More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.94

Awesome: 17.74%
Worth A Look: 23.12%
Average: 21.51%
Pretty Bad: 10.22%
Total Crap27.42%

6 reviews, 150 user ratings



Resident Evil
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"It is surprising, yes, but this movie based on a video game really sucks."
2 stars

No one has conversations in “Resident Evil.” They make declarations -- “We have to get out of here!” -- and they issue commands -- “Pull me back inside!” -- but they never listen to each other or exchange information. It is based on a video game, and as such, it exists merely to go from one life-or-death scenario to the next.

But it is less appealing than a video game. The blood and gore here -- which is plentiful and gruesome -- is too realistic and relentless to be enjoyable. In the spirit of the film “Lara Croft: Tomb Raider,” the people in “Resident Evil” are even less dynamic than their two-dimensional computerized counterparts. The music is loud. This movie has Excedrin written all over it.

I like the story. It is set in the “early 21st century,” which I believe is right around now. The supercomputer that runs an underground laboratory has gone nuts and killed all the employees, and now a special military task force heads down to unplug her. Oh, and all those dead employees are zombies now, and not the nice kind, either. They lurch around like zombies do -- apparently, becoming undead strips you of coordination and speed -- and they can be killed (re-killed?) by the usual means, such as bullets and twisting their heads off.

The task force includes a passionless Milla Jovovich as a woman with amnesia who doesn’t remember she’s an unstoppable killing machine, and a fierce Michelle Rodriguez as a woman who remembers very clearly that she is an unstoppable killing machine. There are some men in the group, too, but they all look the same and are played by actors whose names you won’t recognize.

The director is Paul Anderson, who also gave us “Mortal Kombat” and “Event Horizon.” He wrote “Resident Evil,” too, but it is based on an earlier work called “That Time Paul Anderson Smoked Crack and Watched ‘Dawn of the Dead.’”

In his directorial vision, everything that happens needs to be accompanied by a loud, jarring, metallic “SHOOOONK!” This is to ensure that you jump when, say, someone opens a drawer with T-shirts in it. If it weren’t for the “SHOOOONK!,” you would probably just think it was someone opening a drawer with T-shirts in it. You wouldn’t immediately grasp the urgency of the situation. Thank goodness for the “SHOOOONK!” and for Paul Anderson, who I hope will fall into a mine shaft (“SHOOOONK!”) and never work again.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=898&reviewer=247
originally posted: 03/23/02 06:19:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

1/22/12 Velociraptor Awsome 5 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles Entertaining 3 stars
1/02/10 art A GREAT DOOMSDAY FILM! 4 stars
10/14/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 4 stars
11/01/07 Luis This movie sucked. Everything about it is wrong!!! 1 stars
7/23/07 santos renteria harry pothead and THE ODER OF PHEONIX sucked ass the good part was at end 1 stars
4/23/07 Chris N The only way paul anderson will be forgiven is if he legally changes his name to A. Douche 1 stars
1/07/07 Stephen Its a good movie with monsters from the game, and on top of that a great feel. 4 stars
11/24/06 David Pollastrini great action 3 stars
5/12/06 mr.seraph i quite likes this movie... but there is deffinately room for imporvement 3 stars
3/02/06 Steven Lewis Not like the game but interesting concept. 3 stars
10/26/05 chris a reasonable effort but it lacks gore the old movies ahd that this dosnt 3 stars
10/23/05 Raul Valdez It was pretty good especially compared to most video game movies. 5 stars
10/21/05 cypress Alot better than I expected it would be, some good action scenes. 4 stars
10/19/05 Eden Nothing like the superior game, terrible in every way 1 stars
10/11/05 Wise man THE VIDEO GAME WAS NOTHING LIKE THIS!! STUPID HOLLYWOOD KEEPS MESSING IT UP!! BooooRING!!! 1 stars
10/11/05 Indrid Cold Actually not that bad. More than a few thrills despite the MTV/video game feel to it. 3 stars
9/30/05 ShabbaRanks This should have been called RESIDENT AVERAGE. 3 stars
9/21/05 Eric Fortune I hate video game movies. 2 stars
9/20/05 Carolyn Rathburn It was a good movie, not really what I had expected 4 stars
9/04/05 Eden Awful film - the computer games were better in every way 1 stars
9/04/05 Tom Burns An entertaining movie. Some good thrills too. 5 stars
8/26/05 Termite Very, very, very, very...bland and mediocre. A zombie film with no teeth...meh... 3 stars
7/24/05 Eric This is one of the best movies i've ever seen and i can't believe anyone would'nt like it. 5 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington Awful acting, direction, story, character devlopment...I could go on and on. 1 stars
6/26/05 DennyRoss Great action & cast, slick production, soundtrack & effects. But lacking in zombie factor. 4 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli Fucking fuck. 1 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Actually not so bad. I can see why Anderson is still given $ to make movies. 3 stars
2/12/05 J. Elaine Greenup Not scary 2 stars
2/09/05 nannette ryan I really enjoyed this movie. It was very action packed 4 stars
2/01/05 New Jersey Rules This movie was absolute shit, a disgrace to the games. 1 stars
1/14/05 Al Guy It was good as an action movie. 4 stars
1/12/05 Ron Newbold I thought I really liked it...then I watched it a second time 3 stars
11/17/04 Gooey CRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Nothing scary, except for some awful acting and lame effects. 1 stars
11/08/04 BIG EYES I WHACH 2 MUCH TV 3 stars
10/23/04 simba best thriller movie i ever seen, usually hate em 5 stars
10/03/04 albert awesome 5 stars
9/12/04 Adam Brown THIS MOVIE WAS AWESOME AND BETTER THAN THE FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/28/04 whatevr I hope the sequel is better (long shot) 3 stars
8/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Has a nice pace to it and a great score, but suffers from a lack of gore and wooden acting. 2 stars
8/25/04 Agent Sands Nice final shot, a few other good moments, but dialogue & Rodriguez naturally grow tedious. 3 stars
8/22/04 Tyrantis A guy gets scrached by a licker and becomes Nemesis? What the FUDGE? 1 stars
8/15/04 Anthony G it was ok, wtf Paul Anderson make better movies faggot! 3 stars
8/08/04 Jack One of the best video game adaptations I've seen. Decent acting and directing. 4 stars
6/02/04 :( dissapointing 3 stars
5/25/04 Scarface Stupid plot and minimal gore. Crap cash in on awesome game. 1 stars
5/15/04 Tanya Enjoyed the game full of of wonderful graphics and a great storyline!!! Movie was alright. 5 stars
3/31/04 American Slasher Goddess Wooden acting and no gore, keep it from becoming a gulity pleasure. 2 stars
3/21/04 robert the film is brillaint, you are of your head 5 stars
3/20/04 Nannette This was a pretty good action packed movie 4 stars
3/19/04 Cary Gordon I thought it was fun, if not particularly deep. 4 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. What?... Just because we make the zombies... Okay! Okay! The sequeal will be better!!!!!!!! 3 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr Won't there EVER be a good video game movie? 2 stars
1/26/04 Eric Good cast except for the cop.It needed Ramiro's touch 4 stars
1/10/04 Robert Gravelin i loved all of it ... you never know it could happen 5 stars
12/31/03 Jason Maine What the fuck is this??!! This embarasses the awesome game! This sucks, dont watch it! 1 stars
12/06/03 john kind of boring - bad as a horror film - worse as an action movie - too slick! 1 stars
12/04/03 Heaven's Justice I liked how they started it, giving the audience amnesia, but that's its only good part 3 stars
11/10/03 Alan Layton Except for a hokey monster, AWESOME! 5 stars
11/05/03 American Slasher Goddess Wooden acting and hardly any gore, but it does move at a brisk pace and you never bored. 2 stars
10/15/03 Sammy I love the game, and (other than some falty scripting) I love the movie 5 stars
10/13/03 Gary GREAT!! Can't wait for RE2 5 stars
9/24/03 anna RE shows how to make a great popcorn flick without fucking up the source 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus great prequel to the first video game! good special FX too! 5 stars
9/08/03 Jack It's a pretty good movie for a video game takeoff; one of the better I've seen. Watch it. 4 stars
9/03/03 Charles Tatum Solid; and no, I never played the damn game 4 stars
9/02/03 Dawn Not bad for a video game movie. Just don't expect anything special. 4 stars
8/02/03 LeoH Makes the video game look like The Illiad in comparison. 2 stars
7/27/03 J Resident Evil is good. Especially the dogs, zombies, and that thing that is skinless. 4 stars
6/14/03 Alice What the hell did they do with the game! Stuck with the story damnit !! 1 stars
6/11/03 Lil The movie is okay~Check ouy the game 3 stars
6/04/03 Dan_A A decent action flick 3 stars
6/04/03 ThE DiCk This movie is fucking awesome, best movie that comes the best to any game out there. 5 stars
5/24/03 Bloody Vixen Enough to make me swear of the game! 4 stars
5/13/03 Goofy Maxwell About as evil as Marvin the Martian--"Oh no, now I must make more zombies." 2 stars
4/08/03 silvercheetah14 Good action, but should have stuck with original story. Really! 4 stars
2/20/03 Dave A stupid film, but very entertaining. 3 stars
2/16/03 scott GREAT 5 stars
2/16/03 Colin Makes the Misadventures Of HJason Vorhees Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
2/15/03 steph argh....in a word, CRAP. 1 stars
2/10/03 FcPoliFan It's a mediocre, still interesting zombie movie. 4 stars
2/04/03 Jim No plot, mediocre acting, you call that an ending?! Still, a few decent scenes ... 3 stars
12/27/02 Gruther Milla inna shift 3 stars
12/05/02 FizzyLizzy Pretty cool film. Vicious you shouldn't even say that coz you don't even know Paul Anderson 5 stars
11/23/02 Massacree Hmmm...And this is suposed to be a HORROR MOVIE? Hell,even Scary Movie is scarier than this 3 stars
11/12/02 Susan 16/f/scotland (once again :D) OMG!!! you lot hav something in common....a bad taste in films. I total loved the RE movie! 5 stars
11/05/02 Vicious movie sucked. anderson is a hack. KILL PAUL WS ANDERSON NOW! 1 stars
11/04/02 kooler If this flick had some bigger names in it, it would've been a box-office smash. Lotta fun. 4 stars
11/02/02 Timmy D Why can't you people just accept this flick for what it is and enjoy it? 4 stars
10/24/02 Jiz Pointless cinematic sludge. Predictable as hell. And they're making a sequel! Can't wait! 1 stars
9/27/02 John McNew Occasionally funbut witless and poorly done (2 out of 4 stars) 2 stars
9/23/02 STEVE I HOPE THAT THE RAZZIES TEAR THIS FILM APART!HAHAHEHEHAHAHEHEHEHEAHAHAHAHHEHEHEHEHAHAHAHWHH 1 stars
9/02/02 Spencer Harris That movie kicked ASS!!!the zombies were awesome.Michelle Rodriguez was so freaking HOT!!!! 5 stars
8/29/02 Hessian Better than I expected. At least you get to see Jovovich's tits. so not a compleat loss. 3 stars
8/27/02 Susan (again) :) (susiestar85@hotmail.com) The film WASN'T a disgrace! You ppl are just cant accept true talent! Paul done a great job 5 stars
8/19/02 .Choadushouse. Action scenes well done. Hot actresses. But the script blew! It's a disgrace to the games! 3 stars
8/17/02 Ross Terrible... a disgrace to the series 1 stars
8/13/02 Danielle Ophelia The filmmakers' intentions were in the right place...if their brains and balls weren't. 4 stars
8/11/02 Cleo rodriguez kicks ass,,,,, why did she have to die!! 4 stars
8/05/02 Lexy Z. Just what I wanted. Jovovich stuns as she slays. 4 stars
8/04/02 archeron Some bright points overall. Remember this is a horror film, NOT Gone With The Wind! 3 stars
7/31/02 spyguy2 Nothing special, crappy CGI, weak script, Jovovich and Rodriguez look pretty sexy though! 3 stars
7/26/02 ryan Film guy you suck assbag, it was awesome 5 stars
6/28/02 Film Guy Total Shit 1 stars
6/06/02 Sulvitheil Zombies pursued by no-less zombied "heros". Pointless film, go-nowhere ending. 1 stars
5/24/02 Jimbo Loved it 4 stars
5/13/02 Darth Haggis Next time follow the original story! This movie was stupid 1 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron The mansion replica is great... WHY NO JILL VALENTINE??? 4 stars
5/13/02 This movie is great if you grab an ale or two whilst watching it 4 stars
4/30/02 Rod Williams An uncut version of this movie may be released on DVD. Cut for the US R-rating yet again!!! 3 stars
4/29/02 Shane Robert Myers Good but, not great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
4/29/02 David A. Really classy remake of "Night of the Living Dead!" Keep those zombies coming! 5 stars
4/29/02 Phoenix A very solid video game adaption of great video games. 5 stars
4/19/02 sdfsdfsd Obi-Wan- The movie is rated R, not PG-13. It still sucks 2 stars
4/05/02 Obi Wan Hmm,the game is Rated R, but the movie is PG13 and sucks Rosanne ass, play da game nextime 1 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo In its element, this film is excellent...Knows what it is: gory and fun...it hits the mark 5 stars
3/31/02 Film Dude Could have been so much better... DAMN YOU, PAUL ANDERSON!!! 2 stars
3/31/02 Film Guy HOLY SHIT did this suck 1 stars
3/30/02 max zhang Capcom -- Take $$$ made from movie & make next game BETTER 1 stars
3/28/02 Anus Lame assed dialogue like Anal Fantasy spolied the movie 3 stars
3/28/02 malcolm a fun gorefest, pretty much a ripoff of "Night of the Living Dead" 3 stars
3/27/02 Nyartholep Ehh. about what I was expecting. 3 stars
3/26/02 Ivory Terrifying 2D movie, but what can I say...I was only there for Milla 4 stars
3/26/02 Pinback This movie shot for being a terrifying, but forgot to load the gun. 1 stars
3/26/02 David A. Really good remake of NIght of the Living Dead. The special effects alone are worth seeing! 5 stars
3/26/02 Paul Waits Didn't do as much as the game. 4 stars
3/24/02 J. Lyons Just another zombie flick 3 stars
3/24/02 Dave MacDougall Haha....a pathetic rip-off of far superior sci-fi horror flicks! A waste of time. 2 stars
3/24/02 nick wiszynski this movie is much more enjoyable if you have played all of the video games 4 stars
3/23/02 Asina Man, EricDSnider sure is a shitty film critic....I should be writing for HBS, damnit! 3 stars
3/22/02 strider3700 zombie movies are good, but this needs more gore 4 stars
3/21/02 Nicholas Perry "I could kiss you, bitch!" 5 stars
3/21/02 TheTalkingElbow It wasn't corny like most video game to movie translations, and overall kicked ass. 5 stars
3/21/02 Nightwing It was about time!!! A fucking good video game movie!!! All the others sucks balls 5 stars
3/20/02 carlos it sucked hit i was busy though fuvcking my g/f though so i couldnt see it all 1 stars
3/19/02 n6ko craptacular 1 stars
3/19/02 Justin Simpson Was more then I expected. 4 stars
3/18/02 kishuta Fun and Enjoyable. 4 stars
3/18/02 Jasper Corrigan I have to agree with Erik. This movie sucks every ass within a 5 mile radius 1 stars
3/17/02 RazorDog If you liked House on Haunted Hill & 13 Ghosts you will like this. 4 stars
3/17/02 siro Why, oh WHY didn't they let George Romero do this???Wasn't THAT, bad but still unimpressive 3 stars
3/17/02 K y L e Not a bad zombie flick. 5 stars
3/17/02 The Bomb 69 Erik is nuts, although there were a few cheesy parts, this prequel was well made!!! 5 stars
3/16/02 MaG The bush...gotta love the bush 4 stars
3/16/02 zero182 unless you're a zombie yourself, this movie is lame. cgi licker is laughable. u r warned 2 stars
3/16/02 Superdave I'm sorry, this guy, Erik dosen't know what he's talking about, the movie rocks. 5 stars
3/16/02 GayArse JMovie sucks 1 stars
3/16/02 john better than half of that academy award winning crap 5 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee I got to see a sneak preview of this, and it was surprisingly decent with some cool gore. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Mar-2002 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast