More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.92

Awesome: 13.64%
Worth A Look24.62%
Average: 20.83%
Pretty Bad: 22.35%
Total Crap: 18.56%

14 reviews, 180 user ratings


Latest Reviews

'71 by Daniel Kelly

Shrew's Nest by Jay Seaver

This is Where I Leave You by Jaycie

Babadook, The by Jay Seaver

Duke of Burgundy, The by Jay Seaver

Redeemer by Jay Seaver

Force Majeure by Jay Seaver

Cub by Jay Seaver

Hardkor Disco by Jay Seaver

Zero Theorem, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Jurassic Park III
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Jurassic Plot"
3 stars

"Aahh! Dinosaurs! They'll eat us! Run! Look out...over...there...." Oh, we've been here before? And the EXACT same way? You're not even impressed with the all-new flying Pterodactyl thingie, now available in your Burger King Happy Meal? Sorry, but that's not about to hold us back from another $150 million bucks. Now where was I? "Aaaah! Look out! (Flying) dinosaurs! They'll eat us! Run!"

The prospect of making another Jurassic Park movie must have been an easy decision to make. The first two movies grossed over $520 million combined in the U.S alone, so it was merely a matter of when. Unfortunately, the four years that have passed since the supremely weak Lost World hit theaters apparently wasn't enough time. In a desperate effort to get this sequel into the theaters this summer, the producers ended up sacrificing quality for a plum release date. Surely four whole years is enough time to come up with something better than this.

A group of actors gets dumped in the jungle and then run away from dinosaurs...with varying degrees of success. Sound familiar? Unless you're making Jurassic Park 3 your first foray into the world of cinematic paleantology, then you've seen this concept done to death by now. This is a concept which simply boggles my mind. This movie is a dead lock to gross at least $150 million, so why not just try something a little different? And just casting new actors doesn't count. That's not creativity; that's just restocking the buffet table.

The "plot" this time around has a bunch of goofballs dumped onto a dino-infested island under mysterious pretenses. That's it. That's the story. I realize that I covered this already, but that's still one time LESS than this series has. Hey, how about having these apparently fertile dinos slowly invading some local Costa Rican villages? There's an new slant. Each Jurassic Park flick takes great pains to instill some credibility in relation to how these creatures can procreate. So WHY is the next logical step ignored? Eventually Isla Nubla and Woowoo are gonna get overpopulated. But I guess we'll see those exploits in maybe Jurassic Park 8. By that time, we'll have John Carpenter directing and maybe then we'll have some real fun!

There's been a lot of pre-release press on this movie, claiming that this installment is notably darker and more violent than its predecessors. To that I simply say "Bull Poop". This latest chapter has a body count that's so low, it could have been rated G. Not to spoil anything, but the number of people who become dino kibble in this film is somewhere between 5 and 7...and most of them are dispatched offscreen. Call me a sociopath if you like, but when I plunk down 8 bucks for a Dinosaur Movie, I don't want the most obnoxious character onscreen to survive. Clerks has a higher body count than this movie. I want carnage, not contrivances.

And this is a film that seemingly lives on contrivances, many of which make absolutely no sense. In a scene halfway through the movie, Dr. Grant turns to another character and asks how they actually acquired a beaker full of T-Rex peepee. The other character replies "Don't ask", and this is a script that is riddled with several such "Don't Ask" issues. Baldfaced plot devices (a handy "Raptor Call" doohickey and Macy's aversion to swimming, to list only two) are casually dropped throughout the early parts of the script, mainly so the audience won't go "Huh? What?" when Dr. Grant finally uses the silly flute and Macy starts dog-paddling. It's called lazy writing and although you don't expect Mamet-like wordplay in a movie like Jurassic Park 3, it would be nice if the audience were treated as if they were smarter than ferrets. But this is a movie that was literally being "made up as they went along". As in the script was being written (and re-written) throughout the production. Imagine riding on a train while laying the tracks at the same time, and you'll get an idea of how these things usually turn out.

Sam Neill returns to play Dr. Grant after skipping The Lost World. He does this probably for the same reason his character decides to return to Dino Island: Huge fluffy piles of cash. New to the series is William H. Macy, Tea Leoni, Michael Jeter and Alessandro Nivola, all of whom convincingly play potential food. Macy and Nivola offer strong performances, while Leoni...doesn't. Laura Dern appears in a glorified cameo, reprising her role from the original film, while Jeff Goldblum is nowhere to be found. (Thankfully, some might say.)

The main problem with Jurassic Park 3 is not that food isn't tasty; it's just that the portions are too small. Aside from an extended sequence involving a parachute and a pissed-off dino-bird, the action scenes leave a lot to be desired, mainly due to the aforementioned small portions. And don't even get me started on the final 5 minutes of the film. Trust me when I say that this movie ends on perhaps the biggest "tease" ever set on film.

Still, this is a summer movie that at least delivers some of the goods. Although delivered in a criminally episodic fashion, the creature scenes are often quite exciting. There's enough to recommend in Jurassic Park 3, partially thanks to a solid cast, but mainly because it's a lot more fun than The Lost World.

Only in a summer season that's offered such classics as Tomb Raider, Pearl Harbor, Evolution and Final Fantasy could I rank Jurassic Park 3 among the best movies out there. If only there had been a bit more meat and a little less corn. And technically...shouldn't this movie be called JURASSIC PARK 3: lOST WORLD 2?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=899&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/19/01 13:04:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/29/14 gqtnvmsuwdd USA 3 stars
5/10/13 Gman This film deserves no stars. Its abysmal, and it insults the fans of the first two! 1 stars
5/09/13 Mr. DNA I would've like this movie if it weren't for the stupid plot holes, and lame SFX. 1 stars
2/08/13 Kcaj Fun to watch. The subplot of billy and grant being gay was a bit unneccesary though 4 stars
10/31/11 Jon Horrible. It felt like a TV show, but it was worse because this is supposed to be a movie. 1 stars
1/12/11 Matt Stilwell Nowhere near as bad as everyone says it is. I really like it. 4 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Another Hostess Twinkie from the Hollywood bakery. 2 stars
11/06/09 PAUL SHORTT LITTLE MORE THAN A GLORIFIED SLASHER FILM, ALBEIT WITH NONHUMAN VILLIANS 1 stars
8/03/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 5 stars
7/14/08 Samantha Harding Its was AWESOME its so vilent but not as vilent as 2. 5 stars
6/22/08 Bob makl It Wasint that bad, considering fucky other sequels 4 stars
5/22/08 Naveed not bad. atleast it helped me 2gain some knowledge about dinosaurs 3 stars
5/14/08 Abrar Ahmed 3deaths back2back??shud hav been random.M eagr 4JP-4 Mr.Spielberg wit better story dis time 3 stars
1/13/08 nosipho I THOUGHT THE MOVIE WAS SO NICE 4 stars
10/24/07 Beau I thought this sequel had everthing! great action, suspense, unpridictable and enjoyable!! 5 stars
8/23/07 raheema excellent iloved it 5 stars
8/03/07 itchmr underestimated because it was a third release in the franchise, the performances were solid 4 stars
7/31/07 Seisomsaur Stanley Thai is right, better than #2, but not #1. Fun to watch. 4 stars
7/31/07 Dr.Dino A great addition to Jurassic Park franchise. 5 stars
7/29/07 GWolf The only Jurassic Park Monster Movie 2 stars
7/29/07 Dinoslayer Good for entertainment, free of expression. For other words, a caramel covered air pocket. 3 stars
4/23/07 David Risser One of the top 20 movies I have ever seen. Highly recomended 5 stars
4/02/07 Stanley Thai Better than the second film (not the first) and a great popcorn flick! 4 stars
2/25/07 justine i like to watch jurassic park 1 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Still a good creature feature flick. 4 stars
1/22/07 del Better than 2 (which was bad, too), but still just one big "Meh..." 3 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini not as good as the first two 4 stars
11/11/06 Austin Wertman NOT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST TWO, BUT STILL ALOT OF FUN 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Worst of the 3, but still watchable& at least 1/2 way decent. 3 stars
6/28/06 joe koski its good but not as good as jurassic park 1 3 stars
4/22/06 Jack Excitingly great 5 stars
3/11/06 Sam The ending could have been better, but still a solid flick 5 stars
3/09/06 Dk the weakest in the trilogy and the stupidest to 2 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor Not as bad as you would think 4 stars
12/22/05 cody a good sequel better than part 2 , great dino action and fun ride from beginning to end 4 stars
10/11/05 Wisamane what a Horribly made Plot! Not worthy of the JP name!! 1 stars
8/11/05 ES The dinos were great, love that T-rex fight 4 stars
7/25/05 Mark Radburn Jurassic Park 3 is the Greatest movie ever 5 stars
7/22/05 jada movie was HORRIBLE! but whenever i need a good laugh, i re-read DokBrowne's review. 1 stars
5/27/05 Quigley pretty good action and great digital effects, but the plot was as cardboard as the lost kid 4 stars
5/27/05 tony t-rex dead?(don't get it). Sometimes very predictible and very slow. But pretty good anyway 4 stars
5/26/05 Lindsay Dude, that is SO funny. I agree with u, though u have opinion issues, ur hilarious!! 1 stars
5/19/05 Luke BlackAdder Anyone who does not like this film are assholes, Jurassic Park 3 is a must-see 5 stars
5/09/05 I don't know very interesting 5 stars
4/27/05 moviesamurai nothing new-just a slightly new plot 2 stars
4/23/05 John carelessly made cash in on a franchise name 1 stars
3/19/05 Tyrantis In a Batman movie, you don't kill Batman. In Jurassic Park, YOU DON'T KILL THE REX! 1 stars
1/27/05 Aaron Smith Not as good as first, but whole lot better than Lost World 3 stars
12/25/04 John lifeless, predicatble and flat, if it wasn't for the pterodactyles it would be horrendous 2 stars
11/20/04 Mark Jurassic Park 3 rules 5 stars
11/19/04 screb liked it 4 stars
8/27/04 American Slasher Goddess A boring retread, that does nothing new with the series 2 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G One of the dumbest movies ever, makes pee wee hermans playhouse look like the best movie ev 5 stars
7/19/04 Benjamin Petrofsky What?! T.Rex conquered? In your dreams! Movie was good anyway. 4 stars
6/14/04 Craig The ending sucked, the rest is at least somewhat worthy of the series. 4 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee what a ride 5 stars
6/11/04 Daveman An entertaining improvement over the second film but still nowhere near as fun as the first 3 stars
6/10/04 Evan just thought i'd annoy everyone 4 stars
5/17/04 Jack Bourbon Entertaining B-shlock 4 stars
5/16/04 somewhere As Bad as the 2nd one 1 stars
5/08/04 hef liked 1 & 2, hated 3 1 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot what a pile of dino shit. i loved the first and even the second.no thanks #3! 2 stars
4/10/04 American Slasher Goddess The worst of the series,boringly bland. 2 stars
3/30/04 Michelle It's the reviewer who is pretty bad, not the movie! 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. PLZ! LET PART 4 BE BETTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
3/17/04 The Dude This movie sucks my ass. 1 stars
2/29/04 DM Should have stopped with the first one 1 stars
2/20/04 PRATIK ANJANIA GOOD MOVIE TO SEE IT AGAIN&AGAIN 4 stars
2/07/04 c.r This movie is better than part 2 and love any dinosaur movie! 3 stars
1/21/04 Joe BLANK one who enjoys this film must be one who has the word enjoy mistaken for it's antonym. 1 stars
10/07/03 KYLE HE GUYS WHATSUP 5 stars
6/01/03 leon %%0qwe GOOD JUST WISH TEA LEONI CHARACTER WAS KILLED!ON JP2 WHO KILLED PEOPLE ON THE SHIP?WHO WHO 3 stars
5/28/03 Tom JP3 Better than #2? Are you out of your mind? The movie is Terrible. 1 stars
4/25/03 BILLY This should have been called Jurassic Shit 1 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon Not bad. Keeps it short and simple. Should have sent more characters to JP to die, though 3 stars
3/29/03 Ionicera painful to sit through 1 stars
2/23/03 Paul What a 180 million box office joke... 1 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Great Dinos. Spinosaurus is real, dumbass (this to reviewer Slyder) hope they make #4! 4 stars
2/11/03 spacecowboy stupid. 3 stars
2/07/03 Turtle JP3 is better than #2, but doesn't touch #1. It ain't gonna win any awards, but it's fun. 4 stars
1/30/03 Bob Josephine SUCKE FUCKING DICK! HATE IT 1 stars
12/18/02 C.reeves A great movie in the Jurassic series. 4 stars
11/26/02 Evil Cartman This movie sucks all ass! Die Tea, DIE!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/09/02 Stevo Best of the series, dumbass but thrilling. The genius raptors are still ridiculous though. 4 stars
9/29/02 CVJ CRAP 1 stars
9/02/02 movie guy THE BEST JURASSIC PARK EVER 5 stars
8/19/02 jurassiraptor Made just for the fans, and loved by the fans. Perfect movie; better than all competition 5 stars
8/17/02 Zefram Mann Pointless movie. Kid was a boy Newt. BTW, the Spinasaurous is a REAL dino. RESEARCH MAN!!! 3 stars
8/16/02 Shaun while the movie was rushed without a script, its fun in its B-Movie way, gets the job done 4 stars
8/14/02 palaboy101 better than "The Lost World" 4 stars
6/14/02 Film Guy what the shit is this A raptor saying Alan I almost lost it . What an insult to the 1st 1 stars
5/19/02 Jon Artus Could only be made worse by Jeff Goldblum in a polka-dot bikini. 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake THIS ONE GOES ON TOP, NON-STOP ACTION! 5 stars
3/12/02 Monday Morning The feelgood film of the new millennium. Eat me! 4 stars
3/05/02 Jenny Tullwartz Possibly best in series. Good to see Sam Neill back; too bad Laura D has only a cameo. 5 stars
3/02/02 Unagiboy This franchise continues to entertain me. The cell phone scene was hilarious. 4 stars
2/23/02 Monday Morning Solid entertainment. What's wrong with that? 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Boring. Tiring. The same ol' same ol'. 2 stars
1/03/02 Turtle After a second (more relaxed) viewing, I like it much better. Nice popcorn flick. 4 stars
12/21/01 OSVALDO pepin 1 stars
12/16/01 BoBo This movie sucks all ass! Die Tea, DIE!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/08/01 Waylon Roundtree A vicious misstep. 2 stars
11/24/01 travis i love all the jpmovies.cannot wait till jp4 comes out 5 stars
10/17/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) It's pretty cool, but only 2 or 3 people got eaten! I'm angry! 4 stars
10/17/01 Kieran Belshaw Not too bad, better than the second , nothing on the first. 4 stars
10/05/01 Evil Bitchwoman its so boring, Spielberg has overdone the whole JP thing. No plot, crap acting. SHIT 1 stars
10/02/01 Kirk Shouldn't those people have figured out how to stay away by now? 4 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix In a B-Movie way, JPIII delivers the goods. 4 stars
9/27/01 aurora pathetic plot, the end would have served better at the begining 1 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it was good but Speilberg shoud've wrote the script for god sack and something has evolved! 4 stars
9/25/01 viking At least it's better than the Lost World 3 stars
9/21/01 Trunks This movie rocked but needed some extra spice to make it perfect. 5 stars
9/15/01 Connoisseur I loved the first two dino flicks, but this was way too short! There's no Climax! 3 stars
9/15/01 CHU SENG POONG Watchable but been there done that. 3 stars
9/13/01 D'Morph nice dino's, really dumb plot. couldve been alot better 3 stars
9/11/01 Bront what a crock of shit.... what have they done 2 stars
9/10/01 RJ Ludwig An interesting new feeling to an otherwise effects orientated series 4 stars
9/05/01 L. Iulius Very exciting, better then Lost World, they dinosaurs look better with each movie. 5 stars
9/04/01 G-flat total boredom, hardly a single exciting moment 2 stars
9/03/01 travis robertson stephen spilberg shouldconsiderstartingoverfreshnexttime.jp3wasalrightiguess 4 stars
8/27/01 Gracy Lionheart Pointless movie. I could not have cared less about the characters...have seen worse though 2 stars
8/22/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Can't the geniuses of Hollywood write something new once in a while? 3 stars
8/22/01 Metallica What a waste of my fucking afternoon 1 stars
8/21/01 I love movies wait for video even if you loved the first two, way too short and silly, music was awful! 3 stars
8/19/01 Matt Jackson Good movie but the ending was BAD! plot was thin but what did you expect? 4 stars
8/19/01 Babybelle Keep the dinos. Dump the humans. 3 stars
8/17/01 Matthew Bartley Like it's been edited together from cut scenes from the other two 3 stars
8/16/01 jack d'skdskds' 1 stars
8/16/01 Brad Mantz sweet 4 stars
8/14/01 Bueller Been there, done that! Great special effects, but we expect that from JP. Very contrived. 3 stars
8/13/01 Matt The storyline was : theres a dinosaur run! repeat ,repeat,etc.END 2 stars
8/12/01 fg pretty predictable but entertaining 4 stars
8/12/01 Dakamus It's odd that the summer's best comedy is this movie. I laughed the entire way through! 4 stars
8/10/01 keith langman forget plot and characters and everything important...just adventure fun 4 stars
8/09/01 surreyman If only the humans could act as well as the dinosaurs 1 stars
8/09/01 Franky Tea Leoni's the most frightening thing about this sleep aid. 1 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Mix of the 1st 2:It's bright&adventurousANDit'sdark&rainy.But only3 people died!I'm pissed! 4 stars
8/06/01 ted v. good movie! almost as good as the first one, definitely BETTER than The Lost World! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Far superior to Spielberg's lame-ass sequel...but that's not saying much. 3 stars
8/03/01 Kimble much better than the 2nd and only a little bit away from the first 5 stars
8/03/01 Heike Schneider-Büsing "Even the dinosaurs were bored! 2 stars
8/03/01 Joe D no words 1 stars
8/01/01 mike crap 1 stars
7/31/01 Aaron movie kinda sucks 1 stars
7/31/01 Darren Shea JP3 was much more entertaining than Lost World, but that's not saying much... 4 stars
7/30/01 Katherine Perry It was much better than I was 'critic-ally' prepared for. 4 stars
7/30/01 Ro Sho Great main character, small lousy supporting cast, no build up, no suspence and no payoff. 3 stars
7/28/01 mike the first is still the best, but this was awesome (the spinosaurus kicked ass) 5 stars
7/28/01 S.Coppa Good summer thriller, but definately not as good as the 1st on 4 stars
7/28/01 Turtle I saw this at the drive-in, and it was a huge waste of that big screen. 3 stars
7/27/01 Fish Eye Besides the FX, this movie sucks. The story is fucking lame! 2 stars
7/27/01 mkillroy Same ol same ol 3 stars
7/25/01 Zantetsuken My ass hurt after watching this movie, and not because it fell asleep. 1 stars
7/25/01 John Travolta I'm not in this movie but it still sucks all ass. 1 stars
7/25/01 Chris Cheng If you loved the first, hated the second, you wil want to kill yourself after seeing JP3. 1 stars
7/24/01 Chip S. Ahoy Fuck me in the ass! I can't believe they made it so pathetic and stupid 1 stars
7/24/01 Obi Wan Give this an R rating already!!! I wanna see blood and more dinosaur blood. 4 stars
7/24/01 jada i waited for this!? i went in not expecting much and got even less. 2 stars
7/23/01 Jim Kidd Loved it! It scared the crap out of me cause we were in the THX theatre, and it was loud! 5 stars
7/22/01 benjamin.leatherman Blecch! Jurassic Krap! 1 stars
7/22/01 RazorDog Near the end a baby started crying in the theater... I felt the same. 2 stars
7/21/01 John Torres Thank god Julia Roberts is not in this fx!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
7/21/01 Roy Smith Great FX but that's it. Predictable as a Jason/Freddie movie. 2 stars
7/21/01 Rich Cirivilleri Most clever use of a cellphone onscreen i've seen in weeks! 4 stars
7/21/01 Moazzam Saleem Take my advice ... Watch Jurassic Park 1 all over again. It would still be more entertainin 1 stars
7/20/01 keith langman a good thrill ride 3 stars
7/20/01 Joe D Ishtar 3 : The Jurassic Period! 1 stars
7/20/01 David Sanchez I think Steven Spielburg did a better job Producing the movie than just Directing. 5 stars
7/20/01 Jurrasic bomb! This movie was a let down. Great FX, movie ruined by bad acting, no plot. 2 stars
7/20/01 Obi Wan Good...but for JP4 could we bring more victims to the park and add an R rating to this!!!!! 5 stars
7/20/01 Jeff Billy should be dead. He was ripped apart by pterodactyls, there's no way he survived 4 stars
7/20/01 Wolvie Visually impressive, but weak on plot. 3 stars
7/20/01 Hotaine Take the cutting-room-floor parts from JP1, splice 'em together, and voila! JP3! 2 stars
7/20/01 dwiggs um...hello? this was the sorriest movie ive seen in years. what a stain on the jp name. 1 stars
7/20/01 malcolm pale imitation of 1st two. i've seen it all before. 2 stars
7/19/01 Islandspud Good but a little short. A lot of potential left out 4 stars
7/19/01 bullit17 If Michael Crichton were to see this, he'd drop dead and roll over. Dino-sucks. 2 stars
7/19/01 Sexy Loser Vincent I think it was a fun movie...beter than the 2nd yet not as classic or smart as the OG!! 4 stars
7/19/01 J Not bad. Unsuprisingly better than the 2nd movie but suprisingly better than the original. 3 stars
7/19/01 Hobbes Just like the first squel, with out all that messy "plot" 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Aug-2001 (PG)


Directed by
  Joe Johnston

Written by
  Peter Buchman
  Alexander Payne
  Jim Taylor

Cast
  Sam Neill
  William H. Macy
  Téa Leoni
  John Diehl
  Michael Jeter
  Laura Dern



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast