Elladan This movie was, in fact, quite good. 5 stars
1/20/02 kdd i love elijah wood 5 stars
1/20/02 Sharia Modi Fantastic movie, simply amazing 5 stars
1/19/02 Alex ******6 Stars at least****** 5 stars
1/19/02 Mark S Awe inspiring. Mystical. Grand. Magical. A Masterpiece. 5 stars
1/18/02 Pontus A truly fantastic movie, this is what cinema was made for 5 stars
1/18/02 chris hey, this is actually a good movie, i wish arwin woulda put out though 5 stars
1/18/02 I love movies aside from the Hobbit scenes, this was a pretty cool flick! 4 stars
1/17/02 TimmyJ a film of great storytelling, characters and action....the best film of 2001! 5 stars
1/16/02 Tony Hartmann the best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
1/16/02 Cookie Cutter The best fantasy out there. Phantom Menace suckers, get bent. 5 stars
1/16/02 Jimbo Great movie. 4 stars
1/16/02 Matt Wilson Excellent, Don't Miss, Beautiful Screenplay 5 stars
1/16/02 John Prototype-Epic-Andventurus-Exciting. Even though distand from the book... 5 stars
1/16/02 King Krack Better than I though it would be - (possible nerd fest) 4 stars
1/15/02 ZACH JACKSON HAS NAILED THE LORD PERFECTLY. Anyone who didn't find this one of the greatest 5 stars
1/15/02 fhbghdg seen it 3 times best movie of 2001! @$$ 5 stars
1/15/02 Lyz Merola It was great-better than i expected, and i didnt mind sitting through the 3 hours of it! 5 stars
1/15/02 Josh Not the best of 2001 (Memento gets that) but pretty darn good 5 stars
1/15/02 Kathryn Birchfield Seen it 4 times, can't wait to see it again! 5 stars
1/14/02 Clare Movie was awesome. Left me on the edge of my seat. And Orlando Bloom looked hot as Legolas. 5 stars
1/13/02 Poofter absolutely Zero character development 4 stars
1/13/02 cbrey1 The best movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
1/13/02 Sandra Godwin An excellent visual adaptation of the Lord of the Rings 5 stars
1/13/02 Bri Better than expected, also with THX sound it is a must see 5 stars
1/13/02 Phillip Montgomery I only wish it could have been longer 5 stars
1/12/02 parkallan excellent visuals and action, but read the book first, it'll make more sense 5 stars
1/12/02 John Lyons Great adaptation! Don't know if I can wait the year for each new part, though. 5 stars
1/12/02 Soggy Bottom Boy I've seen it twice in the theatres, will be back a third time. That's a first, 'nuf said! 5 stars
1/12/02 matthew smith lighten up Greg, obviously you had your mind somewhere else, a masterpiece 5 stars
1/12/02 shaire This was the best movie I have seen in a very long time. 5 stars
1/11/02 cope If Lucas has been pissing you off lately, this should provide a welcome relief. 4 stars
1/11/02 Hotaine Wanted to see it again the minute it was over 5 stars
1/11/02 Chris K. If you liked this film, see Peter Jackson's other films like BAD TASTE and BRAINDEAD! 5 stars
1/10/02 Banky Edwards very very good,,, checked watch at 40 minute point...blinked and movie was over....WOW! 5 stars
1/10/02 Sarah Farquhar I've seen it three times and I can't wait to see it again. I'm so going to buy the movie. 5 stars
1/10/02 malcolm very good, but too damn long, story a little complicated for a young audience 4 stars
1/10/02 Frances Guy This is a bloody fantstic movie, one of the best of all time. Can't wait for the next one!! 5 stars
1/10/02 jestyr <drool>i can die happy now</drool> 5 stars
1/09/02 auroradae so much put into the tiniest detials (fingernails for one) so true to the books 5 stars
1/09/02 Michael This is destined to be one of the best movies ever! 5 stars
1/09/02 kyle t baxter the years best film! 5 stars
1/09/02 Meghann Reynolds The best movie of 2001 - I loved every minute of it! 5 stars
1/09/02 Max Lethal Spectacular.... everything I was hoping for and expecting... and much more. 5 stars
1/09/02 C. David Byrd Perhaps not perfect, but adapted to cinema as well as could ever be asked... 5 stars
1/09/02 Paul W. Unbelievable and overwhelming 5 stars
1/09/02 girl wonderful movie! Its been a while since I've seen a movie that captivating! 5 stars
1/09/02 Tabitha Bizarre, yet the best thing I've seen in so long! I was edge of my seat! 5 stars
1/08/02 Trevor Williams Currently resting at my number one of all time films 5 stars
1/08/02 Mike Leskow Stunning visuals- but some of the acting was forced. Excellent adaptation of the book. 4 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Visually stunning but after the first hour it becomes tedious, repetitive and predictable 4 stars
1/08/02 The Bomb 69 Oz is just a bit biased!!! Better than Star Wars and Indiana Jones, give me a fuckin break 4 stars
1/08/02 Strider awesome! 5 stars
1/08/02 Baobei Too long with the romance parts: should simply focus on the action. 4 stars
1/08/02 Kelli Magnificent! 5 stars
1/08/02 Lynne Brilliant. See it. Go. NOW! 5 stars
1/08/02 Morgan My favorite movie of ALL time! 5 stars
1/08/02 Neon While the book contains a massive amount of details, the film gets straight to the point. 5 stars
1/08/02 julee Those who must break a thing to find out what it is have left the path of reason-GO SEE IT! 5 stars
1/07/02 Vladislav Pogarcic brilliant 5 stars
1/07/02 Donald Jordan The shortest three hours of my life! 5 stars
1/07/02 Barbara I can't stop thinking about this film! it has made one hell of an impression. Well done!!! 5 stars
1/07/02 Runechan The best movie! 5 stars
1/07/02 Mike Bravo to Jackson on a near perfect realization of the story! 5 stars
1/07/02 Carlota C. Parreira Beautiful movie! Beautiful acting! 5 stars
1/06/02 The Bomb 69 well made, but a bit overrated, looking forward to the next installment 4 stars
1/06/02 kap0p engrossing storyline and fantastic characters 5 stars
1/06/02 Keith Ok, probably as good as they could make it, but not as great as the hype would indicate 3 stars
1/06/02 Joseph Robertson This movie is absolutley awe inspiring for Tolkein fans, a real treat! Great job Jackson! 5 stars
1/06/02 Robert I liked it, a lot...but somehow it seemed rushed and jumpy. But don't let that stop you. 4 stars
1/06/02 I love movies very exciting movie, but what was with that archer guy? He barely said anything! 5 stars
1/05/02 Math & Metal Worst thing about the movie; it ended! 5 stars
1/05/02 Matt It gets better every time you see it! 5 stars
1/05/02 Suzz spectacular film making 5 stars
1/04/02 KMG This movie IS FUCKING AWESOME!!! Go Hobbits go! 5 stars
1/04/02 Nils Corson The landscapes images are awesome 4 stars
1/04/02 Donald Jordan The shortest three hours of my life! 5 stars
1/04/02 Keith Comeford An excellent adaptation of a complex book, I can't hardly wait for 12/2002 5 stars
1/04/02 Robert Bectel A fantastically tense adaptation of the LOTR. The purist in me had only a very few issues. 5 stars
1/04/02 Christopher From the very first scene I was completely engrossed, and I stayed that way until the end. 5 stars
1/04/02 Donald Jordan This by a wide margin the best movie I have ever seen. I felt transported to middle earth! 5 stars
1/03/02 Jonathan Great movie 5 stars
1/03/02 Jack Straw Peter Jackson ruined this planet for me - I want to go to Middle Earth. 5 stars
1/03/02 DMF WOW! 5 stars
1/03/02 tyro Not the "same" as the books, but fantastic translation to film! Best movie I've ever seen! 5 stars
1/03/02 puckfreak Great f/x, weak story 4 stars
1/02/02 Jim Harry who? 5 stars
1/02/02 thejames shouldve been better. poor acting at times. 4 stars
1/02/02 Daelic OMG! This film was so good! It is everything I imaged Tolkien on film could be! 5 stars
1/02/02 Richard A. Johnson Tolkien fan for 35 years or more - this movie was just as I saw it as I read it 35 years a 5 stars
1/01/02 Ironcross Best movie all year and maybe EVER! 5 stars
1/01/02 slipperyK besides being very long, tranfur problems... it rocked 5 stars
1/01/02 Matteus Nova The best fantasy film ever made. 5 stars
12/31/01 mattski best film of the whole damn year 5 stars
12/31/01 anonymous Best movie of the year without a doubt. 5 stars
12/31/01 Gus I'll take my 70 years old mother to see it again. 5 stars
12/31/01 KLK Need to watch it again and again and again 5 stars
12/31/01 Sophia Left out waay too much character development in favor of pleasing technogeeks but its great 5 stars
12/31/01 Warren The best fantasy movie ever made. 5 stars
12/31/01 Marius Lund Larsen I must read the book once more. 5 stars
12/30/01 Shams Huque WOW! Only one problem...THE SECOND FILM IS 365 DAYS AWAY!!! 5 stars
12/30/01 Kris My only complaint is waiting a year for the next one to come out....damn ending. 5 stars
12/30/01 Teresa Better than I thought it would be!! 5 stars
12/30/01 Kevin Swinger Excellent Epic Adventure!!! From a serious Tolkien reader. 5 stars
12/30/01 Susan Ng Better than I could have believed possible 5 stars
12/29/01 The Eye Of Sauron movies this year are shit compared to this.. 5 stars
12/29/01 Artist Freak Good stuff, adapts the book well in the short time allowed, great effects 4 stars
12/29/01 gyro_44 Absolutely wonderful. I wish I had a book of superlative words. 5 stars
12/29/01 Charles A Saturday morning action tv show writ large, zilch sex interest 4 stars
12/29/01 Durruti Exceeded my hopes - from a longtime fan 5 stars
12/29/01 viking The greatest fantasy flick ever made !!!!! 5 stars
12/29/01 Colin Awesome flick. Best movie ever? No. Best of the year? Probably. Good as the book? Never 5 stars
12/29/01 kevin so release the other two already! 5 stars
12/29/01 John Great movie. I enjoyed it and it was worth all 3 hours. 5 stars
12/29/01 julia Clearly a movie made by a true fan. Excellent adaptation, terrific acting, amazing scenery 5 stars
12/29/01 dominik Duprelle Great Movie experience. The Look, casting and Battlescenes are all 10/10 5 stars
12/28/01 Mona Simply put, the best movie ever! 5 stars
12/28/01 Nick mindblowingly good; a mavel of compromise editing for both Tolkienites and the common folk 5 stars
12/28/01 geoff concidering the radical change in media i couldn't posibly ask more. can't wait for more!!! 5 stars
12/28/01 Dom Corleone Just like you imagine it to be - brilliantly edited as well 5 stars
12/28/01 Haarfager It's a brilliant movie, but there are a few un called for changes in the story. Still OK 5 stars
12/28/01 matthew smith a magnificent film on an epic scale 5 stars
12/28/01 Vodka Damn nice, though I hate magic stuff 5 stars
12/27/01 Todd Wow! 5 stars
12/27/01 mkillroy So close, so very close...but not Tom Bombadil? 4 stars
12/27/01 Obi Wan Wow! I was amazed..the fight scenes, the CGI, the action and the build ups were great!! 5 stars
12/27/01 Morpheous SEE THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/27/01 Mogwai Masterpiece 5 stars
12/27/01 Matt Incredible, the scenes and characters were exactly how I imagined - particularly the shire. 5 stars
12/27/01 Warren Stark not a fan... 3 stars
12/27/01 TimmyToday Its alright. 3 stars
12/27/01 RazorDog If you are a fan of the books you will be disapointed. Otherwise you'll love it. 3 stars
12/27/01 Dr. Zachary Smith here are beauties which pierce like cold iron...good beyond hope. 5 stars
12/27/01 Rob Brown I hope this sets a standard that many more movies try to emulate if not surpass. 5 stars
12/26/01 Michael S. Browne Surprising beyond my low expectations. EXACTLY what fantasy aspires to be but never is 5 stars
12/26/01 Raiven not perfect, but amazing... it has the magic that the Star Wars series has lost 5 stars
12/26/01 Hal Humbert Never has three hours of film gone by so quickly. I wasn't disappointed by any of this film 5 stars
12/26/01 MF Should have ended on "lets go hunt some orcs." Otherwise, well done. 5 stars
12/26/01 Ty Cinematically awesome, great story, a little long 5 stars
12/26/01 Mike The movie was as awesome as expected. The only bad part is that we have to wait a year. 5 stars
12/25/01 Andrea Absolutely loved it! Just as good as the book!! (Why do we have to wait a whole year???) 5 stars
12/25/01 Jim Kidd Rocks, I can't really say anymore 5 stars
12/25/01 Chromag Amazing 5 stars
12/25/01 terry snider better than i imagined 5 stars
12/25/01 TomF Very good adaptation, great cast, excellent script - I'll see it again in the theater... 5 stars
12/24/01 Katie Peace The ending was extremely bad but either then that it was fine 3 stars
12/24/01 hauser A little contrived but it tries to be true to the book and the spirit of that shows through 5 stars
12/24/01 forger It is going to be a long damn time until next December. Even the wife liked it! 5 stars
12/24/01 Coitus Awesome film! The battle w/ the Demon, and the "Forest Fairy" set alone worth the price! 5 stars
12/24/01 Meryl Kopy I was gripping the seat arms and hyperventilating. Old PJ has done us Tolkien fans justice! 5 stars
12/24/01 Tanja A. Mendes The best movie investment I've made---EVER!! 5 stars
12/23/01 James Kidd Great Fantasy Epic and if the film was exactly as the book Mini-Me would have played Frodo 5 stars
12/23/01 Alyssa Beautiful 5 stars
12/23/01 Johan Söder Marvelous, Gandalf was extremely well played and scripted, Sam didn't live up to the books 5 stars
12/23/01 hobbit-kabob very nice overall! leaves all others of the genre far behind. bravo Mr. Jackson!! 4 stars
12/22/01 Reverend Krule Peter Jackson gives the classic justice 5 stars
12/22/01 devereuxxx@earthlink.net Everything an "epic movie" should be 5 stars
12/22/01 Thai Nguyen Awesome, now i want to read the book 5 stars
12/22/01 Nathan Robinson Couldn't have dreamed it better 5 stars
12/21/01 John Absolutely incredible, acting, cinematography, special effects all fantastic 5 stars
12/21/01 Janitor61 Breathtaking, and intense - i want to go buy the book now 5 stars
12/21/01 Matt It was funny watching others in the theater pissed about the cliffhanger ending : ) 5 stars
12/21/01 Titus Far more intense than the book, but good adaptation 5 stars
12/21/01 Tim It captured the spirit of the books well - although it felt just a tad rushed in parts. 5 stars
12/21/01 Neadlak Hobbits not shrunk - 7'1" New Zealander and many 4' tall doubles. 5 stars
12/21/01 Cyrus I read the LOTR books and have a few nitpicks. But the movie was still breathtaking. 5 stars
12/21/01 Mister Char pretty impressive, but it was a little long. also ending sucked. 4 stars
12/21/01 Gordon Total masterpiece. Go see it. Now. 5 stars
12/21/01 Monster W. Kung Really an excellent film, and I'm not even into fantasy that much. 5 stars
12/21/01 wirehead i've read the books a million times, and loved the movie. 5 stars
12/21/01 Muad'Dib An LOTR that lifelong fans and newcomers to the story can enjoy in equal measure. 5 stars
12/21/01 Louis Huge movie, loved every minute 5 stars
12/21/01 TARA went to keep boyfriend company, but thought it was AMAZING! 5 stars
12/21/01 Anders Bylund Loved Jackson since Bad Taste; I knew he could pull this off! 5 stars
12/21/01 JulieQ I'm a Hobbit and I thought it was spectacular!!! 5 stars
12/21/01 Axe Murderer fuck potter.........give me LOTR...anytime....... 5 stars
12/21/01 Johnny Walker Here in crappy Afghanistan we have one theatre standing. So went n' saw LOTR n' it rulez!!! 5 stars
12/21/01 Darren Shea Though I missed some things from the book,the film, taken on its own, is damn near flawless 5 stars
12/21/01 Jason L Great job crafting the books into only 3 hr 15 min. A classic work;can't wait until Dec'02 5 stars
12/21/01 daedalus Fucking Awesome, Fucking Awesome, Fucking Awesome, Did I mention... 5 stars
12/21/01 Unanon Easily surpasses anything else released this year, if not this century (so far). Superb! 5 stars
12/21/01 John Linton Roberson Liked Tolkien as kid, got bored later; loved this film. 4 stars
12/20/01 Radium Amazing. Everything fits. 5 stars
12/20/01 Dr. Laura Is A Bitch (Doo Dah, Doo Dah)... Beats the everloving shit out of Star Wars. Yes, you heard me. 5 stars
12/20/01 CableMage Count Dracula, Agent Smith, Enya. Dosen't get better than this! 5 stars
12/20/01 BuckshotJones I wished for 3 more hours. Jackson puts Lucas to shame. 5 stars
12/20/01 Jimmy James fucking awesome 5 stars
12/20/01 strider3700 I didn't like the balrog, I loved every other second 5 stars
12/20/01 LyonHeart44 If you thought Harry Potter was good--or even if you didn't--you're gonna LOVE this one. 5 stars
12/20/01 Kryll Must see it again!! 5 stars
12/20/01 spaceworm Makes me want to put my EPISODE I toys on e-bay. 5 stars
12/20/01 ChicoJake Great movie. Go see it. 5 stars
12/20/01 guisada wonderful. 5 stars
12/20/01 Veovis Brilliance: Sheer brilliance. 5 stars
12/20/01 Jase Malkai This movie was perfect. Unbelievable. Dreamed of this for years, and it was perfect. 5 stars
12/20/01 Darrell Shively This is *so* cool. 5 stars
12/20/01 c0r3file Very nearly a religious experience... 5 stars
12/20/01 Thor-Leo They nailed it. 5 stars
12/20/01 p woodfield great movie 5 stars
12/20/01 DMF I wanna see it AGAIN 5 stars
12/20/01 brewsterdog ...best....movie...ever...STAR WARS SUCKS HAHA 5 stars
12/20/01 clem HOLY MOTHERFUCK! really, really, incredible. 5 stars
12/20/01 Fenris I can't say anything not already said. Beautiful movie. Eagerly awaiting the next. 5 stars
12/20/01 thomas job well done 5 stars
12/20/01 n6ko lush. vivid. breathtaking. i don't have enough adjectives for this. 5 stars
12/20/01 Jason Great film! It's truly a fantastic *adaptation* of the book to film. 5 stars
12/20/01 Paul Very well done, I can't wait for the next two movies. 5 stars
12/20/01 Mr Math Can't wait for the next two. Oh my god, this is how movies should be. 5 stars
12/20/01 GuyGuy Screw the stupid hype, it's not that amazing. Big deal. wow, special effects! 3 stars
12/20/01 jezzie hehehehe...soooooo gooooood.......must watch more.... 5 stars
12/20/01 fred Incredibly well done 5 stars
12/20/01 Dada $7.50 is a cheap fare to a lush and entirely believable Middle Earth! 5 stars
12/20/01 Billy Two-feathers Something to definitely brag about, every bit as impressive as the book! FANTASTIC! 5 stars
12/19/01 Dude GREAT!!!! CoolMikey: This is exactly how the first book ends 5 stars
12/19/01 Goldhammer Realistically, I could not have hoped for a better book-to-movie redition. 5 stars
12/19/01 Will I had high expectations. This film met them all. 5 stars
12/19/01 CoolMikey Awesome but not much closure for the ending, although it's a triology. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Dec-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Aug-2006

UK
  19-Dec-2001 (PG)

Australia
  11-Dec-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast