More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.74

Awesome: 11.76%
Worth A Look: 16.18%
Average: 13.24%
Pretty Bad51.47%
Total Crap: 7.35%

6 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Prince & Me, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The title says it all. Like, literally."
2 stars

Look, I've simply run out of new ways to describe lifeless girlie-empowerment flickies like this one. Sure, this one's not as ruthlessly simpering or astonishingly shallow as many of its ilk, and it does feature a fairly winning performance by Julia Stiles... but COME ON ladies! How many times are you going to order the exact same flaccid pound cake before you get a taste for something a bit more substantial?

Plot: Studious college girl falls in love with the Prince of Denmark. He is, of course, pretending to be an Average Joe.

Based on those two sentences alone, I bet you could come up with pretty much everything else that happens in something as cleverly titled as The Prince & Me.

So obviously it's a movie at the pinnacle of predictability; there are still other considerations that could manage to elevate the movie beyond its meager aspirations.

Alas, other than the aforementioned turn by Ms. Stiles, there's basically nothing here you haven't seen before, done better, written funnier and delivered much more flavorfully. The Prince & Me is a peanut butter sandwich delivered on a pretty new paper plate. It's mushy and slow, it's aggressively familiar and it's seemingly more than content to trot out the same old rom-com schpiel.

What's most distressing about such a lifeless affair is that it comes from the generally reliable director Martha Coolidge. Seems the filmmaker behind Valley Girl, Real Genius and Rambling Rose is now dipping her toe into Nancy Meyers/Nora Ephron pool of rom-com shallowness. This time out, Coolidge delivers a movie that looks pretty and says nothing.

Fans of the young Julia Stiles may find themselves a bit more forgiving of the myriad speed bumps found thoughout The Prince & Me. The actress brings a nice-girl charm and unexpected gravity to such a limply written character (courtesy of a trio of former sitcom scribes), and she single-handedly salvages this paint-by-numbers Cinderella schpiel from becoming truly unwatchable.

'The Prince & Me' is made for starry-eyed 14-year-old girls, undemanding Moms and kindhearted Grannies. Each demographic deserves just a little bit better by this point.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9071&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/02/04 19:14:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/16/09 Anonymous. all romantic comedies are predictable. :X 3 stars
10/29/07 mb Predictable stupid movie. 1 stars
8/13/07 Annonomiss I liked this traditional rom-com. Chemistry there btwn Stiles & Prince. Pleased my soul. 4 stars
6/16/06 Michele average romance 3 stars
5/27/06 Sheena Never trust a movie with a grammer mistake in the title. Slow overused story line. 2 stars
5/03/06 Anthony Feor The Prince and me-are leaving the theatre 1 stars
3/23/06 Annie G I secretly love corny romance films, but this one was painful to watch. 2 stars
6/30/05 KR Did anybody notice that the prince of Denmark has an ENGLISH accent? Crap. 1 stars
2/28/05 Nilda C. M. I enjoyed the apparent Chemistry between Ms. Stiles & Mr. Mably! 4 stars
2/21/05 Jeff Anderson Not good at all & predictable IN THE EXTREME! The gifted Stiles deserves SO MUCH BETTER!!!! 1 stars
10/06/04 Chris A fun edition to the female genre. It did everything right except the ending. 4 stars
8/26/04 tatum Okay fluff, should have stuck with original ending 4 stars
8/11/04 Ashley johnson AWESOME MOVIE 5 stars
8/08/04 Jenni The movie was worth a look but Luke Mably was probably the best thing in it :) 4 stars
7/15/04 natasha cabot this movie was a total disaster it was so so so so crap and i fell asleep half way through 1 stars
7/13/04 anna totally awsome but the website sucked it didnt say when the movie was coming out! 5 stars
6/02/04 Iris Dementia Praecox Good except when Julia Stiles is playing that "shrewish" persona that some bafflingly like. 4 stars
6/02/04 Stephanie Throckmorton Beneath all the cliches, there's a right nice story here. 4 stars
5/07/04 katrina i reli reli lyk dis movie! 5 stars
4/28/04 Isabell I think every girl in the city watched the movie!!! 5 stars
4/19/04 molly its entertaining and funny 4 stars
4/13/04 Rachel it was an awesome movie, i am obsessed, it was so cute, def. a chick flick though 5 stars
4/13/04 Chris I thought it was cute but should not have been rated PG. I like the formula and the movie. 4 stars
4/05/04 Brittany Christian I thought it was a cute love story, but the ending was most disappointing 4 stars
4/04/04 Michelle excellent movie! must watch julia stiles is hilarious and the prince .. is like SOOOO HOT!! 5 stars
4/04/04 dawn juliastiles sucked but the movie still rocked!they should have gotten another actress! 5 stars
4/04/04 Nicole Really looked forward to this movie, but turns out it was very predictable and boring. 2 stars
4/04/04 Rhi Some parts the actors were crappy, but the overrall feeling of romance was intense 4 stars
4/04/04 Kerry I thought the movie was great. I disagree with the comments that the characters were fake. 5 stars
3/28/04 jt pretty crappy 2 stars
3/28/04 Beth 4 words: temporary suspension of disbelief 2 stars
3/28/04 Ray Well, it could be worst 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Apr-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 10-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jun-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast