More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.84

Awesome: 6.25%
Worth A Look: 6.25%
Average: 9.38%
Pretty Bad: 21.88%
Total Crap56.25%

1 review, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Gone Fishin'
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Uh-oh, Joe Pesci's being funny again!"
1 stars

Joe Pesci goes fishing. I'm laughing already.

Is there anybody left out there who believes that Joe Pesci is funny? Let me explain. In films such as "Goodfellas" and "Casino", he was funny, but in a psychotic way. You didn't know WHO was gonna get knifed next. In the Lethal Weapon series, he was KINDA funny, but only because he was getting picked on by Mel Gibson. In "My Cousin Vinny", he was sorta funny as well, but that's because he was like his Goodfella character, but on Ritalin. So he was funny, but he was subdued, so he didn't stab Fred Gwynne with a pen during his final summation. (Although I was rooting for him to take out Ralph Macchio at some point - damn you, Karate Kid) OK, so maybe he's funny sometimes. But, damn it, he ain't funny here.
So him and Danny Glover are going fishing. (Or is it fishin'?) They get into some wacky hijinks, and it basically has them act out the last half-hour of Home Alone without the kid. Never before have I realised the true genius of Daniel Stern. And did I miss something? When did Danny Glover become important? He's done Lethal Weapons for the last ten years! Beloved, it sucked! Don't put this guy in movies! All in all, crap. Crap crap crap. And what the hell kinda movie still casts Roseanna Arquette as an object of desire? Damn you, Joe Pesci. Ummmm...Mr. Scorsese? Are you doing any movies soon? Can you put Joe in them? He needs to be kept busy.

Yeccch. Rent "Army of Darkness" instead.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=91&reviewer=27
originally posted: 01/27/99 12:09:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/07/10 PAUL SHORTT DIM AND SILLY BUT OCCASIONALLY AMUSING 2 stars
11/16/06 Charles Tatum Wow, terrible, for real. 1 stars
9/29/06 Belinda L. Miller some of you dont know what fishing is!! 5 stars
6/08/06 B. Rohrbaugh boring,stupid,silly,waste of my time 1 stars
8/24/05 ES didn't hate it, watch it on tv, don't bother with the rental 3 stars
4/18/05 stuart If you suffer insomnia, rent this movie...ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
3/12/05 DONNA L MILLER GOOD FAMILY MOVIE,FUNNY ,ENJOYABLE 4 stars
1/27/05 Jeff Anderson What a waste of Glover & Pesci! A BIG TOTALLY UNFUNNY DISASTER & PITIFUL WASTE OF MONEY!!!! 1 stars
1/28/04 Orina Alvarez Very mixed bag. Boat salesman was the worst. 4 stars
1/03/04 I Would Unfunny, offensive shite! If you admire this film then you're a stupid fuck! 1 stars
12/10/03 Samuel a pretty decent movie!! 3 stars
6/18/03 Jack Bourbon Gone Slummin' 2 stars
4/30/03 Jon Lyrik Not only boring, but completely unfunny. 1 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Slight but fun. Glover and Pesci are ingratiating together. 3 stars
7/08/02 James Wright I Really like Fishing OH! I need a Wank 5 stars
6/01/02 Veronica Foxx This movie is a damn shame. Makes a truly great actor is Pesci look like a bufoon. 2 stars
5/22/02 Janx Truly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I laughed once. JUNK! 1 stars
9/22/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Bad, Too Much Childish Humor 2 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Oh, God...I think I'm gonna cry... 1 stars
1/25/01 dog supprised Pesci would stup to do a movie like this 2 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh Pesci! What have you done! 1 stars
7/24/99 Izak Walton Good God in Heaven, this movie sucked. Find all copies of this and burn them. 1 stars
12/09/98 Scion of Graveheart Glover and Pesci... what the hell is wrong? Lethal Weapon without comedy and action. Blech. 1 stars
9/29/98 katherine stunk. they didnt even go fishing, and it wasnt even funny. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Joe kills me. He really killed me. I was dead. Bored. 1 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} Pesci. Movie Jail. Cell 6451. Mark it "never to be released". 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-May-1997 (PG)
  DVD: 04-Mar-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast